Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars20
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£7.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2009
I came across a YouTube clip of this girl while looking for something else. She was playing the third movement of the Haydn. It was such a nice, fluid rendition that I bought the SACD (this one).

Tine Thing Helseth is a twentysomething Norwegian with lungs the size of a Zeppelin somehow concealed within a slender frame. Her technique is flawless, at least to these ears, her tone warm and gorgeous. She is ably accompanied by the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra.

The SACD features the two "warhorses" of the repertoire, the Haydn and the Hummel, both written for the same man, Anton Weidinger, who had developed a keyed trumpet to overcome the natural instrument's deficiencies. The performances are straightforward, nothing fancy, which is good, because the two are fine pieces of music. The other two concerti, one by Albinoni the other by Neruda, are also pleasant listening. Recommended.
22 comments13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2008
This is a great début CD by this young Norwegian trumpeteress. There may be better recordings of each of these concerti out there, (most notably Hardenberger's Albinoni, Edward Tarr's Hummel, Niklas Eklund's Neruda, Reinhold Friedrich's Haydn), but Helseth stamps her own individual approach to each of these pieces, and does a great job on each one. Her playing style is very fluid and she clearly has a stunning technique and a lovely tone (if a little heavy on the vibrato at times).

One small disappointment is that Helseth chooses to use the publisher's cadenza in the Neruda, rather than writing her own, but she plays David Hickman's cadenza with a vibrant and fresh approach.

A very worthwhile addition to any trumpet player's CD collection.
11 comment18 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2012
Came across Hadyn's trumpet concerto in my piano book (yeah) and thought hey, let's check out what the concerto sounds like, and Tine's was one of the first hits on youtube. Got the mp3s off amazon minutes later. Sounds like an easy melody to play, but to get it so evocative as what she's done is no easy task.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
Once again, Tine Thing Helseth performs her art in a such a way that even those who claim not to like classical music quickly fall under her spell. It's very clear that the choice of music on this c.d. hasn't fallen together by chance but compiled with profound knowledge and sensitivity bringing the listener a musical experience that doesn't diminish with time.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
Had not considered trumpet concerti before but plays on Classic FM whetted my appetite.
Beautifully played by a renowned artist.
Cannot speak of fine technique etc. But I know what I like.
Well recommended.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
I love the CD, and in particular the clarity and balance of her playing in all four of the concerti. The Norwegian Chamber Orchestra does a fine job, too, in my opinion.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
First heard this young lady on ClassicFm and just had to have my own recording. Does not disappoint in any way.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
Excellent seller, item just as described and arrived at start of estimated delivery, would use again. Purchased as a gift. Recipient loves it, thank you
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
Great CD. Saw her this Christmas at the Christmas concert in St Martin in the Fields, so nice to have a cd as a memento.
Quick delivery.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Tine Thing Helseth plays beautifully. We simply love this cd. We bought it because of the Hummel-trumpet concerto, and it's so great.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.09
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.