Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychedelic fun
What do you get when you get the original Beta Band members together? Utter musical genius that's what.

Some songs like "boats" are old Lone Pigeon songs but they have taken on a new lease of life. They are sounding more confident and tighter than they did in "Astronomy for Dogs" and slightly more psychedelic.

Once you get through the layers of sound...
Published on 29 Sep 2008 by JuJuDollie

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spontaneity gone mad?
After being amazed by The Aliens' excellent first album, I bought this as soon as I knew it was out. The first few listens washed over me, but I came to realise quite quickly that this new album lacked some of the magic spark that made Astronomy For Dogs work so well. Superficially, all the elements are in place - the exuberance, the big melodies and vocal harmonies and...
Published on 28 Oct 2008 by Marchespie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychedelic fun, 29 Sep 2008
This review is from: Luna (Audio CD)
What do you get when you get the original Beta Band members together? Utter musical genius that's what.

Some songs like "boats" are old Lone Pigeon songs but they have taken on a new lease of life. They are sounding more confident and tighter than they did in "Astronomy for Dogs" and slightly more psychedelic.

Once you get through the layers of sound listen to the lyrics as Gordon's lyrics are wonderful. A must for anyone who enjoys music that refuses to compromise and makes you want to dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Just Got Better, 2 Oct 2008
This review is from: Luna (Audio CD)
I have to admit that it took many listens to get into The Aliens first album "Astronomy For Dogs" but eventually the album grabs you and doesn't let you go and it turned out to be one of my top ten favourite albums.

This follow up album seems to have amazingly moved up to another level (difficult, I know), the opening track "Bobby's Song" is outstanding, it's beautifully constructed and instantly likeable and sets the tone for the rest of the album, it's just so addictive!

"Luna" is simply a pure, honest album with no gimmicks and no filler tracks and is sure not to disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Experimental essential album, a real grower, 17 Oct 2008
By 
N. Harnett (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Luna (Audio CD)
Just fantastic. Recorded over 12 months in Gordon's cottage and it shows. A really brave album in a safe musical world. The fact it kicks off with the 10 minute "Bobby's Song" says it all.

I hope this sells shedloads. We need more bands like The Aliens, bands that are not scared to do what they want, rather than what the record company wants! All hail the Aliens!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent effort, 7 Oct 2008
By 
J. Bloss "jethrox1" (Buckingham,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Luna (Audio CD)
The Aliens' second album has some real moments of joy on it. It takes you on a psych journey with a whole eclectic mix of instruments being used. "Bobby's Song" goes through so many phases that it is worth the money on its own, other highlights would be "Magic Man", "Daffodils", "Boats" and "Blue Mantle". It sounds like they've been listening to The Beatles, ELO and the Beach Boys. If you liked the first album or The Beta Band you should get a lot of enjoyment out of this one. The only reason I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is for "Billy Jack" which to me is not a great song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why don't we hear them on the radio?, 22 May 2009
By 
Peter Bush (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Luna (Audio CD)
I heard this band first at a festival & bought the album "Astronomy for dogs" which was excellent. So I bought their latest on trust.
I was not disapointed, it is excellent, often you buy an album and only one or two tracks are good this is consistantly good.
Think of Pink Floyd long haunting tracks and lots of intrumentals.
Why havn't we heard them on the radio ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beta band prog addition, 27 Feb 2011
This review is from: Luna (Audio CD)
Sounds like the beta band but with a ludicrous amount of time signature shifts. How great that sounds to you probably depends how much you enjoy listening to soft machine.
Good solid album, probably about 2 songs to long. If your new to the band your best off starting with astronomy - considerably easier to access.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lunatastic, 1 Oct 2008
This review is from: Luna (Audio CD)
Brilliant spaced out piece of music with many ups and downs (good downs though). All tracks are top drawer but really enjoying boats, daffodils and blue mantle. If you like music that is NOT instant but means you will be listening to it in years to come then this is for you. Support this band as they are special and we should treasure them or we will soon be living in a safe dull world (even the kings of leon have sold out!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Psychedelic gorgeousness to be found herein..., 7 Oct 2008
By 
P. J. Breach "Pippo La Breche" (Fareham, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Luna (Audio CD)
Luna
What a gorgeous thing Luna is!
Gordon Anderson & the boys have surpassed themselves.
Astronomy For Dogs was a fine piece of work, if a little disjointed, but with Luna, The Aliens have produced an absorbing, beautifully played album brimming over with that mixture of inventiveness, joy, weirdness & disturbance that marks out great psychedelia.
(and they're great live)
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spontaneity gone mad?, 28 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luna (Audio CD)
After being amazed by The Aliens' excellent first album, I bought this as soon as I knew it was out. The first few listens washed over me, but I came to realise quite quickly that this new album lacked some of the magic spark that made Astronomy For Dogs work so well. Superficially, all the elements are in place - the exuberance, the big melodies and vocal harmonies and that sense of musical adventure. The Aliens have not lost their penchant for throwing anything they can think of into the musical mix and hoping it works.

The difference here is, for me at least, that it doesn't always work second time around - they take things too far and it can become frustrating. The musical oddities are too wilful, almost self-destructive - for example, the sprawling 10-minute opening track Bobby's Song starts well, but halfway through dissolves into a mess of accordions and sudden changes of rhythm that become annoying. Amen is a wonderful interlude, but far too little is made of it - it's over in little more than a minute. Theremin is excellent for two minutes, then stops completely for a meaningless segment of sound effects of someone getting into a car and driving off. Magic Man could have been the best track on the album but is ruined by an irritating fizzy buzzing noise that carries on through the whole track. Smoggy Bog has been compared by other reviewers to Syd Barrett - but it's just a poor pastiche that directly lifts elements from Astronomy Domine.

It's not all like this - Everyone is a great pop song that would have been at home on the first album, and the closing pair of Boats and Blue Mantle are reminiscent of sixties acts like Love and (in a good way) the Beach Boys.

Don't get me wrong - I really like The Aliens and I'll carry on buying their music. They clearly have bags of talent and are having loads of fun making music. Luna would perhaps have benefited from a little more discipline and consideration for those who would actually have to listen to the music - us, the audience. If you loved Astronomy For Dogs, you will almost certainly like this- but it's a lot harder to love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars trippy, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luna (Audio CD)
I like the follow up album to astronomy for dogs, less poppy sound and more trippy sounds, goes a bit prog rock in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Luna
Luna by The Aliens (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews