Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.49

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 January 2002
This band are simply outstanding, they know there stuff and they make awesome music. If you like Chillout, then please please please, buy this, you can't be disappointed, it simply is a masterpiece. It is such a shame more people don't know about them. I first heard of them when I heard there "Another Late Night" Compliation album and knew straight away that this group were special. And now hearing there own music you just can't help but be wowed with the sounds these guys produce in there music.
This really is a great album, listen enjoy repeat...
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2001
... for most of the Fila Brazillia back catalogue? Has the world gone quite mad?
Fila Brazillia are one of the most influential duos of the last 10 years. Their impact on chillout, downtempo, and general sampladelic mayhem cannot be underestimated. Just buy the lot!!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2005
Old Codes New Chaos is the lucky listeners first taste of Fila's ambient funk excellence. Upon listening to this album it is hard to fathom that this material was created 12 years ago. This is a leftfield gem way ahead of it's time, containing down tempo beats and deft slices of funk with obscure spoken word samples ranging from government drug experiments with LSD to religious sermons. A truly encapsulating listen and a great place to start that Fila Brazillia collection, you haven't realised you need yet. Enjoy!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2000
The tracks on this Fila release aim more at the mellow house/ambient/funk market. This combination may sound strange but once you hear the CD you'll understand.
It starts off with Fila's trademark, voices and then blends into 'Mermaids,' a wonderful early mellow house track with a sublime bassline.
By mid CD we'v moved into more ambient textures without losing the beat. There are tales of LSD tests overlayed onto beautiful soundscapes that keep the listener wondering what will come next.
By 'Fila Funk' we've moved into yes, funk, but good funk combined with ambient sounds to seperate it from the usual funk musings of others. 'Pots and Pans' sounds like Funkadelic gone ambient breakbeat and it's all the better for it.
I'd buy this CD if I was at all into the mellow house/chill out scene. Fila Brazillia continually knock out wonderful albums and this one is no different.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2016
CLASSIC OLDSKOOL UK AMBIENCE at it's finest. The distinctive FB sound has morphed and developed into a variety of styles, such funk, ambience, breakbeat and daft troncia. For me, this old classic shows where they came from in the early 90's when the UK movement in dance music was strong and the identity was firmly positioned as the best in the world. With acts like The Orb, Future Sound Of London, Leftfield, Underworld, Chemical Brothers, and many more this has that timeless beauty of that emerging era. Starting with an ambient 'Ibiza' sounding delight which drives nicely towards a progressive drum the album has a more housey tempo than later works. The album moves forward in this great collection highlighting the magic and colour that only FB know how to create and produce. An essential FB collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2015
Quite simply a stunning milestone in music history. The link between 80's house and the genre-jumping, sampling and dance-songwriting / electronica of the mid-90's onwards. I have listened to this album well over a thousand times. It is so strong, simple, subtle and rewarding that it sounds fresh every single time. Sadly it is not as famous or lauded as it perhaps should be, but those who know, know. It is weird because it doesn't feel like dance music, or like any particular genre, it deftly manoeuvres itself into a new and uncharted territory.
Buy it, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2004
I have only bought this CD recently as i have begun to update my Fila Brazillia back catalogue.
I believe this is the first one they produced and although it does sound like early nineties music it is a brilliant timeless piece of music.
Thoroughly recommended
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
Don't know why Amazon describes this as 'Live' - it's not a live album, it is FB's rather lovely debut album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)