Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super sexy indie/electro/pop
I cant help but be a little miffed at the amout of middling-fair reviews of this album by the press.
Maybe its not as surreal and daring as their debut but its still better than half the generic indie and pop out there today!
Lovefoxx oozes sex as she sings and the songs are wicked! Higlights include Rat is dead, reggae all night, left behind, air painter,...
Published on 21 July 2008 by Beefer28

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but doesn't sparkle
The self-titled debut album from Cansei de Ser Sexy contained stand-out memorable tracks that hooked you on first listen. "Let's Make Love and Listen to Death from Above", "Off The Hook" and of course "Music Is My Hot Hot Sex" come to mind.

The first play of Donkey doesn't deliver anything with the same deliciousness. It's good and worth a few more plays but it...
Published on 19 Jan 2009 by D. Sim


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super sexy indie/electro/pop, 21 July 2008
By 
Beefer28 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Donkey (Audio CD)
I cant help but be a little miffed at the amout of middling-fair reviews of this album by the press.
Maybe its not as surreal and daring as their debut but its still better than half the generic indie and pop out there today!
Lovefoxx oozes sex as she sings and the songs are wicked! Higlights include Rat is dead, reggae all night, left behind, air painter, believe achieve and move.
Seriously ignore those reviewers are expected "Cansei De Ser Sexy" part 2 and enjoy a great fun album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They haven't got tired of being sexy...yet, 15 Mar 2009
This review is from: Donkey (Audio CD)
A slicker and more generic album than the first CSS effort, this is nonetheless a decent stab at building on the success of the electrifying debut. There is nothing as urgent and as sexy as 'Music is my Hot Hot Sex' on Donkey but songs such as 'Rat is Dead (Rage)' and 'Left Behind' are funky enough to carry the album. Overall, CSS are not quite as sexy as they were two years ago but they're having a damn good stab at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but doesn't sparkle, 19 Jan 2009
By 
D. Sim (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Donkey (MP3 Download)
The self-titled debut album from Cansei de Ser Sexy contained stand-out memorable tracks that hooked you on first listen. "Let's Make Love and Listen to Death from Above", "Off The Hook" and of course "Music Is My Hot Hot Sex" come to mind.

The first play of Donkey doesn't deliver anything with the same deliciousness. It's good and worth a few more plays but it is completely eclipsed by the stellar first album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as brilliant as their eponymous debut, 25 Nov 2008
This review is from: Donkey (Audio CD)
I don't really understand why this album received such an under-whelming response, unlike their debut which was welcomed as the best thing since sliced bread. I love Donkey just as much as their first offering - it's more grown up, more honed and you can tell that as a band they've grown in confidence. I can't understand how one person said that 'the party is over' ...I'm listening to the album right now and it's just as lively and infectious as their first. It's such a shame that Donkey has been poorly rated by many rewiers in the press and online, because this album is just full of brilliance - how anyone cannot love 'Move', 'Left Behind', 'Air Painter' and, frankly, every track is totally beyond me! I'd suggest to any CSS fans who are wary of Donkey to ruddy buy it and discover its magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More polished and poppy follow up, 30 Sep 2008
By 
MikeH (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Donkey (Audio CD)
On first listen I thought this album was ok but nothing spectacular. A few listens later and once I had got the sound of the first album out my head I really got into it. It is certainly more polished than their debut and it is more poppy but the end result is a collection of fantastic pop songs.

The album reminds me of The Sounds and Metric but retains something that is definately CSS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ...and I had a crush on the bass player..., 11 Sep 2008
By 
Mark C. (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Donkey (Audio CD)
or at least I think thats who she was -slight dour look, slim tallish dark hair "moody"

Damn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 19 Aug 2008
By 
Jon Turner (Bradford on Avon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey (Audio CD)
Well I have to agree with Hot Angel and say that the number of bad or indifferent reviews I've read for this album in the press do not do it justice. The new material is great, and the added production polish does not detract from the quality of the songs or the CSS sound. Ignore the naysayers - if you like CSS and the first album then buy this one too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mainstream pop, 24 Nov 2010
By 
E. J. Reed - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Donkey (Audio CD)
This album really is a disappointment, although Love Foxxx's vocals are still enchanting and unique she seems to be singing completely banal, meaningless lyrics. This wouldn't matter quite so much if the music were interesting, but it really is quite drab. After a while a few of the songs might get stuck in your head, but there's no real joy in hearing them again. It feels very much like an album made because it was their job to do so, not because they had any burning desire or exciting ideas to share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 10 Aug 2008
This review is from: Donkey (Audio CD)
After their fantastic first album, i was wondering how CSS would follow it up. New rave is over and one of its biggest purveyors needed to step up.

The album is a bit slicker & definitely more "produced", however there is still a playful nonchalance about many of the songs. Anyhow, it was always going to be difficult being as playful as 'Meeting Paris Hilton' from the first album.

Donkey is easy to listen to and has plenty of songs that will get stuck in your head. Highlights include 'Jager Yoga', 'Move' & 'Believe Achieve'. A decent follow-up from a really good band. Worth a buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CSS Donkey review from PopJunkie TV, 21 July 2008
By 
A. Norris (Stoke Newington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Donkey (Audio CD)
Length:: 8:17 Mins

Here's a review of Donkey by CSS and The Hold Steady's Stay Positive from indie music vidcast PopJunkie TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Donkey
Donkey by CSS
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews