Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!
Moonlight is the story of Mick St John, a Private Detective who is also reluctantly a Vampire and the connection he has with a young Journalist, Beth Turner.

It's a vampire/human love story with witty scripts, fantastic casting and some great new spins on old Vampire lore so don't be mistaken for thinking the massive cult following for Moonlight is solely down...
Published on 16 Sept. 2008 by Luna

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In the hands of better writers, this could have been great...
In the hands of superior writers, this tried and tested concept could have been sparklingly original and refreshing. A glossily shot show with strong actors and a fairly tight concept falls short under the weight of bad writing.

Vampire stories will always fall foul of the curse of constantly being compared to others in the genre, a trait that usually only...
Published on 25 Mar. 2009 by L. Ross


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

112 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 16 Sept. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonlight - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Moonlight is the story of Mick St John, a Private Detective who is also reluctantly a Vampire and the connection he has with a young Journalist, Beth Turner.

It's a vampire/human love story with witty scripts, fantastic casting and some great new spins on old Vampire lore so don't be mistaken for thinking the massive cult following for Moonlight is solely down to the attraction the female viewers have for the leading man, Alex O'Loughlin... although I would definitely not say no, I really mean it when I say this show has totally revived and regenerated the Vampire genre.

This show has such a huge following it's really sad that there doesn't seem much chance of a second season... You never know though. If the DVD sales go through the roof there is always a chance another station will pick up the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The longer you live, the more surprises you get, 16 Jan. 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moonlight - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
"Moonlight" begins with a laid-back vampire PI being interviewed in his mind, defining what about vampires is legend and what is real. "I don't hunt innocents. But there's predators out there that need to be dealt with."

It's a quirky reversal of Anne Rice tradition, and it sets the tone for a very unique blend of vampire tale and urban mystery -- and sadly it ended too soon. Especially since Alex O'Loughlin is an absolutely inspired vampire detective, and the quick direction, good CGI and snappy writing save this from being another cheesy vampire story.

Mick St. John (O'Laughlin) is a vampire detective in L.A. -- where there has recently been a vampiresque murder of a college student. But though the student was obsessed with vampires, Mick soon realizes that she wasn't murdered by one. And with the assistance of Beth Turner (Sophia Myles) -- who insists he looks familiar -- Mick uncovers a weird little vampire-obsessed cabal at Hearst college, and a professor whose infatuation with undeath goes beyond mere fanaticism.

And there are plenty of other nasty cases -- an ex-con gunning for the vampire detective, a forced stay in the desert, "Black Crystal," a feral newbie vampire, a hooker-killing teenage vampire, a supposedly-dead cult killer, a killer gang going after Beth's boyfriend, a Hollywood starlet, an attempt to kill Mick's mentor, and a vampire who threatens to "out" every single vampire in L.A.

But no vampire story is complete without the nasty pasts and romantic tension -- Beth discovers Mick's true nature, and finds herself drawn to him until she's hit by a terrible personal tragedy. And Mick is confronted by a woman who looks suspiciously like Coraline (Shannyn Sossamon) -- his dead ex-wife, and the woman who made him a vampire.

Most vampire stories, whether on TV or in movies, are so abysmally cheesy that you could slice them up and serve them with wine and crackers. Fortunately "Moonlight" succeeds in being quite a bit better -- not a lot of vampiric superpowers (beyond enhanced senses and healing), fangs and glowing eyes. The writers even poke fun at some of the old cliches ("Garlic... is good on pizza").

The weakest part of "Moonlight" is the crimes themselves -- most are fairly ordinary murder mysteries. But the series does succeed in balancing out the vampire stuff with the private eye plots, and as the series winds on and becomes far more complex, the vampiric element becomes more essential to every story. Quick swooping camerawork, fast-moving plots, some nice nasty action.

And these vampires are done with tongue in cheek, whether it's their un-cliche living conditions (sleek minimalist apartments and mansions) or their easy use of modern technology ("If I hadn't become a vampire I would have missed out on the Internet, TIVO, World of Warcraft and GPS").

That slightly offbeat style is helped by the dialogue ("Can you fly?" "Just like Superman." " Really?" "No.... it would be pretty cool, wouldn't it?"). For the record, the best lines are all from Josef ("Well, the blood lust can be pretty heavy when you're first turned. And you could really lose it. I know I did. Damn, those were good times!").

Alex O'Loughlin is excellent as a vampire PI haunted by his past and his vampiric nature ("monsters don't get happily ever after"), but handling it with a wry sense of humor, brains, and enhanced senses. He even goes through some ups-and-downs that most fictional vampires don't, such as temporarily becoming sort-of-human, but fortunately O'Laughlin keeps him from becoming emo.

Myles is pretty decent as the pretty reporter who begins to wonder if a human and a vampire can find love, and Sossamon is brilliant as the mysterious Coraline. And Jason Dohring absolutely steals the show as the witty, happily amoral Josef ("She's delicious. '82 was a good year"), who nevertheless has his own sad past.

"Moonlight" manages to avoid the cheeze factor, and this all-too-brief series succeeds in being a unique blend of vampire love story and murder mystery. Definitely worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *Refreshingly Good*, 18 Sept. 2008
By 
L. Armstrong (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moonlight - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Wow, what a fantastic series. I was hooked from the very first episode, and believe me, i am not that easily pleased.

It is the story of a detective Mick St John, who despises what he is......... a vampire! his developing relationship with Beth who is an eager journalist striving for front page exclusives and Josef, Micks oldest, dearest, rich friend who accepts and embraces what he is.

This is truly a modern day vampire story and if you are a vampire fan, you will adore this, because its fresh, sexy, witty and the characters are fantastic especially Mick St John, Josef Kostan and Beth Turner who are the main three.

For me, watching Moonlight was like stepping out of reality for a while, and i have to say that i fully enjoyed it and im sure you will too, but there is one major drawback............... They are not making a second series so enjoy and cherish this one.

Fingers crossed though!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just another Vampire P.I. trying to make it in LA ..., 2 July 2009
By 
crystaltipps_7 (The Frozen North, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonlight - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This was something I bought from my recommendations list on a whim and although I was initially sceptical (the first couple of episodes are a little rough) it grew on me so much that by the end of the season, I felt genuinely peeved that the studio decided not to renew it. When it hits its stride, this is great entertainment.

The supporting characters -with the exception of Beth's 'perfect' boyfriend (whom I found deeply irritating)- are wonderful; notably Mick's best vamp buddy Josef. Mick's messy relationship with his dangerous & sultry ex-wife comes with buckets of angst and internal conflict -which Alex O'Loughlin plays to the hilt- yet also works extremely well as a foil to highlight his healthier obsession with Beth. If an obsession can ever be considered healthy.
Guillermo the morgue dude also deserves an honourable mention.

My issues with the show mostly revolve around the occasionally threadbare plots and the blindingly sunny locations. A few tongue in cheek jokes are made about how LA isn't exactly the best place for creatures of the night but while you're watching, you know full well it stems from laziness on the part of the production crew, and perhaps budget restrictions too. Still, I guess when you sit down to watch a TV show about a vampire detective, suspending your disbelief is a pre-requisite.

Alex O'Loughlin creates a character you like, one you sympathise with; one who makes you laugh: his occasional wry asides to the audience (in the form of voice-overs or even just resigned glances at the camera or a second or so of paused motion) are often priceless. For a vampire he's pretty well-balanced, but it's when the cracks begin to show in his cool facade that he is at his most interesting.

My advice? Buy it, watch it, see what you think. P.I. Mick St John recently made it into the Top 4 of SFX's Top 100 Screen Vampires and hey, if it weren't for Spike and Edward Cullen, I'd have voted for him too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should never have been cancelled, 22 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonlight - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Visually, Moonlight is the most stunning show I have ever seen, with a cast that just works perfectly. The pacing is perfect, and the music is so light, that you don't even know it's there. It isn't until the absolute end that you really notice it, and when you do it takes your breath away.

Moonlight might be about vampires on its surface, but beneath all the blood and the fangs, there is something that most shows yearn to have; feeling. A good show doesn't just tell a story, it makes you feel something. Moonlight is about a Mick St. John, a vampire with a conscience and morals, who uses his unique defect of character to hunt down those bad guys who just don't deserve life, and the bad guys who give vampires a bad name. For a vampire he is relatively young, under 100, becoming undead because of his ex-wife. Many years previously, his investigative services were called in to find a little girl. He saved her, and now he has met her again.

Moonlight is a tale of sorrow, and pain, and a love that just cannot be had. It is about hope, and doing what is right. It is about a man who, while so undead, is so incredibly human that you end the show wanting nothing but more. Unfortunately we will never get any real closure to this story as it was cancelled well before it should have been.

In terms of the many shows that have been folded over the years I would have to say that Moonlight is my probably my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vampilicious, 14 Oct. 2008
By 
Mrs. A. L. Davies "A. Davies" (Greater Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moonlight - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This series is absolutley fantastic. It focuses around the lives of private investigator and vampire Mick St. John, Journalist Beth Turner and rich vampire business man Josef Kostan. These are the three main carachters and the actors Alex O'Loughlin, Sophia Myles and Jason Dohring are a credit to their roles. Mick struggles with who he is and rather than kill human beings for food he choses to help them. The series also focuses on the growing relationship between Mick and Beth and their friendship with the ancient Josef.
I would reccommend this series to anyone who has a love of vampires. It is fresh and new and completely addictive. I will never understand why CBS decided that the genre wouldnt appeal to the masses and therefore canned it after one season. This series is wonderful, hot and fantastic and will appeal to fans not only of Moonlight but Ghost Whisperer, Supernatural etc. Its a definate must have for anyones collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step Aside Edward Cullen..., 19 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonlight - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
If 'Moonlight' had been picked up for a second season, there's a very good chance that the world's most famous vampire, Edward Cullen, would be facing some serious competition right now. Mick St John is a far more interesting character - complex, conflicted, darker but steering clear of the 'tortured soul' seen on 'Angel'. While it would be tempting to suggest that the creators of Moonlight ripped off the 'Buffy' and 'Angel' shows, I can honestly say that this show is completely different from anything I've seen in previous dramas featuring vampire lore.
While the show has reinvented vampire mythology - (they don't sleep in coffins, they don't burst into flames in the sun, nor are they repelled by garlic or burnt by holy water or crucifixes); the writers don't go so far as to make vampirism seem almost acceptable and wholesome, as in the Twilight saga. Although the 'good' vampires in L.A. get their blood from the blood bank, it's still human blood they drink. The vampire community is very much based on solidarity. They know that in order to co-exist with humans, there are rules they must follow, and if someone breaks these rules, then their secret might be exposed and their lives could be destroyed. This isn't Sunnydale, where vamps hang around in crypts and skulk around graveyards - Mick's apartment is ultra-sleek and modern, his best friend Josef ('400 going on 30') is the head of a successful business and lives a life soaked in luxury. This is a very different world from the one Joss Whedon showed us, that's for sure.
It's very clear from Mick's point of view at least, that he sees what he is as a curse. It's something he didn't choose and doesn't want, and the fact that he still values his former human life over his current vampire existence is what makes him so interesting as a character. "If you hate what you are so much," Beth asks him at the end of episdode 11, "then why do you go on living?" This is where the love story kicks in of course. Ever since he rescued Beth as a child, Mick has secretly stayed in the background to make sure she was OK. Somehow, his actions never come across as stalker-ish or creepy, and the episode when Beth finds out who her 'guardian angel' is, is one of my favourite Mick/Beth scenes. The only weak point in the show is where Beth's boyfriend Josh is concerned. He is such a dull character that you can't help wondering why she's been dating him for a year. Perhaps for die-hard fans of vampire mythology, this show might not go far enough in its themes of blood, sex and death, but that is simply a matter of personal taste. I watched a bit of HBO'S 'True Blood' and I thought it was too graphic and trashy.
Even if the Twilight saga completely passed you by, watch this. It's far more engrossing, intense, sexy, and will leave you hungry for more. This show has completely possessed me, and there's no second season! Damn you CBS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous series - ended too early, 23 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonlight - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
What can I say that hasn't been said before about this fantastic show. The decision to cancel after just one season was frankly criminal! This is intelligent, entertaining and appealing writing, backed up with some very convincing acting.

'Moonlight' managed to avoid all the pitfalls that a vampire story can easily fall into. The supernatural element was never overplayed and fit into the plot perfectly. The balance of romance, drama, humour and angst was just right and - best of all - the series did not take itself (or the vampire tradition) too seriously. There are many great tongue-in-cheek moments that make the show really enjoyable to watch.

As for comparisons with 'Angel', I really don't think that is possible. In spite of the obvious superficial similarities, the two shows are actually very different in style. Anyone who watches this hoping for an Angel clone is bound to be disappointed - it is clearly aimed at an older audience and that shows in the feel of the series. There is much less reference to 'pop-culture', the humour is more subtle and the romance is more mature. Much as I like Buffy and Angel, I think I prefer Moonlight. Sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In the hands of better writers, this could have been great..., 25 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonlight - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
In the hands of superior writers, this tried and tested concept could have been sparklingly original and refreshing. A glossily shot show with strong actors and a fairly tight concept falls short under the weight of bad writing.

Vampire stories will always fall foul of the curse of constantly being compared to others in the genre, a trait that usually only applies to romance, and unfortunately that is what is wrong with 'Moonlight'.
The love story pales in comparison to the beautifully written and characterised Buffy and Angel, of which it has some obvious similarities. The unfolding of the vampire mythos in this story is plagued by voiceover explanations rather than the more televisual dynamic and obvious option of showing. The writing is overall at times way too melodramatic and camp, taking itself way too seriously. So much comedy could have been leached from the campy subject matter which would have been both quirky, smart and not to mention adorable in places which would have lent sympathy to characters who are alienated without it. And of course there is the issue that without the frontman there simply would be no show.

However, this is still a strong show with decent special effects, and some genuine moments of sweetness. Certainly superior to vampire romances like the stagnant 'Twilight'. And the best thing: 'Moonlight's introduction of amazing Australian thesp Alex O'Loughlin. In the role of the title character he gives fresh life to a character who has been written a million times before and will be again. He is able to bring a weight to the show it would be candy floss without, conveying all shades of Mick from the monstrous, the humourous, to the downright lovely. Without his charisma this show simply wouldn't be. It hasn't gotten a second season so I can't wait to see what this great actor does next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP QUALITY IN EVERY VEIN, 4 July 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moonlight - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Mick St. John was vampirized in 1952 by his newly wed wife, she not all she seemed. Now he is eighty five but has not aged a day. As a private investigator, he is one of Los Angeles' hundreds of secret vampires, carefully adapting to modern times - forever apprehensive lest their cover be blown. Mick helps to track down rogue elements who could attract unwelcome publicity. ("The Cleaner" will remove any subsequent mess.)

This clever variation on the reformed vampire theme is thoroughly involving, owing much to film noir and Raymond Chandler-type narration. It boasts quality scripts, a true sense of style, two sizzling leads with a chemistry that crackles. Alex O'Loughlin is totally convincing as Mick (especially when suffering, which he does often). Sophia Myles delights as ultra persistent reporter Beth. (A police officer regrets her absence of an OFF switch.) Their relationship quickly develops beyond chance meetings in the morgue, but is bound to have problems for obvious reasons.

In this vampire world sleeping in coffins is out, freezers preferred. Stocks of blood are kept in the fridge. Images can be captured on digital camera. A stake through the heart does not kill, only paralyses. Death is achieved by setting ablaze or slicing off the head. Intense sunlight remains a problem - as Mick is memorably to find out.

Sixteen gripping episodes, one of them with a death that genuinely upsets. No extras. No second season either. (A new way to kill vampires - deny a follow-up.) All the more reason then to make the most of this one, to rejoice that from all directions talents have converged to produce a series of real worth.

Thank you, Amazon reviewers, for alerting me. May many others read, promptly order and greatly enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moonlight - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] [2008]
Moonlight - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] [2008] by Alex O'Loughlin (DVD - 2008)
£9.70
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews