Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good news, everyone! This is a wonderful box.
I'm not going to write about Futurama itself, since it has been written much about it in previous reviews (if you still want to know more, visit [...] I'd like to comment on this release: complete box of 4 seasons (72 episodes).
The package is fine. It includes 15 DVDs divided into four separate boxes (= four seasons). Each DVD has its own plastic box. On each DVD...
Published on 3 Nov 2004 by Lojza Filip

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Content fine of course, but box itself is rubbish
The box is all cardboard, the dics are inside cardboard slips, they're hard to get out without getting the whole season flying all over the floor, the four season boxes (again cardboard) are taped together at the back, making them unweildy to manage. It's just a mess, and having done DVD production, I know for a fact it would have been cheaper to just use normal DVD...
Published 2 months ago by M. Simms


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good news, everyone! This is a wonderful box., 3 Nov 2004
I'm not going to write about Futurama itself, since it has been written much about it in previous reviews (if you still want to know more, visit [...] I'd like to comment on this release: complete box of 4 seasons (72 episodes).
The package is fine. It includes 15 DVDs divided into four separate boxes (= four seasons). Each DVD has its own plastic box. On each DVD there are several special features (extras) like audio commentary by the creators, deleted scenes or so called animatics (working versions of some episodes). I guess the DVDs are pretty much the same as in releases of single seasons. So if you already own all the seasons, it would be probably useless to buy this box, because you won't get anything new (except for the fine box itself, of course ;)). But if you don't have single seasons, then this box is really worth buying. I must add, that the price on Amazon is more than friendly ;).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent (except for commentary), 17 Jun 2010
By 
Jan Gundtofte-Bruun (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This box set is a real gem for Futurama fans. The quality is excellent, and there is an appropriate stack of bonus material.

The only shame is that it is very evident that Matt&co tired of making commentaries after doing only a handful of episodes. The first couple of tracks are funny and informative, but that quickly fades (I wonder if they did them all in one go?). They end up talking about totally unrelated matters and even make fun of the whole concept of commentaries -- at that point, it would have been better to just not include any. I haven't bothered to check the commentary tracks on the last couple of discs...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Future of Entertainment, 1 Sep 2004
By 
Futurama is the child of simpsons creator Matt Groening and I beleive it to be his refined, more adult and better offspring.
The simpsons is one of the best cartoons and entertainment programs there is but Futurama just makes me laugh more. the characters are always great, the stories inspired and if you like sci fi this takes everything you know and love and makes it funny. Even if you just like simple comedy you have to love something where the robots of the future run on alcohol.
This box set has all the episodes of the entire series that has sadly come to an end.
In the far far future alien archeologists will dig up this set from our long dead civilisation and wet themselves luaghing.
P.S Amazon is also selling this cheaper than anywhere else I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best ever!, 24 Nov 2004
ok first of all i love the simpsons, but for me futurama is so much better. Anyone who is into sci fi or has a sarcastic or creul sense of humour MUST own this dvd there is no negotiation! The needless use of bad language and violence is right up there with fawlty towers for timing, there are hundreds of references to star trek, star wars, space odessy and all the big films and series, the fact that they only made 4 series is the only downfall, but its so easy to watch over and over again.
the extras are handy, some great deleted scenes but its the commentaries that are the best, quite often members of the cast saying silly things in character and some gems of behind the scenes stories!
BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivery by Fry and the crew would be quicker......, 4 Feb 2005
By 
Pat (Manchester, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
A truly superb comedy series with a myriad of fantastic characters and stories. However don't expect to watch them in the near future as Amazon won't deliver for months. I ordered the 1-4 box set on Jan 13th and my (third) estimated delivery date is now March 7th - 21st. I look forwards to watching it after I've been cryogenically frozen for some considerable time........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love The Simpsons? Adore Futurama!, 9 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. Tristan Martin (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Futurama is Matt Groening's superb follow-up to The Simpsons, a cartoon that reinvented the genre. Futurama follows the very silly exploits of Fry, an intergalactic delivery boy and his human, alien, robot and other assorted weirdo friends, as they deliver subpoenas (to Sicily 8 - the mob planet), jump dimensions, get beaten at atomic-mutant basketball, blow up planets, have snoo-snoo, start wars, meet Al Gore and have problems tuning the television in in their new apartment.

On first glance, this series bears striking similarities to its predecessor. The animation is of the same simple yet effective style (only with more 3D modelling) and the humour is in the same vein of ironic, post-modern tomfoolery. As far as this highly opinionated reviewer is concerned, none of that is a drawback. On second glance, first opinions are reinforced. Futurama has the same high standard of sophisticated and low-brow humour; (numerous) references to Richard Nixon and the dense symbolism of Melville's Moby Dick sit alongside Fantastic Voyage journeys up a main character's arse.

Perhaps a major difference, that might have no importance overall, is that whereas The Simpsons is populated by either children or adults, Futurama mostly focuses on those in between those age groups. Standout characters include Zapp Brannigan, a Shatnerian, pompous buffoon, who sees himself as an intergalactic alien-killing, velour-adoring, love-making machine ("Have the boy fetch me my shorts!" "The `boy' sir?" "You. You fetch my shorts!") and Calculon, a thespian-bot whose overly dramatic pronouncements are distinctly at odds with his career in the robot soap opera `All My Circuits.'

"Who's that guy?" "Him? Token human character?" "Yeah! What's he do?" "Y'know, the usual human stuff: he laughs, he loves, he learns." "Boring!"

To conclude, if you enjoyed The Simpsons (but think it's not as good as it used to be), then you will love (all four glorious series - all hail!) of Futurama. An unimaginative reviewer might write that Futurama is to The Jetsons what The Simpsons is to The Flintstones, so I've written it, which won't help you to appreciate just how great Futurama is. From the fabulous retro-futurist robot designs to the scuzzy New New York labourer who deliberately ruins the veneer of `the future' with his string vest and pot-belly, Futurama consistently hits the mark. Rumour round the bad-ass gravity pump is that it may be returning... Good news, everybody!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and very sweet, 3 Mar 2007
By 
S. Moss "Moss" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There is much debate over whether futurama is better than the Simpsons and in my opinion it generally is, especially the later seasons of the simpsons where the plot line seems to be wearing thin. Futurama is not only a comedy, it is also very emotional, and at times sad. The story arcs are well thoughout and the Mat groenings year 3000 is absolutely packed with creativity. Billy West makes a charming Fry, who's heart is in the right place, even if his brain isn't quite with Leela, the one eyed object of his desires. Marcus Felix plays Bender, who is absolute class.

The show does seem to better it self as it progresses, Bender the robot isn't as funny in the first season as he is in the final few. It's a sort of Dan Castanaletta situation. His voice is much more developed and funnier late in the seasons than it was to begin with. The last two seasons were by far the best, funniest and emotionally deep cartoon I have ever seen. Shame they axed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hehehehehe! funniest thing!, 27 Dec 2005
By A Customer
Love it! i got this as a christmas present and it was probably the best christmas present EVER!!!!!
all the episodes, tons of extras and all packed neat and tidy in the box! remeber folks, there is every single episode ever in here! its a complete must have for any futurama fan! dont buy the season boxsets separately, as you could save a bundle on this AND have the ultimate futurama product!!!
trust me, everyone loves fufturama as a gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One over on the simpsons, 23 Jan 2005
A box set? Are you mad? Well, if there is any box set that you should but make it this one. Not least because there are no plans to make an extension to the collection. Futurama was deemed unpopular in the USA - the reasons for which must be partly the same as those that make it so funny and poignant to those people who watch it from the UK.
Okay, so the Simpsons holds its cult followers, being able to cross cultures and even language. But Futurama appeals to both those people who just want 'stupid' humour and those who want some intellect slipped in with it.
Each character could have a book written about them and you find out much more about these individuals in a short space of time than you could hope for in the Simpsons, in fact I believe them to be far deeper and that probably serves to deepen their appeal.
Its got comedy moments for all the family, I have sat down with a three year old and watched an entire series back to back. But ive also sat at work with a dude, who would hate me referring to him as 'old' right now, quoting phrases and laughing in bursts at favourite sketches and memories of each series.
Its also one of those rare specimens that actually has the ability to thrown in a few new bits each time you watch it.
My favourite? When they are superheroes and running about to their theme song. You will see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another One of Matt Groening's Achievements, 2 April 2007
By 
David P. "A Reviewer" (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
If you like "The Simpsons", then you'll love "Futurama". I own all four series of this at home. I don't own the seasons 1-4 boxset, but it's as good as.

Futurama is a great programme set in the year 3000. The main character is a 25 year old man named Phillip J Fry. On December 31st in the year 1999, he was accidentally cryogenically frozen. He had worked for a Punnichi's pizza and had worked as a delivery boy. He had been given a prank call for someone by the name of I. C. Weiner. He had been sitting down eating the pizza and drinking a can of beer, when he leant back on his chair too far and fell into an open tube litterally as the year 2000 started.

During his 1000 years of being frozen New York had been destroyed, rebuilt, destroyed again and rebuilt. Funny how the building he remained in remained safe. Fry is released in the year 2999 on December 31st. He wasn't frozen for 1000 years technically speaking, as it's mid-afternoon when he is freed. Just a few hour below 1000 years. But it's still just about a thousand year period.

Phillip (he is always refered to as Fry in Futurama) gets a job working for his great, great, great, great, etc nephew, Hubert J Farnsworth's Planet Express company; a company that delivers packages to anywhere in the galaxy.

Farnworth for some reason is aged 160, but it's 1000 years into the future so either mankind's lifespan has increased, or mankind with technology developed so far they found a way to increase lifespan.

One thing I like about this is that Earth is not just populated with humans, but robots AND aliens, who lead normal human lives, treated like humans and even have careers. There's an alien celebrity chef called Elzar and a famous robot actor called Calculon, who stars in a popular TV programme called "All My Circuits".

This programme features some great background characters, as well as the main characters. There's the space captain Zapp Brannigan, who fancies the characer Leela, who cannot stand Zapp. But he can't take the hint as he's far too uphimself. He's a funny character though. The only other character who hates him is his alien assistant Kif.

There's also the robot devil, the robot Santa (who has made Christmas into the worst time of the year) and the old woman Mom, who owns a robot company. Certainly not the most friendly woman. Actually she's very nasty and spiteful.

The main characters are the following:

Phillip J Fry - a big slob and extremely stupid. He like Zapp fancies Leela, but in a romantic way; not in the way Zapp likes her. Leela however isn't interested in Fry, though there are moments when she sees the good side to him, unlike the side she always sees.

Bender - probably the most popular character (one of my favourites). He's got attitude and believe me, he's the last perosn to speak to if you're in a crisis situation; he makes a joke out of it. Although he can be very nasty, he does have feelings and can get emotional at times. He drinks beer to prevent himself from rusting and smokes ciggars to look cool.

Turanga Leela - she's always refered to as Leela in Futurama. She's the pilot of the Planet Express ship. She is skilled with karate and is tough on the inside also. She is the only cyclops on Earth and has no idea who her parents were or where they came from. She finds them eventually, and they're much closer then she assumed.

Professor Hubert J Farnsworth - famous inventor and a good scientist, though his age has mede him senile, so he can seem stupid at times.

Amy Wong- she may look Chinese, but she's not actually from Earth at all; she's from Mars, which has become as safe to live on as Earth. She has rich parents on Mars and she like Fry is incredibly stupid.

Dr Zoidberg - the loser character, though he's one of my favourites. He too can be very stupid, and not many people in the world of Futurama like Zoidberg. He's a lobster like creature and has a funny voice on him.

Hermes Conrad - the most professional team member of Planet Express. He takes care of the bills and stuff. In his younger days he was a limbo champion.

Futurama is great and has funny moments all the way through. Well worth watching. Sit back, relax and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Futurama - Season 1-4 [DVD]
Futurama - Season 1-4 [DVD] by Brian Sheesley (DVD - 2008)
59.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews