Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelettes..you will need this!
Even if you think you have everything possible to possess by 'The Marvelettes', buy this CD.There are [unfortunately] many great tracks that have been missed, for example 'When you are young and in love' but..for once someone out there has put together a collection that has been sharpened. All too often this group has been at the mercy of a hastily thrown together...
Published on 15 Feb 2009 by P. Ridley-thomas

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DEFINITIVE; NOT!
I must take issue with the other two reviews thus far posted here, but not on the quality of the music. I have given this cd a 3 star rating not on the basis of the music,which is of course fabulous as the other reviewers correctly state, but on the title 'Definitive'. I am so heartily sick of record companies titling collections such as this as 'definitive',ultimate' or...
Published on 24 Aug 2011 by BlueBlueBlue


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DEFINITIVE; NOT!, 24 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
I must take issue with the other two reviews thus far posted here, but not on the quality of the music. I have given this cd a 3 star rating not on the basis of the music,which is of course fabulous as the other reviewers correctly state, but on the title 'Definitive'. I am so heartily sick of record companies titling collections such as this as 'definitive',ultimate' or 'the very best' etc, etc,when quite clearly they are not. Sincere corporate claims such as 'New' and 'Improved' spring to mind.

The ommissions here are many, and of course Marvelettes/Motown fans may disgree on what should and should not have been included, but to call this 'Definitive' and leave out 'When you're young and in love' on an 18 track cd of only just over 46 minutes running time is just sloppy, sloppy work from the compiler/s and an insult to the buyer.

In addition, the sleeve notes fail to give release dates for the tracks, which is always annoying on historic compilations.

This cd does indeed have a slightly more polished sound than the 2000 US compilation 'The Ultimate Collection' but is a poor substitute in terms of value and material presented.

When will this wonderful, criminally underrated Motown act get the collection it deserves, because this most certainly isn't it. And as long as Universal is managing the Motown catalogue, given their track record thus far, I'm not holding my breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelettes..you will need this!, 15 Feb 2009
By 
P. Ridley-thomas "paul ridley-thomas" (essex england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Even if you think you have everything possible to possess by 'The Marvelettes', buy this CD.There are [unfortunately] many great tracks that have been missed, for example 'When you are young and in love' but..for once someone out there has put together a collection that has been sharpened. All too often this group has been at the mercy of a hastily thrown together compilation , muddy tracks, hurried notes and the worst possible photographs. This has great pictures and the quality of the sound is as it should have been..Motown at its most dance floor best. even the minor hits such as 'Forever' and 'Strange i know' are cleaner.The jewels in this crown are..A slightly different version of "The hunter get captured by the game' and a version of 'I'll keep holding on' which has got a different drum and piano track so it is crisp and pure northern soul dance around the carpet heaven.
If like me you have collected this type of music from the age of 14 you will hear the difference on many tracks included here..thank heavens at last we have been granted a good 'Marvelettes' package that sounds as good as the brand new records did. I hope you enjoy it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous Marvelettes, 26 Jan 2010
By 
John R. Woolmore (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
I agree with earlier review, a good compilation - pity about the omissions but all of their well known hits are here.
I bought this for Beechwood 4-5789 (note to proof readers of Dionne Bromfields CD: not Beachwood!!) and I'm very glad I did as it contains very few fillers - maybe a couple of B sides could have been dropped.
Personal favourites are Too many fish in the sea, You're my remedy, I'll keep holding on, Beechwood 4-5789 and of course Mr Postman.
Worth buying if you like 60's TM sound or Northern soul genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Marvelettes THe Definitive Collection, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
I already had a Marvelettes Greatest Hits collection from another source and although a proprietry label brand it was more expensive and did not contain some essential tracks. The only significant track omitted here is Destination Anywhere Otherwise it is essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Marvelettes., 22 Oct 2014
By 
Dg Truby "Denis Truby" (Slough Berks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
My favourite Motown Girl group includes the brilliant Don't mess with Bill, Danger Hearbreak Dead Ahead, and the magical Hunter gets captured by the game they should have been huge. I also recommend Forever More vols 1 and 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I thought, 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Not as good as I thought, so I bought another cd with a more comprehensive collection of their work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Definitive Collection
The Definitive Collection by Marvelettes (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews