Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant collection - one of the best albums around
I had lost touch with Emmy Lou Harris' music over the last few years, but was reminded of her when listening to Eva Cassidy on Songbird... Anthology seemed like the right place to start to 'catch up'. What an excellent choice - a combination of old songs bringing back youthful memories, coupled with original pieces. Her few live songs on the album are as powerful as the...
Published on 26 Oct 2001

versus
6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everthing you ever wanted to hear from Emmylou Harris
While I am not a country music fan, I was born in Texas and have a passing acquaintance with this kind of music. I like some of Ms Harris' music from "Red Dirt Girls" and bought this anthology just to see what else she had done. If you are not a fan, you have to wade through a lot of very basic, standard country repertoire for the few jewels on the CDs. However, the...
Published on 24 Sep 2003 by J. D. Stevenson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant collection - one of the best albums around, 26 Oct 2001
By A Customer
I had lost touch with Emmy Lou Harris' music over the last few years, but was reminded of her when listening to Eva Cassidy on Songbird... Anthology seemed like the right place to start to 'catch up'. What an excellent choice - a combination of old songs bringing back youthful memories, coupled with original pieces. Her few live songs on the album are as powerful as the recorded ones. My favourite tracks have to be Dolly Parton's 'To Daddy' as well as'Too far gone' but have also enjoyed her singing with others - the unmissable trio of Emmylou, Linda Ronstadt and Dolly Parton on 'To know him' and with Don Williams on 'If I needed you' haunts the mind long after the record has finished. If you are looking for a present suggestion this Christmas - ask for this - or treat yourself - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A versatile and classy performer, 23 Dec 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Emmylou has always been a singer that focused on albums. Her music covered a wide variety of styles, but each album had its own style, although the changes in style became even more dramatic in the nineties. This compilation brings together tracks from all those differently styled albums from the mid-seventies to the late eighties. If you are familiar with her more recent music via albums like Wrecking ball and Red dirt girl but not her earlier music, I must warn you that this is a country music anthology.
During the period covered by this compilation, Emmylou had many hits on the American country charts including five solo number one hits, all cover versions and all included here. They were Together again (Buck Owens), Sweet dreams (Patsy Cline), Two more bottles of wine (Delbert McClinton), Beneath still waters (George Jones) and a live recording of Lost his love on our last date (Floyd Cramer). Emmylou also had a number one hit with To know him is to love him (a cover of the fifties pop hit by the Teddy Bears), which she recorded with her friends Dolly Parton and Linda Ronstadt and which is also included here. We believe in happy endings, a duet with Earl Thomas Conley, also reached number one but you have to buy Emmylou's Duets album to get that – it's not here.
Emmylou had many other big country hits with cover versions, including If I could only win your love (Louvin brothers), Here there and everywhere (Beatles), which was a minor UK pop hit, You never can tell C'Est la vie (Chuck Berry), Save the last dance for me (Drifters), Blue Kentucky girl (Loretta Lynn) and The boxer (Simon and Garfunkel).
Dolly Parton wrote To Daddy and recorded it for her 1976 album All I can do, but Emmylou heard it and recorded it herself. When Dolly heard Emmylou's version, she substituted another song for her own album, although Dolly's version was eventually released on a compilation CD many years later. Thus, Emmylou's version, included here, is the first one the public heard.
Another notable feature of Emmylou's career is the vast number of duets that she has recorded, though the only ones here (apart from the Trio track) are That loving you feeling again (with Roy Orbison) and If I needed you (with Don Williams).
In the early years, it was rare for Emmylou to write songs, but she co-wrote Boulder to Birmingham, one of her earliest successes. She wrote more as the years went by, particularly on the concept album Ballad of Sally Rose, an album she co-wrote with Paul Kennerley and which is represented here by Rhythm guitar, White line and Timberline, but she didn't really write much until the nineties – after the period covered by this anthology.
This is a great introduction to Emmylou's music of the seventies and eighties for any country music fans new to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic pure gold, 7 Mar 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has got to be one of the best CD'S i have ever purchased,Emmylou Harris in my mind is as pure a singer as you can get,this 2 CD set comprises of a fantastic collection of this unique female artist,if your buying your first ever Emmylou CD,then this is the one to go for,its outstanding value,44 tracks of pure magic,all together in a great 2 CD set,if you love a pure "country" voice at its best,then Emmylou is your girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Place to Start, 14 Dec 2012
By 
B. Haagsma - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How do you define Country Music?
That title does it no justice.
These are songs of life, the heart and the soul.
The best of it can leave you in tears, tear your heart out or smiling, saying "yeah, somebody understands. I'm not alone".
Emmylou Harris is amongst the legends of Country Music for good reason.
Her voice, the emotions she can generate and her ability to make even an old, familiar song new again never disappoint.
She has an uncanny ability to fill her albums with wonderful songs.
Her studio recordings and her live performances are equally great.
This collection is a superb display of her exceptional talent.
If you're a fan and you don't have it - get it.
If you're tempted to dip a toe into something other than tired, boring commercial bling, start here.
You won't be disappointed and you won't stop here.
Ben Haagsma
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars emmylou harris "heaven", 4 Oct 2011
the recently purchased emmylou harris double cd "anthology" is truly remarkable. every track is well recorded even the "live" ones and extremely easy to listen to. let's face it, there is not a bad track from emmylou in the world!

it is a cd you can play however you are feeling. some tracks uplift, some calm down, some break your heart and some make you feel stronger. however, every one is such a pleasure to listen to.

i cannot rate this highly enough and if you are a fan of emmylou, buy it - you will be so pleased you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to a fine singer!, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To be totally honest from the start, I am not a huge country fan, but I am a fan of country rock (Eagles, Linda Ronstadt) and some of the great singer-songwriters influenced, in part, by country (Jackson Browne, Dan Fogelberg etc). You can't get too far into these artists without coming across Emmylou Harris, and it was that which encouraged me to take a risk and buy this as a taster - and I am very glad that I did. For the uninitiated, Emmylou was essentially a folk singer from the Greenwich Village circuit who met Gram Parsons, who loved her voice and invited her to join his band and harmonise with him. This she did to great effect. Following Gram's untimely death, Emmylou initially found herself stranded, before then feeling compelled to fulfil Gram's vision and musical legacy by continuing to develop the style and creative direction they began to head in together. Her folk-rock connections meant that she sang country music (as many have said, this is definitely a country album), but from the sensibility of her history as a folk performer. This meant that she focused on polished albums, with quality songs, and sang them with a great authenticity. The material on this collection is consistently first rate, from her sole early composition "Boulder to Brirmingham" where she grieves for the loss of Gram, through her fine interpretations of songs like "Here, There and Everywhere" (her sole UK hit single) and "Together Again". Overall, the CD collection covers the period from 1975 to 1990 - the vintage years with Warners - and contains all of her big hits. It makes for rich, relaxed, easy listening, and her voice and interpretations are never less than stellar, and frequently wonderfully moving. They unlock their beauty over repeated listens and given time, just like a vintage wine.

I doubt that i will ever become a country fan, but this CD stands proudly and fittingly alongside the rest of my collection, and is an excellent choice for a fan of quality 70s singers and songwriters. I thoroughly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. Christine Bland "Capt Dave" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emmylou Harris Anthology: The Warner/Reprise Years (MP3 Download)
Have really enjoyed this album great selection of music excellent value highly recommended. This album covers a whole range of her music and brough back many memories for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A First Class Collection at A Reasonable Price., 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emmylou Harris Anthology: The Warner/Reprise Years (MP3 Download)
Emmylou's crystal clear vocals and beautiful guitar work are well demonstrated here. Anybody (if there are any) who is not acquainted with some of the earlier work of this fabulous songstress could do well to acquire this collection. The price is also very reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well what can I say other than buy it its one of the best yet, its 1st class value for money, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Anthology of Emmyou Harris,well what can I say other than buy it its one of the best yet, its 1st class value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent collection of track show-casing Emmylou's range and ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews