Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who says "Movement" is New Order's worst LP? I certainly don't!
Just look at the bonus disc - it contains some of their strongest-ever songs: "Everything's Gone Green", "Procession", "Temptation", "Hurt" - "Hurt", for ****'s sake, where did THAT come from? When did you EVER hear music like that? PIL's "Metal Box" maybe? Talk about (to paraphrase Sounds, or was it NME?) people sitting on sofas in the rain wondering where this music...
Published on 30 Aug 2008 by Colin McCartney

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should rate 4-5 stars, except for the technical annoyances.
Still my favourite NO album, very similar to late Joy Division, although I even prefer some songs in their versions on the Peel Session album. Senses, for instance, sounds a bit overproduced here. Dreams never end, on the other hand, improved a lot in the Martin Hannett version.
Pity that Rhino messed up the bonus disc on the 2008 edition of "Movement". (Swapped...
Published on 7 Oct 2009 by RK, Germany


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who says "Movement" is New Order's worst LP? I certainly don't!, 30 Aug 2008
By 
Colin McCartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Movement [Collector'S Edition] (Audio CD)
Just look at the bonus disc - it contains some of their strongest-ever songs: "Everything's Gone Green", "Procession", "Temptation", "Hurt" - "Hurt", for ****'s sake, where did THAT come from? When did you EVER hear music like that? PIL's "Metal Box" maybe? Talk about (to paraphrase Sounds, or was it NME?) people sitting on sofas in the rain wondering where this music came from! It's as though (with disc 2) Rhino have unearthed a lost classic New Order LP (except that you've heard all the songs before).

Anyway, you try following up the best LP ever made (Closer) after your lead singer's just died and see how you get on.

Plus...the rare alternate version of "Ceremony" AND the half-hearted packaging of the London CD edition dispensed with.

Why would anyone not buy this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remastered at last!, 2 Oct 2014
This review is from: Movement [Collector'S Edition] (Audio CD)
This is an odd record as it's part Joy Division and part New Order. If Ian Curtis hadn't committed suicide, I guess the music on this album would form much of the third Joy Division album. As it was, Barney provided lyrics in the same Curtis vein that do work to an extent but he doesn't find his own style until "Everything's Gone Green" and "Temptation".
The band bring forth a more muscular edge with Morris's drums at the forefront, while swathes of electronica wash around the sound. The production really lets this album down. The muddy sound and Barney's vocals are mixed so low, it was my least played NO album. So I finally bought the remastered version and yes, it is a bit gloomy but the new mix gives it a cleaner metallic sound. The vocals are still a little stilted and hidden but this will be played a lot more now!
"Doubts Even Here" is the best track and has Hooky singing (very Ian Curtis baritone!)
Worth having at last....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars important transition album beautifully remastered, 7 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Movement [Collector'S Edition] (Audio CD)
For fans of both Joy Division and New Order, this is an important album as it charts the territory after Ian Curtis untimely suicide and before the superstardom augured by Blue Monday. It ranks as my second favourite LP by the group after Power Corruption and Lies. (If you're new to NO, I'd recommend buying this and Power Corruption and Lies rather than Substance or any other compilation -- those 4 CDs contain essentially all the most important songs the group produced IMHO, though you might also buy the remastered Low Life too.)

Contrary to some of the complaints on this site, I must congratulate John Davis for a great remastering. I own an original Factory LP of this, which I bought in 1981, and I'm playing it (on my Pink Triangle LPT, with an Ortofon MC30 cartidge) side by side with the CD (which is on a Rega Planet) and the original, which is in mint condition, sounds really rather muddy by comparison. Definitely worth buying this rather than the earlier non-remastered CD.

The bonus CD is a nice addition. I agree the remastering is not as clean as for the album and it would be depressing if the original masters have been lost. But it's great to have the 7" version of Temptation, with its guitar flurries in the intro (I only have an original 12" ...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gloomy day at the nude beach, 9 Dec 2011
By 
Señor Spook "Spooky B" (Charlottetown, PEI, CANADA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Movement [Collector'S Edition] (Audio CD)
"Movement" is an album notable for possessing a murky and hollow production masking otherwise pretty good tunes that are akin to, yet strangely unlike, New Order's previous incarnation as Joy Division. The band appears rather rudderless, unsure if they want to dive into dance or fall back into all-out dark guitar-driven rock. Nevertheless, the results are often intriguing, as exemplified by the sombre dissonance of "Truth and ""Doubts Even Here" -- even outstanding in the album's One Great Track, "Dreams Never End". Whatever shortcomings plague this album, it's plainly clear the band needed to record it in order to move forward. And move forward they did, to spectacular effect -- check "Everything's Gone Green" and both versions of "Temptation" on the indifferently remastered bonus disc for details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great reissue, 31 Oct 2008
By 
D.H. (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Movement [Collector'S Edition] (Audio CD)
This 2 disc set collects the first album and all of the singles at that time. The bonus disc includes: Ceremony, Temptation 7"mix, In a Lonely Place, Everyting's Gone Green, Procession, Cries and Whispers, Hurt and Mesh, Ceremony (Alt Version), Temptation 12" Mix. Neither of the versions on disc two is the Substance version of Temptation like another review says.

The album was the beginning for NO and definitely different than later albums. But the beginnings are all there, from the bass hooks, to the driving drums. Sumner's vocals are more like Ian Curtis's on this than on future albums.

Rhino did a nice job with this package. Sonically, disc 1 (the album) is excellent. Disc 2's sonics are ok, but could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should rate 4-5 stars, except for the technical annoyances., 7 Oct 2009
This review is from: Movement [Collector'S Edition] (Audio CD)
Still my favourite NO album, very similar to late Joy Division, although I even prefer some songs in their versions on the Peel Session album. Senses, for instance, sounds a bit overproduced here. Dreams never end, on the other hand, improved a lot in the Martin Hannett version.
Pity that Rhino messed up the bonus disc on the 2008 edition of "Movement". (Swapped channels on Ceremony? Tsk, tsk ...)

Does anyone know if Amazon UK has actually started shipping the corrected August 2009 versions? I want to make sure not to receive a faulty 2008 CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Movement [Collector'S Edition] (Audio CD)
no problems/ would use company again....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total New Order Fan, 7 Oct 2008
By 
M. Pullan "Mr Disco" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Movement [Collector'S Edition] (Audio CD)
I grew up listening to New Order. Throughout my angst teenage years of pubescent dreams I continually got told "turn it down !!" by my parents as from my bedroom I played (far too loud) the likes of Denial, Procession , Confused beats , Mr Disco etc etc. I'm 40 now and still get told "turn it down" by my wife and kids . Some things never change and I can honestly say New Order (as sad as it sounds) were/are part of my life. As a young lad I was lucky enough to go and experience the mecca that once was the Hacienda. Imagine going to a Nite Club owned by the band that you idolized ? Amazing experience amazing place. Unfortunately I also got thrown out of possibly their last gig in the UK, in Glasgow. Mistaken identity ! It was my brother throwing paper off the balcony. Anyway if you are a New Order fan you'll have aready bought all these latest editions and if you're not , Just buy and you'll not regret it, no Regret whatsoever..(just the Price of Love)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten classic, 2 July 2009
By 
JimmyDCFC (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Movement [Collector'S Edition] (Audio CD)
This a great album , try not to think "Joy Division" when listening to it and enjoy it for what it is. Standouts - The Him, Truth, Chosen Time (almost a happy song !) and of course Dreams Never End. In my opinion their 2nd best after PCandL , the singles and B sides from this time are also excellent - Procession , ETGG , Mesh , Hurt etc sound wonderful still. Why moan about the sequencing when its a pretty simple to play the tracks in any order you wish ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ghost of Ian Curtis, 1 Mar 2010
By 
P. Frizelle (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Movement [Collector'S Edition] (Audio CD)
Movement is New Order's debut album, released in November 1981 on Factory Records. At the time of its release, the album wasn't particularly well received by critics or consumers. After the death by suicide of Joy Division singer Ian Curtis in May 1980, and the subsequent shock for those surrounding him, the remaining members of the band elected to carry on, albeit under a new name, New Order. Musically, Movement is a transitional album, references to Ian Curtis appear on the songs "I.C.B." (rumoured to be an acronym for `Ian Curtis Buried').

As a result Movement hardly represents New Order as we now know them at all. To all extents and purposes Movement is the "lost" Joy Division album acting as a bridge between the sombre Closer and the forthcoming swirling, delirious Power Corruption and Lies. Even Bernard Sumner's vocals are unrecognisable from his future efforts sounding, as he does like the ghost of Ian Curtis; an affectation which runs perilously close to the knuckle. The album also suffers from "deadpan production". Martin Hannett was either pissed, off his head on drugs or both throughout the whole of the production process which inevitably lead to conflicts with the band. The result is a bleak, dour set of songs but without the added intensity and menace of the Joy Division days. Perhaps the shadow of Curtis that looms over this LP was just too much, neither Bernard Sumner nor Stephen Hook sing with his haunting confidence nor lyrically paint vivid holocaust landscapes with such texture and realism. Although it made some logical sense to include Ceremony which had been one of the last songs written with Ian the album feels like an inescapable void, sucking out all passion, feeling and creativity from the band and leaving nothing more than an extremely dull album. The sound of this New Order carries on from the progression/evolution shown by the final Joy Division album, 'Closer'. Keyboards are more prominently featured within the overall sound expanding upon the tentative keyboard led instrumental tracks from 'Closer'. The guitars are altogether politer than Joy Division's had been however and the overall feel of the music lighter in tone.

But then, just as everyone reasonably was about to write New Order off as an abortion of an idea, they began to showcase a very different sound, an experiemental dance influenced sound with very little accent on either the lyrics or vocals. With Gillian Gilbert on board they released a series of hit singles and albums that cemented them as one of the most creative and important dance forces in the U.K with an electro pulse and undercurrent of funky guitars borrowed from a Gang of Four and A Certain Ratio.

Having this CD serves no other purposes than to complete the JD/ NO discography. Had the new direction of NO failed then it is very unlikely that this CD would have ever been re-released let alone reviewed. I must admit however that listing to these recordings some thirty years after they were released they do seem to have some historical context and are more appealing. They have a life force of there own and there influence whether by design or by coincidence can be felt reverberating in the sonic undertones of the new bands emerging into the scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Movement [Collector'S Edition]
Movement [Collector'S Edition] by New Order (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews