Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They deliver yet again
So here we are, the second offering from Southern heavy rockers, Black Stone Cherry. I like the idea they came up with for this second album - it's clever and original.

So, has the so-called 'second album syndrome' affected these guys? No, not at all. Whilst I admit, they seem to have a more mainstream feel to some of their songs - 'Soulcreek', for example,...
Published on 20 Aug 2008 by Dafydd Jones

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars God Rock anyone?
Musically this album is excellent. Lyrically it is quite the opposite. I am guessing these rockers originate from southern USA as the album has a Hill Billy-esque rock element to it, also in regards to the lyrics God, Jesus and love are ranked quite highly in the list of topics sung about. As a religion-less Brit I find it quite hard to relate to the soppy, sentimental...
Published on 29 Jan 2009 by J. Ball


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They deliver yet again, 20 Aug 2008
By 
Dafydd Jones "MetalliManic" (Aberystwyth, Ceredigion United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
So here we are, the second offering from Southern heavy rockers, Black Stone Cherry. I like the idea they came up with for this second album - it's clever and original.

So, has the so-called 'second album syndrome' affected these guys? No, not at all. Whilst I admit, they seem to have a more mainstream feel to some of their songs - 'Soulcreek', for example, with its 'Yeah, yeah' chorus, and the more radio-friendly ballads, such as 'Things My Father Said', 'Peace Is Free' and 'You'.

But it's not all acoustic/rock ballads. Not by any means. 'Blind Man' oozes hard rock throughout, and so does 'Please Come In', which has Led Zeppelin written all over it, but with a more mainstream chorus.

'Reverend Wrinkle' is a great track and is very much a Metal track. 'Soulcreek' is the type of track which would propel BSC into the mainstream market, without fully compromising their sound. It's a great song, and Chris Robertson's vocals are spot on. 'Things My Father Said' is a very poignant track and I think it's great. The good thing about this album, and I suppose it's what makes it better than the debut in a sense that it has more variety.

Track six is 'The Bitter End', which is Metal and nothing except that. It ebbs and flows, but a great song it is. Chris Robertson's vocals are majestic, a great track. Track seven is 'Long Sleeves'. It's poignant, but again focuses on the superstitional aspect of the album. Robertson sings 'my momma said to wear long sleeves'. The track itself is Metal, without a doubt. The riffs are great.

Track eight is 'Peace Is Free' and it is aimed for the mainstream market. A great uplifting track, an anthem, if you like. This is the variety that BSC have found within this second recording. Track nine is 'Devil's Queen', and it's a great story within the song. Hard rock riffs bordering on Metal and this is great stuff to listen to. One of the better tracks on the album, if truth be told.

Track ten is 'The Key'. This one's a bit weird, with lyrics including the word 'thylacines', and a middle-eight which goes haywire and a bit messy. The riffs are inventive and fresh though, and the originality is there without question. Track eleven is another rock ballad, 'You'. The chorus is brilliant and the original acoustic riff at the beginning is excellent. Robertson sings it impeccably, even though I reckon he sounds scarily like Corey Taylor (Slipknot, Stone Sour), albeit a mellower one.

Track twelve is 'Sunrise', which is Metal. I think this is probably the weakest offering, as the chorus is an anti-climax. It's a good song, but it's missing that extra inspiration that the other songs have in abundance. And the final track is 'The Ghost of Floyd Collins'. I love it, it starts with someone telling the tale before the riffs kick in and Robertson sings. Brilliant track, in all honesty.

A brilliant album. You will not regret buying this, it is essential. 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Southern and Hard, 24 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Southern and Hard Rock meet up for and albumful of great riffs, meaty guitars and great songs. If you liked the first album, you'll love this and the special edition is well worth having for the extra album's length of additional songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAN'T PUT A FOOT WRONG!, 15 Aug 2009
By 
M. LANGFORD "marcusj55" (HAMPSHIRE UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Folklore and Superstition [Special Edition]
Was blown away by their first album and Folklore and Superstition does exactly the same for me - every track's a winner - 'nuff said!
Spot the continuity error in their Blind Man video - the drummer's T-shirt changes from union jack to black in a lot of frames (or is it deliberate??) - apart from that they can't put a foot wrong!
Can't get enough of these guys - will see them in concert at Portsmouth Guildhall this Autumn so can't wait.
Roll on the next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good rock album, 10 Aug 2009
By 
G. Moore "Hillbilly" (west yorkshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought this cd after hearing the "Blind Man" single.
Glad i did, this album is one of my favourites of all time. Being a guitar player myself I found it very inspirational and it gave me a great kick in the butt. If you like tuned down rock music with very strong choruses then give these guys a listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another top notch album, 17 Aug 2008
Black Stone Cherry are a breath of fresh air for southern rock in general and this second album is surely going to get them further notice as tracks like Blind man and the key is somthing Molly Hatchet would have written as they both have soul and feeling combined with the lovely harmonies of their guitars which speaks positive volumes for half of the album which are slightly let down by the average tracks in things my father said, peace is free and you.

I suppose they are still finding their feet but the future is bright and orange for a band whose playing in front of a live audience endeers them well to their fans as they often have plenty of meet and greets with those who paid to go and see them at merchandise stalls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BSC., 12 Feb 2010
By 
A D. Pate (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome follow up to their amazing debut. Great song writing and god-ly riffing. Catch 'em live if you can. I saw the drummer throw his sticks away and play a ten minute drum solo with his bare hands. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy follow-up to a fantastic debut, 8 Dec 2008
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kentucky's Black Stone Cherry's debut album, released in 2006, was absolutely fantastic - a breath of southern-fried fresh air with huge riffs, powerful vocals, sizzling guitar solos and wonderful melodies and, I'm pleased to say, their second album, 'Folklore & Superstition', pretty-much continues where their debut left off, apart from, perhaps, being (only very) slightly less heavy and maybe a tad more commercially-minded - I have to say that during the insanely catchy 'Soul Creek', they drift dangerously close to Bon Jovi territory, although Bon Jovi never sounded quite as heavy as this. It may be that this album suffers a little by comparison - the debut was an extremely hard act to follow - and yet, if you had never heard of Black Stone Cherry before, this particular album could be just as good an introduction to their music as the debut.

So, who do they sound like? Well, without wanting to sound facetious, they sound like themselves. Black Stone Cherry have enough of a varied sound and mixture of styles to allow themselves never really to be pigeon-holed into sounding like a copy of any one band. I suppose, during their heavier moments, they sometimes remind me of 'Vs.'-era Pearl Jam, without the downer lyrics or vocals, of course or perhaps even the first Audioslave album ('Long Sleeves', especially). The standout tracks, for me, are the storming 'Blind Man', the radio-friendly light and shade of 'Please Come In', the heavy-riffing dark-but-melodic metal of 'Reverend Wrinkle', the adrenaline rush of 'Devil's Queen' and, perhaps the best track on the album, 'Ghost Of Floyd Collins', which could easily be an Ozzy Osbourne classic.

Other tracks such as the albeit very pleasant and touching 'Things My Father Said', the anthemic 'Peace Is Free' and the perhaps slightly formulaic 'You' do take Black Stone Cherry a little close to rock ballad cliché in musical terms, but, on balance, you would have to say that the lighter songs help to break the album up and avoid an overload of out-and-out rockers, even though it is most certainly during the heavier moments that Black Stone Cherry truly shine. Having said that, I don't want to sound overly critical, because there is nothing actually terrible on this record and this is more than a worthy follow-up to their debut. Indeed, providing they concentrate on their bluesy heavy rock sound and they are able to reproduce the magic they undoubtedly captured on their first album rather than expanding on the more commercial side they have revealed here, this is a band who could easily be a major name in hard rock in years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Southern Hard Rock, almost perfect, 23 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. N. J. Henderson (Bude, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
So here we go, the second album from Black Stone Cherry is here, and it's been worth the wait.
Southern Rock has never sounded so fresh and contemporary, killer guitar lines, powerful vocals and improved songwriting all contribute here to a band rapidly on the rise.
Things don't really get much better than album opener "Blind Man" which believe me is a good thing, because this song is easily one of the best rock songs I've heard this year.
The Ballad "Things my father said" again fits in beautifully, its a tearful reflection on one's dad who has passed away.
It's a shame a band like this is not very well known, by that I mean the casual music listener, because it really is a quality album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure brilliance, 1 Oct 2008
bought this album after hearing Blind Man on Scuzz. The album turned out to be complete suprise. You know what it's like, you buy an album after hearing one song and you often find the one song you bought it for was the only decent song on it. Not the case with this one, the whole album does not have a bad song on it. Its got everything, great lyrics, good strong vocals and some amazing guitar work.

go buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars could this be the best album of 2008?, 6 Sep 2008
By 
Folklore and superstition being the second release from rockers black stone cherry. this album is a slightly different approach to the first album but its definatly an outstanding album. The lyrics of each song are composed to perfection and the music comes together smoothly.
the songs that stick out the most to my mind are blind man, please come in and things my father said. Each have their individulaity, for exmaple blind man has some great guitar riffs and the song things my father said is a heart felt song, the feelings for the singer are felt through the entire song and the song as a whole song really touches you when you listen to it.
This album is amust buy for any rock fan, especially those into soundgarden and the likes of the allman brothers!

an album not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Folklore and Superstition
Folklore and Superstition by Black Stone Cherry
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews