Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars27
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2001
It was 1969 and The Doors were starting to close wernt they?
After their first three stunning albums the Soft Parade had appeared to lukewarm response,even though today it is rightly recognised as an excellent album.
Orchestra strings and trumpets were not what we had come to expect.
Then in early 1970 BANG they respond and release
this and literally blow everyone else off the ball park.
No other album of that year came close to matching it save the MC5s Back in the USA and Cosmos Factory by Creedence which came closest.
This is the doors at their most listenable.There is no The End,When the Musics Over or Five to One on here.
Every song from Roadhouse Blues to Maggie MacGill is a joy.
Its all here Boogie Rockers,Love Songs and Psychadelia combined with the group at the peak of their musicianship.
Listen to Kreigers wah-wah assault on Peace Frog.
Roadhouse Blues,Ship of Fools,Indian Summer are quite simply classic Doors.Waiting for the Sun still sends shivers down the spine even today.
If you have never bought a Doors album and are not familiar with their music this is the album to kick of with.Quite simply there is not a dud track in sight.
"This is the strangest life i!ve ever known"
You better believe it.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
a 180 gram LP feels that much better than a standard weight vinyl. Sounds great and was delivered in time. Recommended for every Doors fan with a turntable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2010
This album came about in the enforced layoff after the infamous Miami concert. During that time the Doors got back to the levels of creativity that they showed in their first two albums. This CD is filled with great blues and rock songs, there are no fillers. I would recommend any Doors album for their great music and also for the way they were recorded - there is a feel of spaciousness in the songs (none of the modern day compression that spoils a lot of good music). The music on this CD still sounds contemporary, it hasn't dated at all.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 1999
Possibly my second favourite Doors album after LA Woman. It's got an all time anthem classic Roadhouse Blues as an opener which has been covered by more pub bands than just about anything else. The band and indeed Jim's voice are on top form as on my favourite track, Peace Frog, an indie dance tune 20 years ahead of its time.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2001
Ever since I first heard Morrison's plea to come with him to the roadhouse I have been a big fan of this album. Its mixture of the jazzrock which was the Doors trademark with the blues is shaking me to the bones every time I hear it. And that, my friends, is often.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2016
case was cracked on arrival
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
Best Doors album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
this is one of the doors greatest albums,it sounds brill on vinyl the production is fantastic for an old album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)