Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another step in the right direction for Oasis
11 new tracks from Oasis, the vast majority of which are very good, making it their best album in quite a while.

The good news is that Noel Gallagher seems to have rediscovered his muse, and his 6 songs on the album are among the best Oasis have made. Strangely, his offerings are also the ones that sound least like Oasis- ranging from psychedelic ('Bag it up')...
Published on 15 Oct 2008 by Music fan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half an album
Oasis have mellowed in their old age. Liam Now gets up every morning and jog's like a madman....Oh and apparently he can cook salmon brilliantly.
Yes the self proclaimed "salmon king" and his older brother step into the fray once again with Dig out your soul. The first half is actually very good. But after the sixth song it turns into a bland jamming session. Very...
Published on 14 Oct 2008 by Smeg


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another step in the right direction for Oasis, 15 Oct 2008
This review is from: Dig out Your Soul (Audio CD)
11 new tracks from Oasis, the vast majority of which are very good, making it their best album in quite a while.

The good news is that Noel Gallagher seems to have rediscovered his muse, and his 6 songs on the album are among the best Oasis have made. Strangely, his offerings are also the ones that sound least like Oasis- ranging from psychedelic ('Bag it up') to Bluesy ('(get off your) high horse lady)) to a dreamy, out of this world feel ('falling down', my personal favourite from the album). Luckily every sound seems to work and it gels together surprisingly well.

The problem is that all of Noel's songs come in the first 2/3s of the album, leaving the other band members to fill the gaps. Liam offers 3 songs. First is 'I'm outta time', which is a typical Liam-written Lennon style ballad, although it is rather good. His second song 'Ain't got nothin'', is unfortunately quite poor, whilst 'Soldier On' is a solid but unspectacular conclusion to the album.

Finally, there's an offering from both Gem Archer and Andy Bell. 'To be where there's life' is a grower, (and surprisingly doesn't feature any guitars,) whilst 'The Nature of Reality' features terrible lyrics and is the second poor song on the album.

Overall, it's a better album then 'Don't Believe the Truth', but don't expect the string of great songs in the first half of the album to last. Why 'the shock of the lightning' was chosen as the first single is a mystery to me, as is why Oasis appear to have dismissed better songs (such as 'Record Machine' and 'Stop the Clocks'), just to be democratic.
If you like Oasis, you'll love it anyway, and if you're unconvinced you might be in for a nice surprise.

Best tracks: 'Bag it up' and 'Falling down'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half an album, 14 Oct 2008
This review is from: Dig out Your Soul (Audio CD)
Oasis have mellowed in their old age. Liam Now gets up every morning and jog's like a madman....Oh and apparently he can cook salmon brilliantly.
Yes the self proclaimed "salmon king" and his older brother step into the fray once again with Dig out your soul. The first half is actually very good. But after the sixth song it turns into a bland jamming session. Very much like salmon but without any seasoning whatsoever.

Bag it up is a fantastic nuthouse of a song. (aka beetles esque)...again. Yet i raise the point. When film and Tv make so many homage's to classic films in scenes it's aplauded. If Oasis sound a wee bit like the beetles they get savaged for it.
Turning and waiting for the rapture are Ok songs, waiting for the rapture being slightly better full of thumping drums and some fine singing from Noel.

Now Shock of the lightning....I nearly wet myself when i heard this tune. It's like a forgotten song from definatley maybe. I thought to myself here it comes the album i've been waiting for from the manc masters. I was dissapointed when i heard the album as it is a one off. But a majestic one, off being transported back to the mid ninteys for four minutes thanks boys.
High horse lady is Noels shining track a very likeable track. A great grower.
I'm out of time shows Liam can write a tune. A fantastic tune A little light and very balladish. Great effort for an acomplished songwriter.

Then thats it. Really the rest of the album is the band going through the motions.
Saying that, nature of reality is the only saving grace in the rest of the five songs. A stomping tune very nice stuff.

Now then. If the first six songs were acompanied with five other "shock of the lightning" tracks this album would be a masterpiece. However as it is they should have held back another year to finnish it off.

when put alongside the Kings of leon album only by the night this album is decidely average.

5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTING TO SAY THE LEAST, 2 Jan 2011
By 
Lucioperca (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dig out Your Soul (Audio CD)
I am a big fan of Oasis - they have produced some of the iconic tunes of the 90's and early 2000's but this album (their last at the time of writing) lets us down on so many levels and it was little surprise the band split shortly after under the guise of yet another brotherly spat between Liam and Noel. This album just lacked any of the spark and freshness of their previous offerings, the track listing is as bland as I can ever recall them sounding and it has the tired sound of a tired band who are quite frankly tired of each other. Off the top of my head I couldn't tell you the name of a single track from this album and I have played it less than a dozen times, it does nothing for me and a lot of the Oasis faithful were also a little let down by the eventual release.

Perhaps a well needed break from each other will eventually re-stoke the Gallagher fires but I would caution them against a comeback if any subsequent offerings cannot eclipse this rather lame and disappointing album. Its far from their best work and if I ever lost my copy I wouldn't bother to replace it ....which probably tells you as much as you need to know. Oasis are so much better than this !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ill keep this short - Its OK, 5 Dec 2008
By 
S. Crabtree - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a lifelong Oasis fan I was expecting the usual drivel that accompanied any new release from them, Oasis are back, Oasis still sound the same etc...
My thoughts are that this is just ok, its a grower. Some tracks such as Shock of the Lightning stand out as classic Oasis tunes but some for me are nothing more than album fillers and wouldnt get near the first 2 albums.
Buy it, try it and see if like me you think its just ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of 2008 but good nevertheless., 7 Oct 2008
This review is from: Dig out Your Soul (Audio CD)
This for me is a good album, not amazing, it's no 22 Dreams, they're no Rolling Stones and they lack real originality, but nevertheless this is enjoyable. It didn't have me constantly coming back for more but it's highlights are pretty damn high. For me the highlights come in the form of Get Off Your High Horse, its "stompiness" appeals to me, the Gem penned Nature Of Reality and Outta Time, there is more emotion in this song than any other of theirs. None of the above break any ground for Oasis but next to their recent work it's pretty special.

Sadly a fair few of the tracks are forgettable, The Turning, Waiting For The Rapture and Ain't Got Nothing haven't been listened to on my iTunes for many months. Soldier On Is okay but drags on Shock Of The Lightning is a strong single but doesn't have quite the same impact as their earlier singles, it's no Live Forever.

Gem, Liam and the bassist (sorry I can't recall his name) have come into some criticism for their input, I've heard people say that Noel should have wrote the lot, well I disagree, Gem and Liam contribute well enough and Andy Bells'(I've remembered!) contribution in To Be Where There's Life has one hell of a bass line, it does sound a bit like a Beatles rip off though.

Anyway. To conclude this is a good album, it is one of their strongest but it does nothing special, perhaps it is a fitting finale for one of Britain's all time most successful bands, lyrically weak but it'll get the foot tapping. It won't blow your mind but you might just like it. They certainly do this better than Kasabian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not a classic, 5 Oct 2008
By 
M. Simmonds (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dig out Your Soul (Audio CD)
I see as usual with Oasis reviews, it's either a 5 star or a 1 star rating! I beg to differ. This is a pretty good album, with a bit more experimentation from the band and all four members contributing to the songwriting like the previous two. However, I don't think it's as good all the way through as the 2005 Q album winner, Don't Believe the Truth, which in my opinion has no weak songs and I'd rate as a 4 star. Their first two albums are obviously 5 star. This album does have some really good tracks, particularly Bag it Up, The Turning, The Shock of the Lightning, I'm Outta Time and Falling Down. However, other tracks like To be Where There's Life and The Nature of Reality tracks are pleasant but average and Get of Your High Horse Lady and Ain't Got Nothin' are B-sides really. Definitely an album for the fans, since if you don't like Oasis already, it won't change your mind. I suspect this album will get mixed reviews in the press, due to some of the weaker songs, but it does seem that Oasis have to write one of the best British albums ever each time, in order for their work not to be criticised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honest review, 20 Sep 2008
By 
M.I (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dig out Your Soul (Audio CD)
Ok, had a listen to the full album yesterday. And I've listened to it several times. I'm a huge Oasis fan and for me the three 5-star classic albums are Definitely Maybe, What's the Story? Morning Glory and The Masterplan. Don't Believe the Truth and now Dig Out Your Soul are great companion pieces and are good solid records. I have a feeling this is going to be a hit with the critics and the public alike. Not quite 1995-hysteria, top-of-the-world, but just great rock n roll. What more could you want?

Bag it Up - wild, almost carnival-style, the chorus sounds like Liam at a freakshow. Definitely a different kind of Oasis.

The Turning - the classic of the album, starts off slow, almost like Ian Brown, then the guitars come in and the track takes off, ends up with some sound effects from the city and goes back to a mellow fade-out. Groovy.

Waiting for the Rapture - Noel leads a marching band, strong, pounding, and definitely not a Brit Pop sing-along anthem.

The Shock of the Lightning - you've heard the single, I love the album version with the turntable-style opening/closing, as if it's a song you're not supposed to hear. Love the "magical mystery" lyric and the drum solo is class.

I'm Outta Time - nice sweet song, the second single, is this really Liam Gallagher writing and singing?

Get Off your High Horse Lady - Noel sings a distorted B-side (in my opinion). Sounds a bit like Neil Young, handclap beat, some beautiful piano but I think this should have been left out. Maybe it's a grower.

Falling Down - again, you've probably heard it, begins with a teasing sound, the beat kicks in and Noel rules the roost. Fanatastic song.

To Be Where There's Life - groooooovy song. No guitar, very brave, great bass line...I think this sounds even better live (with the guitars ;)

Ain't Got Nothing - another B-side in my opinion, though Liam is catchy and it's a nice "rant" song (Meaning of Soul from Don't Believe the Truth is better tho)

The Nature of Reality - embedding the funk and groove even more, Andy Bell's effort is good but not great. Again maybe it's a grower.

Solider On - has a beat like Travis' Sing, a bit repetitive but a nice low-key closer (no Champgne Supernova here I'm afraid).

So all in all, a good album that I will definitely be buying. It isn't going to change the world but it shows that the best band in the world (to me) is capable of creating a sonically diverse album which won't appease the Oasis-haters (tho, ironically enough, you'll notice they're the first ones on the dance floor/tapping to the beat when they hear an Oasis tune!)--BUT it will please the fans, the critics and will sell a good few albums.

Go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music To get Hooked By, 26 Nov 2008
This review is from: Dig out Your Soul (Audio CD)
First things first. I would have awarded 5 stars had it not been for the 'High Horse' track which starts like 'Give Peace A Chance' and then proceeds to totally rip off the rock n roll classic 'Hi Heel Sneakers' - wait for the law suit!! Aside from this reservation, this is a really listenable straight forward rock album from start to finish that has been on continuous play in my car for some weeks. Yes there is pure Oasis, pure Beatles and something in between. The opening 4 tracks are as close to pure Oasis as you will get. From then on, the Beatles influence kicks in to a greater degree. Nothing wrong with that. Highlight of the album is the line 'I keep my eeby-geebies in a little bag'. I have a few Oasis albums in my collection and, at the risk of sounding heretical to the Oasis purists, I do think this one and their previous release, 'Don't Believe The Truth', do take a bit of beating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half The Album It Should Have Been, 20 Aug 2009
By 
N. T. Procter (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dig out Your Soul (Audio CD)
In an interview in MOJO around the time this album was released, Noel let slip that he had had to leave out some of the more experimental numbers that he had been working on for DOYS, as Liam couldn't be bothered turning up to record the vocals.

Sadly it shows in Oasis' 7th studio album, which starts promisingly and includes several terrific songs from Noel in the shape of The Turning, Falling Down and The Shock of the Lightning.

Liam's I'm Outta Time is also worthwhile, but after track 7, the quality nosedives with 4 mediocre and derivative songs from Liam (Ain't Got Nothin' and Soldier On), Andy Bell (The Nature of Reality) and Gem Archer (To be Where there's Life), which were presumably added as an afterthought to make up for the missing material that Noel wanted to include.

It is clear that the recording of this album was not a happy affair and that it had been completed in haste, which is clear from it's confused running order, negative, downbeat nature and the inclusion of the half-baked numbers mentioned above.

It is no secret that there was always considerable tension between Noel and Liam from the start, due to Noel's arrogance and control-freakery, so Liam's hissy fit over his brother's creative vision for DOYS appeared to have been born out of jealousy and his delusion that he was as good a songwriter as Noel (and I think the jury's still out on that).

To my mind, the post-SOTSOG democratisation of Oasis' albums led to a slow but inexorable decline in quality, following the initial promise of Heathen Chemistry.

On the basis of this disappointing swan song and their rapidly deteriorating relationship, it was inevitable that they went their seperate ways.

Noel's subsequent solo album with High Flying Birds and Beady Eye's surprisingly promising debut would suggest that are both going to be happier and more creatively fulfilled apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars come on, 14 Mar 2009
By 
oasis wind me up,with all their songs sounding just like the last, don't get me wrong i love noel, he's quite bright, witty and down to earth. so why don't they ever push it out? you want them to be a bit more rip it up, a bit more punchy, well this album is finally nearing those notions, it's 70% meat and 30% suzi quatro if you know what i mean! keep up the good work work boys and may your next album really sock it to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dig Out Your Soul [VINYL]
Dig Out Your Soul [VINYL] by Oasis (Vinyl - 2011)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews