Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good size, use it every day, glass lid.
We researched many steamers before we bought this one, we think this is the best one out there.

What's good about it:
1. It's large width 24cm, the largest domestic one you can get, ideal for a family of 4. That width enables you to spread the vegetables across the base of the pans to cook quicker. The size quoted on the base pan is 5.7 litre.
2. The...
Published on 21 May 2011 by AllYouNeedIsNow

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good quality ...but
The steamer is definitely good quality but the top 'basket' sits rather low in the lower one thus somewhat restricting room for vegetables in the lower 'basket'. It is fine for 2 or 3 people but slightly inadequate for more as we love our vegetables!
Published on 7 Mar. 2010 by CME


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good size, use it every day, glass lid., 21 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We researched many steamers before we bought this one, we think this is the best one out there.

What's good about it:
1. It's large width 24cm, the largest domestic one you can get, ideal for a family of 4. That width enables you to spread the vegetables across the base of the pans to cook quicker. The size quoted on the base pan is 5.7 litre.
2. The glass lid. Essential. You want to see what's going on.
3. Quality stainless steel. Other brands seemed slightly thinner steel. It also a decent heavy base to conduct that heat from the hob.
What's not so good:
1. The middle steam tray is quite shallow, only about 4cm of height. It's enough for sliced vegetables, and of course you've got the top layer which has about 9cm of height for your brocilli or cauliflower.

Some more detail on those dimensions:
1. The bottom pan used on its own has 13cm height (quite huge and great for par boiling a large amount of potatos before roasting).
2. With a steamer tray in the height in that bottom drops to 9cm, still plenty to cook your potatoes in the water while the other vegs steam above.
3. The middle steamer tray, as noted above, 4cm height.
4. The top steamer tray 9cm height.
5. Whole unit stands 23cm high without the lid, 27cm with the lid (if you're thinking about storage space).

Overall we're happy with the purchase, it's been in use for 6 months now with no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As advertised, 8 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a simmple product, and I have to admit that I've never had a steamer before, but it works great, is well constructed and easy to clean. Very happy with it. It's also just the right size to prepare either a small meal for one, or a larger meal for four or five people, depending on whether you use both steam sections or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good replacement for old product, 16 Dec. 2009
I bought this to replace a ten-year old plus Meyer three-tier steamer. Overall I am pleased with it - the base is a good 4 cm wider than my previous steamer and utilises the heat better, thus taking less time to cook. The handles do get very hot though - so ensure you use an oven glove!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars should have got this a long time ago, 11 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Prestige Stainless Steel Multi Steamer, 24 cm, 5.8 Litre this has got to be one of the best things i have owned it has made my cooking experience better than i could have thought possible and useing one ring on the cooker gives me space to save time and power and cleaning is so easy should have got this a long time ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great steamer, 6 Jun. 2011
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prestige Stainless Steel Multi-Steamer, 3.8 Litre - 20 cm (Kitchen & Home)
The steamer came packed in an Amazon box stuffed with packing paper. The Prestige box contained the steamer, packed simply in a bag, with a strip of cardboard around it. It includes an instruction booklet, though everything in it is quite obvious if you've used any kind of steamer before.

The steamer comprises three stacking pans and a glass lid. The bottom pan is essentially a cooking pot, into which the next pan rests, and the next on top of that. The bottom pan holds the water, which becomes steam, which flows up through holes in the base of each pan to cook the food.

I found the steamer an excellent size for cooking food for four people, though we are not heavy eaters. I guess it's all a matter of how high you like to pile your dinner plates with food. If you put potatoes in the bottom pan, they will cook in the boiling water while the rest of the food steams. The steamer is lacking a rice cooking dish to go inside, but really any suitably sized dish can be used for that, so long as it does not block the steam holes.

I have used hob and electric steamers in the past, but found a good steel steamer is hard to beat. It uses spare space on the hob instead of badly-needed worktop space, it is not plasticky and fragile, it goes in the dishwasher, and it stacks better for storage. While this one is fine in a dishwasher, its shiny finish will dull over time, but I'm not bothered by that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good quality ...but, 7 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prestige Stainless Steel Multi-Steamer, 3.8 Litre - 20 cm (Kitchen & Home)
The steamer is definitely good quality but the top 'basket' sits rather low in the lower one thus somewhat restricting room for vegetables in the lower 'basket'. It is fine for 2 or 3 people but slightly inadequate for more as we love our vegetables!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars smart sleek and easy to clean, 12 Feb. 2010
By 
K. D. Squire (Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prestige Stainless Steel Multi-Steamer, 3.8 Litre - 20 cm (Kitchen & Home)
This steamer is great, its easy to clean, heats up quickly and allows vegetables to cook evenly and efficiently. Ive used it for a number of things like carrots, broccoli and other veg as well as for fish. Like the negative views suggest the saucepan part of this isnt huge so id only suggest using it for the steamer sections and keep the bottom clear. also the handles will heat up so be careful! Over all though this is great steamer, its smart sleek and rounded style makes it easy to use and clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spacious, 8 Feb. 2010
By 
H. Biggs (Gateshead) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We are really pleased with this steamer. It's the biggest one we could find and is great for family cooking. Plenty of room for all the Sunday dinner vegetables and it seems to cook them much quicker than the electric one we used to have. Would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy cooking, 5 July 2010
I am really impressed with the quality of this steamer and recommend it 100%. It cooks the food beautifully and is easy to clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent steamer, 31 Jan. 2010
Good build quality; fits together well so handles don't get hot through escaping steam.
It is big but we'll soon grow into it :)I think others already have mentioned that can burn stews - true.
- nearly forgot .... excellent and worth the cost, does cook veg very well, it keeps colour and flavour better than boiling; essential for allotment holders!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews