Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable trash
This Jess Franco horror is kind of a mix between a US slasher and an Italian giallo. It's about students at a foreign language school who start to get picked off one by one by an unseen maniac. The main suspect seems to be the recently released disfigured man who roams the grounds, but is he the killer?
"Bloody Moon" is a Jess Franco film that i don't actually mind...
Published on 21 Feb 2009 by J.M. "The Phantom"

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Franco Tackles the Slasher
I had 'high hopes' going in when I got my copy of "Bloody Moon". I'd have to admit that I enjoy many of Spanish director Jess Franco's movies - mostly due to his tendency to load them up with attractive nude women in exploitational situations. I was also on a bit of a crusade to see more of the lovely 1970's German actress Olivia Pascal, after enjoying her unabashed...
Published on 17 April 2012 by DVD-OCD


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable trash, 21 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Jess Franco horror is kind of a mix between a US slasher and an Italian giallo. It's about students at a foreign language school who start to get picked off one by one by an unseen maniac. The main suspect seems to be the recently released disfigured man who roams the grounds, but is he the killer?
"Bloody Moon" is a Jess Franco film that i don't actually mind. Yes it's inept in many ways but it's short and very entertaining. The killings are good and quite bloody and better than in many other Franco films as there seems to be at least a slight budget here(the fx on the saw mill death are poor but it's hilarious).There's also a lot of nudity and sleaze as well as unintentional hilarious moments that come at a fairly regular basis. This is basically something to watch with mates and beer and have a good laugh at.
This release from Severin is region 0 and the picture is pretty good. Extras are a featurette on Franco talking about this film and a trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make Sure You Get the Severin release!, 23 Aug 2011
This review is from: Bloody Moon [DVD] (DVD)
Avoid the Vipco DVD of this movie, the transfer is taken from their old, grotty VHS version from 1993, which was cut by the BBFC. Instead pick up Severin's lovely R0 edition, available in the UK and US. Both editions are fully uncut and feature a superb transfer (1.85:1 anamorphic), the theatrical trailer and another excellent interview with Jess Franco.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..BLOODY GOOD FILM..", 7 Jan 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloody Moon [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
This is yet again another example of a great 80's horror slasher; if you're looking for a good bit of euro sleaze then look no further, bloody moon offers a great story and most important plenty of good gore scenes like the classic stone mill saw cutting off a girls head all uncut in this version. The movie is German and looks great, this is a must buy for all 80's slasher fans!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BLOODY MOON. trash of the highest order., 6 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloody Moon [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Someone is killing young women at a Spanish holiday resort. Virtually everyone is a suspect, but chief among them is a recently released deformed killer, who's in an incestuous relationship with his sister, for that matter it could be his sister or the child like resort handyman, the handsome Spanish teacher, a local boy all the girls have a crush on or even the final girl herself.

Despite being pretty incoherent and featuring many random elements, such as a small boy trying to sell holiday souvenirs in the middle of the night, Bloody Moon is vastly enjoyable trash of the highest order. It's not as deliriously over the top as Pieces, but there are some fairly nifty kills, a healthy dose of sleaze, some good old disco dancing and even the occasional flash of real style. The Severin disc is uncut, has a crisp picture quality and is region (0). There are no language options. The extras are the original theatrical trailer and an interview with Jess Franco.

The Franco Moon interview is almost worth the purchase price alone. The irascible auteur is a hoot, whether fiddling with his cigarettes, swearing about the film's humourless German producers and the lack of his promised Pink Floyd soundtrack or just fidgeting in his chair.

I recommend Bloody Moon to collectors of the original video nasties, Jess Franco fans and slasher lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Franco Tackles the Slasher, 17 April 2012
This review is from: Bloody Moon [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
I had 'high hopes' going in when I got my copy of "Bloody Moon". I'd have to admit that I enjoy many of Spanish director Jess Franco's movies - mostly due to his tendency to load them up with attractive nude women in exploitational situations. I was also on a bit of a crusade to see more of the lovely 1970's German actress Olivia Pascal, after enjoying her unabashed nudity in her premier film 'Vanessa'. SO - when I saw that the film "Bloody Moon" paired both of these stellar exploitive personalities in one package I thought I had hit 'pay-dirt' to be sure! Having watched the film though, my enthusiasm was somewhat dampened over the end result. "Bloody Moon" presented Franco's foray into the emerging slasher film genre, and, taken in the context of the time frame of its' original release, it presented some ground-breaking imagery that is still pretty potent by today's standards. Ultimately, the film suffers from Franco's 'trademark' sluggish editing & clunky dialog and manages to generate little 'excitement' even as the body count of attractive females rises. Gaping plot holes and implausible situations strain one's "willing suspension of disbelief" factor to the max and it is definitely only the anticipation of the next 'kill' or bit of nudity that encourages one to keep watching. For me, however, it was likely the 'waste' of Olivia Pascal's abundant 'physical attributes' that was the most disappointing. Having checked out several of her post 'Vanessa' films, it would appear that Ms Pascal made the decision to distance herself from 'nudity' and concentrate on her 'acting' career - big mistake! I figured if anyone could manage to exploit her charms to good advantage it would be sexploitation maestro Franco, but alas - Olivia makes it through the entire film without once displaying any skin - the nudity is left to a throng of her fellow blond co-eds as they are summarily dispatched by the mystery killer. OK - so I've got a bit of an 'axe to grind' here - otherwise (as other reviewers have noted) this IS actually a fairly watchable film (just 'check' your brain at the door) and let Franco sweep you away...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic eightes slasher, 21 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloody Moon [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
i really enjoyed this movie the gore scences are top draw.just sit down with a beer and enjoy .this movie really is a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't lose your head!, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth buying for the scene with the circular saw that is seen on the cover. It's a fun movie I enjoyed watching this junk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PURE TRASH GOLD, AS GOOD AS IT GETS!, 16 Jan 2013
This review is from: Bloody Moon [DVD] (DVD)
THIS FILM HAS IT ALL IF YOU LIKE EIGHTIES EURO TRASH HORROR, GORE, LAUGHABLE ACTING, DUBBING, ITS FANTASTICO! A MUST BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Grade zero 'giallo' nonsense so bad it's not even funny, 26 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bloody Moon [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Right then - once again, Jesus Manero Franco 'triumphs' again with yet more of his truly appalling early 80's 'product'...what we have here is a combination of... the likes of 'Halloween' with a overworn retread of the Italian Giallo cycle, truly a combination that's guaranteed to cure all symptoms of insomnia. 'So what?' you cry - after all, we've all suffered one or two Umberto Lenzi atrocities in the past? Sure, sure, as the godlike David Hess would say, but really, ol' Jess baby really deserves a bit of the English Hooligan treatment for inflicting this on an unsuspecting public...To cut a very tedious story short, this moron-fest involves a whodunnit in some godawful Spanish language school , where some Iberian pervert is bumping off the local female population. Unfortunately for the viewer, thia involves a truly painful 'shock' introduction, complete with a 'disco scene' so bad that you'd almost rather commit suicide than suffer the rest of this absurdity (the dialogue is truly painful, reminding me of such badly-dubbed efforts as the Mario Bianchi-directed atrocity 'Burial Ground'...). So anyway, there's an obvious red herring (the local retarded gimp), an obvious suspect, and a plethora of moronic amateur dramatic 'victims'. Just so I don't spoil the fun, there's a sporadic mix of badly-'executed' killings, some truly snooze-worthy ham acting, and a decaptiation scene that's so badly done I could've died laughing at the effect of it all. Oh yeah, there's plenty of exposition that's guaranteed to send most sentient beings into a coma, and a sub-plot involving some trust fund or other wich climaxes in the aforementioned local retard throttling his sister, after the principal has been found out for commiting all the murders...And just for extra measure, the BBFC-approved version has excised all the 'good' gore moments, making it a totally worthless viewing experience for UK viewers - find the Uncut version instead if you're masochitic enough, otherwise AVOID! (P.S. Vipco fans are directed instead to their release of 'Death Trap', whcih only has 22 seconds of cuts imposed by the BBFC, and is even in it's censored version a great film)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst film ever!!!, 9 Mar 2005
This review is from: Bloody Moon [DVD] (DVD)
Bloody Moon is the worst film ever made. Why was it banned? The story is stupid and there is hardly any gore. And the quality of the dvd is awful. I would advise everyone to aviod it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bloody Moon [1981] [DVD]
Bloody Moon [1981] [DVD] by Jess Franco (DVD - 2008)
7.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews