Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's about time! ...and it was worth the wait
A previous reviewer gave this album 1 star?? That pretty much means, it's as bad as it gets, and that is hardly a fair representation of this album. I don't usually write reviews, after all, music is such a personal and subjective matter, but I just felt seeing a 1 star next to this album was beyond unfair. I'd like to give it a 5 just to compensate, but then that...
Published on 20 Oct 2008 by Salinger

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really disappointed
I loved Daniel Powter's last album, and i was really looking forward to this one. Sadly, it has none of the grit and experimentation of his previous effort.

Under the Radar is dull, soppy, twee and has no good tunes.

Sorry.

I really really wanted this to be brilliant, but i was disappointed. The guy has an amazing voice, and he can...
Published on 12 Oct 2008 by dangerkid2


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's about time! ...and it was worth the wait, 20 Oct 2008
This review is from: Under The Radar (Audio CD)
A previous reviewer gave this album 1 star?? That pretty much means, it's as bad as it gets, and that is hardly a fair representation of this album. I don't usually write reviews, after all, music is such a personal and subjective matter, but I just felt seeing a 1 star next to this album was beyond unfair. I'd like to give it a 5 just to compensate, but then that would be as false as the 1 star rating.

If you're looking for an equivalent to the world-wide #1 smash "Bad Day", you'll likely be disappointed. Few artists have more than one of those monster hits in a career, let alone a couple of years. If you're looking for some very solid pop songs, taken in a direction just different enough from the previous effort so as to not be derivative, then you're in luck.

I think this album is great. "Best of Me" and "Next Plane Home" are obvious hits and, if all things are equal, should do very well and chart highly (though we all know, sadly, that style is often more important in today's pop world than substance). On top of that, you get another version of the beautiful "Love You Lately" as well as a live version of the deliciously addictive "Bad Day". Those alone are more than enough reasons to get this album.

Like his previous release though, DP's strength lies in the concept that an album shouldn't be just a couple of hits and the rest filler songs. Each track on "Under the Radar" is tight and well crafted. Sure to please. I could put on his debut album and just play it through, never wanting to skip over an 'album' song. This release is the same.

Hopefully this album will do well, as that would mean many people will get to enjoy some great tracks. Daniel's seemingly shy nature and resistance to embracing the spotlight may hold him back from being front page tabloid fodder, but if he keeps his musical output as high calibre as this, he will be continue to be a success with those of us who truly appreciate good music, and aren't simply looking for the next big thing or the same songs re-worked a dozen different ways. Bravo Daniel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars as good as the last, 26 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Under The Radar (Audio CD)
A fantastic album, I can't imagine what the person leaving the first review was listening to or if he has had his hearing checked recently,I was put off buying the album due to his comments but this new CD is just as brilliant as the last one.
All tracks are just so easy to listen to and Daniel is a great songwriter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back!!!!, 4 Sep 2008
By 
I was blown away with Daniel Powter's last album and thought nothing else he released would compare with it!
The more I listen to this album, the more it grows on me!
The first song (Best Of Me) sets the mood and you know you are in for a treat!
This album has a bit more meat on it than the last one, but the uplifting ballads we have loved him for are still there!
Outstanding songs that really stand out are Best Of Me, Next Plane Home, and Beauty Queen, BUT all the songs have a certain flair!
If you enjoyed his last album, you will not be dissappointed with this little gem.
He is a very talented artist that is hugely under noticed.
This album is one of the best this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 14 Jun 2013
By 
B. Paul (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is brilliant I could play this all day long and not get tired of it well worth the money I paid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars under the radar, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Radar (Audio CD)
the cd is very good dont hear enough of this artist very good and i will buy more of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really disappointed, 12 Oct 2008
This review is from: Under The Radar (Audio CD)
I loved Daniel Powter's last album, and i was really looking forward to this one. Sadly, it has none of the grit and experimentation of his previous effort.

Under the Radar is dull, soppy, twee and has no good tunes.

Sorry.

I really really wanted this to be brilliant, but i was disappointed. The guy has an amazing voice, and he can obviously write good tunes - he just forgot to write any for this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under the Radar, 8 Nov 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Under The Radar (Audio CD)
I bought this album two weeks ago with my voucher and it was very popular with my family. The styles of the songs are different to fit the likes of different people. Personally, I enjoyed Track 2 - Not Coming Back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under The Radar
Under The Radar by Daniel Powter (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews