Customer Reviews


208 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb.
First of all I have to say that this is the first Blu-Ray film I have ever watched and this technology does not disappoint. Everything was crystal clear and the sound so perfect that at one point when someone trod on a twig, I nearly jumped out of my skin.

The Telmarines have taken over Narnia and Prince Caspian who should rightly be the next King finds his...
Published on 24 Oct. 2009 by Pyewacket

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Susan now likes killing things
In Lewis' novel Susan is described as a girl who 'hates killing things' (p134). In Disney's movie she kills people with great relish. In fact she's as good at it as any boy. That observation provides any viewer of this film with the key to understand what it presents - and sadly, it isn't Lewis.

If you want a screen version of Lewis' Prince Caspian then...
Published on 17 Jan. 2009 by Mooncarrot the Hare


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film with some great realisation, 3 Nov. 2011
By 
Having never read the books but with an awareness of its messages it is interesting to watch this saga as an adult. They make good films but not perfect. Visually it is stunning to watch and surprisingly like Lord of the Rings with the extensive battle scenes. The build up to seeing Aslan again is well done, and appropriately the highlight of the film. Casting Liam Neeson to do the voice was inspired. The minotaurs were well crafted, but the centaurs just do not quite work when running and walking but otherwise are attractively designed.

I struggle to accept children/young adults competently defeating so many adult armoured soldiers which is why I would not give the film 5 stars. However, along with Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter, it is going to make an nice set of films despite no where near the publicity of the first two. Perhaps not quite as good as The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe because that was a showcase of wonderful fantasy. Not immediately obvious to some viewers whether this is a direct sequel or whether they have missed a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prince Caspian, 4 Jan. 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
In 'Prince Caspian' we return to an altered and savage Narnia and more fantasy adventure to delight the family. You get great affects, battle scenes, talking animals and a pretty close rendition of the book. I have to say that I found this more enjoyable than 'The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe' with the slightly darker elements to the story fitting the fantasy adventure theme a lot better. The children stars of this film annoy me as actors and Prince Caspians accent reminded me of Puss in Boots from Shrek at times, but overall the acting was OK and didn't detract from the story. It manages to achieve what it set out to, that is, a fun family adventure and manages to keep you interested and watching for the duration, which didn't feel overly long as the story kept pushing forward. A good film that is worth watching if you were a fan of the first installment or of fantasy films in general.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I'd expected, 20 July 2008
By 
Schneehase (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Prince Caspian was always my least favourite of the Narnia Chronicles ... not sure why, but I never found it as satisfying as the others. I went along to see the film out of a sense of duty (fantasy/Narnia fan) and also because the trailers showed scenes that seemed to have been lifted straight out of the book (always a plus in my eyes!). And, indeed, the director did lift large parts of the screenplay straight out of the book, including dialogue, which was excellent. What the director also did, unexpectedly, was to make the rest of the story more enjoyable and action packed. The changes to the story were necessary to achieve this and for once, I was not annoyed with the director for making these changes.
The little bit of romance didn't detract from the story either and there were hints of the future for the four children (and this franchise of films, presumably), which was very much in keeping with the novels.
I recommend this film to anyone who loves the Narnia books, to anyone who enjoys fantasy and to anyone who wants a cracking good evening out (or in, on dvd!).
I didn't find the battle scenes too long as some reviewers did. The actors managed to make Miraz and his Queen almost sympathetic, which was interesting. Reepicheep was absolutely note perfect - as was almost every other character and cgi effect.
And did anyone else think Ben Barnes looked a bit like a young Keanu Reeves?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant adaptation of the book, 20 July 2008
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review was originally based on having been to see the film in the cinema with my family. We subsequently watched it again on DVD and I have updated the review to reflect this.

Andrew Adamson and the team who produced "The Chronicles Of Narnia - The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe [DVD] [2005]" surpassed themselves this time. All four of the actors who played the Pevensie children are brilliant and the film introduces Ben Barnes who is spellbinding as Caspian.

If you enjoyed either the original book or the first film you will almost certainly love this adaptation.

Apart from the five leads, other excellent performances come from Liam Neeson as the voice of Aslan and Eddie Izzard as Reepicheep, the leader of the talking mice - an incredibly difficult role to bring off because he has to be funny in places but also genuinely heroic. (If you've not read the book, imagine a version of Antonio Banderas's character from Shrek II except that where the swordfighting "Puss in Boots" is 80% comic and 20% hero, Reepicheep the swordfighting mouse is 80% hero and 20% comic.) Warwick Davis - who played Reepicheep in the BBC version 20 years ago - is superb this time as the black dwarf Nikabrak and Peter Dinklage is even better as the cynical but golden hearted dwarf Trumpkin.

Previous reviewers have posted some excellent descriptions of the film from the viewpoint of a newcomer to Narnia, so I will add a few comments aimed at those who are familiar with the books but have not yet seen the film.

Surprisingly, the film managed both to be reasonably true to the spirit of the book and also keep me in suspense, because the way the story was presented kept me thinking the film must be about to diverge from Lewis's plot, though it ususlly didn't. In fact almost all the major events of the book eventually happened in the film in more or less the same way, along with most of my favourite details of the book, though the order of events is not quite the same.

What's missing: Bacchus and his wild girls have been censored, and any schoolteachers cursed with naughty children may be disappointed to learn that the scene where a class of horrid little boys get turned into pigs has been taken out. The Bulgy Bear does get to be one of the Marshals for the duel between Peter and Miraz: the delightful little exchange when he reminds Peter that he has the right to that position "I'm a bear, I am!") didn't make it into the final cut, but on the second disc of the DVD release it is one of the "deleted scenes". When Aslan summons the River God, the latter manifests as a man in the shape of a column of water rather than weeds and doesn't need any further permission ("Hail, Lord! Loose my chains") to deal with the Bridge of Beruna.

What's been added: this story gives far more details of the battles than the original book, and also to the political manouvering amongst the Telmarines. In the original the initial battle between the forces of Caspian and the Narnians, and those of the Telmarines loyal to Miraz, is passed over in a few lines written in the past tense. In the film a completely different battle which has an equivalent place in the story is shown in gripping detail. The desperate battle which follows the duel between Peter and Miraz is also depicted in much greater detail than in the book.

The beginning of the film spends slightly longer in wartime England before the Pevensie children are called back to Narnia than in the book, and confronts some of the problems that they, particularly Peter, would have faced on their return to our world at the end of "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe." If you can imagine spending a decade or two in another word in which you were the High King, during which you had grown to manhood, commanded armies, fought and won wars, and then you had to go back to being an ordinary teenager - it would be pretty difficult, wouldn't it?

Anna Popplewell's character Susan Pevensie also gets a significantly meatier role than in the book: Queen Susan is not just a formidable archer herself but plays a heroic role commanding the Narnian archers at the Battle of Beruna and she also has what gets very close to a romance with Caspian. One of the deleted scenes on disc II was cut partly because the producers did not want to overdo the romantic tension between Susan and Caspian, but what they left in still has plenty of it.

Having built up Susan's character as much as they have in this film, the producers may have created even more trouble than they would probably already have had if they follow the original detail and allow her to drift away from Narnia as recorded in the book "The Last Battle." This treatment of Susan is probably the most controversial aspect of the seven books although it is not true, as frequently alleged (especially by people who want to denigrate C.S. Lewis) that Susan is excluded from heaven. The reason Susan doesn't meet the other characters in Heaven at the end of the series is that she isn't dead yet. (When Lewis was subsequently asked about this his reply, published posthumously in the book "Letters to Children," was that Susan may eventually get to heaven.) Speaking as an arch-purist where being true to Lewis's original vision is concerned, a more positive role for Susan at the end of the series is one of the few modifications which would not annoy me.

Controversy over the whether Caspian and Susan are romantically attracted has continued with respect to both this film and the third one, "Voyage of the Dawn Treader" in which Lucy asks Caspian if he has found his Queen yet, and he replies that he hasn't found a girl who can compete with her sister.

C.S. Lewis's stepson, Douglas Gresham, who has been involved with all three films to date, has said that he strongly disagrees with the idea of a romance between Caspian and Susan, but he was reluctant to over-rule the director. Gresham's interpretation of Caspian's fascination with Susan is that she is a legendary figure from Caspian's childhood, and that he sees her as a legend made flesh rather than someone he wants to marry: you can view this film in that way and it does work.

Peter and Susan are told at the end of "Prince Caspian" that they are not coming back to Narnia, but both William Moseley (Peter) and Anna Popplewell (Susan) get cameo parts in scenes set on our world in "The Voyage of the Dawn Treader." If the team who produced this manage to make films of all seven books, Moseley will presumably get a modest part as High King Peter in "The Last Battle" and Anna Popplewell will presumably be offered a chance to play a fairly important one as the adult Queen Susan in "The Horse and his Boy" which is set during the Golden Age towards the end of "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe" e.g. the period while the Pevensies are Kings and Queens in Narnia, before they return to Earth at the end of the book.

Conclusion: broadly true to the book, gripping and exciting, well worth going to see. This left me eagerly anticipating the return of Ben Barnes, Skandar Keyes (Edmund), and Georgie Henshaw (Lucy) in "The Voyage of the Dawn Treader" which hit cinemas at the end of 2010 and which I and my family did indeed enjoy immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great family film and a welcome return to Narnia, 24 Aug. 2008
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Prince Caspian wasn't given great reviews by professional reviewers, which just goes to show you shouldn't pay too much attention to them... The film provides a couple of hours of escapist fantasy, with a strong moral message, likeable characters, an interesting plot and a host of enchanting Narnians. And there's that great big lion, too; easily the star of the movie.
Unlike most sequels, Prince Caspian has a storyline in its own right and doesn't simply re-tread the plot of the first film. Narnia is in peril again and this time it is humans who are doing the damage. Much of ancient Narnia has been destroyed; the trees no longer dance, Aslan is a mere myth, and the few fabulous creatures who remain are in hiding.
The four children are summoned back (after struggling to fit back in to normal life in wartime England) to help Prince Caspian regain his throne and at the same time save the last of the Narnians from extinction.

There are a range of new bad guys (mostly humans), and new good guys (you'll love the mouse who gets all the good dialogue), and a scary-scary moment where our heroes nearly release a far worse enemy at their most desperate hour. It's always easier to turn to the dark side...!

Prince Capsian has its flaws; it's a little long, and the Prince himself is not an entirely engaging character. The makers also shied away from hammering home the film's central message (about losing/finding one's faith, and about staying true to righteous motivation), although it is there as a very significant under-current. It also suffers from comparison to other fantasy sagas -- although this doesn't seem fair, considering they all draw upon the same mythic legends to create worlds filled with marvellous creatures.
The Narnia films (and books) were intended for children, and should be viewed as such. Having said that -- I'm 40 and thoroughly enjoyed Prince Caspian. I'm sentimental enough to believe that it is right to fight for the oppressed under-dog, and mushy enough to go misty when the golden lion radiates his love and reassurance. (Aslan easily wins my award for 'best CGI lion' !).
If you're watching this at home and can opt for a hi-def version then I'd recommend you do so, and enjoy the effects at top quality. In any case, this is a film which your kids can watch over and over, so it's probably well worth buying if you've children aged 12 or under. My guess is that teenagers and 20-somethings might sneer... while us older ones wistfully recall the days when we could believe in fantastical centaurs and talking badgers. Delightful escapsim.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too many battle scenes, 19 May 2014
‘Prince Caspian’ is probably my least favourite of the Narnia books; early reviews had not really been too enthusiastic about the film version, so it took me until now to watch it on DVD

The opening of the film works well. Caspian’s mentor was exactly as I had imagined him, urging his young protegé to escape. The scenes when Caspian is discovered by the Narnians also, I felt, kept fairly close to the book and were well done.

When we switch to the Pevensie children in London, there seemed to be some irrelevant extra parts.. but they duly arrive at the ruined castle, and gradually realise what’s going on… so far, so good.

It’s a long time since I read the book – at least twelve years – but even so, I became aware of more and more deviation from the book. Particularly irritating was the unpleasant rivalry between Peter (William Moseley) and Caspian (Ben Barnes). Still, the much-touted’ love interest’, such as it was, seemed very low-key and not actually unrealistic or unlikely in the circumstances. It wasn’t necessary, but it didn’t seem to me to do any harm.

Aslan and the other talking animals are very well done, and I was captivated by the mouse Reepicheep, who provided some light humour in the midst of some quite tense scenes.

But, alas, the rest of film was basically, a series of rather tedious battles, played out in too much detail. The book does have a lot of fighting; but one can skim the detail in a book. Some of it was rather violent, and I’d have personally given the film a ‘12’ rating rather than the ’PG" which both the UK an US censors decided was appropriate.

Worth seeing as part of the series, but if you haven’t read the book or read (or seen) the first one, this would probably be rather confusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Narnia: Prince Caspian, 1 Feb. 2009
By 
Mrs. Jacqueline A. Leevers "jack63kids" (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with the film version of the Lion Witch and the Wardrobe, I was slightly disappointed with these productions, but not so much that I stopped enjoying them completely.

Being a fan of the books for more years than I can count, I expect those expectations had become unrealistic. I did want Aslan to be bigger and more dazzling than he appeared on screen, though Liam Neeson did an admirable job voicing him in magisterial splendour. Given that they could get the CGI to do practically whatever they wanted, he could have been bigger than an ordinary lion, as stated in the books, his mane could have been longer and more golden to give him a larger than life look that fitted CS Lewis' descriptions.

Having said that first, I thought the child actors did an excellent job and were cast well for the parts they took. Edmund's transformation from sulky sibling in the first film, to bold adolescent with great humour and wit was magnificent. Prince Caspian was also a great piece of casting and he was believable as Prince from another realm who wanted to discover the Old Narnia that he had heard tales of as a small boy. His uncle was as sinister and double crossing as you would wish him to be.

The animated animals and various mythical characters were beautifully done and there were no moments where the magic of the performance was broken by poor animation or badly done CGI effects. I had great fun recognising favourite actors voicing there parts; not one a disappointment.

It is generally an excellent all round family film that I can recommend with only a few small reservations.
jack63kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Don't mess with the mice, 5 Jan. 2014
"The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian" is the second Hollywood film freely based on C. S. Lewis' Christian fairytales about Narnia. Peter, Edmund, Susan and Lucy return to Narnia after a 1,500 years hiatus, only to find the country occupied by a race of rapacious humans, known as the Telmarine. The native Narnians have been forced to go into hiding, or have reverted to a wild and savage existence. Peter & Co decide to liberate Narnia with the aid of Caspian, a renegade Telmarine prince. The real ruler of Narnia, the lion-king Aslan, is lurking in the background, waiting for an opportune moment to intervene...

I'm not familiar with the original story, so I can only compare the second film with the first one. The religious message has been even more de-emphasized, Peter is even more troubled than usual, while Lucy and Susan are even more modern and "feminist". And while the mice take care of the comic relief aspect, there is overall much less comedy in "Prince Caspian" than in "The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe". And then there's the LOTR-Peter Jackson rip off factor...

Still, pretty good as lighter entertainment goes, so I give it three stars. Perhaps four on a *really* good day. However, I feel I'm getting too old for Narnia. Perhaps I have learned all there is to learn from these stories?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What Happened?, 13 Feb. 2009
I was a bit disapointed to find that this movie dosn't follow the book very well. I think Aslan is the heart of the chronicles of narnia and he did not come in until the end. Also, WHAT WAS THAT CASTLE SCENE ABOUT? I was very upset at that and felt that they did not need to add entire storylines to the movie as if they had stuck to the book it would have been a very good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A REWARDING RETURN, 15 Dec. 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
One year later for the children. 1300 years later for Narnia. Britain is still at war; Narnia is in crisis. For centuries invaders have ruled. Now heir to the throne Caspian has been ousted by his villainous uncle - butchery guaranteed for all who oppose. Narnians have long been considered extinct, but they are merely in hiding - the hope that the heroes of old will reappear so they may reclaim their land.

A revelation. Perhaps I had expected too much when first viewing the DVD soon after release, for somehow it failed to impress. This second time round proved an altogether different matter, everything greatly enjoyed. It certainly helped to watch the bonuses first. Some understandably feel this destroys a film's magic, but for me it enormously increased appreciation for all that was achieved.

With so much going on, not to mention so many strange creatures, the central characters are rather swamped. Some may consider the children bland, the central message simplistic (criticisms that were also made of the books), but there remains much to satisfy and to exhilarate. The special effects stun, the battles excite.

The bonuses are generous, the film entertaining. In fact I am tempted to revisit other DVDs perhaps underestimated the first time round.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian [Blu-ray]
The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian [Blu-ray] by Andrew Adamson (Blu-ray - 2008)
£4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews