Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prizzi's Honor
Veteran Director John Huston's penultimate film is a black comedy masterpiece written by the author of the novel Richard Condon who co-wrote with Janet Roach the screenplay; Jack Nicholson heads up the cast as the dim-witted Mafia contract killer (Charley Partanna) that unknowing falls for fellow hit person Irene Walker (Kathleen Turner) in the process of having a...
Published on 22 Feb 2010 by Milt M. R. Ingarfield

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars HONOR JACK
I love jack nicholson but i feel this film is not his best or even the his co stars best but it has it moments of good, i enjoyed it as far as 3/5 but i wouldnt rush to see it again. I felt it lacked something it didnt hold my attention as much as it shouldve, i was little shocked to read it was up for so many oscars when some other films struggle to get one or two but...
Published 13 months ago by miss kitty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prizzi's Honor, 22 Feb 2010
This review is from: Prizzi's Honor [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Veteran Director John Huston's penultimate film is a black comedy masterpiece written by the author of the novel Richard Condon who co-wrote with Janet Roach the screenplay; Jack Nicholson heads up the cast as the dim-witted Mafia contract killer (Charley Partanna) that unknowing falls for fellow hit person Irene Walker (Kathleen Turner) in the process of having a romantic entanglement they are hired by their employers to kill each other, this was the film that the set the benchmark in satire when using "the family" as its subject matter .

In 1986 the director's daughter Anjelica won the Oscar for best supporting actress playing Maerose Prizzi the daughter of Boss Don Corrado Prizzi who has her sights on Charley, this film may seen a little old-fashioned compared to T.V. shows like "The Sopranos" or the other Oscar Mafia comedy from 1988 "Married to the Mob" with Alec Baldwin and Michelle Pffeiffer but Prizzi's Honor did the jokes first.

The DVD of this film is pretty poor quality the transfer is very grainy and the soundtrack is pretty flat this state of affairs should be fixed as John Houston is a very important American actor/director and his work deserves better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film & Great Cover Art, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prizzi's Honor [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
The cast, the director, the story-line are fantastic. What makes the film for me, strangely enough is the cover art for the dvd. The US version is SO plain and dumb and is missing Anjelica Huston (the one who won the Oscar for the film!!) This cover art is superb, fitting and makes ma want to watch the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The less you know about it, the more you'll enjoy it, 31 Jan 2008
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Prizzi's Honor [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
So many of the laughs in Prizzi's Honor come from the plot twists (most of them included in the film's trailer, conspicuous by its absence on this DVD) that it's best not to go into it knowing too much. The fact that I'd forgotten so many of them is perhaps why I enjoyed it so much more the second time around. It's a civilized entertainment - perhaps a little too civilized at times, although William Hickey's deathly white vampiric Don gives a whole new meaning to the phrase Cookie Monster - elegantly made and plotted, which wasn't so rare in 1985 but these days is a positive novelty. Jack Nicholson's hamming it up again, but not as much as usual as the luckless Mafia enforcer who meets the woman of his dreams only to discover she's ripped off the family. His comparative restraint helps keep the film from disappearing into slapstick and ridicule, but he still feels something of an impostor in this world - far more so than Kathleen Turner, on good form here as his fatal attraction. Quietly enjoyable.

No real extras on the UK DVD apart from a few text trivia notes, but at least it isn't panned-and-scanned like other titles from theABC library but has an acceptable non-anamorphic 1.85:1 widescreen transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class comedy of bumbling hitmen at work and play., 7 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Prizzi's Honor [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Gangsters and hitmen make irresistible viewing. Bungling assassins are an even bigger hit. Add to that recipe the class acts of a wry and wily Jack Nicholson, Kathleen Turner and Angelica Huston and Prizzi's Honor is a must-see. This 1985 movie stands apart in the genre of death-with-a-giggle and criminals with a conscience, and ranks for murder and mirth with Luc Besson's "Leon" or Joe Pesci's more recent "Eight Heads in a Duffel Bag". This is another classic Nicholson comedy. Put this video on the shelf with "As Good As It Gets" and watch them and laugh over and over. There's always something fresh or unnoticed in the twists and turns of the plot, the background shots or the dialogue every time you run it. Fine performances, intriguing story and very, very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bees knees, 5 Dec 2013
By 
S. Mcfarlane (belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prizzi's Honor [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
everyone of course in the movie is great, but who can fault Jack Nicholsons performance here as a gangster in love?
He plays the character very well, and is backed up by angelica houston and kathleen turner as the two women running his life without his knowledge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars HONOR JACK, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prizzi's Honor [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I love jack nicholson but i feel this film is not his best or even the his co stars best but it has it moments of good, i enjoyed it as far as 3/5 but i wouldnt rush to see it again. I felt it lacked something it didnt hold my attention as much as it shouldve, i was little shocked to read it was up for so many oscars when some other films struggle to get one or two but there it goes, one to watch for lazy afternoon with nothing to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining - that's it! Not much more., 6 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prizzi's Honor [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Angelica Huston won the day as far as I was concerned. Her description to her father of what happened to her, and with what, is clearly hysterically funny and memorable and great - but it did not last long. Jack Nicholson and Kathleen Turner were ... just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prizzi's Honor, 18 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prizzi's Honor [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Great performances all round. Dates from a period when quality movies were still made. Today's garbage can't hold a candle to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hired killers by day. Devoted lovers by night. Until they found their next assignment was each other., 7 Jun 2012
This review is from: Prizzi's Honor [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Director John Huston was a master of storytelling, and Prizzi's Honor was his black comedy masterpiece. It was nominated for eight Academy Awards including Best Picture, and Anjelica Huston won the Best Supporting Actress Oscar for her caustic performance. Charley Partanna, a do-it-yourself kind of guy, has been loyal to 'The Family' since he can remember. If you need somebody rubbed out, he's your eraser, ready to kill at the drop of a dollar. Boss Don Corrado Prizzi's daughter, Maerose, has eyes for Charley, but Charley has already fallen for a sultry hit-woman named Irene Walker. Their unlikely romance hits a snag, however, as Irene and Charley have each been hired to knock off the other.
WHAT CAN I SAY?
this is unlike any other type of John Huston picture . It combines elements of The Godfather along with scenes that seem better to fit in a comedy than a Mob drama. Yet, it works brilliantly , perhaps thanks to the serious performances of Nicholson and Turner who have marvelous chemistry between them for two people that aren't very likable.The two are joined by an outstanding supporting cast including Hustons daughter Angelica who won an Oscar for her sly performance.The film is dark comedy and a very clever plot complimenting the Godfather saga. The film earned his eight Academy Award nominations. It has an all-star cast, great writing, and visually stunning scenery set in New York City. this film is Love mafia style at its best...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad copy of a great movie., 29 Sep 2013
By 
C. Shapiro (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prizzi's Honor [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Sadly this is an old DVD, formatted for 4x3 screens. Once you you zoom in fill a wide screen, the quality is very poor.
I'd advise against purchasing this particular version.
The low star rating is not for the movie, but for this particular copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prizzi's Honor [1985] [DVD]
Prizzi's Honor [1985] [DVD] by John Huston (DVD - 2008)
£4.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews