Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great photo editing package for home users - but not an essential upgrade for version 6 users
Presently on PcPro's `A-List', Adobe Elements is a cut down version of Adobe's £500+ Photoshop/Photoshop Extended CS4, and costs considerably less while still having a lot of useful photo editing capabilities. Photoshop CS4 has a steep learning curve, but Photoshop elements is far more home-user friendly. A lot of the program is geared towards image storage and management...
Published on 5 Sep 2008 by Keith_Joseph

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Updating Photoshop
I am a beginner with Photoshop. My PC was delivered with Issue 2 preloaded - I found it very awkward/not intuitive to use. A friend demonstrated his use of Issue 7 - it seems 'more accessible'. I have tried it and I like what I have done so far. It will become more important as I develop its use - I now only take digital photos and store them all on my PC and want to...
Published on 6 Sep 2009 by Tony in PR


Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great photo editing package for home users - but not an essential upgrade for version 6 users, 5 Sep 2008
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7, Upgrade Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
Presently on PcPro's `A-List', Adobe Elements is a cut down version of Adobe's £500+ Photoshop/Photoshop Extended CS4, and costs considerably less while still having a lot of useful photo editing capabilities. Photoshop CS4 has a steep learning curve, but Photoshop elements is far more home-user friendly. A lot of the program is geared towards image storage and management of the photos on your hard drive, helping with emailing, web output and scrapbooks of your images. The program can auto-downloads your images from the camera to folders, set up using the date, and can even process the images, say automatically removing red-eye, while it does it. Using stacks you can set up image databases [smart albums] using keywords like names, places, events, etc.., and you can even search using visual tags within the image. That said, I shun the image database options offered by Photoshop Elements and Extended, preferring the simplicity of logical folder names instead. Also, like PhotoShop, the image database side isn't seamlessly integrated into the image editing side [to the point where it's actually annoying]. The trendy charcoal 'white text on grey' interface is also style over function, you find it harder to read than black text on white, and more importantly to tell which photo window is active - professional PhotoShop CS3 users are far better served with standard Windows colours.

New to Elements 7 is a new Quick Fix tool to soften surfaces while keeping the edge and detail sharp - i.e. a blur tool, which can help to remove unwanted image noise. Plus there's a new Scene Cleaner tool that can brush away undesirable objects from a photo [so you can ditch that car or tourists from the view] and there's now a Smart Brush which lets you instantly apply effects to a selected area of the image. Plus Element's 7 sports a new single step `whiten teeth', 'make grass greener' and `make the sky blue' tool - but this is little more than streamlining tools within Quick Select and Adjustment Layer Presets that were available on Elements 6. Besides Adobe's suggestion of using the tool to whiten teeth and add a suntan to say Aunt Doris's face may make her look a little ridiculous. Also new in Element's 7 will be a free subscription to Photoshop.com, a special service Adobe has devised to bring friends together by providing quick access to on-line backup, storage, and sharing capabilities. You get 2GB of on-line storage, `enough for up to 1,500 photos', so you can view your photos from virtually anywhere. Thus Photoshop Elements goes `Facebook', allowing you to share your photos `in fun, interactive ways via invitation-only'. For these `Online Albums' you will get new [quite fun] animated templates delivered to Elements on a regular basis. There will also be a Photoshop.com ` Plus' membership offering 20 Gb [15,000 photos] of on-line photo storage, but that will require you paying an annual fee. The first year's 20 Gb subscription is included in Adobe's `Elements 7 Plus' [but not this standard version].

All the old Elements tools are there as well. For editing you have a set of 'quickfix' options or you can load the full image editor for greater manual control: such as adjust sharpness, correct camera distortion, levels, hue and skin colour. Naturally you have standard tools like crop and adjust image size (pixels) as well. You can now do things like brush away wrinkles with the spot healing/healing brush, use clone overlays, make improved B&W images, add image vibrance and clarity, make composite pictures, copy and even blend parts from different images [to say swap faces from a series of photo's so that all your kids are smiling at the camera in one image, i.e. using the PhotoMerge tool]. You also get a layers palette for composites, shapes, text effects and frames. Plus there are step-through guides [guided edit] to help you get there. The software will also integrate with scanners twain interfaces if you are into scanning film, and the Fill Light [shadow/highlight] tool is pretty essential for bringing out detail in shadows from any slide/negative scan. Plus Elements can handle RAW camera images, although I use TIFF/jpg (Elements can save in any common image format).

System requirements are quite high: CD drive, 1Gb system RAM, XP or Vista, 2GHz processor, and a Direct-X 9 graphics card [and Adobe installers can reject systems that don't meet the minimum spec]. Elements 7 perhaps isn't a crucial upgrade from Elements 6 or even 5, but for new home users, or those with older versions, it's very powerful photo editing and image database software from the market leaders. The new 'Scene Cleaner' tool should have been the 'killer app' for those considering upgrading, but it is little more than Elements 6's old PhotoMerge Group application and it requires a series of photos where one has the background free to copy across [and it sometimes gets the exposure wrong making the added bit look rather obvious]. Sadly Adobe's upgrade pricing makes this an expensive option, as typically a full licenced version is only £10 more.

Adobe Elements 7 has only two real competitors at the price: Paint Shop Pro X2 and Serif PhotoPlus X2. Both these programs are also excellent and worthy of consideration, with PhotoPlus's strength being it's about as powerful but rather cheaper to buy and upgrade. Likewise Corel Paint Shop pro X2 occasionally offers a bit more than Elements [layer masks, and curves], is also cheaper and a tad easier to use, although it can be buggy [not Adobe's strong point on first version release either - so install those patches]. Professional users and some SLR enthusiasts will still head towards Adobe's semi-automated PhotoShop Darkroom 2.0 and the fantastically expensive Adobe Photoshop CS4 Extended, although even at work we have Adobe Elements on a few imaging workstations for casual users, where the high cost of PhotoShop CS4 Extended simply isn't justified. That said experienced Photoshop CS4 users will rapidly find Elements 7 lacking in a few key features they are used to.

Adobe Photoshop Elements 7 is also available to buy as a cheaper double pack with the updated Adobe Premiere Elements 7 video editing software, which should be even better value than this upgrade. Plus this double pack qualifies for a large educational discount for non-commercial use if you, or a child in the house, are in full time education [from primary school to college]. Similar large educational discounts apply to much of Adobes software. Those buying for College/School department use will save even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adobe Photoshop Elements 7, 23 Feb 2009
By 
B. Walbey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7, Upgrade Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
I purchased the upgrade to take me from Version 4 to Version 7 of this software and it was easy to install and didn't take too long. It first verified with Adobe that my Version 4 was legal and then went through the process of installing. What surprised me was that it left Version 4 untouched and usable and actually just done a full install of Version 7 after the verification, this meant I could have paid a lower price if I hadn't bought the upgrade as Amazons prices were set at the time.
It is certainly different than Version 4 and some things are in different places on the tools and menus than I am used to but in all the changes seem to be very useful for editing. I have not been using the catalogue facilities as I do this with other software that I have but they look to be very useful. One dissapointment is that I put together quite a lot of audio/visuals under the "Create" options and it still doesn't include the opportunity to output a presentation direct to CD or DVD that can be watched in the normal way on a DVD player and T.V.set. That apart, so far I am happy with the software and have set my file associations up so that all image files open directly in Elements 7.
Adobe Photoshop Elements 7 (PC)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars adobe elements 7 delivers, 6 July 2009
By 
G. N. Farnell (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7, Upgrade Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
Welll the hype around the adobe elements 7 was worth the wait, as an elements user i have started with v 2 and worked up to the new releases each time, i thought five better than six but seven is better than the rest i am glad to say, the feel is very much v6 but the power is easier to find and to get to grips with (for all you none element users get an elements book to help you, there are plenty around and adobe also do there own and are brillient, for the more advanced try phillip andrews advanced photoshop elements 7 a pleasure to read) within seconds i had edited a photo by altering the skin tones and whitening teeth, removed blemishes and gave the pics a whole new feel, it really is worth the money and its not that expensive, shop around for the best deal, the upgrade for those that think you can use the product fully because of the cheaper price will find they have to enter the older version for it to install, if the older version is still on the computer you will not require to enter this number as it inputs it during installation, so buy the full product, elements does everything the amature user will require for the pro, only the cs range will be requiered, i am only amature and elements has it all, if i had a studio i would invest in the cs version, i hope you enjoy your perchase and find it as usefull as i.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adobe Photoshop Elements 7, 1 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7, Upgrade Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
I upgraded from Elements 4 and found there was no handbook in upgrade just a booklet so use of new features not demonstrated. Though there is a guided view as well as quick and full, I often prefer to sit with a book and work it out.
Apart from that I took courage and installed it myself instead of being a wimp and leaving it to my husband to install! It installed like a dream and works well with Windows Vista. I find the smart brush tool interactive and especially useful when things are not so defined in an image, and you can bring up the layer to tweak ad infinitum.
I am well pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not the best., 21 April 2009
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7, Upgrade Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
Photoshop elements is a good application and if you purchase it you will find it very useful...But...Paint Shop Pro Photo has greater functionality and this together with all the extras included in the 'Ultimate' package make that the better buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elements 7, 3 July 2009
By 
W. G. Monk "monktree" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7, Upgrade Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
I already had Elements 5 and wished to upgrade.
I find that Elements 7 seems to work faster and has some extra features that will be usefull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy the non upgrade version, it is cheaper :), 8 May 2009
By 
Peter Mitchell "fxgbhgfb" (I'm here) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7, Upgrade Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
There appears to be a problem with pricing on this site. This 'upgrade' package is MORE expensive than the full version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Updating Photoshop, 6 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7, Upgrade Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
I am a beginner with Photoshop. My PC was delivered with Issue 2 preloaded - I found it very awkward/not intuitive to use. A friend demonstrated his use of Issue 7 - it seems 'more accessible'. I have tried it and I like what I have done so far. It will become more important as I develop its use - I now only take digital photos and store them all on my PC and want to have the facility to edit them. I only give it three stars as I haven't begun to use it - I may upgrade my rating later. Price and the usual Amazon service were excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adobe Photoshop Elements 7, Upgrade Edition (PC)
Adobe Photoshop Elements 7, Upgrade Edition (PC) by Adobe Systems Inc. (Windows Vista / XP)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews