Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CONNICK'S SEASONAL OFFERING WITH A JAZZY FLAVOUR REALLY SWINGS!
The hugely talented Harry Connick Jr. has just released his third Seasonal album and like the previous two, he adopts his usual cool and laid-back approach with a punchy big band or string orchestra on hand to match his off-the-wall interpretations of well-loved Christmas standards like JINGLE BELLS and IT'S BEGINNING TO LOOK A LOT LIKE CHRISTMAS, with the hymn OH COME...
Published on 21 Dec 2008 by A. POLLOCK

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Happy
Happy with my purchase and husband enjoyed listening to the album as it revived a lot of memories for him.
Published on 31 Dec 2011 by Maddy P


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CONNICK'S SEASONAL OFFERING WITH A JAZZY FLAVOUR REALLY SWINGS!, 21 Dec 2008
By 
A. POLLOCK (PLYMOUTH, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What A Night! A Christmas Album (Audio CD)
The hugely talented Harry Connick Jr. has just released his third Seasonal album and like the previous two, he adopts his usual cool and laid-back approach with a punchy big band or string orchestra on hand to match his off-the-wall interpretations of well-loved Christmas standards like JINGLE BELLS and IT'S BEGINNING TO LOOK A LOT LIKE CHRISTMAS, with the hymn OH COME ALL YE FAITHFUL given a gentle but faster tempo than normal and jazzy piano middle and end sections between his vocal.

However, having previously exhausted the popular Festive catalogue, Harry adds four of his own compositions with the album's title WHAT A NIGHT! plus CHRISTMAS DAY and SANTARRIFIC (with Lucien Barbarin) particularly catchy numbers. PLEASE COME HOME FOR CHRISTMAS, a bluesy opus, contrasts well with the familiar WINTER WONDERLAND which has the added attraction of having Harry's eleven year old daughter, Sarah Kate on board to share their charming father-daughter duet with playful banter adding extra bounce to the upbeat proceedings. The instrumental DANCE OF THE SUGARPLUM FAIRIES plays as a funky exercise, with Kim Burrell joining Harry for LET THERE BE PEACE ON EARTH and SONG FOR THE HOPEFUL. With ZAT YOU SANTA CLAUS and WE THREE KINGS also on the Christmas menu, this album is recommended to all who prefer their sentiment laced with a distinctive jazzy flavour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harry's Christmas Cracker, 15 Dec 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Liverpool England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What A Night! A Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Once again Harry has come up with a Christmas Cracker an album that swings with variety. From fresh arrangements of Christmas standards 'We Three Kings' to some new songs 'zat you Santa Claus' ]
The best of Harry's Christmas albums, Superb arrangements, excellent standard of music all presented in Harry Connick's faultless style. For me the best Christmas release this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'What A Night!' What an album., 7 Jun 2010
By 
film fan (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What A Night! A Christmas Album (Audio CD)
This is Harry Connick Jr. at his most seasonal and joyous. The rip-roaring arrangements and orchestrations on the tracks are superb and this is a terrific Christmas album that stands tall and strong. Harry Connick Jr. gives us four wonderful self-penned up beat Christmas tracks that are mixed in with the usual favourite classic songs on here including 'It's The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year', 'O Come All Ye Faithful' and 'Winter Wonderland' featuring a glorious duet with his daughter, Kate Connick.

I would find it difficult to choose a particular favourite on here. All the songs are catchy and beautifully played by all concerned. I've fallen in love with Harry Connick Jr's voice all over again. His voice, on this album in particular, really shines on all the songs. In my opinion, this album is a wonderful and delicious follow up to 'Oh My Nola'/'My New Orleans' which he released the year before in 2007.

Harry Connick Jr. is back to his awe inspiring best and long may it continue. Bravo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What A Night! A Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Would definitely recommend this album for anyone who likes easy-to-listen-to Christmas jingles. Most tracks are good but there are a couple that could really do with not being on there - reason for the 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed :(, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What A Night! A Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Bought this as a present but couldn't give it as the cellophane wrapper was missing. Was sold as brand new so presumed it would be sealed, didn't want my friend to think I'd opened it and listened to or copied it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brings Christmas into your home, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What A Night! A Christmas Album (Audio CD)
I would have given this album 5 stars except I didn't care for a couple of his songs that he changed up a bit. His voice is dreamy as are his looks, but unfortunately this isn't a DVD. It's a very good Christmas album and I'm glad I added it to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovelyfeel good Christmas album, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What A Night! A Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Its a Christmas album for everyone, its nostalgic, beautiful and a massive must buy for people that love Harry Connick Jnr & or Christmas, it also makes a lovely present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A croners Christmas, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What A Night! A Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Do enjoy the songs from the likes of Mat Monroe, Frank Sinatra,Bing Crosby etc. then you will enjoy this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Christmas?, 30 Mar 2012
By 
S. Graham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What A Night! A Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Disappointing. His arrangement of Winter Wonderland used in 'when Harry met Sally' is joyful and brilliant - this isn't. Amazon offer track previews of this album. Listen to see if this matches your expectations of this sometimes brilliant recording artist. It didn't meet mine: I found it to be a series of relatively unknown, not terribly seasonal (sticking the word Santa in the lyrics, or shaking sleigh bells during the intro, doesn't qualify), big band numbers. The Winter Wonderland on this album is far removed from the instrumental previously issued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars What a night! Christmas album, 23 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What A Night! A Christmas Album (Audio CD)
I bought this because it got a high rating in the paper. I love Harry and was expecting cool jazz arrangements. I have to confess, I haven't listened to the whole thing, because I don't like it. The tracks I've listened to are not to my taste at all, so I am disappointed. I find the backing muddled and annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What A Night! A Christmas Album
What A Night! A Christmas Album by Harry Connick Jr. (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews