Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


235 of 236 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality colour scanner for 35mm film, prints and general documents
Having transferred to digital film some time ago I had a cupboard full of 35mm slides and for a while had been tempted to buy a dedicated slide scanner but apart from semi professional slide scanners costing hundreds of pounds all the reviews of "domestic quality" scanners were quite honestly awful. Then I read a favourable review of the Canon Canoscan 5600F. Not only was...
Published on 17 Jan. 2010 by TJ Godfrey

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scans 110 slides adequately, once you get past the error messages
1) GETTING PAST THE ERROR MESSAGES
The "Quick Start Guide" told me to install the software before connecting to my computer, which I did. After connecting, I received the message "The scanner driver supported by this software is not installed". The "Quick Start Guide" makes no mention of Windows 7, although it has full directions for installing on computers running...
Published on 26 May 2013 by Mr_Zambezi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 25 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 5600F Scanner USB2.0 Film and Slide 14.6msec/line 4800x9600dpi A4 Ref 2924B008AA (Personal Computers)
Having inherited a great many slides taken over a lifetime by my father, I wanted to share them all with my siblings. This piece of kit is the business. Easy to use, even for beginners. When working it sounds like R2D2! Too funny. Although it can only scan 4 slides at a time which means it's a long task, the finished results are fab - as you scan, the scratch and dust remover is very good with only a few slides having to be further fiddled with to remove the odd blotch - when the slides are from the 50s there is bound to be some bigger blotches. The quality is great. Well worth the money - enthusiasically recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars multi-tasking scanner, 9 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 5600F Scanner USB2.0 Film and Slide 14.6msec/line 4800x9600dpi A4 Ref 2924B008AA (Personal Computers)
I have now been able to digitise all of my 35mm slides with very little effort and good quality. I also found some old 35mm negatives and it worked brilliantly with these as well. At the same time it is a very easy to use flatbed scanner. Sturdy and stylish, but that's what you would expect from the Canon name isn't it? Scanning 4 slides in one pass at 1200dpi took about 4 minutes, but even at 600 dpi the quality was good taking a mere 1 minute to scan 4 slides. I would thoroughly recommend this scanner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon CanoScan5600F, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 5600F Scanner USB2.0 Film and Slide 14.6msec/line 4800x9600dpi A4 Ref 2924B008AA (Personal Computers)
Great value for the money. The software is a little confusing and it takes some time to get your head around the various functions and settings but once you get it figured out (an hour or so maybe), It's plain sailing from there on. It does take a long time to scan 'difficult' slides where the exposure was poor in the first place (a minute or two depending on what resolution you want) but when it's important it's not difficult to stay patient? For decent exposures on the easy scan setting it's a breeze and if all you are ever going to do is review the resultant images on a computer or a TV set, then you can pretty much let the CanoScan take care of business for you.

If you know what you're doing with Photoshop and the like it gives you all the raw data you could wish for to renovate old images
and get them up to print standard for friends, family and the living room. Sure beats paying £4 a pop at your local Snappy Snaps and will thereby pay for itself by the time you get through your first 3 or 4 boxes of slides! Get one while you still can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing kit, 31 July 2011
By 
T. Siggers (Leek, Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 5600F Scanner USB2.0 Film and Slide 14.6msec/line 4800x9600dpi A4 Ref 2924B008AA (Personal Computers)
I've not had time to explore the full potential of this Canon Copier/Scanner 5600F. All I know is it does superb copies and will also copy my slides from way back. With just a little coaxing it would probably make buttered toast too. Brilliant piece of kit at an unbelievably low price to go with my new computer, and seemingly straight forward for such a non-technical-type as me.
Trevor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 5600F Scanner USB2.0 Film and Slide 14.6msec/line 4800x9600dpi A4 Ref 2924B008AA (Personal Computers)
Excellent in both normal scanning and negative scanning. But where it excels is in scanning objects such as watches, rings, coins etc.
A scanned photo is as good the original(or maybe even better on some old photos). You can even scan old negatives (larger than 35mm) by just aligning the bit you want within the 35mm holder.
I would thoroughly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use and great results, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 5600F Scanner USB2.0 Film and Slide 14.6msec/line 4800x9600dpi A4 Ref 2924B008AA (Personal Computers)
I have used to scan old black/white photos, 35 mm slides and colour pictures and it consistently gives sharp and impressive images.
It's easy to use and convert from film scanning to document scanning.
Scanning slides at highest resolution setting is very slow and takes over 5 minutes per slide but the results are impressive.
Software is very clear and easy to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
M. J. Carter (Hornchurch, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 5600F Scanner USB2.0 Film and Slide 14.6msec/line 4800x9600dpi A4 Ref 2924B008AA (Personal Computers)
Fantastic piece if kit. No problems setting up, quick and easy to use with plenty of advanced settings if you need them. Scans colour slides and prints to a high quality. Although you get an on screen message saying to make sure the lid is closed, it will work with the lid open if, as I was doing, you need to scan a whole photo album when the prints have been permanently fixed in. Just make sure you apply some pressure, enough to keep the photos in contact with the glass bed. I have read other reviews relating to scanning slides, you have to remove the white back board, two clips to press, to expose the lamp in the lid and then use the included film holder, which can be used for slides in their frames or film negative strps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CanoScan 5600F Scanner, 22 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 5600F Scanner USB2.0 Film and Slide 14.6msec/line 4800x9600dpi A4 Ref 2924B008AA (Personal Computers)
I have found this Scanner perfect. Very easy to use and the results are extremely good. I definitely would recommend anybody to purchase this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Software failure, 6 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 5600F Scanner USB2.0 Film and Slide 14.6msec/line 4800x9600dpi A4 Ref 2924B008AA (Personal Computers)
I had hopes for this given the general feedback. However I ended up sending it back after never being able to open the operating software despite 7 calls to support over a week. This also led me having to reload my Windows software. I only essentially have a straightforward home laptop system with Windows 7. I now see from many forum posts on the web that it is a common experience and poor that Canon have not got a more robust system to work with WindowsCanon CanoScan 5600F Scanner USB2.0 Film and Slide 14.6msec/line 4800x9600dpi A4 Ref 2924B008AA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So useful!, 17 April 2013
By 
Mrs. L. A. Quinlan (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon CanoScan 5600F Scanner USB2.0 Film and Slide 14.6msec/line 4800x9600dpi A4 Ref 2924B008AA (Personal Computers)
Excellent piece of eqipment which has enabled us to transfer precious photos to CD.
It is well worth the time it takes to see the pictures taken in the past on 35mm film, retrieving images straight from the negatives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews