Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good news, everyone! This is a wonderful box.
I'm not going to write about Futurama itself, since it has been written much about it in previous reviews (if you still want to know more, visit [...] I'd like to comment on this release: complete box of 4 seasons (72 episodes).
The package is fine. It includes 15 DVDs divided into four separate boxes (= four seasons). Each DVD has its own plastic box. On each DVD...
Published on 3 Nov 2004 by Lojza Filip

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Content fine of course, but box itself is rubbish
The box is all cardboard, the dics are inside cardboard slips, they're hard to get out without getting the whole season flying all over the floor, the four season boxes (again cardboard) are taped together at the back, making them unweildy to manage. It's just a mess, and having done DVD production, I know for a fact it would have been cheaper to just use normal DVD...
Published 2 months ago by M. Simms


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good news, everyone! This is a wonderful box., 3 Nov 2004
I'm not going to write about Futurama itself, since it has been written much about it in previous reviews (if you still want to know more, visit [...] I'd like to comment on this release: complete box of 4 seasons (72 episodes).
The package is fine. It includes 15 DVDs divided into four separate boxes (= four seasons). Each DVD has its own plastic box. On each DVD there are several special features (extras) like audio commentary by the creators, deleted scenes or so called animatics (working versions of some episodes). I guess the DVDs are pretty much the same as in releases of single seasons. So if you already own all the seasons, it would be probably useless to buy this box, because you won't get anything new (except for the fine box itself, of course ;)). But if you don't have single seasons, then this box is really worth buying. I must add, that the price on Amazon is more than friendly ;).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent (except for commentary), 17 Jun 2010
By 
Jan Gundtofte-Bruun (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This box set is a real gem for Futurama fans. The quality is excellent, and there is an appropriate stack of bonus material.

The only shame is that it is very evident that Matt&co tired of making commentaries after doing only a handful of episodes. The first couple of tracks are funny and informative, but that quickly fades (I wonder if they did them all in one go?). They end up talking about totally unrelated matters and even make fun of the whole concept of commentaries -- at that point, it would have been better to just not include any. I haven't bothered to check the commentary tracks on the last couple of discs...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Future of Entertainment, 1 Sep 2004
By 
Futurama is the child of simpsons creator Matt Groening and I beleive it to be his refined, more adult and better offspring.
The simpsons is one of the best cartoons and entertainment programs there is but Futurama just makes me laugh more. the characters are always great, the stories inspired and if you like sci fi this takes everything you know and love and makes it funny. Even if you just like simple comedy you have to love something where the robots of the future run on alcohol.
This box set has all the episodes of the entire series that has sadly come to an end.
In the far far future alien archeologists will dig up this set from our long dead civilisation and wet themselves luaghing.
P.S Amazon is also selling this cheaper than anywhere else I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best ever!, 24 Nov 2004
ok first of all i love the simpsons, but for me futurama is so much better. Anyone who is into sci fi or has a sarcastic or creul sense of humour MUST own this dvd there is no negotiation! The needless use of bad language and violence is right up there with fawlty towers for timing, there are hundreds of references to star trek, star wars, space odessy and all the big films and series, the fact that they only made 4 series is the only downfall, but its so easy to watch over and over again.
the extras are handy, some great deleted scenes but its the commentaries that are the best, quite often members of the cast saying silly things in character and some gems of behind the scenes stories!
BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivery by Fry and the crew would be quicker......, 4 Feb 2005
By 
Pat (Manchester, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
A truly superb comedy series with a myriad of fantastic characters and stories. However don't expect to watch them in the near future as Amazon won't deliver for months. I ordered the 1-4 box set on Jan 13th and my (third) estimated delivery date is now March 7th - 21st. I look forwards to watching it after I've been cryogenically frozen for some considerable time........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST PROGRAMME EVER, 11 Jun 2007
By 
Mark Bonatti "M.Bonatti" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Futurama is without a doubt the best programme ever to grace our humble televisions. There's so much more here than meets the eye. Yes, it is incredibly funny in almost every sense of the word, but it's so much more as well. I have never witnessed such heart in a 1/2 hour programme before, there are a few episodes where I swear if you're not welling up by the end them there is something deeply emotionally wrong with you.

The characters are absolutely fantastic as well, sure everyone knows Bender is the king of cool, Fry is a lovable idiot with a heart of gold and Leela manages to be one of the strongest female characters you'll ever come across as well as being incredibly sexy, which is mildly disturbing as she is a 2d cyclops after all. Some of the real strengths of this programme are the supposrting characters as well, Zap Brannigan is hysterical. His complete lack of any kind of sense plays well with his position as Commander of Earths armed forces and he has some phrases that make George Bush look like T.S Elliot. Zoidberg, well he's a bit of a lost cause really, but he means well and is pssibly one of the shows most lovable characters. There are others of course but I could go on forever.

I'm not kidding when I say Futurama really sets the bar for television, if you don't have it already then maybe it's time to rethink your life.

Also, new episodes should, apparantly, be winging our way to us by the end of the year so make sure you're all caught up so you can take part in the worldwide jump for joy we all experience the first few "bongs" from the themetune, for a new year, a new you, a new lease on life! Sorry I'm getting carried away here, I just love it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love The Simpsons? Adore Futurama!, 9 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. Tristan Martin (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Futurama is Matt Groening's superb follow-up to The Simpsons, a cartoon that reinvented the genre. Futurama follows the very silly exploits of Fry, an intergalactic delivery boy and his human, alien, robot and other assorted weirdo friends, as they deliver subpoenas (to Sicily 8 - the mob planet), jump dimensions, get beaten at atomic-mutant basketball, blow up planets, have snoo-snoo, start wars, meet Al Gore and have problems tuning the television in in their new apartment.

On first glance, this series bears striking similarities to its predecessor. The animation is of the same simple yet effective style (only with more 3D modelling) and the humour is in the same vein of ironic, post-modern tomfoolery. As far as this highly opinionated reviewer is concerned, none of that is a drawback. On second glance, first opinions are reinforced. Futurama has the same high standard of sophisticated and low-brow humour; (numerous) references to Richard Nixon and the dense symbolism of Melville's Moby Dick sit alongside Fantastic Voyage journeys up a main character's arse.

Perhaps a major difference, that might have no importance overall, is that whereas The Simpsons is populated by either children or adults, Futurama mostly focuses on those in between those age groups. Standout characters include Zapp Brannigan, a Shatnerian, pompous buffoon, who sees himself as an intergalactic alien-killing, velour-adoring, love-making machine ("Have the boy fetch me my shorts!" "The `boy' sir?" "You. You fetch my shorts!") and Calculon, a thespian-bot whose overly dramatic pronouncements are distinctly at odds with his career in the robot soap opera `All My Circuits.'

"Who's that guy?" "Him? Token human character?" "Yeah! What's he do?" "Y'know, the usual human stuff: he laughs, he loves, he learns." "Boring!"

To conclude, if you enjoyed The Simpsons (but think it's not as good as it used to be), then you will love (all four glorious series - all hail!) of Futurama. An unimaginative reviewer might write that Futurama is to The Jetsons what The Simpsons is to The Flintstones, so I've written it, which won't help you to appreciate just how great Futurama is. From the fabulous retro-futurist robot designs to the scuzzy New New York labourer who deliberately ruins the veneer of `the future' with his string vest and pot-belly, Futurama consistently hits the mark. Rumour round the bad-ass gravity pump is that it may be returning... Good news, everybody!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and very sweet, 3 Mar 2007
By 
S. Moss "Moss" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There is much debate over whether futurama is better than the Simpsons and in my opinion it generally is, especially the later seasons of the simpsons where the plot line seems to be wearing thin. Futurama is not only a comedy, it is also very emotional, and at times sad. The story arcs are well thoughout and the Mat groenings year 3000 is absolutely packed with creativity. Billy West makes a charming Fry, who's heart is in the right place, even if his brain isn't quite with Leela, the one eyed object of his desires. Marcus Felix plays Bender, who is absolute class.

The show does seem to better it self as it progresses, Bender the robot isn't as funny in the first season as he is in the final few. It's a sort of Dan Castanaletta situation. His voice is much more developed and funnier late in the seasons than it was to begin with. The last two seasons were by far the best, funniest and emotionally deep cartoon I have ever seen. Shame they axed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hehehehehe! funniest thing!, 27 Dec 2005
By A Customer
Love it! i got this as a christmas present and it was probably the best christmas present EVER!!!!!
all the episodes, tons of extras and all packed neat and tidy in the box! remeber folks, there is every single episode ever in here! its a complete must have for any futurama fan! dont buy the season boxsets separately, as you could save a bundle on this AND have the ultimate futurama product!!!
trust me, everyone loves fufturama as a gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One over on the simpsons, 23 Jan 2005
A box set? Are you mad? Well, if there is any box set that you should but make it this one. Not least because there are no plans to make an extension to the collection. Futurama was deemed unpopular in the USA - the reasons for which must be partly the same as those that make it so funny and poignant to those people who watch it from the UK.
Okay, so the Simpsons holds its cult followers, being able to cross cultures and even language. But Futurama appeals to both those people who just want 'stupid' humour and those who want some intellect slipped in with it.
Each character could have a book written about them and you find out much more about these individuals in a short space of time than you could hope for in the Simpsons, in fact I believe them to be far deeper and that probably serves to deepen their appeal.
Its got comedy moments for all the family, I have sat down with a three year old and watched an entire series back to back. But ive also sat at work with a dude, who would hate me referring to him as 'old' right now, quoting phrases and laughing in bursts at favourite sketches and memories of each series.
Its also one of those rare specimens that actually has the ability to thrown in a few new bits each time you watch it.
My favourite? When they are superheroes and running about to their theme song. You will see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Futurama - Season 1-4 [DVD]
Futurama - Season 1-4 [DVD] by Brian Sheesley (DVD - 2008)
54.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews