Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than sky version!!
Only one thing to be said about this dvd! buy it for the uncut version its much more like a 24 movie! brillant. Sky ruined this prequel with cuts and adverts and not sure the cheaper dvd of this is much better so def buy this version! and the extras are great :)
Published on 7 Dec 2008 by Rob

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 24 Redemption: a good fill-in between seasons 6 and 7.
I wouldn't say this was of one the best films I've ever seen, but it does what it says on the tin, which is to provide a bridge between seasons 6 and 7 ... I think it suffers partly from being part of the 24 series - if it had been a standalone film, it would probably merit 4 stars, but the natural thing to do is to compare it to the seasons that came before it, and in...
Published on 10 May 2009 by Carmen


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is not a film of 24!, 22 Jan 2012
By 
Having read various reviews I feel frustrated that people are criticising it as it isn't the film they thought it was going to be! This is a 2hr filler between series 6 and 7. It was designed to fill in the gap created during the writers' strike and is to give series 7 context as it was fairly far removed from where we left off in series 6.

If you are a fan of 24 then this is definitely for you. It has tension and Robert Carlyle in so it can't go too far wrong! There is a great build up and it is good to see that the writers' break has helped revive what was a flagging series 6 into series 7!

If, however, you just want a quick way into 24, or you haven't seen the series before then perhaps you should start with series 1 as this won't make real sense, it isn't in real time and it isn't a stand alone film.

I really do like this filler-film though and it is def worth the watch. The 2-discs include some extra features but if you aren't a features person then stick to the 1 disc edition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, some more 24, 2 Oct 2008
This review is from: 24 - Redemption [DVD] (DVD)
My other review has been deemed not useful, so I thought i'd try and explain more. Fact is, IT IS same old 24, but for Jack Bauer, in a different environment. It's good to see Jack in another continent, infact good to see him out of L.A. There's part cabinet meetings, part gun-fights, and parts plain old Jack Bauer bada.ss. Fight scenes = very intense, as usual there are way in which Jack kills his enemies, that make us envious of just how cool this guy is. The overall atmosphere is different, it's more like a different style of 24, and since there's no CTU, no Chloe, Buchanan etc, it's bound to give breaths of fresh air to avid viewers.

Acting wise, as we all know, Kiefer does great as Jack Bauer, it's especially interesting to see how he communicates with the children of Africa, whom he's looking after. His face tells a 1000 words.

Jon Voight has less screen time as other chracters, but his character is crucial to the movie. Tony Todd (I searched him up on IMDB) is good in a villainous role, after seeing him on Chuck and a few random b-movies, it's great to see him in close center.

Vice President Daniels and Peter McNichols character also make a comback, it's good to see them back in action for the last time (unless they make a surprise appearance in season 7).

Overall, it's what we'd expect from 24, and i'm happy I got to see it early.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 - Redemption [DVD] (DVD)
if you love 24 you will love this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
This review is from: 24 - Redemption [DVD] (DVD)
Awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great 24 gap filler, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 - Redemption [DVD] (DVD)
Fills in the gap between series 6 & 7. Wish I'd watched it in the proper sequence as it would have helped greatly to understand the background running up to series 7. Gripping as ever. Wouldn't do as a stand alone movie as you really need to know more about the character and why he is how he is. Also the ending is very much up in the air - which of course doesn't matter if you then watch series 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as the series., 16 Jun 2014
By 
R. G. Hancox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24 - Redemption [DVD] (DVD)
Classic example of why 24 would not work as a movie. People like 24 for a reason - its format, its atmosphere etc. All of this is lost in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Small but perfectly formed, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 - Redemption [DVD] (DVD)
Love it, but I loved every episode of this groundbreaking series. Season 9 is a welcome return and keeping me on the edge of my seat every week but we've grown to expect nothing less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 - Redemption [DVD] (DVD)
We bought this with series seven but watched it afterwards, this was a mistake as they followed on. However it was still a great film on its own so if you do buy it buy series seven afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 24 Redemption, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 - Redemption [DVD] (DVD)
Good value for money and arrived in a reasonable amount of time.Product although second hand was in good condition.
In Addition I found this dvd enjoyable viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Writers Strike Era 24, 3 April 2014
By 
MLA (Wien, Österreich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 24 - Redemption [DVD] (DVD)
Redemption is a standalone film in the 24 world. It fits in prior to the start of season 7 of 24 with hero Jack Bauer in Africa after spending time to find himself again after the difficulties of season 6. The original version is 89mins long, the extended is 102mins meaning in practice this is like watching a couple of episodes of a season. It is not as good as a couple of episodes of 24.

The plot sees Kiefer Sutherland's Jack Bauer finding himself a bit of redemption by volunteering to help out old friend Carl Benton played by the irrepressible Robert Carlyle. Carlyle does a pretty good job in Redemption as a man who has clearly seen horror but has chosen to do his bit by helping poor African kids. Carlyle has always been able to produce a spot of emotion and he carries a great deal of pathos. A character with pathos in 24 has a sure ending. While he's there Carlyle puts in a quality peformance, a notch above everyone else on display.

Jack Bauer is not really himself. He is conflicted and unsure of his place in the world when he finds himself with Carlyle. He has been rejected by the US for the crimes he has committed while protecting the nation. It is an effort to show Bauer in a slightly different light, not just the death-dealing avenger but a man troubled and unable to keep pace with the changes in the world around him.

Taking Bauer away from the comfort of CTU in Los Angeles affects Redemption quite significantly. There is none of the interaction and intrigue present in 24. What made the show so great was never really knowing what the next phase would be, the uncertainty made every episode a must-see event. In 24 there is none of the banter, no layers of opponent to overcome, just a fairly obvious move through the jungle to Jack's inevitable acquisition by the US authorities.

The storyline is not especially imaginative. An African warlord recruits child soldiers and tries to prey on the kids in the care of Robert Carlyle's character. Bauer cannot save the kids and himself. He has to do what is right and is prepared to pay the price for their cause. He is inevitably too much of a match for an African militia so he is able to shoot his way through the bad guys who are not especially interesting or engaging.

Perhaps the one positive about Redemption is the lighting. It looks so different to the regular 24 with a completely different palette. The pale colours make the setting seem so very different as it should given this is largely a rural African story rather than the urban American one normally on display.

Redemption does lead in to season 7 which is the only reason to watch it. The only reason to own it is as part of the collection. As a standalone it is the equivalent of a couple of 24 episodes without being as good as most of them. That it was conceived around the time of the Hollywood writers strike seems to be no surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

24 - Redemption [DVD]
24 - Redemption [DVD] by Kiefer Sutherland (DVD - 2008)
£5.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews