Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From the sublime to the ridiculous!
Having attended the concert, I was keen to get the DVD as a momento of the show, and it provides a good representation of what happened on the night. Overall a great gig, with Gary Moore, Joe Walsh and Dave Gilmour providing the showcase performances that befit the type of event this was intended to be.

There are numerous questions to ask, however:-...
Published on 26 July 2006 by W. Thorne

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretender Fender?
When i think Strat I think...Marvin ,Knopfler Gilmour,Beck,Clapton etc etc. Great musicians that they are May ,Rutherford,Rodgers etc are the last players that come to mind.I just dont get it? What the hell was all that about? Rodgers kids and Amy Winehouse? I just felt that a few of the acts hadnt really payed their dues if we are celebrating the worlds most recognised...
Published on 1 July 2007 by R. E. Knight


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From the sublime to the ridiculous!, 26 July 2006
By 
W. Thorne "Rocklens" (Warwick, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having attended the concert, I was keen to get the DVD as a momento of the show, and it provides a good representation of what happened on the night. Overall a great gig, with Gary Moore, Joe Walsh and Dave Gilmour providing the showcase performances that befit the type of event this was intended to be.

There are numerous questions to ask, however:-

Why Jamie Cullum and Ami Winehouse were included on the bill I'll never know, especially the latter, who was given far more time to bore the audience with her dreadful performance than Gary Moore, who set the place alight with his one song (Red House). Gary should have had far more time ... he opitomised the sort of dynamic, exciting guitar playing that the audience came expecting to see.

Why was Paul Rogers, as great a singer as he is, allowed to drag his kids on stage to bore the audience with some of their own (poor) material ..what have they done to contribute to the esteemed history of the Strat?

Why did Brian May revert to his own guitar instead of sticking to the Strat, bearing in mind the show was a celebration of the Strat after all!!?? A bit of an insult in my opinion.

Why did Jeff Beck not turn up? Many people, including myself, bought tickets on the promise he would be playing.

Overall, buy the DVD for the great performances, which thankfully outnumber the duff moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master class from the Moore/Gilmour, 20 Nov 2006
Two names that any guitarist knows make this DVD worthwhile.

Moores rendition of Red House is tremendous with an awesome array of raw power and skill.(I like the way moore turns up his amp and growls the guitar up before letting rip> -Cocky-Stylish and... Why Not!))Why he only got one song is a travesty to what these shows are all about and you could see the crowds response craving Moore!. David Gilmours peformance was of the usual perfection with more songs and total control offering a great alternative to Moores earlier potent style.

My gripes with this DVD are 1/ Why did Paul Rogers get to air his kids, 2/ Why amy whitehouse anyway and 3/why Jamie Callumn on a PIANO!!!.Its not like the promoters were struggling for guitarists.

Buy this for Moore and Gilmours performances alone. No Gimmicks - Master Class - Respect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for Moore and Gilmour who save the show from mediocrity, 31 Oct 2006
By 
Macca "Macca" (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a real mixed bag. When you think of famous Strat players you think Clapton, Gilmour, Marvin, Beck, Knopfler, then onto bluesmen like Buddy Guy and Robert Cray. What are the chances of that lot lining up on one stage?

Zero - and that's ultimately the problem this show suffers from.

That said this is aimed at guitar fans and it's worth buying for the chance to see a rare performance by David Gilmour, and for an amazing rendition of Red House from Gary Moore. Moore steals the show really - its a shame he was on in the middle of the set.

I guess this show also shows one of the benefits of DVD in that you can skip over the boring bits straight to the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Start Pack, 7 Dec 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Given that the title of this DVD includes the words "50th Anniversary of the Fender Stratocaster" I was expecting to see artists associated with this iconic instrument so the inclusion of Jamie Cullum and Amy Winehouse I found bewildering & disappointing. Also, some historical or anecdotal stuff about this famous intrument - from the players, perhaps - would have been nice. It was, after all, the Strat's anniversary! Notwithstanding, a good buy for guitar fans even if a few fast forwards are required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enough content to make you smile, 4 July 2005
By 
P. G. Moore "Paddy Moore" (Cowes, Isle of Wight United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are two main reasons for buying this DVD - one is called Gary Moore and the other Dave Gilmour. Both have played the Strat to great effect during their long careers and it shows on the DVD, as both are on great form. Surprisingly the DVD showcases guitar players who made their name by not playing a Fender - Joe Walsh, Albert Lee, Brian May and ... er ... Jamie Cullum. Joe Walsh is good value, as always, and Brian May does a reasonable job of Alright Now. You have to question why Gary Moore gets one song and Paul Rogers and Paul Carrack both get four songs each, as the latter two are not exactly famous for playing the guitar and Carrack chooses to do 3 cover songs but the DVD is worthy of a place in anybody's music collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretender Fender?, 1 July 2007
By 
R. E. Knight (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When i think Strat I think...Marvin ,Knopfler Gilmour,Beck,Clapton etc etc. Great musicians that they are May ,Rutherford,Rodgers etc are the last players that come to mind.I just dont get it? What the hell was all that about? Rodgers kids and Amy Winehouse? I just felt that a few of the acts hadnt really payed their dues if we are celebrating the worlds most recognised guitar.. Still we did get to see some fab musicians,Albert Lee, Pino Palladino and of course Gary Moore and Joe Walsh who were arguably the best acts.If theres a Telecaster celebration we will prob get Robbie Williams and Girls Aloud instead of James Burton and Keith Richards...God Forbid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iconic Instrument In Concert, 30 Jun 2006
By 
Kicking off with The legendary Crickets with Albert Lee and Brian May both using Strats instead of their usual Musicman and Fireplace /BM Burns instruments of course this is yet another Strat anniversary and we hear some classic tracks but it looks as though rehearsals were rushed or did not even take place. Nevertheless good to hear where it all started. "Guitar Legend" is a much over used term but the next man despite what anyone thinks is probably the only true legend appearing. No surprises to hear "Apache". The best track of his set is "Sleepwalk" which is still the best demonstration of the beauiful tone that can be obtained from a Strat.
Americans next in the form of country star Theresa Anderson who was average but then our Albert (Lee) joins her for "Country Boy" and his virtuosity makes you wonder how anyone can play so fast and yet so crisply.Wonderful stuff. How do you follow that? Space does not allow a blow by blow account of this concert but just what the hell is Jamie Cullum doing on this??? My conclusion is that he filled a spot while the audience purchased an ice cream or went to the toilet. Just fast forward your DVD player at this point.
Apparently Jeff Beck, if you have a copy of the concert programme, was meant to appear and it looks as though Gary Moore was drafted in as cover. He blows the place apart with his tribute to Jimi Henrix and "Red House" he is awesome and plays with such passion. His mike is not working at first and then he wonders over looks at his amp and turns it up to 12 (sorry spinal tap 11 is not loud enough). You can hear the distortion coming from the amp and then he blasts into it with no holds barred. Wonderful! Just one track from Gary but worth buying the dvd for alone. Then Amy Winehouse. She is not a "noted" Strat player per say but she is great anyway and Paul Rogers not so great when his kids come on doing Free numbers with Bryan May back with his fireplace and knitting needle guitar. You just cannot keep a Strat around his neck. Highlights then on in is Paul Carrack and the great Andy Fairweather-Low's tribute to George, "While My Guitar Gently Weeps". The Beatle would have approved.
Jo Walsh does a fantastic set, "Lifes Been Good; "Rocky Mountain Way" etc. Topping the bill and being introduced by Phil Manzanera is David Gilmour for two tracks playing serial No 001 which is not stricly the first production Strat but probably the most valuable instrument in the show and the only one brought to the show in a Securicor van. Good to hear it doing what it is supposed to do. I hate collectors who buy vintage Strats and hang them in glass cases on the wall. "Marooned" "Coming Back to Life" on 001 closing with "Sorrow" on his familiar red Strat. OK so we have to close the show and we need a Rolling Stone. On comes Ron Wood and an all star line up closing the show with a "Live Aid" feed the world type chorus of Rod Stewart's stay with me. All the cast bar one look to be on stage for this awful show closer. Yes the legend himself cannot be seen. Great stuff as funds were raised for the Nordorff Robbins music therapy charity.Special mention to Phil Palmer the music director of the show. What a guitarist! Enjoy this DVD but guitarists will fast forward some tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strat Pack Pros entertain each other and their fans., 20 May 2005
Saw the gig, bought the DVD. Don't be put off by the dull DVD cover as both great. This beautifully shot concert captures the fantastic fun that these guitar legends had playing with their own heroes. Got a sense of the history of rock and roll with the opening Crickets and Hank Marvin and the influence they had on the next generation including on the night Brian May, Gary Moore and David Gilmour. Gary Moores Redhouse stands out as the guitar moment with a superlative rendition of which Hendrix would have been proud. Paul Carrack and Paul Rodgers sing superbly, the ex Free vocalist dominating the stage and coralling all those talents to great effect. Joe Walsh is on top form ...always near the edge, David Gilmour plays the 001 production strat to moving effect and Ronnie Wood is a Rolling Stone...all very Rock and Roll!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Concert, not the best Bluray, 9 Jan 2009
This review is from: The Strat Pack: 50th Anniversary Of The Fender Strat [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
This is superb concert that I can enjoy watching from start to finish or just dip in and out to my favourite parts.

I have owned the DVD version of this for a couple of years now and many of my friends have bought it too. I managed to borrow the Bluray version to compare it to the DVD and frankly it isn't worth it the upgrade if you already have the DVD. A good upscaling DVD player will give you a similar picture and the only real benefit with this title on Bluray is DTS HD Master Audio, which isn't noticeably better than the standard DTS soundtrack on the DVD.

If you don't own the DVD, get the Bluray but if you are considering the upgrade, I personally wouldn't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mostly marvloous DVD, 12 Jun 2005
By 
Jonathan Browne (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fristly, to answer Joseph Thomas's query about Gary Moore, the reason he only got one song on the DVD was that he, despite being on fiery form, performed only one song at the concert. I was there, and was hugely disappointed he didn't stay on.
Gary's spectacular version "Red House" that really tore the place up, along with memorable performances by the great Dave Gilmour, the quirky and underrated Phil Manzanera plus the marvellous Joe Walsh are, for me, the highlights of the DVD just as they were at Wembley last Autumn.
Generally, the DVD faithfully record a mostly wonderful evening and I imagine most rock/guitar fans , whether there that night or not, would feel it a very welcome addition to their collection.
I say a mostly wonderful because nine months later I still have no idea what Jamie Cullum (a keyboard player and bland faux jazz vocalist), Amy Winehouse (sorry, but I thought she was excrutiatingly bad - stage fright or lack of talent? or both?)were doing there.
Other highlight - Paul Rodgers was his usual rocking and entertaining self, a consumate frontman still, and with hindsight we saw the beginnings of Queen's partially successful comeback.
One other small point, the sound on much of the DVD is a little weedier than it was on the night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Strat Pack: 50th Anniversary Of The Fender Strat [Blu-ray] [2008]
11.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews