Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game
I have been a keen first person shooter fan for a while. I have purchased numerous games, both cheap and expensive. I have found that price is not much of a guide to enjoyment or satisfaction. I took a chance on this even though it was expensive at the time. I do not regret it. The missions are great. Really involving and quite gripping at times. Once you work through...
Published on 6 Sep 2009 by R. D. Pearson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Last of the Good-ish.
I would give 3.5 really and apart from one really ... lets just say annoying bit that had me leave it alone for months on end it is very good for what is an old game.

However the fact that many say that this is a fantastic title and none since have bettered it will make me stay away from all the ofther Call of Duty titles and as the last time I was into gaming...
Published 17 days ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 6 Sep 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
I have been a keen first person shooter fan for a while. I have purchased numerous games, both cheap and expensive. I have found that price is not much of a guide to enjoyment or satisfaction. I took a chance on this even though it was expensive at the time. I do not regret it. The missions are great. Really involving and quite gripping at times. Once you work through these you can use Arcade mode to choose any mission and this is good fun too. The game has an excellent multiplayer on-line mode. The main downside to this is that it is both very good and very addictive! The only point to note is that you need a fairly fast machine to get the best out of the graphics. Mine was a high end machine in 2005 (AMD x2, Nvidia 7800 x2, 2 Gb RAM) and still coped but not at the highest quality. I downloaded the latest Nvidia driver for my graphics card and this made the game more able to run at higher definitions, a useful thing to do if you have never checked that you have the latest driver. Since I first wrote this review I have bought a newer machine in 2011 (Intel x 4, Nvidia 580, 8 Gb RAM, SSD) which makes this game even better as the highest settings can now be used. I would recommend this one to anyone who likes a good shoot em up, although that comment does not do justice to the detail and realism which is exceptionally high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Single player games, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
I am not into multi player mode,preferring single player ,and have bought many FPS games in the past,including all the call of duty series. During this time I have noticed the dramatic improvement in graphics and complexity of play,this game tops them all,I can definitely recommend it. I have a computer running Windows 7,but although this game states it is suitable for Windows XP and Vista ,it installed and plays perfectly on Windows 7. Altogether this is the bargain FPS game of the year,and at 80 years old I should know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome really, 9 Mar 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
Great game.

Looks lovely, nice lighting, shadows, textures etc. I don't have a state-of-the art system (7800 GT card) but it still runs smooth without horrid clipping issues and freezes.

It's easy on easy mode and Hard on Hard mode (amazing how many games get this wrong!)

1 player has decent replayability to collect cheats etc if you're into that sort of thing.

No horrible intrusive DRM or 'internet only' copy-protection, just good old-fasioned type-in-a-code and it works installation.

Multiplayer is really fantastic, if a bit of a steep learning curve. maps are interesting and not too symmetrical- (a big bug-bear of mine!)
Weapons are customizable which makes for hours of fun unlocking components and trying to master them all.
Only annoying thing really about the Multiplayer is the 'Air support' feature- you can call in airstrike or chopper on 5 + 7 kills (so airstike usually usually turns in to heli) then, as high kill-streaks are pretty common, you can be stuck unable to use your heli all round as 15 other players also have it and you can only use it 1 at a time. This can also Heavily distort the scores and mean they aren't always reflective of players skill.
That's really a small gripe though. Rest of the game if ace. Go Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Last of the Good-ish., 2 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
I would give 3.5 really and apart from one really ... lets just say annoying bit that had me leave it alone for months on end it is very good for what is an old game.

However the fact that many say that this is a fantastic title and none since have bettered it will make me stay away from all the ofther Call of Duty titles and as the last time I was into gaming I had the very first two titles and loved them I cannot believe I have typed that out!

So a sure fire way of showing you how gredy exexcutives will just milk you for money and yet depsite so many people saying this it does not stop them from splashing the cash and getting burned yet again, except for me who wont be buying Dragon Age Inquisition like I planned because magazines lied about the game along with several other titles.

However if others really want to stop them from doing it the only way is for really and truly to stop giving them your money! Do not buy it and then say all the things I have done because I would say 'well more fool you!'

Also all this microtransactions and pay to win...no idiots, its NOT the way its going, its just the way you want it to go because getting paid large sums of money for crap is not good enough for you. Funny as the last thing I remember is when I am out buying coffee tables I do not walking into a store and see a three legged one for the same money as a four legged one! I do not say "Oi, treacle?! Why is that 3 legged table the same price as a 4 legged one?!" and they answer "Well I am a professional coffee table maker and it took me as long to make the 3 legged one as the 4 legged on and so I expect the ame amount of money for my time!!"?!

However that seems to be the attitudes of many game coders and publishers and many out there are letting them get away with it and then thinking thats OK because I whined about it afterwards?! lol.

Or in other words I actually thought Call Of Duty Advanced Warfare was going to be good. Like Dragon Age's latest the reviewers even said it was good. Turns out that the reviews are very suspect looking yet agian despite the prices of the magazines being more than many novels?!

Crikey! Lol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Modern Warfare, 25 Jun 2009
By 
J. Hull (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
This is a really short game - albeit an excellent one. It's a breath of fresh air really after so many WW2 shooters - I'm pretty sure we know that story off by heart now. Being set in modern day, this is by far the most original Call of Duty game yet. The bayonets are gone, and the old scope sniper rifles are replaced with modern laser sights. The story is fictional - but very similar to recent wars - and it is extremely intense, from the word go.

You follow both "Soap" from the British SAS, and Jackson from the US Marines, playing the two simultaneously until the two combine towards the end of the game. The gameplay is excellent, and believe it or not, you don't need a rediculously powerful computer to play it. Running on a Core 2 Duo at 2.4 ghz, and a Geforce 9800Pro it runs perfectly smooth the whole way through. No slow down, and hardly any loading screens at all keeping the action as intense as possible. The cut scenes are brilliant, usually putting you into the first person perspective of one of the characters in the scenario which keeps you in the thick of things, and gives the game a lot of depth. The graphics are absolutely stunning - cinematic most of the time, and the physics are so good it makes it feel real.

Previous mistakes such as bullets being stopped by pieces of paper and cardboard boxes have been fixed, and you can now shoot through certain thin materials such as concrete and wood. The Enemy AI is excellent - sometimes too good, as Grenades are constantly being thrown at you with immense precision, which is actually quite annoying and a little unrealistic at times. It is easily remedied by either legging it ASAP or throwing the grenade back before it goes off - which is a nice addition.

As previously mentioned the single player campaign is WAY too short - it will leave you wanting more. At around 4-6 hours in Normal mode - it is just too short really, but thankfully the multiplayer aspect of the game is excellent. Plus, there's always the increasingly difficult modes which would make the game a lot longer, and the unlockable Arcade mode which means you can only die a certain number of times for an extra challenge. The "Game of the Year Edition" also comes with the Variety Map Pack as well as 4 new multiplayer maps so there's plenty of content when it's all added up in this package.

All in all, this is an excellent game - easily as good as the hype surrounding it, it's just a shame the single player campaign is so short. But don't let that put you off as this is a game that all action/FPS gamers need to play - and fast, as Modern Warfare 2 is approaching...

ADDITIONAL: There is no DRM restriction on the game - just the old fashioned install & play - woohoo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vibrant modern FPs, 23 Mar 2009
By 
Frederick Graham (Whitley bay, Tyne and Wear, The UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
The Call of Duty series is a highly established WW2 shooter series that competes with other series like Medal of Honor and Brothers in Arms. Whereas the latter focuses on team tactics and player cunning, Medal of Honor has always followed a highly unrealistic interpretation of the war. I hate both games. I don't need every aspect of the war to be perfectly represented, but Medal of Honor manages to bastardize so many elements that I feel a deep set hatred (being someone who has a great personal interest in 20th century history). Brothers in Arms is the polar opposite, being so obsessed with realism that the game ceases to be fun. So my two options for a mainstream WW2 fps are either: A) A game designed for over exited eight year olds with zero historical knowledge, or B) A game made for realism junkies, whose main goal in life is to receive irreversible war trauma, but were rejected by the army?

No. Call of Duty manages to maintain an acceptable level of accuracy, while being fun. More fun, even, than the Medal of Honor series, because I don't have to wince every ten seconds. And so I come onto the actual game at hand; Call of Duty 4.

COD 4 represents a desperate attempt to save the series after they basically re-released COD 2 as COD 3. Unlike most desperate attempts, this one actually worked. So what is it that makes COD 4 so great?

First up are the graphics. People tend to get stuck on graphics, partially because it's the most noticeable advance and partially because most gamers don't really understand anything else. Games of one era tend to have similar graphics, which just proves how pointless the hype is. Anyway, COD 4 gets a mention because many of the scenes here are frankly beautiful and graphics are definitely a high point.

Second is the story. Most first person shooters don't have much of a story to speak of, and that's OK, because the main focus is on gameplay. COD 4 earns a few extra brownie points by including an immersive story that is integrated into gameplay very well and manages to keep up. The story itself is far from original. It could have been decided with a role of the die: It's a ... Crisis, Involving ... Nuclear missiles, In... Russia. Oh gee, that's never been done before.

Thirdly I come to Gameplay. The ultimate goal of gameplay is to make the game immersive and COD 4 fulfills that task brilliantly. Really everything ties together in gameplay; the story, the graphics, the controls; everything. And that's how it should be. Gameplay is also brilliantly varied as you go from large scale invasions by the US Marine Corps to sneaking through grass wearing a camouflage suit with the SAS. Add the graphical beauty and the scale you feel when you're playing the game, and gameplay definitely becomes COD 4s best aspect.

So how do I conclude? COD 4 is a fantastic game that strong foundations and a strong structure. It isn't perfect; it's not very intellectual, all the enemies are very similar looking, and it tries and fails to bring many aspects across subtly. I can't argue with it winning game of the year. It fully deserves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very well spent money!, 18 April 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
This is an absolutely brilliant fps, containing a very catching single player mode as well as an action loaded multiplayer mode which i can't live without anymore! The game runs super smooth on nearly any machine I test it on, there are more than 15000 active servers with players, and things like gaining experience, unlocking weapons/perks and completing challenges (comparable with little achievements) really makes you want more. This game is so awesome that everyone will get maximum fun out of it, whether you are a casual after work/uni gamer or a gamer heart and soul. Cheaters are very rare and mostly get insta-banned since CoD4 is Punkbuster (an anti cheat tool) secured.
The Game of the Year Edition is coming with patch 1.6 including the four newer multiplayer maps, but make sure you run it with 1.7 since this is the most recent version. Also kudos to the marketing strategy - no securom - no DRM - no limited installations or activations - no DVD in drive required for multiplayer! That's rare these days.
If you don't buy this game you will definately miss a fantastic milestone in computer gaming history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lock and Load!, 3 Dec 2008
By 
zoo keeper "menagerie" (Romsey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
I have played the earlier Call of Duty games. They were a lot of fun but became very "same-ish". They weren't very replayable. However, after playing CoD4 I immediately started again....and again! It is just as much fun every time.

It has an excellent story line. Surprisingly (and pleasingly for us Brits), the lion's share of the action is with the SAS. The acting is good (and amusing in a non-politically correct fashion at times).

I was stunned by the graphics. They are almost cinematic. Of course, graphics alone don't make a game but in this case it helps immerse you in the story. The realistic scenery, coupled with the physics make it feel real.

Bullets can now pass through some materials (eg walls). It's no longer possible for you (or your enemies) to take cover behind a sheet of paper.

There are two breaks from the all-out action. One is a stealth sniper mission. Normally, I find those pretty boring in a shooter game. Not this time. I loved it. There is also a mission where you act as a gunner in an AC130 Spectre. You sit in complete safety as you blast the enemy with an assortment of lethal weapons. Your only worry is blowing your own side to smithereens.

In the old days, I would always put tactical shooters ahead of FPS corridor shooters. However, the latest tactical shooters have been "dumbed down"(except, maybe Ghost Recon Advanced Warrior). CoD4 is linear with no direct control over squad mates. Nevertheless it's a great substitute for that feeling of reality that tactical shooters used to provide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 23 July 2009
By 
H. Mitchell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
I was slightly wary when buying this game as I had the Call of Duty 2 and it was great - but I didn't think this would be up to much. But how wrong I was. The single player mode is challenging and gets very addictive as you shoot from helicopters, go on sniper missions and hide in the grass, and, of course, just good old battling it out against your enemies. The multi player mode is also fantastic with a thriving online community and lots of different playing modes to keep you playing for hours - and in fact, this is actually where I play the majority of Call of Duty 4. All in all great game, deserves Game of the Year award, and gets a 9/10 from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Game : Playing since launch and still enjoying it., 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
This is an excellent game, I played it on both Xbox 360 and PS3 before getting it on the PC.

Its by far the best of the call of duty series to date easily beating MW2 and MW3 into the ground, although many FPS players would say Cod2 is better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year Edition (PC)
£6.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews