Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful & Moving
Tori Amos's wonderful debut solo album sounds as fresh today as when it was first released in the early 1990s.
The album is essentially Tori Amos and her piano, it has a raw, emotional appeal - at times lush and beautiful, at others spare and stark Highlights include the haunting 'Me and My Gun', an autobiographical song about a sexual assault sung without...
Published on 11 May 2005 by John E. Davidson

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
Really bought for one particular song,but thought that the others might be to my taste. Discovered that they were'nt!

Phil.
Published 22 months ago by Mr. PRJ Andrews


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful & Moving, 11 May 2005
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
Tori Amos's wonderful debut solo album sounds as fresh today as when it was first released in the early 1990s.
The album is essentially Tori Amos and her piano, it has a raw, emotional appeal - at times lush and beautiful, at others spare and stark Highlights include the haunting 'Me and My Gun', an autobiographical song about a sexual assault sung without accompaniment; her first hit single, 'Silent all these years' which is possibly the best track on the album, along with the other singles: China, Winter and Crucify.
A wonderful, accessible album - even if you do not particularly like girl and her piano music there is much to admire here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work of genius, 8 April 2006
By 
boona1 (Gateshead, Tyne and Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
I'm a huge Tori Amos fan and this was the first album I bought from her and the one I turn back to regularly. Every track has a moment to take your breath away, to lift you up and suit almost every emotion you feel. With beautiful singing, great lyrics and one of the strongest collection of songs put together on an album this is an CD to own, cherish and become part of your life. Regardless of whether you enjoy female singer songwriters in general if you love music you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POETIC & BEAUTIFUL, 13 Sep 2000
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
Comparisons remain odious, but they make life so much easier-it's Kate Bush and Laura Nyro. Tori sings and plays like Kate, displays Laura's gift for striking sexual imagery and creates a classic album in the process. Little Earthquakes is quite an intense album, dealing with extreme situations an emotions set to exquisite tunes. Her delivery and the unique arrangements turn the tracks into poems in a splendid mix of the humorous, the erotic and the unsettling. The two highlights on an album of great songs are Silent All These Years and China, a haunting, majestic lament describing two people drifting apart by using the image of the great wall as a symbol of separation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tori, A must..., 22 Aug 2004
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
This album is amazing. Being a big Tori Amos fan and having purchased all of her albums, I can honestly say that Little Earthquakes is the best. There is not a single song which I can fault. Tori's beautiful Kate Buch vocals are complimented by her impecable piano playing. My personal favourite track on this album is "Crucify" and, despite having heard it thousands of times, I am still discovering new layers to it... Buy it, regardless of the rather dubious phallic mushrooms on the back of the case.
Usless piece of trivia for you: Little Earthquakes was produced by Will Gregory, one half of the band Goldfrapp...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing songs of true talent and brilliance, 26 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
I bought Little Earthquakes after only listening to one track that isn't even on here (the excellent Cornflake Girl). But I was in sheer pleasure listening to this album. It's ten years old but it doesn't sound it at all. Crucify and Precious Things are probably the most powerful tracks here, together with the awesome title track. Me And A Gun is sung with complete emotion, and Tori's piano is just unbelievable on all of these tracks! I can't believe how excellent it is! Just go and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this album and let it change your life, 6 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
I didn't know what to expect when I bought this album on a recommendation alone. After buying the rather disappointing Strange Little Girls, it came as a shock to hear such amazing tracks as there are on Little Earthquakes. From the powerful Crucify, through the beautiful China to the climactic title track, this album never fails to disappoint. Tori rips the world apart and her heart open, and it shows. Although sometimes difficult to understand (Silent All These Years - what IS it all about?), the power and the passion are always there. It's difficult to pick a favourite, but Winter has to be a contender - pure beauty. Close your eyes and you can almost feel snowflakes on your face.
There are lighter moments too; Happy Phantom and Leather seem to poke fun at life rather than direct anger towards it, as in the violent, bitter Precious Things.
Buy this. If you've never heard any Tori, buy it, sit back and let it change your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Tremor, 20 Nov 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Comparisons remain odious, but they make life so much easier—it’s Kate Bush and Laura Nyro. Tori sings and plays like Kate, displays Laura’s gift for striking sexual imagery and creates a classic album in the process. Little Earthquakes is quite an intense album, dealing with extreme situations an emotions set to exquisite tunes. Her delivery and the unique arrangements turn the tracks into poems in a splendid mix of the humorous, the erotic and the unsettling. The two highlights on an album of great songs are Silent All These Years and China, a haunting, majestic lament describing two people drifting apart by using the image of the great wall as a symbol of separation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tori's debut has become a masterpiece, 21 Oct 2002
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
I'm not suprised that this classic album made it in to the higher regions of the top 100 albums for the millenium screened on TV, this album is awesome and unfortunately ten years since it's debut Tori Amos has never matched the perfection of this debut . From the powerful opener Crucify there is not a poor track as Tori set's out to cover various issues , with the perfect melodic piano moods. Whether it,s the rivetting Precious Things or the caberet style Leather to the beautifully moving balads Winter and Mother. Tori's debut Little Earthquakes is a genuine classic that will remain selling in two decades time and one that the rock chick will find hard to ever equall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU HAVE TO OWN THIS ALBUM, 29 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
I came across Tori through reading about Evanescence - Tori is the songwriter's (Amy Lee) biggest inspiration, lyrically, as a massive Evanescence fan, I had to listen to it. Having listened to every Tori Amos album, this is by far her best, and her most accessible. All of the songs are piano-backed ballads, oozing emotion and intensity.
The album charts all elements of Tori's life, from the trauma of her adolescence in 'Precious Things', to her rape in 'Me and a Gun'. This is anything but an easy-listen, it provokes deep thought and reflection.
A final word of advice, buy this album, and prepare for it to remain in your CD player for several months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tori Amos creates beautiful music, 23 May 2001
By 
E. Kinderlerer "Hypnoesther" (New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
The beauty of this, Tori's first solo album, is in the pictures she paints with her words. Listening to 'Crucify', 'Silent all these years' and 'Winter' you can feel all her emotion and the songs are like poetry. Mixed in are wonderfully cynical yet humourous songs such as 'Happy Phantom' and 'Leather'. For those who like to scream and jump about passionately there's 'Girl', 'Mother' and surely one of the most climatic songs ever written - the title song 'Little Earthquakes'. There is not a single song on this album which does not touch on genius. Buy it and begin the journey into the mind of Tori Amos...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Earthquakes*
Little Earthquakes* by Tori Amos
Buy MP3 Album£5.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews