Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good
Rincewind the wizard was never my favorite Terry Pratchett character, but I have to say they did a fine job turning this book into a three-hour film. (Or two TV episodes, whatever.) It had a good cast, including Jeremy Irons and the toothsome newcomer Laura Haddock, who did a fine job in the role as octogenarian Cohen The Barbarian's fair maiden.

Most of all,...
Published on 5 Nov. 2008 by Eolake

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simply doesn't work
I adore Terry Pratchett's books and recognise that translating them to film would alway to be a challenge - what can compare with the product of his writing and your own imagination? But Hogfather worked well and Going Postal wasn't too bad, considering it seemed rather low budget, especially in the special effects of creating the golems. But The Colour of Magic simply...
Published on 17 Oct. 2010 by Pip Greville


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Journey Through the Discworld, 8 Nov. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Colour Of Magic [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The Colour of Magic is a very misleading title for this film. It is based not on the first Discworld book by Terry Pratchett but on the two first. The Light Fantastic is encompassed by the second part of the film which bares the same title. As such, the film varies from the book in that it meshes the two plots together... or rather, one plot, since as Pratchett says himself, the first book is just a series of funny stories.

Funny stories they are. Thieves, assassins, imaginary dragons, giant stone trolls, magic swords stuck in stones, treacherous and power hungry wizards, heroic barbarians. Epic plot to save the world included. We're getting ahead of ourselves, aren't we?

The Colour of Magic begins with the meeting of Rincewind and Twoflower. The first a failed wizard, expelled from Unseen University due to his inability to learn any spell. The latter is the first tourist, not knowing the value of his gold and a romantic optimist seeking adventure from his mundane insurance clerk job. The Luggage, a walking box with homicidal loyalty towards the tourist seems to be another character in this group, later joined by Cohen The Barbarian, the eighty year old retired Greatest Hero of the Discworld.

The film is very well made, much more interesting than the books it was based on. The characters are interesting and parodies of certain fantasy tropes. However, like with all parodies, it is hard to enjoy them if you don't know the references used. There are visual and audio jokes within and at least a few puns.

What else can I say? I'm too impressed to find much fault in it. I keep having flashes of the humorous parts and they were many of them, this is not to say that the film lacked cohesion. Far from it, using the plot of The Light Fantastic to create a plot throughout two parts proved a very good move, even though some scenes from the Colour of Magic couldn't be included in order to create new scenes with Trymon, the main villain of the film.

Lastly, I can say that to understand the film, you don't have to have read the book. I didn't read it before watching this and I still feel it's a film worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Happily surprised., 6 Jun. 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Bristol, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Colour Of Magic [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
It was with minor trepidation that I purchased this DVD. Having been a long standing fan of the Discworld® series of books, and early on, the PC adventure games I was quite worried to see that David Jason had been cast as Rincewind. Especially as I'd heard an interview with Sir Terry Pratchett following the release of the games that in his mind, the voice of Rincewind would forever be Eric Idle (of Monty Python fame). Anyway, I settled down to watch it, first watching the introduction by Sir Terry which revealed that the DVD is actually 'The Colour of Magic' AND 'The Light Fantastic' combined into on DVD in two episodes. Despite seeing fleeting glimpses of 'Del-boy Trotter' I think that David Jason pulled off quite a respectable Rincewind. Tim Curry as Trymon was excellent, but he always did do quite a fantastic dark overlord type character but was disappointed slightly at Twoflower as the books allude the counter-weight continent citizens are more of an oriental persuasion. This aside, the character was fairly well portrayed.

As you expect from films trying to squeeze a whole two books into a mere three hours, a fair few of the encounters and plot lines that I personally would have liked to have seen have been edited out and reworked in a slightly different plot manner. Whilst this irks me greatly, I appreciate that to have done the books complete justice, we'd have been watching, probably, a forty hour marathon of a film. So kudos to the script-writer and director for producing a plot line that seems stable and coherent and fairly true to the books.

Other than that, I see no reason why anyone who has or indeed hasn't read the books would find any particular fault with this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious - Brilliant Film, 10 Jan. 2009
By 
mark my words "Mark" (Liverpool, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really loved the portrayal of Death & Susan. Wonderful dry humour throughout - just like the book. I really hope the other books are made into films. I for one will buy the lot as I did with the books. You probably need to read the book to understand fully what is going on - (assuming that's possible in the first place!) Why this wasn't released in the cinemas I don't know. It has far more entertainment value than a lot of other b rate junk that is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He's a hero, isn't he?, 16 Jan. 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Colour Of Magic [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A live-action Terry Pratchett movie is either doomed to fail in every way, or succeed in practically everything.

And "The Colour of Magic," adapted from the first two novels in Pratchett's brilliant Discworld series, is more the former than the latter. This one is no "Hogather" -- it has rather slack direction at times -- but it preserves Pratchett's wry satirical sense of humour. And of course, it's all about a mercenary, cowardly failed wizard.

Rincewind (David Jason) is ejected from the Unseen University, on the very day that Twoflower (Sean Astin) arrives with his many-legged Luggage. He's come to the Disc... to "look at it." But after Rincewind tries to con Twoflower, the Patrician (Jeremy Irons) orders Rincewind to be the guide/bodyguard of the Disc's first ever tourist.

After a massive fire sweeps through the city, the two end up fleeing Ankh-Morpork and running into all sorts of weird things -- a very assertive magic sword, a floating island full of see-through dragons, a dramatic dragonlady in a leather bikini, astrozoologists trying to determine Great A'Tuin's gender, the aged Cohen the (retired) Barbarian, druids, and even getting thrown clear off the Disc in a strange spacecraft. And you thought YOU had problems.

Unfortunately the Unseen University is having troubles of its own -- the magical book Octavo is acting weird, and power-hungry Trymon (Tim Curry) is scheming against the Archchancellor. Even worse, a strange red star has appeared in the sky, and the world is facing destruction. The only thing that can save it is the spell in Rincewind's head.

Perhaps it's because it's based on the first, roughest Discworld books, but "Colour of Magic" is not quite as funny or tightly-written as its predecessor, "Hogather." The writing is not quite as complex or as witty, and the direction sometimes feels a bit slack (such as the bar fight scene, or Trymon skulking and schemind around the University).

But despite these drawbacks, "Colour of Magic" is still a vastly entertaining story -- it has a solid plotline and it chugs away nicely after a somewhat sluggish beginning, and blossoms into full-out complexity about halfway through. Once it gets underway it starts to resemble a road-trip through fantasy-land, with our quirky tourist and wizard bungling their way across the Disc.

Along the way there's some fun action (an upside-down duel), humorous dialogue ("You weren't born with a mysterious birthmark in the shape of a crown, were you?"), and a general air of tongue-in-cheekness. Best of all, it's a fantasy spoof -- Vadim Jean preserves Pratchett's clever satire aimed at the staples of your average fantasy: fantasy babes, prophecies, magic swords, retired barbarians, powerful artifacts, and even the idea of reality warping itself to save the "hero."

Jason is wonderfully snivelly and sour as Rincewind, a failed wizard who basically finds himself repeatedly swept up into bizarre, deadly circumstances even though he didn't want to be involved. Astin is even better as the hilariously oblivious Twoflower, who regards every disaster as yet another great adventure ("We're going to run out of world!" "I have to see that!").

And there's a talented supporting cast -- Curry chews the scenery with sneering aplomb, Karen David plays a humorously over-the-top dragon-lady, and Irons has a small but wonderful role as the chilly, efficient Vetinari. And of course, the brilliant Christopher Lee takes over as an increasingly disappointed Death.

"Colour of Magic" isn't as tightly directed as it could have been, but it still manages to be clever and quite amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discworld first-timer, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a late convert to Terry Pratchett and Discworld and this was my first venture into that territory. We couldn't receive Sky when this film was first broadcast, so the DVD was a must-have. I was not sure what to expect but sat enthralled through its entirety. Definitely will buy future Discworld films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Pratchett on drugs, 31 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can you say? David Jason (Only Fools And Horses, A Touch Of Frost) as a unlucky wizard, Sean Astin (Lord Of The Rings) as a tourist in Discworld and finally Tim Curry (The Rocky Horror Picture Show, Legend) as the - very - bad guy. and the story is written by Terry Pratchett. How can you go wrong?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rincewind? NO!, 8 July 2010
This review is from: The Colour Of Magic [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Oh, please - David Jason as Rincewind?? Fine comic actor though he is, he is:

a) Too old
b) Too short
c) Too plump
d) Not Rhys Ifans (my picture of Rincewind fits with Ifans exactly...

That, plus the general unfilmability of the Discworld, makes this only a mediocre watch. Terry Pratchett is of course very, very funny, and film-makers can generally capture that - but he is so much more than that. Even the earlier books are full of pathos, words of wisdom, and fantastic descriptive passages. Later books are far more serious and profound, with a generous dollop of humour thrown in.

It would take a great film maker to capture all this, and Vadim Jean is no more than competent. He has a good visual eye, but the dialogue does not zing as it should, and some of the set pieces are well staged, but as a whole the film feels flat and contrived. It's faithful without being a worthwhile creation in its own right - in fact, very like Hogfather. Let's have a different director next time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A tad dissapointing, 20 Jan. 2012
Having read all the Pratchett "Disc World" Books avidly & often, I really looked forward to their realisation as optical spectaculars. "Hog Father" was good & enjoyable, "Going postal" also managed to come within expectations, but sadly "The Colour of magic" wasn't quite up to the same level as the the other two.

By interweaving "Colour" & "Light fantastic" together the result has become rather disjointed & detracts from the enjoyment of both fine individual books. So by trying to be all things to all men it's unfortunately sent the story veering out of kilter & those casual observers who are non ardent & die hard Pratchett admirers tend to come away with a rather bemused understanding of the tale & non the wiser as to why some folk rate his work so highly.

As A School report, I think you'd be reading the following - Grade C, Could do better !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nice creation, but not as good as the books., 22 Sept. 2011
By 
Alfredo Hamill (Naples, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Colour Of Magic [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I really wanted to see the film versions of Terry Pratchett's books, and "The Colour of Magic" in particular appealed to me. Not surprisingly, each of us has his/her own image of Ankh-Morpork and the various characters in the books, which may not exactly correspond to what you see in the movie, as was my case. Above all, though, I found the pace of the story too slow. True, Pratchett's story-telling doesn't move along at breakneck speed, but in this case each instance seems to be dragged out excessively. The author spends plenty of time building up ambience, but the action moves along quite well in a parallel line. In the movie, though, it seems that everything is slowed down. All in all, lovely and lovingly-made re-creations of the Disc World, but somehow less enjoyable than the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It ain't The Hogfather, 24 Jan. 2010
By 
Kevin de Choisy (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Colour Of Magic [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I suppose I have to say that I'm pretty disappointed with the 'Colour of Magic'. Whilst Sean Astin's role as 'Two Flower' is fairly in character David Jason as Rincewind is, if not a disaster, then an appalling miscast. He's too old (Rincewind is a YOUNG wizzard)and far too 'Del Boy'. It feels as though he and several others of the cast are hamming it up, particularly at the end when the DJ Rincewind character utters something like 'Come 'ere me old mucker' whilst grasping 2Flower in a sloppy hug. Nigel Planer would have been far better suited.

Over all I had the feeling that, having successfully rendered 'The Hogfather' then, whilst they still had the kit and cast there they might as well knock out another. A bit of a shame but still diverting if you're a Discworld fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Colour Of Magic [DVD] [2008]
The Colour Of Magic [DVD] [2008] by Vadim Jean (DVD - 2008)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews