Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable trash
This Jess Franco horror is kind of a mix between a US slasher and an Italian giallo. It's about students at a foreign language school who start to get picked off one by one by an unseen maniac. The main suspect seems to be the recently released disfigured man who roams the grounds, but is he the killer?
"Bloody Moon" is definitely a Jess Franco film that I...
Published on 21 Feb. 2009 by J.M. "The Phantom"

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Franco's bloody stab at the slasher!
A disfigured young man brutally kills a woman and is sent to a psychiatric hospital, 5 years later he and his sister go to stay with their aunt at a language school where a series of violent murders start but who is the killer.

Jess Franco tackles the slasher genre here in a very untypical film from him. First off the story and a couple of the characters are...
Published 5 months ago by L.J.F.64


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable trash, 21 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Jess Franco horror is kind of a mix between a US slasher and an Italian giallo. It's about students at a foreign language school who start to get picked off one by one by an unseen maniac. The main suspect seems to be the recently released disfigured man who roams the grounds, but is he the killer?
"Bloody Moon" is definitely a Jess Franco film that I like. Yes it's inept in many ways but it's short and very entertaining. The killings are good fun, quite bloody and better than in many other Franco films, as there seems to be at least a slight budget here(the fx on the saw mill death are poor but it's hilarious).There's also a lot of nudity and sleaze as well as unintentional hilarious moments that come on a fairly regular basis. This is basically something to watch with mates and beer and have a good laugh at.
This release from Severin is region 0 and the picture is pretty good. Extras are a featurette on Franco talking about this film and a trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Franco's bloody stab at the slasher!, 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloody Moon [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
A disfigured young man brutally kills a woman and is sent to a psychiatric hospital, 5 years later he and his sister go to stay with their aunt at a language school where a series of violent murders start but who is the killer.

Jess Franco tackles the slasher genre here in a very untypical film from him. First off the story and a couple of the characters are fairly decent, the brother and sister who are having an incestuous relationship do start off well with some mystery surrounding them, however as the film progresses it is kind of thrown away into a series of clichés with little screen time. Unusually for a Franco film the story is OK as it holds up pretty well throughout unlike a lot of his other efforts, also the Franco zoom is almost completely missing here thankfully. That's where the better points end though, the dialogue is ridiculous (phony Spanish lover), some of the performances do stretch the imagination a little too far and some of the effects are laughable (the bolder scene for instance). Although the story is OK, for large parts the movie is mind numbingly boring, the mystery element doesn't hold well either the killer and red herrings are fairly obvious from quite early on. The violence can be quite strong and bloody at times which must have helped with it's inclusion on the video nasties list, although the famous saw sequence is ridiculously fake and maybe the weakest gore scene in the film.

Not a great film by any means but certainly watchable, and in my experience of Jess Franco films this is one of his best that I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genuine upgrade!, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
*****This review is for the severin Blu-ray release of Jess Francos bloody moon.************

At one point banned in the UK, Bloody moon is Jess Francos attempt at delivering an (at the time) modern style slasher picture. It's set around a school in spain for foreign students learning spanish, a killer is haunting the campus and the surrounding areas knocking the students off one by one.

Some categorize bloody moon as a Giallo, and given the occasional overlap I can understand the reasoning behind this. However I would strongly argue that Bloody moon is a bodycount slasher through and through. The murders are fairly gruesome throughout, spoiled by the occasional ropey effects work including one daft scene where a victim is being put through an industrial saw, except its clearly a store dummy! The soundtrack is actually pretty good and will stick in your head long after the film is done. Perhaps also because its the same small bit of music played over continuously.

If you dislike Franco's other films its a safe bet you may not enjoy this one. While in many ways its a departure from the normal pictures he's famous for, its still includes many of the hallmarks of his work including a love of Zooming in.

Watching it now its almost difficult to believe that the film was considered a video nasty. Until the DVD erea an uncut release of this film was diffcult to come by through legitmate channels. My first experience of the store dummy being put through the band-saw was in Pedro Almodovars MATADOR, where the serial killing matador is jacking off to the scene. It got a pass there because Matador is art dont'cha know.

Severin have already released the picture in the UK and US uncut on DVD. Here they have upgraded it to HD. The big question is, is it worth an upgrade? Honestly I would say yes. Frankly it looks incredible on Blu-ray. The disc itself is region free and frankly the film has never, ever looked better than it does here. It doesnt improve the film at all, so if you hated it in standard definition I doubt this release will change your mind.

HOWEVER

If your a Franco fan, or like me you find the film to be something of a guilty pleasure then this is the release to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Franco Tackles the Slasher, 17 April 2012
This review is from: Bloody Moon [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
I had 'high hopes' going in when I got my copy of "Bloody Moon". I'd have to admit that I enjoy many of Spanish director Jess Franco's movies - mostly due to his tendency to load them up with attractive nude women in exploitational situations. I was also on a bit of a crusade to see more of the lovely 1970's German actress Olivia Pascal, after enjoying her unabashed nudity in her premier film 'Vanessa'. SO - when I saw that the film "Bloody Moon" paired both of these stellar exploitive personalities in one package I thought I had hit 'pay-dirt' to be sure! Having watched the film though, my enthusiasm was somewhat dampened over the end result. "Bloody Moon" presented Franco's foray into the emerging slasher film genre, and, taken in the context of the time frame of its' original release, it presented some ground-breaking imagery that is still pretty potent by today's standards. Ultimately, the film suffers from Franco's 'trademark' sluggish editing & clunky dialog and manages to generate little 'excitement' even as the body count of attractive females rises. Gaping plot holes and implausible situations strain one's "willing suspension of disbelief" factor to the max and it is definitely only the anticipation of the next 'kill' or bit of nudity that encourages one to keep watching. For me, however, it was likely the 'waste' of Olivia Pascal's abundant 'physical attributes' that was the most disappointing. Having checked out several of her post 'Vanessa' films, it would appear that Ms Pascal made the decision to distance herself from 'nudity' and concentrate on her 'acting' career - big mistake! I figured if anyone could manage to exploit her charms to good advantage it would be sexploitation maestro Franco, but alas - Olivia makes it through the entire film without once displaying any skin - the nudity is left to a throng of her fellow blond co-eds as they are summarily dispatched by the mystery killer. OK - so I've got a bit of an 'axe to grind' here - otherwise (as other reviewers have noted) this IS actually a fairly watchable film (just 'check' your brain at the door) and let Franco sweep you away...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BLOODY MOON. trash of the highest order., 6 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloody Moon [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Someone is killing young women at a Spanish holiday resort. Virtually everyone is a suspect, but chief among them is a recently released deformed killer, who's in an incestuous relationship with his sister, for that matter it could be his sister or the child like resort handyman, the handsome Spanish teacher, a local boy all the girls have a crush on or even the final girl herself.

Despite being pretty incoherent and featuring many random elements, such as a small boy trying to sell holiday souvenirs in the middle of the night, Bloody Moon is vastly enjoyable trash of the highest order. It's not as deliriously over the top as Pieces, but there are some fairly nifty kills, a healthy dose of sleaze, some good old disco dancing and even the occasional flash of real style. The Severin disc is uncut, has a crisp picture quality and is region (0). There are no language options. The extras are the original theatrical trailer and an interview with Jess Franco.

The Franco Moon interview is almost worth the purchase price alone. The irascible auteur is a hoot, whether fiddling with his cigarettes, swearing about the film's humourless German producers and the lack of his promised Pink Floyd soundtrack or just fidgeting in his chair.

I recommend Bloody Moon to collectors of the original video nasties, Jess Franco fans and slasher lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..BLOODY GOOD FILM..", 7 Jan. 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloody Moon [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
This is yet again another example of a great 80's horror slasher; if you're looking for a good bit of euro sleaze then look no further, bloody moon offers a great story and most important plenty of good gore scenes like the classic stone mill saw cutting off a girls head all uncut in this version. The movie is German and looks great, this is a must buy for all 80's slasher fans!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic eightes slasher, 21 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloody Moon [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
i really enjoyed this movie the gore scences are top draw.just sit down with a beer and enjoy .this movie really is a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Camp Classic!, 14 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloody Moon [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
A camp classic of Euro-horror cinema - cheesy beyond belief yet pretty gory too. I was introduced to this film by The Hysteria Continues podcast and it's become quite a favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't lose your head!, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth buying for the scene with the circular saw that is seen on the cover. It's a fun movie I enjoyed watching this junk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PURE TRASH GOLD, AS GOOD AS IT GETS!, 16 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Bloody Moon [DVD] (DVD)
THIS FILM HAS IT ALL IF YOU LIKE EIGHTIES EURO TRASH HORROR, GORE, LAUGHABLE ACTING, DUBBING, ITS FANTASTICO! A MUST BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bloody Moon [1981] [DVD]
Bloody Moon [1981] [DVD] by Jess Franco (DVD - 2008)
£11.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews