Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SICK, TWISTED AND A TOTAL BLAST!
I'm hooked on this game - not in a small way but seriously, seriously hooked. I've spent the best part of today playing it and have only come away from it to spend some time with my wife - darn this Valentines day malarkey! - and write this quick point by point list of the good and bad of this outrageously gruesome little gem, and hopefully that'll help you decide if...
Published on 14 Feb 2009 by Haunted Nostril

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair game
Good graphics and gameplay. But after an hour-or-so, it becomes quite bland. The annoying thing about this is the chit-chat between levels (which can't be skipped) and the constant swearing becomes very pathetic.

It's a good game to pick up and play for a while when you're bored. Probably one of the better ones for the Nintendo Wii.
Published on 24 Mar 2009 by G. JONES


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SICK, TWISTED AND A TOTAL BLAST!, 14 Feb 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The House of the Dead: Overkill (Wii) (Video Game)
I'm hooked on this game - not in a small way but seriously, seriously hooked. I've spent the best part of today playing it and have only come away from it to spend some time with my wife - darn this Valentines day malarkey! - and write this quick point by point list of the good and bad of this outrageously gruesome little gem, and hopefully that'll help you decide if HOTD:O is worth your time, money, not to mention yout skills with a hand cannon!

THE GOOD:
- Addictive beyond compare - if you're a high score junky then you'll be in seventh heaven, if you're a gore hound: likewise, and if you're into collecting and unlocking virtual trinkets then you'll be right at home too. For a light gun game there is a heck of a lot to do.
- Satisfyingly chunky head shots (and all other shots too), hugely visceral - it'll have the teenager in you screaming to get out and have a go! A very, very bloody business it is!
- At time the humor is actually spot on and it gave me a little giggle once or twice.
- The Grindhouse movie feel is spot on and not just an aping of Tarantino's homage - although there is a bit of that too, which is okay.
- The controls are spot on and can be calibrated to suite!
- The hand cannon available for the game is one of the best peripherals I've used for the system thus far.
- The graphics are above and beyond what we wii owners are used to and I'm quite proud to have this game sit side by side with my 360 games.
- A good change of pace from the usual wii-centric kiddy games choc full of gimmicks and mini games, and probably the most fun I've had with my Wii since Mario Galaxy.
- Some of the themes make you wince more than once or twice, this could be a good or bad thing depending on the player but you wouldn't be playing a game called house of the dead: overkill if you weren't ready for some sickness, right?
- Varla Guns - sweet.
- The Soundtrack is pure funky genius - great old sleazy grindhouse style tunes that have now become synonymous with Tarantino movies. Also there's a few pumping tunes for boss fights and more frantic sections but all roll up into a tasty musical picnic for the earholes.
- Some sick, if slightly easy, bosses - the screamer is quite terrifying.
- Brilliant little touches and attention to detail.

THE BAD:
- The swearing, although I understand it's part of the whole grindhouse experience and the characters traits, first wears a little thin then gets a bit embarrassing - after one play through I'm sure you'll be slamming past the cut-scenes to dodge the silly excess as I did.
- There can be a slight loading time split second pause that makes you, on the odd occasion, miss your shot and loose your flow, but this doesn't happen enough for it to become a problem - also it can sometimes work in your favor in lining up a shot so it sort of levels out.
- Some of the taboos that get knocked about may offend some people - I enjoyed them for their cheekiness but some may just be left aghast.
- The unlockable weapons are massively overpowered - but you'll find that they're useful for getting those golden brains, but as far as high scores go i tend to use the traditional ams magnum for proper skills.

CONCLUSION
I Love this game and don't see how anyone couldn't, sure it's puerile but it's got all the fun of the fair, and more! Guns, blood, wicked soundtrack, Varla Guns and some good laughs - Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Disgraceful!, 11 Mar 2010
By 
M. Davies "cromwell-the-dog" (Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The House of the Dead: Overkill (Wii) (Video Game)
This is the most foul-mouthed, obscene, gratuitously violent and blasphemous video game that I have ever played. Thoroughly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic shoot em up, Wii magic!!, 6 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The House of the Dead: Overkill (Wii) (Video Game)
Are you easily offended? would you be shocked by the foul language of Roy Chubby Brown or Frankie Boyle? if so maybe this game isn't for you, I, on the other hand love that kind of humour.
This is a comedy and a game rolled into one. The foul and sometimes offensive statements made on this game are very tongue in cheek, which really do add to the appeal of it.
It's got a retro feel, likened to a foul mouthed Starsky and Hutch, done Tarrantino style.
I thoroughly enjoyed playing from start to finish, especially with the Wii hand Cannon, just blasting away to your hearts content, destroying an endless stream of zombies and mutants. The slow motion targets when hit let you watch carnage in super slo-mo with bits of brain and flesh scattered far and wide on impact.
If you like your games clean and unoffensive, then this isn't for you, on the other hand if you're open to a barrage of foul four letter cursing, tongue in cheek comedy, and thoroughly blood splattering fun, then go and buy, it'll be the best shoot em up you've ever played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game, swearing lets it down., 16 Feb 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The House of the Dead: Overkill (Wii) (Video Game)
One of the best games for the Wii. So glad SAGA are concentrating on games as they are so good at them.

Like other reviewers, the only downside I see is the extreme swearing. If I say one of the characters is effectively Samuel L Jackson, you'll know what I mean.

If you are looking for the Grindhouse movie experience then it will be fine.

In many ways, if they do a sequel, I wouldn't want them to tone anything down, just provide an option to "beep" the language from the game settings.

Great to see an adult game on the Wii and hope it carries on.

I deducted a single star from my overall rating because I can't turn off the swearing. If that's not important to you then this is a 5 star game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sega ups beats itself at its own game, 16 Feb 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The House of the Dead: Overkill (Wii) (Video Game)
It's taken a while, but the Wii is finally starting to pull some punches, with SEGA leading the way in this superb adaption of the classic House of the Dead series from arcades fame.

Both as spectacle and as a complete game, Overkill is one of the finest titles on the Wii to date. In sticking firmly to its light-gun heritage, Overkill is does not however limit itself to the genes of its publisher's other shooters - the fun but very very short Ghost Squad and House of the Dead compilations.

What players get instead is long, gory and satisfying single player campaign, a hammy but entertaining plot and - crucially for an online shooter - a heck of a lot of replayability.

By now many people will have heard about Overkill's grimy grind-house-esque graphical style. It's very striking and is supported by not only some very nice lighting and level-design (use your hd tv mind), but an eclectic and I'm sure, award-winning, soundtrack of beats, funk and elctro-rock. Production wise then, its spot on.

Of course gameplay is what keeps the player engaged and Overkill delivers. It may not boast the FPS style environment deformation of its main competitor, Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles, but it trumps this title in almost every other way. Cross-hair calibration is spot on, the weapon selection is small but balanced, and most importantly, the Zombies (sorry, 'mutants') make brilliant targets. Bringing down a wave of enemies with shots to the knees, and then finishing off stragglers with ehadshots adds a thick tactical element, and with decent real-time limb blasting makes, the shooting part is exhilirating fom start to finish.

Boasting an impressive 3-5 hour campaign (at least for a lightgun game) the longevity of the title is boosted significantly by a longer director's cut version on available on completion, co-op, highscores, weapon upgrading and a gloriously villent dual-wield option.

If there's one major problem that will put people off, its the dialogue. It frequently oversteps bad taste, and not at all in the ironic way it was intended, so you may well find yourself skipping cringe-worthy cutscenes on replays. On top of this, the bosses too are a little disspointing, and lacking perhaps the intensity of the rock-hard encouters of RE:UC.

Overall though, this is a must have title for all wii-owners, whether they like shooters or not. Its great to see SEGA support the console in such a strong way, and in buying this, hopefully amazon customers will not only be getting a no-holds barred package, but they can encourage other games publishers produce more top-notch titles for wii.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action Overkill with muahahahahaha effect, 29 Dec 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The House of the Dead: Overkill (Wii) (Video Game)
Hard Game, rough game, but definetly a fun game.
This game brings the good old feeling from House of the Dead game stations from the 80s and 90s into your own living room. The game is a caricature of the HotD series. It has a unique kind of humor, the two main characters are always good for a sound bite. It is defenitly nothing for children, the game is full of horror and blood, cruel scences and explicit language, but the complete game is a masterpiece. Watch the video reviews on YouTube before you buy it, you'll either love it or hate it. I loved it and I still play it month after purchase.

Best played with a light gun ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best zombie survival railshooter ever!, 25 Dec 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The House of the Dead: Overkill (Wii) (Video Game)
SEGA completely revamped the House of the Dead series with this game.
It moves away from the mildly amusing humor from the previous games in the series to become a hilarious blood bath.
From the stereotyped characters, the very dark humor in every outrageous comment to the sheer amount of blood splashing all around the screen, this is your chance to become a "b movie" star in your own living room.

This is one of the best games I've seen for the Wii console so far I would highly recommend it.
Just make sure this is the type of game and humor you like before buying it, as it might not be suitable for impressionable/easily offended people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overkill game, 23 Dec 2009
By 
Gwendolyn S. Sargeant (Stafford England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House of the Dead: Overkill (Wii) (Video Game)
Great game, havent played it all the way thru but is a game as promised. thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars :-), 14 Dec 2009
By 
S. Clark (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The House of the Dead: Overkill (Wii) (Video Game)
I brought this as a christmas present but im sure its going to played alot on christmas day and through to next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like rude and twisted humour this game is for you!, 13 Dec 2009
By 
A. Lister - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The House of the Dead: Overkill (Wii) (Video Game)
Brilliantly entertaining Characters and dialog as well as the fun and fast paced zombie shooting you'd expect from a house of the dead game.

No need to worry about ammo or maps, the characters move though a set route blasting everything that moves. The verity of well thought out chapters means it never gets boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The House of the Dead: Overkill (Wii)
16.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews