Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice one, 25 July 2009
By 
Teemacs (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
I came across a YouTube clip of this girl while looking for something else. She was playing the third movement of the Haydn. It was such a nice, fluid rendition that I bought the SACD (this one).

Tine Thing Helseth is a twentysomething Norwegian with lungs the size of a Zeppelin somehow concealed within a slender frame. Her technique is flawless, at least to these ears, her tone warm and gorgeous. She is ably accompanied by the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra.

The SACD features the two "warhorses" of the repertoire, the Haydn and the Hummel, both written for the same man, Anton Weidinger, who had developed a keyed trumpet to overcome the natural instrument's deficiencies. The performances are straightforward, nothing fancy, which is good, because the two are fine pieces of music. The other two concerti, one by Albinoni the other by Neruda, are also pleasant listening. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stephen Bailey, 2 April 2008
By 
Stephen DF Bailey (Nuneaton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great début CD by this young Norwegian trumpeteress. There may be better recordings of each of these concerti out there, (most notably Hardenberger's Albinoni, Edward Tarr's Hummel, Niklas Eklund's Neruda, Reinhold Friedrich's Haydn), but Helseth stamps her own individual approach to each of these pieces, and does a great job on each one. Her playing style is very fluid and she clearly has a stunning technique and a lovely tone (if a little heavy on the vibrato at times).

One small disappointment is that Helseth chooses to use the publisher's cadenza in the Neruda, rather than writing her own, but she plays David Hickman's cadenza with a vibrant and fresh approach.

A very worthwhile addition to any trumpet player's CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it., 22 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trumpet Concertos (MP3 Download)
Came across Hadyn's trumpet concerto in my piano book (yeah) and thought hey, let's check out what the concerto sounds like, and Tine's was one of the first hits on youtube. Got the mp3s off amazon minutes later. Sounds like an easy melody to play, but to get it so evocative as what she's done is no easy task.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another success story!, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again, Tine Thing Helseth performs her art in a such a way that even those who claim not to like classical music quickly fall under her spell. It's very clear that the choice of music on this c.d. hasn't fallen together by chance but compiled with profound knowledge and sensitivity bringing the listener a musical experience that doesn't diminish with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my first trumpet cd., 13 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had not considered trumpet concerti before but plays on Classic FM whetted my appetite.
Beautifully played by a renowned artist.
Cannot speak of fine technique etc. But I know what I like.
Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 21 Mar 2013
By 
S. N. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First heard this young lady on ClassicFm and just had to have my own recording. Does not disappoint in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a fan!, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the CD, and in particular the clarity and balance of her playing in all four of the concerti. The Norwegian Chamber Orchestra does a fine job, too, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars in heaven?, 13 Feb 2013
By 
J. Mikkelsen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tine Thing Helseth plays beautifully. We simply love this cd. We bought it because of the Hummel-trumpet concerto, and it's so great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great CD. Saw her this Christmas at the Christmas concert in St Martin in the Fields, so nice to have a cd as a memento.
Quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite the most tonally beautiful, agile and accurate trumpeter it has ever been ..., 16 Dec 2014
By 
N. A. Shaw (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite the most tonally beautiful, agile and accurate trumpeter it has ever been my pleasure to hear in the past 60 years. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trumpet Concertos
Trumpet Concertos by Tine Thing Helseth
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews