Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Gear
Ordered my remote release on Monday 25th May at about 9ish in the evening, postman brought it to the door the following Wednesday Morning, that is impressive for a standard delivery charge, the seller didn't waste a moment getting it in the post, well done.
Sadly, not all went well, though I cannot in truth blame the supplier for this. Everything looked good, and was...
Published on 30 May 2009 by Mr. Trevor Connelly

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a curate's egg
The device is good, though I have doubts as to the claimed 100m, range - probably nearer 20metres, which is plenty.

The instructions provided vary between awful to incomprehensible. A typical example of Chenglish. Try this: 'When the use group racket function, need transmitter's digit code switch to establish completely only as 1234, then all receivers...
Published on 10 July 2009 by cranleigh boy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Gear, 30 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 meters Remote Control Switch for Sony A100 A200 A300 A350 A500 A550 A850 A700 A900,A33,A55, Minolta 100m (Electronics)
Ordered my remote release on Monday 25th May at about 9ish in the evening, postman brought it to the door the following Wednesday Morning, that is impressive for a standard delivery charge, the seller didn't waste a moment getting it in the post, well done.
Sadly, not all went well, though I cannot in truth blame the supplier for this. Everything looked good, and was well enough packaged, pulled it all apart, couldn't wait to get started, installed the battery, oop's, battery is just a little to large for the battery compartment, and jammed, stuck just a little to low to make contact with both terminals :-( Out with the tweezers, spent the next 10 minutes getting the ##### battery out :-(
Ok, battery out, checked everything, make sure there wasn't a label somewhere I should have removed or something silly like that, found nothing, thought about it while smoking a fag, and having a cup of tea, decided ###### battery at fault, I had no reason to doubt the unit :-)
In my car, up to Boots, new Duracell battery, in my car, back home, install battery, perfect fit, turn on unit, wow, this little thing is great, 50 pictures in 20 minutes, all spot on :-)
Telephone friend in Scotland, you must get one, it's great, she ordered one the following day, call from her this morning, battery jammed, I had warned her :-(
Conclusion: Buy one, the unit is very good, and works well :-)
Warning: Take your time putting the battery in, I'm sure this is just a batch problem, but if it feels tight, STOP, go and get a Duracell :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remote for Sony A200, 30 Jan. 2009
By 
Spider (Aberdeenshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 meters Remote Control Switch for Sony A100 A200 A300 A350 A500 A550 A850 A700 A900,A33,A55, Minolta 100m (Electronics)
Does exactly what i need it to. This works perfectly with my Sony A200. Press the button on the transmitter until the green LED comes on and the camera focuses, continue pressing until the red LED comes on and the shutter fires. Not being IR you do not have to be in 'line of sight' to use and i think this will work over a greater distance - up to 100m - although i have not tested it at this range yet.
Bought from BV-electronics - Good fast service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a curate's egg, 10 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 meters Remote Control Switch for Sony A100 A200 A300 A350 A500 A550 A850 A700 A900,A33,A55, Minolta 100m (Electronics)
The device is good, though I have doubts as to the claimed 100m, range - probably nearer 20metres, which is plenty.

The instructions provided vary between awful to incomprehensible. A typical example of Chenglish. Try this: 'When the use group racket function, need transmitter's digit code switch to establish completely only as 1234, then all receivers implements the active control to the region, realises to camera focusing, the shutter and the B mode control.' -- what does that mean?

The battery compartment carries no visible polarity markings which can mean inserting the battery the wrong way round - at best device won't work; at worst - no device left!

There are no indications as to how to access the dip switches which allow you to choose another of the 16 channels - and the instructions don't tell you.

There is a battery in the transmitter unit, but no instructions as to how to change it when it expires. Guessing, one dismantles the device with a screwdriver, but that is a guess!!

Support from the supplier is prompt but incomprehensible - there appears to be little understanding of the product or the needs of a customer. Simple terms are not understood, questions are ignored, answers bear little relationship to the questions.

A good product, thus far, spoilt by the instructions and the UK support. I await to see if I get a better answer from the parent company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slight confusion at first..., 9 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 meters Remote Control Switch for Sony A100 A200 A300 A350 A500 A550 A850 A700 A900,A33,A55, Minolta 100m (Electronics)
Very pleased with how quickly this item was delivered so full marks for that. Fitted the supplied battery in the receiver unit which I then fitted to my Sony A200 and tried using the transmitter. The LED came on (first green, then changed to red) as expected on the transmitter but the camera shutter wasn't triggered. I checked the receiver battery and unplugged and reconnected everything a few times before realising that the receiver unit has a small button that when pressed once actually turns it on ready for use and a red LED lights up (and stays lit) on the receiver unit. A second LED on the receiver then mimics the status of the transmitter LED to confirm focus (green) and shutter activation (red). The receiver is turned off by pressing the same small round button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well, 7 Sept. 2009
By 
L. Kennedy (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 meters Remote Control Switch for Sony A100 A200 A300 A350 A500 A550 A850 A700 A900,A33,A55, Minolta 100m (Electronics)
Remote is great, and being wireless, it's even better!
Worked straight out of the box, no problems whatsoever.
However, during my holidays when i was using the remote,
The aerial extended to far and came out all-together.
The remote still works fine, it is just the build quality that's abit shabby i suppose.
Overall great product, does what it says on the tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remote, 3 Mar. 2010
This review is from: 100 meters Remote Control Switch for Sony A100 A200 A300 A350 A500 A550 A850 A700 A900,A33,A55, Minolta 100m (Electronics)
Delivery was excellent, the item arrived right on time. The remote controller works. The written instructions are hilarious to the point of being uninteligible - the sort you got with a VHS recorder 30 years ago! I am dreading having to try and change channels with the dip switches. However, as I said it works, and is better value than than the branded versions. With decent instructions it would have got four stars.
100 meters Remote Control Switch for Sony A100 A200 A300 A350 A500 A550 A850 A700 A900 Minolta 100m
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say goodbye to the "10 second dash", 7 Sept. 2010
By 
LMD (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 meters Remote Control Switch for Sony A100 A200 A300 A350 A500 A550 A850 A700 A900,A33,A55, Minolta 100m (Electronics)
Too often I've come a cropper while trying to sprint from the camera back to the perfect position in the frame within the 10 seconds allowed by the delayed shutter release. Sure, it leades to some "amusing" photos but there's only so many cuts and bruises I can suffer for my art ;-) Then there's all of the otherwise perfect shots that end up over/under-exposed because the light changed during the 10 second delay.

Thankfully, these problems are now mostly a thing of the past. This remote release is fantastic - allowing me to compose the shot, get back into position and then take the picture in a very calm and orderly manner. I can also use it to take nature photos from a range that is otherwise impossible, enabling some great close-ups.

I've used it both on my old Minolta Dynax 7D and Sony A350 without problems. It just plugs into the remote release socket and works - I've not had any need to change the dip-switches etc. The range is amazing - I've never actually needed to test it all the way up to 100m but the 60m plus that I've used it at it's worked fine and I've achieved 30m from inside to outside. Press the button to focus and hold to take. Simple.

If you're using autofocus, I recommend setting the autofocus to a selected focus point to improve the chance that it focuses on the right thing when taking the picture - or you could manually focus while you're setting up.

A number of reviewers comment on the tight fit of the supplied battery - best advice is to remove the plastic outer-label from the battery itself - it makes barely a 1mm difference, but it helps. It's construction is a bit "plastic", and it looks like a cheap prop from "24" or similar, but it's functional and a good price so it's highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remote shutter switch Sony A200, 12 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 meters Remote Control Switch for Sony A100 A200 A300 A350 A500 A550 A850 A700 A900,A33,A55, Minolta 100m (Electronics)
Poorly written instructions, but not rocket science, and works a treat provided the battery is in the right way around ( make sure the + end of the battery is at the top nearest the lid. Taken some lovely wildlife pictures using it whilst the camera is outside in the garden and I am in the shed (I know I should get out more!!!). Handy piece of kit at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best ideas are always so simple!, 8 July 2009
By 
Ugly1 "Len T" (Harrow, London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 meters Remote Control Switch for Sony A100 A200 A300 A350 A500 A550 A850 A700 A900,A33,A55, Minolta 100m (Electronics)
Read the really basic instructions! Put in the battery and attach to camera. Switch on the unit and the camera. Take off the lens cap and point the camera at subject and set up. Extent the arial on the remote unit and press the button. The camera focuses and fires. Ha! Easy peasy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how to fix the "not working" problem- EASY!, 14 Jan. 2010
By 
S. Lynn (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 meters Remote Control Switch for Sony A100 A200 A300 A350 A500 A550 A850 A700 A900,A33,A55, Minolta 100m (Electronics)
I bought this after reading reviews, despite the ones that sait it didn't work. Most people seem happy with it.
However mine did not do much at all, a red light on the camera bit and nothing else, checked everything 3 times, still nothing. After a coffee and a cig, realise there must be a powerful battery in the bit with the ariel, on back says 12v 20mH.
Open th back by removing 2 very small recessed screws, carefully open and there you see the A3 12v battery. Ii 'span' it in place and tried it - works perfectly, so slight corrosion on the battery terminals caused by damp in transit? Whatever, clean terminals with switch cleaner or whatever , re assemble carefully and do same with camera unit too. ( I decided to replace both batteries , a CR2 AND an A3, as It was oper, only a couple of quid at Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews