Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value headphones
I've had these for about a week now and am very pleased with these headphones.

Pros: Great sound with noise cancelling on, good solid bass and clear midrange and treble.

Cons: Sound is weedy unless you turn the noise cancelling on.

A tip for using these with ipod - if you record from cd use the wav format, ok it takes up more space on the...
Published on 11 Dec. 2009 by JamesW

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
Sound quality is good but I was disappointed by the noise cancelling function. I seem to remember they claim to cancel out up to 80% of background noise, I disagree with that statment
Published 23 months ago by phil


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value headphones, 11 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Sony MDR-NC7 Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
I've had these for about a week now and am very pleased with these headphones.

Pros: Great sound with noise cancelling on, good solid bass and clear midrange and treble.

Cons: Sound is weedy unless you turn the noise cancelling on.

A tip for using these with ipod - if you record from cd use the wav format, ok it takes up more space on the player, but the quality then really comes through.

Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars better than the MDR-NC6, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDR-NC7 Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
i owned the previous version of these and they broke on me just short of a year after purchase, neither sony nor amazon would replace them, so i was a little reluctant to buy them again, but i'm glad i did. i was staring down the barrel of an 18hr flight and didn't wan't to have to have the volume of the in-flight entertainment up too loud.

firstly these are very good headphones, good sound separation and good range, but they only work at their best when the noise cancelling is switched on, when off they sound a bit tinny and not that great, which could mean it'll get fairly expensive in batteries unless you get some rechargeables (having said that though, 2 x 18 hour flights later and they're still going strong on the battery that came with them!). The ambient noise mic that is used for the noise cancelling must be in a much better place now as on the previous model they were pretty much exposed and out and about on a breezy day would result in lots of interference, no such issues here, i had the window down in our bus and the wind cooling me nicely and no interference. they did however make my ears ache after prolonged use and could do with some sort of padding on the headband (i've got a good head of hair, but those with less might find them more uncomfortable much more quickly.

finally, to those who say that they do not work and expect them to cancel ALL noise, you're all idiots! These cancel LOW frequency ambient noise, for a good test go to your kitchen or bathroom and turn on the extractor fan, without any music playing turn on the noise cancelling, this should demonstrate how good they are, no they don't cancel all noise, but they do reduce the annoying ambient noises and allow you immerse yourself and enjoy whatever it is you're listening to/watching.

All in all these are great headphones, but could do with a few tweaks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 12 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDR-NC7 Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
Sound quality is good but I was disappointed by the noise cancelling function. I seem to remember they claim to cancel out up to 80% of background noise, I disagree with that statment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice headphones. But if you are a commuter...., 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDR-NC7 Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
Very pleased with the headphones. Comfortable, good sound and keep much of the background noise isolated. They fold up nicely too, which is a boon.

The "but"?

Mobile phones nearby really affect the speakers - there is no suppression against that digital "clicking" sound when a device gets a signal. If you are on the train it can be a nightmare - a few times i have had to pull them off as it was hurting my ears.

As i said it was a "but" - they are fine on a plane and superb indoors. Battery life good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars very uncomfortable, 21 July 2013
This review is from: Sony MDR-NC7 Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
These headphones were a bit of a disappointment. Whilst they do reduce background noise, you can still certainly hear most noises such as passing traffic, people talking etc. However, what is worse is that they are incredibly uncomfortable after more than 10 minutes of wear - they seem to squeeze down on my skull and give me a terrible headache. I've tried various positions and changing the length of the headband but they just can't be made comfortable, so all in all they are pretty useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy cheap buy twice., 5 Feb. 2014
By 
H. Wigley "MCTS, HP APS" (Everywhere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDR-NC7 Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
I wasn't overly impressed by the 'Noise Cancelling' in these headphones, nor the base. I don't think I'd buy these again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDR-NC7 Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
They are a reasonable noise cancelling headphone for the price. The additional accesories are welcome so they can be used in aeroplanes, but they are not all that comfy to wear. If they were padded across the top band they would be more comfortable to wear for a shaven headed person like myself. They do a reasonable job of noise cancellation for the price so I am satisfied, but no more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Spend More, 19 May 2013
This review is from: Sony MDR-NC7 Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
These are, without doubt, the worst headphones I have ever listened with, or without, the noise cancelling switched off. Turn it on and the volume increases giving the illusion that background noise decreases. Their sound is truly horrible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sony Noise Canceling Headphones MDR-NC7, 19 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Sony MDR-NC7 Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
What can i say amazing work great on plane cut out loads of noise with or without cancellation turned on used with ipod touch 2g did not drain any battery at all.
A++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 25 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Sony MDR-NC7 Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
I bought two sets of these headphones for use when travelling. I was fed up using airline 'phones and not being able to hear dialogue properly. These headphone did the trick. I used these recently on a transatlantic flight and could hear every word of the in-flight movies. Only one drawback, after you've been wearing them for a few hours your ears are a bit sore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews