Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding little speaker with many uses
This is an outstanding little speaker and it works well with iPods and MP3 players, but it does much more than that. You can plug it into the headphone socket of a laptop and get greatly improved sound. I have a Grado HD recorder and the only fault with it is that the sound isn't very strong. Playing videos back through a TV is no problem, because you simply adjust the...
Published on 18 July 2009 by jem

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing.
Having bought other things from the Altec Lansing group, I had no hesitation in buying this one. And at first it was smashing. Plenty of volume without having to use its max output, and the sound was good too. Then, after a couple of weeks, it started to scream at any volume at all. So I sent it back. No problems with the refund, and now i'm looking for a similar gadget...
Published on 3 Mar. 2011 by beau nydle


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding little speaker with many uses, 18 July 2009
By 
jem (New Forest, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Altec Lansing iM-237 Orbit Ultraportable Speaker for MP3 Players (Silver) (Electronics)
This is an outstanding little speaker and it works well with iPods and MP3 players, but it does much more than that. You can plug it into the headphone socket of a laptop and get greatly improved sound. I have a Grado HD recorder and the only fault with it is that the sound isn't very strong. Playing videos back through a TV is no problem, because you simply adjust the volume on the TV, but playing them through my laptop was a problem until now. Simply connect this little speaker and all is well. I also have an old but still elegant Apple iBook with a good selection of iTunes music on it. The standard speaker is weedy in the extreme, but again the Altec Lansing is the complete solution.

It is very well-made and the connecting lead is built in and when not in use simply winds around the base out-of-sight and harms way. Everything you need is in the box. The speaker and lead, a smart, soft carrying case and even the the three AAA batteries, so it can be in use in moments. The batteries seem to last for ages and if you wanted to you could use rechargeable ones. It sounds as though earlier versions had a complicated on/off mechanism, but now there is a simple push button with a small green light to let you know it's on.

One of the best buys I have made in ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!!!!!!, 28 July 2009
By 
L. Roux (Totnes, Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Altec Lansing iM-237 Orbit Ultraportable Speaker for MP3 Players (Silver) (Electronics)
Fabulous. Arrived in 2 days. When you read reviews where the majority say fantastic, and a couple say rubbish, there is always a little doubt in your mind that it might not be quite what you expect. Well this dinky speaker is exactly what most people said - 'brilliant'. The sound is incredible for something so small. Make sure you read the instructions about reducing the volume on your mp3/ipod/phone etc then I can see no reason why this shouldn't be as it is for me - Fab. Only niggle being that the case is a little tight - but as long as you're not in a rush - it'll be fine. Thanks Gadget Show!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Particularly good for the spoken word..., 8 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altec Lansing iM-237 Orbit Ultraportable Speaker for MP3 Players (Silver) (Electronics)
This is the third ultra-portable mini speaker/system I've bought to use with my many mp3 players, phones, etc, and it's the one I use all the time (the others being Creative and X-mini). Despite lacking stereo, it gives a great, clear sound and makes listening to speech an absolute pleasure. While I prefer to fire up a larger sound system for listening to music at home, this Mighty Little Speaker has become invaluable for audiobooks and podcasts. I keep these on my Nokia phone and plug it into the speaker - the whole arrangement can then easily be carried around the house, left on the counter in the kitchen, hung on a hook in the bathroom, you name it. The sound is rich and clear - quite amazing for the size and price. I'd very happily use it for all sorts of listening while travelling.

Other pros:
Incredible battery life, well over the advertised 24 hours - I've had the speaker over a month and used it heavily while recovering from an injury... and the first set of batteries hasn't yet run out.
Ultra portable - the lanyard, case and carabinier clip are really nice touches.
Very sturdy - I haven't travelled with this yet but would fling it in a backpack without a second thought.
Takes regular batteries - no charger to worry about when travelling!
Nifty design - it's not beautiful, but the case, the neat cable store and the chunky battery compartment access are satisfying.

Cons:
Cable is a little short - but at least it doesn't get in the way
No volume control on the speaker itself.

Overall, I recommend this unreservedly, particularly for listening to speech, or for travelling. I bought a second one as a gift for an audiophile friend and was worried that he might sneer at its lack of stereo - but he loves the speaker and uses it daily to listen to the news from his netbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Altec Lansing MP3 Speaker, 8 July 2009
By 
J. BRUCE JNR - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Altec Lansing iM-237 Orbit Ultraportable Speaker for MP3 Players (Silver) (Electronics)
After having seen this speaker win a group test on the Gadget Show on the telly I thought it would be a pretty safe purchase. I was not disapointed. The speaker appears well made and the sound quality is excellent. Was pleasantly surprised speaker also included speaker lanyard, carry case and carabiner and 3 AAA batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Stunner!!, 8 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: Altec Lansing iM-237 Orbit Ultraportable Speaker for MP3 Players (Silver) (Electronics)
Bought this on the strength of reviews... didn't believe them. Wrong!!
Wanted something cheap and cheerful to take on hols etc - sick and tired of lunking Bose soundock on planes etc in hand luggage etc. Took this to Crete over xmas and sat overlooking favourite fishing village from the apartment balcony, listening to tunes - just perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good little speaker, 6 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Altec Lansing iM-237 Orbit Ultraportable Speaker for MP3 Players (Silver) (Electronics)
I bought this little speaker for my ipod shuffle and then took them both away on holiday to Mykonos for two weeks; we all had a great time. Seriously, though, this is an excellent product: a simple and solid design, easy to use with good sound for its size - and I haven't even had to change the batteries yet! If you need music on the go and don't want wires hanging from your ears, BUY ONE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little object with big noise syndrome!!, 4 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: Altec Lansing iM-237 Orbit Ultraportable Speaker for MP3 Players (Silver) (Electronics)
Having spent hours researching and weighing up the pros and cons on this little object(only in size!). The one thing running through my mind was.........will it be loud enough to deal with screaming kids and the crashing of waves from the arabian sea?. plopped under my sun lounger with a warm bottle of evian it passed with flying colours!!!!. One thing i must say is "those who wrote "it's not very loud" must have been using dodgey batteries or should pop down to the quacks for an ear examination plus take into account its size!!. Superb piece of kit for my ipod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 7 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: Altec Lansing iM-237 Orbit Ultraportable Speaker for MP3 Players (Silver) (Electronics)
I wanted a small neat discreet speaker for playing my ipod at low volumes. This is a good bit of kit. Small 9" jack plug cable in the base and an on/off button. Three AAA batteries in the base. Used it for about twelve hours so far at about 80% ipod classic volume. No sign of the batteries fading yet. As an experiment I plugged my transisor radio into it. The sound quality improved beyond recognition. Seems indestructable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Speaker for your ipod, 30 Nov. 2009
By 
Bluesbreaker (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altec Lansing iM-237 Orbit Ultraportable Speaker for MP3 Players (Silver) (Electronics)
This is an excellent speaker for the Ipod. For me there are only 4 questions (1) Is it good quality sound?- Yes very good quality (2) Is there any bass for such a small speaker? - Yes surprisingly good and certainly sufficient (3) Is it loud enough ? - Yes ( sometimes I turn it DOWN ) (4) Do the batteries last a long time? - Yes greater than 12 hours and counting. Thats it then, a perfect choice which I'm delighted with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing little speaker!!!!, 22 July 2009
By 
Mark J. Rogers "Mark Rogers" (Collier Row, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altec Lansing iM-237 Orbit Ultraportable Speaker for MP3 Players (Silver) (Electronics)
I have brought this to take on holiday and was very surprised at the amount of sound you get out of this tiny little speaker!!!
The quality is also brilliant and does not really suffer that much when you turn it up quite loud. Ideal portable speaker for anybody with an ipod or other mp3 player as an alternative to using headphones!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews