Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Of Candy's Finest Moments
I remember first seeing this as a child on the TV, I really liked those sort of films, like this and The Naked Gun Trilogy, Leslie Nielson's comic police detective work was just hilarious, so when I heard John Candy had done one I wanted to see it, as I was a big fan already. I was not disappointed, it was very funny, and as a kid I liked every silly moment there...
Published on 2 April 2009 by DL Productions UK

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Might be worth something...
Harry is the latest generation of the Crumbs, who are famous and extremely talented detectives.

Talent seems to have skipped a generation and Harry is reduced to work at a remote branch of the Crumb detective agency.

Back at headquarters, Crumb executive Elliot Draison hatches an evil plan which requires the inclusion of an incompetent detective...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Of Candy's Finest Moments, 2 April 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Who's Harry Crumb? [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I remember first seeing this as a child on the TV, I really liked those sort of films, like this and The Naked Gun Trilogy, Leslie Nielson's comic police detective work was just hilarious, so when I heard John Candy had done one I wanted to see it, as I was a big fan already. I was not disappointed, it was very funny, and as a kid I liked every silly moment there was.

Fast forward 20 years or so and this is still very funny, Candy is Harry Crumb, a slap stick private detective who is related to a long line of good detectives. He really is the bottom rung of the family tree in many ways, and finds it hard to live up to the family's expectations.

When a girl is kidnapped, he needs to find the killer, so he enlists young Nikki (Shawnee Smith - Becker), who sort of looks up to him - as her father isn't always there for them. She hates her step mother, and seeks revenge. Harry has to find the kidnapper, and the thief before they go away with the 10 million Dollars.

This is good slap stick fun, John Candy bringing great energy to the movie, with his jovial wit and charm, and Shawnee Smith proving she was already a rising star. There are some really funny moments like Harry getting stuck in a jockey's telephone booth, and the misunderstanding at the table. Both Candy and Smith work well together, and make this film good fun, especially John Candy's impressions and disguises.

This DVD is shockingly poor, no extras whatsoever, though you do get English subtitles. The film is badly transferred too, there is a lot of artefacts and marks on the film, but the sound is not bad, it's a decent enough 2.0 mix, but really it could have been much better.

Worth renting, hopefully it won't be too long until we get a better transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Candy was a genius, 18 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who's Harry Crumb? [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
John Franklin Candy made Who`s Harry Crumb the same year as Uncle Buck and brought the same fun and enthusiasm with it. He plays a bungling detective to perfection. An unmissable movie if you enjoy a good laugh. His disguises are hilarious,as is his character,innocent and harmless.
Classic Candy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 15 Feb 2008
Candy is brilliant in this role as a bumbling detective. Comedy is gentle, but he has hundreds of great lines, this is a greatly underrated film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Candy, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who's Harry Crumb? [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Very good film and love John candy he was a brilliant actor. Would highly recommend this film . So sad he passed away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very much underated!, 7 Mar 2009
By 
Craig Taylor (Scuthorpe, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who's Harry Crumb? [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Many critics panned this film upon it original for not been all that good, fair enough the film has some unfunny moments bt there are many funny scenes.
John Candy is excellent as he always is playing a detective who must find out the culprits behind a kidnap.
Worth a watch, but be warned the typical 80's music in the film has dated it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last R2 release!!!, 10 Sep 2008
By 
A. Beech (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who's Harry Crumb? [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Classic bit of 80's comedy that has been well overdue on a R2 relaese. If your a fan of the late John Candy then you'll know what to expect. Stupid and hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated classic, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who's Harry Crumb? [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
So many stars in this, look out for Belushi on the bus! Good old fashioned slap stick comedy that is still watchable today. Brings back great memories :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Might be worth something..., 13 Nov 2013
This review is from: Who's Harry Crumb? [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Harry is the latest generation of the Crumbs, who are famous and extremely talented detectives.

Talent seems to have skipped a generation and Harry is reduced to work at a remote branch of the Crumb detective agency.

Back at headquarters, Crumb executive Elliot Draison hatches an evil plan which requires the inclusion of an incompetent detective. With Harry on the case, Draison thinks everything will run fine for him.

Despite his best efforts Crumb actually makes some headway in the case...

Before Candy made it big with a certain member of a family called Buck, he went all out with this little film, which is basically a hybrid of Fletch and The Naked Gun.

Its one of those reliable movies from the eighties that you will enjoy, because your a fan of the star. Films you couldn't imagine to be any good if it starred anyone else, such as Funny Farm, Moving, or even The Golden Child.

While it won't win any awards for originality, its still good fun, in a Sunday afternoon sort of way. Candy is fine, and is aided by Smith, sort of preparing her for her future Saw roles.

Jones was the posh villain of choice in the eighties, and here he plays the same character as he did in Ferris Buellers and Howard The Duck.

Its predictable, and some costumes Candy wears are borderline xenophobic, but its harmless in a way only the eighties could be.

Plus its the best film ever where Janine from Ghostbusters is amazingly hot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A bad film out odf a bad book..., 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who's Harry Crumb? [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A wasted talent. John Candy was a good actor. The story is predictable and painfully boring.
What else can be said?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great laugh, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who's Harry Crumb? [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
i just think john candy in his early days was just fantastic and this one is right up there with his other great films ha has been in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who's Harry Crumb? [DVD] [2008]
Who's Harry Crumb? [DVD] [2008] by Jerry R. Allen (DVD - 2008)
4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews