Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Morrison's opening single The Only Night is an unusually upbeat pop record for the album, setting the mood for a mixed bag of gems that throw you a variety of moods from happiness to sorrow.

The next two singles, Save Yourself and You Make It Real have James Morrison written all over them.. in a good way. There's a part of me that feels You Make It Real's...
Published on 22 Oct 2008 by Ciaran

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Songs for You Truths for me
Am a Morrison Supporter . This Guy has unbridled talent and is extremely creative both lyrically and musically BUT the problem here with this latest offering is that it " does what it says on the Label "
The Record Company are to blame in duckshoving songs onto a disc in an allfired hurry simply to retain Sales Momentum ---- thats all it is .
The Result becomes...
Published on 5 Jun 2009 by Vj BRIGHT


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Oct 2008
By 
Ciaran (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Songs For You, Truths For Me (Audio CD)
Morrison's opening single The Only Night is an unusually upbeat pop record for the album, setting the mood for a mixed bag of gems that throw you a variety of moods from happiness to sorrow.

The next two singles, Save Yourself and You Make It Real have James Morrison written all over them.. in a good way. There's a part of me that feels You Make It Real's chorus resembles a more down beat version Simply Red's stars, if only for a second or two. You Make It Real still manages to be an utterly original and sensual melody, paving the way for a variety of even more appealing single releases.

The dramatic, melancholy collaboration with Nelly Furtado might remind you of Snow Patrol and Martha Wainwright's brilliant Set The Fire To The Third Bar and Precious Love puts Morrison's vocals to an emotional high as he wails powerfully through the song's smooth and catchy chorus.

If you were a fan of Morrison's first album, Undiscovered, you cannot afford to miss out on songs for you, truths for me. James' new album is everything it's first had.. and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable second album, 12 Jan 2009
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs For You, Truths For Me (Audio CD)
James Morrison wasn't an artist I particularly expected to like, but it just goes to show that you shouldn't judge a book by its cover. I bought James' first album when it was almost scandalously reduced - almost for next to nothing - and I had literally nothing except pennies to lose in an amazon sale. Not expecting much, I was astonished by the quality, emotion and soul of the debut and just how much I enjoyed it. With a voice like a cross between Ray LaMontagne and Stevie Wonder (check his vocals out at the end of 'Fix The World Up For You') and the knack for writing emotive, catchy music, I'm delighted to say that this guy is the real deal and James' second album is equally as good as his first.

I'm not a huge fan of contemporary pop music - you know, the sort of songs which make it big in the singles charts these days - but this is such enjoyable, life-affirming music, it combines just the right elements of speaking to both the mind and heart and yet there are a handful of songs on this album which, if promoted well, could provoke hundreds of thousands of downloads/single sales from people of all ages. This is an album full of well-written, beautifully performed and sumptuously (but not over) produced compositions, shamelessly commercial and yet not cynically so. James' genuine, believable delivery, which is never over-cooked, is possibly the key to the appeal of the music.

My favourite tracks on this album are the classy, toe-tapping, Motown-lite 'Nothing Ever Hurt Like You', the genuinely emotional 'You Make It Real', the angst-ridden break-up song, 'If You Don't Wanna Love Me', and the upbeat, soulful 'Precious Love'. The whole album is full of really enjoyable songs, though. Despite my enthusiasm for 'Songs For You, Truths For Me', I'm not going to claim that this album is something it patently isn't. This isn't a collection of songs which will change your life, it won't take you to places you've never been before and it probably won't join the list of your most favourite albums ever, but if you enjoy well-written, well-performed, romantic, soulful AOR pop music, then you're in for a real treat, because James delivers all of those things with every track. Lovely stuff - take it for what it is and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Better Than His Debut Album!, 30 Sep 2008
By 
Katrina-UK (Stockport, Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Songs For You, Truths For Me (Audio CD)
If you thought this fella's debut album was good, wait until you hear this! For me this album is a big improvement on his first album. Every song on this album is excellent, apart from 'Dream On Hayley' which doesn't do anything for me. Heck 11 out of 12 good songs ain't bad! All the other songs are worthy of being released as singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A winner!, 14 Dec 2008
By 
D. Farrell (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs For You, Truths For Me (Audio CD)
Bought this on the strength of You Make it Real and Broken Strings. Had bought Undiscovered and, aside from a handful of tracks, it didn't really stick with me. But this is a belter. Every track has a great melody that has grabbed me immediately, and his voice sounds great and is so suited to the songs. Have been playing it almost non-stop since I got it and i'll be putting it in a few stockings this christmas!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Cracker !, 29 Sep 2008
This review is from: Songs For You, Truths For Me (Audio CD)
The usual problem with a brilliant first album is following it up with something that comes remotely close. Well, this one does more than that - I've not played it to death yet, but it could be even better that his debut ! Not heard a bad track yet, and this, like the debut, keeps popping up new favourites on each listen. The opener grabs you straight away, as does the duet with Nelly Furtado.
Knockout !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music to chill out with!, 20 April 2009
By 
L. Murray "Laura Murray" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs For You, Truths For Me (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed listening to this CD as it made me feel very relaxed and chilled out. I think his voice is amazing and some of the songs are very well written. This is a great collection of songs to listen to if you are in a mellow mood. Very relaxing!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 17 April 2009
This review is from: Songs For You, Truths For Me (Audio CD)
I had heard a couple of the tracks of this album before and liked what i heard so decided to buy.....a very wise move! The album is varied in musical taste, and i would advise that it is better listened to when you are feeling a little sad about life, it's lyrics become even more potent then!
I have no regrets in buying it at all and would happily recommend it to anyone who has a similar taste in music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James at his Best, 5 April 2009
This album has tracks to suit every mood. James is a great Balladier and there are tracks here which haven't been released as singles which are great. I especially like the track Nothing Ever Hurt Like You and Save Yourself. This album does not get boring with replays but more interesting. The lyrics express true emotion and not just a pretty rhyme. If you are not already a Morrison fan, then this is the album to convert you! It did me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Songs for you, truths for me - James morrison, 28 Feb 2009
This album continues the superb music produced by James Morrison - it has the same format as before in that the songs follow the same pattern and construction as those on "Undiscovered" and allow James to use his voice to great effect. Some people like to see progression in style with each album but, for me, if it's good why change it? I rarely listen to lyrics so have no comment to make in that regard - the feel of the song and music give me the mood and this album provides variety & great joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truth is, this is a masterpiece, 13 May 2009
By 
R. Newman "Reggae fan" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs For You, Truths For Me (Audio CD)
i'll be honest, i couldn't have cared less about james morrisons songs for me, truths for him. i found his singles to be boring, all very samey. i didn't like his voice which sounded contrived.
when he brought out the rain single (is it called rain? i don't pay much attention to titles) my girlfriend asked me to see how much the album cost on amazon. it was fairly cheap so she asked me to order it. this was a few weeks ago and it has hardly been out of our stereo since. his voice has really grown on me and the songs in the context of a whole album are just fantastic, even the singles i disliked so much! the song writing is superb and the songs flow really nicely. i would never just put a couple of tracks on, it is the whole album or nothing. there are so many songs that make you just stop and listen intently to the words, dream on hayley and once when i was little being the stand out tracks for me. i don't know who i would recommend this album to because it is completely different from everything else i listen to. all i can say it is well produced, it is very laid back, even the more uptempo songs have a very easy going feel to them, james morrison is very believable, he wrote the songs and is clearly very proud of them. this album was a very, very pleasant surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs For You, Truths For Me
Songs For You, Truths For Me by James Morrison (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews