Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

  • Riot!
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars117
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.09
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is the U.S import version of RIOT which consists of 2 discs. All the original album tracks are included, plus a demo version of `When it Rains' and live versions of `Misery Business', `Pressure', `For A Pessimist I'm Pretty Optimistic, and `Born For This'. There's also some on-tour and studio footage, and a photo gallery. The cover differs slightly from the standard, showing a picture of the band which really should have been in colour (orange hair!).

Formed in Franklin, Tennessee in 2004 Paramore are a four piece band led by teenage female vocalist Hayley Williams backed by Josh Farro on guitar/vocals, brother Zac on drums and Jeremy Davis on bass.

Paramore - the unusual name is derived from a former member's maiden name and the word `paramour' meaning secret lover - are variously described as power pop, punk/alternative rock and emo, and their influences, according to their website, are all US bands of similar punk/rock/indie/alternative styles.

Orange-haired, brightly dressed singer Hayley cuts a striking image and the comparisons to Gwen Stefani, Kelly Clarkson and Avril Lavigne are inevitable, but this is no brat teenager-in-a-tantrum pleading for understanding, it's one who is confident, enthusiastic, full of raw energy and intends to have fun whatever life throws at her. Her appeal is wide-ranging - a readers poll by Kerrang! magazine in 2006 voted her number 2 `Sexiest Female' (beaten by Amy Lee of Evanescence) and in an article in NME magazine she was described as `young, articulate and with plenty to say'. But the other members too must take equal credit for the bands appeal, being nominated for `Best New Artist' in the 50th Grammy Awards ceremony in February 2008, but in losing out to first-placed Amy Winehouse suggests that not everyone wants to listen to happy music!

For me, everything about this album shouts `fun', from the name `Riot' which was chosen because it means `a sudden outburst of uncontrolled emotion', to the barrage of unrestrained energy and excitement which infects every one of the 3 to 4 minute-long tracks. The album reached number 15 and 24 in the U.S and U.K charts respectively and its importance to the band is summed up by Hayley Williams (on their official website):

"We want everyone to hear this album. We want to take it as far as we can. 'RIOT' is everything we ever wanted to say on one album. If it all ended today, this is what we'd want to be remembered for".

For a band with an album which is as good as this, it really shouldn't end for a long while yet.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2008
I first heard about Paramore eariler on this year, my friend told me to listen to Until Tomorrow and I fell in love with the band. Hayley is an awesome singer and Riot! is now one of my favourite albums. CrushCrushCrush and That's What You Get have to be two of the best songs on the album and I think everyone should get it lol....god I ramble....
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2010
It is a difficult choice, but I would have to pick "Riot!" as the best of the first three albums from Paramore. "All We Know" is a strong debut, but it has some weaker points, and "Brand New Eyes" has several of what I feel are their best songs, but it doesn't maintain such a high-level of quality on all of its tracks. This is a very impressive album, all the more so when one considers that it is only their second. It was released on June 12, 2007.

"For a Pessimist I'm Pretty Optimistic" opens the album with a strong number, but not one which would be released as a single. As with most of the songs on this album it is fairly basic, but has a good driving feel to it. "That's What You Get" is the next piece and is one of the four singles from the album. This is followed by another single "Hallelujah" which is similar in lyric content, though this time instead of heading towards a break-up this one is about seeing things through and staying together. "Misery Business" is another of the singles from the album, and another song about relationships, though this one is about fighting over a man. "When it Rains" is another break-up song, but at least this one has a significantly different feel then those which came before.

"Let the Flames Begin" is the bridge song between the first and second half of the album. This one isn't a relationship song, but instead seems to be about finding oneself. "Miracle" moves back to the area of relationship pieces, and is probably the weakest song on the album, though that is not difficult given the quality of the rest of the tracks. "Crushcrushcrush" is the next piece and the remaining single from the album. This one rings in a different aspect to the other relationship songs on the album. "We Are Broken" is next, and while one could put this in the category of relationship songs, it seems to be more about faith. "Fences" also moves away from the relationship pieces as it is about dealing with living one's life in the public eye. "Born for this" is a bit less obvious, but seems to be about struggling to make it.

If one wants to look for negatives, one can pick on "Miracle", the number of relationship songs, and perhaps a lack of diversity in sound, but when a group finds a sound that works for them it is perhaps too much to ask for them to abandon it. This is only their second studio album, they still have time to stretch and grow as a group. The positives far outweigh the negatives as this album is full of energy and lyrics that you want to sing-along with. Paramore on this album was Hayley Williams (vocals), Josh Farro (guitars), Zac Farro (drums), Jeremy Davis (bass). Hayley Williams and Josh Farro are the main songwriters, with one piece co-written with Zac Farro, one with future member Taylor York, and two with producer David Bendeth.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2007
I first heard Paramore's single 'Misery Business' on the music television programmes. Being a music enthusiast (to put it lightly), I pulled up iTunes and Youtube to explore some of their other songs.
This album is by far one of the best albums I have bought this year. From start to finish, the ablum expresses a rollercoaster of emotions, without crossing the line into the dreaded stereotypical 'emo' sound branded to most contemporary alternative bands. From upbeat tempos to slow rock-'ballads', catchy guitar riffs to amazing vocal tunes, the songs on this album are great.
The highlights of this album are 'Hallelujah', a song that everyone can't help but (at least attempt to) sing along to, and 'Born For This', which leaves the listener pumping their fists to the tune and eagerly awaiting more Paramore!
I would recommend this album to anyone, especially fans of alternative, rock and (dare I sya...?) 'emo' music.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2008
Woah Paramore have improved! and i didn't think that was possible. In my opinion this is one of the best albums ever. I've got loads of people into paramore with this album.

1. For A Pessimist I'm Pretty Optimistic - Smart title and the song is just pure greatness. A great opener for this album. Catchy lyrics and sound. - 10/10
2. Thats What You Get - I was hoping this one would be a single. One of the best on the album, very impressive. You will find yourself singing to this one in no time - 10/10
3. Hallelujah - Powerful lyrics make a powerful song and this is one of them great emotional anthems. - 9/10
4. Misery Business - Best choice for one of the singles. Its probably their most popular song but you can see why. Very catchy verses with an awesome guitar-lead chorus. - 10/10
5. When It Rains - Again, this is one of my favs. Absolutly beautiful song. Emotional and touching lyrics. The one that was put on repeat the most. - 10/10
6. Let The Flames Begin - This is also one of my favs. Didn't really like it that much at first but now i can't get enough. Amazing music and powerful lyrics. - 10/10
7. Miracle - Fun song to listen to. Catchy beat and up-tempo - 8/10
8. Crushcrushcrush - Great guitar from Josh here. Stand-out track - 10/10
9. We Are Broken - I can't seem to get my self into this one. Some days i love it but some days i don't. Love the begining though. Touching ballad. - 7/10
10. Fences - Definatly another stand-out track. Clever, catchy song. Absolute greatness at work here. - 10/10
11. Born For This - Another Fav. Great to sing with and the song that got most of my friends into paramore. One for everyone. - 10/10

heres my reviews for the bonus tracks if you got them:

12. Decoy - Really really amazing. Awesome guitar and vocals. Very relatible. - 10/10
13. Stop This Song (Lovesick Melody) - So catchy especially the bridge. Bit repetitive at the end though. - 10/10
14. Temporary - The worst bonus track and its still good. Again, relatable lyrics. - 8/10
15. Rewind - Great catchy verses. This is one that has been replayed over and over. - 10/10
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 April 2015
Not all bands can follow-up a hit first album and better it, but Paramore did this brilliantly in 2007 with 'Riot!'. It is far less repetitive than All We Know Is Falling, released just two years before, and although I like a lot of emo pop-punk bands, these guys have a level of song writing which separates them from most of the others.

A strong contender for the best Paramore album, and certainly my favourite of the first three, 'Riot!' contains the excellent hit single 'Misery Business', which opens up with an extremely catchy guitar riff, and was the song which first seriously got me into the band's music. My second favourite track here is the upbeat 'Miracle', which has some of the best, and deepest lyrics you'll find on any Paramore record.

With all good songs, most of them so catchy you'll find them circling inside you're head after only a few listens, striking vocalist Hayley Williams' amazing site of pipes, and guitarist Josh Farro playing some killer riffs, 'Riot!' is a flawless second album. You just knew from here that this group were going to stick around, and not just disappear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2008
I don't have All We Know Is Falling yet, so can't compare how Paramore have improved. The main reason I didn't give this album 5 stars is because of its seriously weak beginning. Thankfully the band pick things up on 'Misery Business' and continue getting better right to the end, the only dip in consistency being 'Miracle'.
Song ratings:
'For A Pessimist I'm Pretty Optimistic' - 3 stars
'That's What You Get' - 2 stars [extremely reminiscent of Panic! At the Disco, who are great, but it just doesn't work for Paramore.
'Hallelujah' - 3 stars [really not the anthem seemingly everyone is saying it is]
'Misery Business' - 4.5 stars [intelligent lyrics teamed with catchy riffs and drum beats]
'When it Rains' - 4 stars
'Let The Flames Begin' - 4 stars [this is a good song, however it gets a little repetitive towards the end]
'Miracle' - 2.5 stars [the music and vocals are too predictable in this, resulting in a very boring song. Lyrics are also fairly bland]
'crushcrushcrush' - 5 stars [One of the 3 stand out tracks on the album. excellent musicianship!]
'We Are Broken' - 5 stars [a welcome break from the similar up beat emo-pop that has preceded it, a beautiful ballad-esque anthem]
'Fences' - 5 stars - [I'm not sure why this hasn't been raved about more, its the 2nd best song on the album by far, intelligent and extremely catchy. Another song that resembles the lyrics of Panic! At The Disco, this time it works fantastically]
'Born For This' - 5 stars - [the best track on the album and a fabulous finale to an album that had a worryingly weak start. More than makes up for it!]

overall, theres 4 and about a half weak songs on this album, and 6 and just over a half strong songs. Worth buying if you're into the genre because you're bound to love it, if not, perhaps download 'Born For This', 'crushcrushcrush' or 'Fences' and see what you think.

Even though they didn't entirely hit the mark, their talent is so clear and they should be around for a while yet :)
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2008
So many US bands deliver not-too-bad yet easily forgettable emo-albums these days. So I didn't expect all that much from Paramore after buying this on the strength of their excellent 'Misery business'. How wrong I was.

Opener 'For a Pessimist' sets the tone for the entire album: a blistering rocker with a catchy chorus. And the pace never lets off from there. Crushcrushcrush and That's What You Get are two more standouts, but the band sounds very accomplished in mid-tempo songs like When it Rains and We Are Broken as well. Singer Hayley Williams is first class - the way she holds her longer notes could teach many of her collegues a thing or two (are you payin' attention, Mariah Carey??).

All of Riot!'s eleven excellent tracks were composed by the band, which is even more impressive considering their youthfulness. The guitars sound great, the drums are creative, the production is flawless and the lead singer looks like an angel. What more could we possibly ask for?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2010
Paramore are a tricky band to figure out. They have written some of the most sophisticated and catchy songs in the 'pop-punk' genre: Try 'crushcrushcrush' and 'Emergency' but this album, their second, fails to hit the mark everywhere. Don't get me wrong, it's a good album with some highlights: the opener, 'For A Pessimist...' is playful and energetic, showing off Hayley's great voice. Bu sadly, this album really loses focus on throwaway fillers like 'Born For This' and 'Miracle.' However, the band do make it up for it; the slower tunes are superb, 'When It Rains,' and 'We Are Broken' in particular stand out. This album doesn't develop Paramore's sound enough for it to be great, but thank fully they didn't waste their potential. Their third album, 'brand new eyes,' was one of the best released that year. Riot! isn't a bad abm, it's perfectly good, but not Paramore's best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2009
I bought this after recently buying my first Paramore album - and their latest - Brand New Eyes.

I think Riot! is better.

It is a solid, but 'young' rock album and suitably produced. Brand New Eyes sounded like 100 producers were involved and her voice sounded less original, more Avril Lavigne. On Riot, she often sounds more unique. You hear her 'thick' rocky tone come out more, rather than the tinny sharpness which frequently created in Brand New Eyes.

The tracks flow well and it works as an album. The softer songs (When it Rains / Fences) keep the feel and don't stick out like a saw thumb as happens on Brand New Eyes. Some of the music is a bit simple though.

Riot! also includes Misery Business which I think, is their best single to date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)