Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ascendancy... Trivium Bite Back
After the hugely successful "Ember To Inferno" album on LifeForce records, Trivium signed up to RoadRunner for the recording of "Ascendancy", and was 2005 a year to remember.

The behemoth begins with "The End of Everything", a classical introduction with hidden power and dignity. It's a milestone saying "We're back".

The first 'real' track on the...
Published on 5 Jan 2007 by The Crusade

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant band, horrendous vocals
I bought 'Crusade' as an introduction to the band, and what a brilliant album. I was swayed by the reviews which said that Triviums' first album 'Ascendancy' was even better so I ordered it from Amazon. On listening to the second track I thought my CD player had gone wrong and had a recording of someone being sick on it. But no, this was the vocal style that unfortunately...
Published 17 months ago by kevind


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ascendancy... Trivium Bite Back, 5 Jan 2007
This review is from: Ascendancy [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
After the hugely successful "Ember To Inferno" album on LifeForce records, Trivium signed up to RoadRunner for the recording of "Ascendancy", and was 2005 a year to remember.

The behemoth begins with "The End of Everything", a classical introduction with hidden power and dignity. It's a milestone saying "We're back".

The first 'real' track on the album is "Rain", which runs straight from the previous track, into a brutal yet melodic dance of riffs and moshing-material.

"Pull Harder on the Strings of Your Martyr" was the first track released before the album came out, and it hit, hard, people were blown out of their seats. Trivium were back heavier than ever before. It was no longer a game.

"Drowned and Torn Asunder" has a nice melody to the chorus, and the vocals are amazing. "Ascendancy" didn't stand out much for me, however it means a lot to the band, at how they had "ascended from the ashes" and became bigger than ever.

"A Gunshot To The Head of Trepidation" is possibly the greatest track on the album. It runs fast, hitting everything in it's way. The video on the bonus DVD is terrific as well.

"Like Light To The Flies, an old Trivium live classic. It hits back with new effects and a jaw-dropping solo. "Dying In Your Arms" is questionable to some people... it is, in itself, a good song, Trivium just wanted their own "Fade to Black" type track, and I think they succeeded.

"The Deceived" is an old favourite of mine. Back bigger and better, it runs fast through your veins and makes your heart throb intensley. Heafy's growling vocals add to the power in this one.

"Suffocating Sight" makes a nice change, it's original and heavy, something never done before. However the keyboard effects slightly let it down.

"Departure" is an excellent song. Built on depression, letting people know that they're not the only ones, there is a light at the end of the tunnel... pure brilliance.

"Declaration", however, has to be my favourite track on the entire album. A 7 minute colossus that shows off everything Trivium has to offer. Riffs, solos, hard vobals, melody, darkness, the full works! Brilliant.

"Washing Away Me In The Tides" didn't do that much for me, but for a bonus track, it is very good.

The DVD's live performances are not superb, but that's only because you have to be there yourself to truly understand. The music videos are all fantasticly creative too. The added DVD is one of the best bits of the whole "Ascendancy" special edition.

In conclusion, this album receives 5 stars from me. It was near perfect, with a few things to be tweaked here and there, but, also considering the young age of the band, this is a masterpiece of metal history. Trivium truly will be the next Metallica.

x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taken back in time & loved it, 14 Feb 2006
By 
G. Gibb "gibby" (west lothian) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ascendancy (Audio CD)
Being a 36 year old i thought the time of good old thrash metal had passed.Growing up in the 80's was what it was all about obituary,morbid angel,repulsion bands that did something special.
For the last 15 years we have lost that.
I have been going to buy this cd so many times because of the reveiws and that wee sticker on the front, but its to easy to follow those reveiws that don't mean anything apart from give the record company the cash and you will listen to this once.
How wrong can i be about trivium what a cd old school guitars and drums that obituary would be proud of.
The only minor downside would be a little to much mike patton type vocals (nothing wrong with mike patton) but stick to the growling and full on vocal assault.
Anybody that loves grindcore & good thrash metal will love this. What a welcome change from the drivile we have listened to since scott burns took a back seat.
IM HAPPY SO SHOULD YOU BE, BUY TRIVIUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pull Harder On Your Special Edition, 15 Mar 2006
This review is from: Ascendancy [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Remember when Trivium released Ascendancy and sent a little shock wave through the metal scene and are now selling out massive venue's accross the UK? Its amazing what a year can do for you! making covers of many magazines and going on tour with the likes of Maiden says alot!! As well as playing a career definign set at download on the saturday morning!
What hasn't been said about the album? Pull harder and Like Light To Flies were some of the best songs of 2005.
Add an awesome song in Washing Away Me In The Tides is a nice edition. Fits in nicely with the orignal album.
Where this special edt album shines is in the videos and live footage from the astoria in london.
For once a band doesnt just release an extra song or re-release an old album from before they were "big". Its a nice change and the videos as well as live footage are top notch and very well put together!!
How to make a great album better? Do this :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing... again!, 15 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Ascendancy [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Once again Roadrunner have re-released another gem! this album was great the first time around and now with the bonus track "Washing Away Me In The Tides" and of course not forgetting the amazing live footage on the DVD its become much better! For all of the people who missed out on seeing them on tour this time round this should keep them satisfied untill they get the chance to see them. This should be part of your CD collection whether you own it already or not, go out and buy it, you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Metal At Its Absolute Finest, 11 Mar 2011
By 
G. RICE (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ascendancy (Audio CD)
When reviewing this album its difficult to know where to start. In my opinion this is the finest Heavy Metal album of the 2000s. Trivium draw from so many different influences while crafting a sound that is distinctly and instantly their own. Not only is it brilliant, their sound is like nothing before and nothing since.

The choruses are melodic, memorable and inspired, the riffs and verses relentlessly brutal and dynamic, but their greatest asset, without doubt, is the guitar work of Corey Beauleu and Matt Heafy. Throughout the entire album theses two guys are quite simply flawless and untouchable on their respective instruments. Every single solo is a gem and some (Drowned and Torn Asunder, Gunshot, Like Light To The Flies and The Decieved) are genuine face-melters. When I first heard this album in 06 I found it staggering, and played it to death. Now, having listened to it again, it only sounds better.

Travis Smith also deserves mention for putting in a great performance on drums, constantly showing imagination and flair with countless little fills and rhythms to complement the lead lines and riffs. Check the intro to Pull Harder, or the bass drum during the final chorus to Drowned and Torn Asunder, probably the most underated track on the album.

The inspiration from bands such as Metallca, Megadeath, Korn and even Slipknot is there for all to see but its as if they have taken the best elements of each and fused them together. The albums Trivium have put out in the years since, while not being truly awful, have been immensely dissapointing, but only because they set the bar so high with this release.

When the band switched to clean vocals for their follow up album The Crusade they lost a certain amount of their identity and sounded more and more like Metallica. With this album, they put themselves on the map, and its something every metal fan should have the pleasure of enjoying on full volume. From an era when there were so many top draw metal releases (City of Evil by Avenged Sevenfold, The Poison by BFMV, Hypnotize and Mesmerize by SOAD, to name but four from 05), this ascends high above them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trivium!!!, 15 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Ascendancy [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Triviums re-released 'Ascendancy' album is a well worth buy for any serious metal fan! The original 'Ascendancy' album was amazing as the sales suggest but this new version offers loads more. For one there is loads of well fimled live footage which shows those who havnt had the privalage of seeing Trivium live how good this band realy are. Included on this special edition album is a new previously un-released track 'Washing Away In The Tides' which in my opinion is one of their best to date. Also present on the disc the video for 'Rain' (My fav Trivium track!!!) which kicks ass! Honestly from a metal fan to a metal fan buy this album. You will not regret it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triviums re-release, BUY IT NOW!!, 15 Mar 2006
By 
ayesha smart (leeds, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ascendancy [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
there is a bonus DVD included in the package, with live footage videos and also videos that they have released along side previously unreleased 'Washing Away Me In The Tides' which is definately worth a listening to. the CD is amazing and deinfatly a well worth buy here a little track by track :
‘The End Of Everything’ was a contrasting way to start the album, its soft, subtle sounds prepare you for what your ears will shortly be experiencing, piano, guitar, and an eerie, gothic vocal backing.
‘Rain’, this is a great song, full of solos, full of the classic guitar. After that soft intro, you hear this, heavy, a contrast to the previous song.
‘Pull Harder On The Strings Of Your Martyr’, the drumming is the first thing that kicks you, and yes, it does kick you, this song is amazing, it features in the menu for the Roadrunner United DVD and grabs your attention. If you like guitar shredding then this is perfect for you metal fans out there
‘Drowned And Torn Asunder’ has a soft, slow riff to start with portraying Heafy’s vocal skills as pure heaven, which has made this song one of the most memorable.
‘Ascendancy’, the title track, and in its place it is perfect, the guitar was stupidly good, it has a slightly different feeling to it; the rhythm variates more from verse to chorus with different tempos.
‘A Gunshot To The Head Of Trepidation’, is a masterpiece of its own, again it has some stunning, and crowd-pleasing changes in speed, and a variety in tonal features, especially when the second part of the verses kicks in. There is a sense of teamwork shown in this song which is evident when the guitarists and bass play together as one.
‘Like Light To The Flies’, has a Metallica feel to it, old style heavy metal, straight in with a rampagent sound and thins out to a more melodically tuneful line in the chorus. When this song was originally recorded they still had the original bass player, though there is no audible difference as the trademark duo of Heafy and Beaulieu keep the style going. This song is a lot more powerful than most, with a slow and loud guitar solo, which is also possibly one of the longest.
‘Dying In Your Arms’, is the UKs favourite hit and not only that but mine. The softer sounds produced by tha band clearly show the extreme ranges of what they can do, comparing this with lets say the Decieved. the guitar intervals sounds divine and even the small pharases of screamin could not wreck the song.
‘The Deceived’, this is possibly one of the heaviest songs, at least in the verses anyway, with non-stop double-bass playing and an extremely heavy bass line that sounds like the lowest key on a grand piano. The chorus is one of the most memorable, different to the song but awesome.
‘Suffocating Sight’, this song has a fairly heavy intro and then you hear the song fully kick, very seriously. The drumming suggests unnatural ability and the verses are inspiring. You will be given time to breath in the catchy chorus, which will make the hairs stand up on the back of your neck when accompanied by the guitar at the end.
‘Departure’, has a slow beginning corss oving rhytms within the time signature. Its has a very soft beginning, but later on as it picks up and gets going, the drums, vocals, and guitars meld together into a masterpiece. The chorus is perhaps one of the nicest and most awe inspiring. Heafys vocal quliaties are amazing, you can hear the full extent of his voice, from strong and harmonic to the more gruff metal qualities
‘Declaration’, one of the better songs for drumming, this song is the longest, running in at seven minutes. What better way to end an album with a song that exploits all of their abilities in such a great way
There is no question this band have progressed so far and most likely to carry on either further. Each member noticeably tries to keep the other members involved, and they are very good at pleasing the crowds of people who have come to love them. All fans can do now is buy tickets, and await The Crusades
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, 13 Aug 2006
By 
Maverick_85 (Grantham - England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ascendancy (Audio CD)
I bought this album on a friend's recommendation and listening to about 30 seconds of one song (Don't know which one). Having previously been addicted to bands such as SlipKnoT and The Haunted I knew that I'd like Trivium just as much, but it turns out that they're far superior.

This album has been played virtually non stop for a few months now and I'm still not bored of it and find myself reaching for it whenever I'm at a loss of what CD to choose. Contrary to the other reviewers I feel that the vocalist is by no stretch of the imagination "poor". He manages to blend screaming vocals with melodic singing which fits perfectly with the superbly played music.

The band is indeed extremely talented and if you're a fan of heavy metal then you're sure to love this album.

Top tracks are Ascendancy, Like Light To Flies, Suffocating Sight and especially Dying In Your Arms which has to be one of the best metal tracks ever !

Tim
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ascendancy, 20 Feb 2006
This review is from: Ascendancy (Audio CD)
This album is, in a word, amazing. It fuses the old-school fury of Megadeth, the melodic precision of Iron Maiden, and the songwriting skills of Korn into one accessible, yet altogether heavy, album. Don't let the influence of Korn put you off, it sounds nothing like them, but it does incorporate that poppy cleverness into its sound.
At no point does the album drop its high level of quality. When the first song proper, 'Rain', kicks in, you think "the rest of the album can't match this", but it does. Although 'Rain' is my personal favourite song, there are another five or six that match it for overall quality.
1. The End of Everything - A piano-led opener that lasts just over a minute. The atmosphere builds and builds, leading perfectly into 'Rain'.
2. Rain - Starts off with an absolutely killer riff, and some insane drumming courtesy of Travis Smith. Then alternates between all out thrash and melodic death metal stylings, and ends with a riff taken straight from Metallica's 'One'. As I said, this is my favourite song on the album.
3. Pull Harder On The Strings Of Your Martyr - The song that everyone has heard. Starts off with a mini drum solo, goes into some Megadeth-inspired riffage, and has the best chorus on the whole album. Excellent solo too, from producer Jason Suecof.
4. Drowned & Torn Asunder - One of the more underrated songs from the album, it would seem. Very fast and very melodic, and an excellent vocal take from Matt Heafy. Another favourite for me.
5. Ascendancy - The title track, and one of my least favourites, but it is insanely catchy. Also, the harmonised part of the solo is absolutely fantastic.
6. A Gunshot To The Head Of Trepidation - Wow. An adventure of a song to be honest. Starts off sounding like Metallica, and ends up sounding like Kiss. Again, the solo is amazing, and so is the chorus riff. Nothing about it really stands out over any other songs, but overall it is very very good.
7. Like Light To The Flies - Goes straight into a totally brutal verse, and ends up with a perfectly weighted melodic chorus. Has obvious influence from the 90s death metal scene.
8. Dying In Your Arms - ...and now for something completely different. Has a slight emo feel about it, but it is still very very good. Not surprisingly it is now a single. It has a nice intro melody played by Corey Beaulieu.
9. The Deceived - Probably my least favourite, but I can't put my finger on any specific reason. It is one the heaviest, no doubt, but it has something lacking. Perhaps this is because it is a rerecording of an Ember To Inferno song, and so lacks the same spirit as the new songs, I don't know. Still good though.
10. Suffocating Sight - I am running out of things to say about songs, but this is another very good one. Quite fast-paced, and has an interesting use of keyboards in the middle section. The only fault is that the ending drags on a bit.
11. Departure - Along with 'Dying In Your Arms', this is the only song that strays from the 'heavy/melodic/heavy/melodic/solo/melodic' formula of the other songs. Uses acoustic guitars, and builds up to a doomy grindcore chorus sort of thing. After the second chorus, it becomes quite progressive with a couple of guitar solos and time changes.
12. Declaration - Very heavy, but too long. Again, quite progressive in its structure. The lyrics have a good concept, equality, but are poorly executed in terms of pen to paper, for example "Equality for every race, sex, sexuality" isn't the most poetic line ever written. All in all, a bit of a shabby ending to a great album, much like 'Metal Militia' is to 'Kill em All'.
This album is very good, and given the age of the band, I would predict great things for Trivium. Here's to hoping that 'The Crusade' will be able to match this masterpiece.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant band, horrendous vocals, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ascendancy (Audio CD)
I bought 'Crusade' as an introduction to the band, and what a brilliant album. I was swayed by the reviews which said that Triviums' first album 'Ascendancy' was even better so I ordered it from Amazon. On listening to the second track I thought my CD player had gone wrong and had a recording of someone being sick on it. But no, this was the vocal style that unfortunately exists throughout the album. Horrendous 'vocals' (apart from occasional excursions into 'normal' rock vocals)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ascendancy
Ascendancy by Trivium
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews