Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars51
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£23.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2013
I watched some, but not all, of this series when it was first broadcast, and liked it. Now having all three series on DVD, I settled down to watch, and was surprised firstly to discover how little of the story I remembered. This just made it all the more rewarding to view, and I was particularly struck by the fact that although it was generally categorised as aimed at children and young people, in fact it is so well written, and has such deep and serious points to make, that it is gripping for adults as well. I thought the casting was perfect, and the acting brilliant. But more than that, I was struck by how worthwhile it was, portraying the difficulties of young people with past hurts and disappointments, growing up and learning to understand that the world is not quite as they'd like it to be. Steve of course already knew that, from his spell in prison, but Dora, too, had grown into her teens with parents who simply didn't understand her, and weren't capable of doing so. She finds her "perfect" setting at Follyfoot Farm, with old, tired, and sometimes sick horses she can love and help in their final years. But the idyllic world Dora imagines Follyfoot to be is not immune to problems, and her attraction to Steve becomes one of them for her. However, the remarkable and in my view praiseworthy, handling of that attraction meant that throughout the entire three series, there were NO sex scenes at all - the most overt indication of their affection was an occasional brief peck on the cheek. This is a very welcome change from what we mostly have to endure now on screen, and is one of the reasons why I have taken to collecting DVDs rather than watch current offerings on TV. I am not a prude, and I don't mind sex scenes if a) they're between two people whose characters have been developed sufficiently convincingly by the writers that the viewer can believe in their relationship and b) they don't happen every few minutes, so that there is no development whatsoever of any story there might be! I note this about Follyfoot....that it is in this respect poles apart from what is mostly shown on screen now. The development of Steve's and Dora's characters, and the way their mutual attraction is dealt with is like a breath of fresh air. It's low-key and very subtle, yet there is often an undercurrent that crackles with tension between the two of them. It's so much more INTERESTING when it's shown like that. If you enjoyed it as a child, or with your own children at the time, get it. It's a reminder of how much better TV used to be! Cassandra
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2009
Follyfoot was a very important TV series to me when I was 11 years old and crazy about horses. The programme has always had a special place in my heart so I was thrilled to find out a couple of years ago that the complete series was finally available on DVD. I purchased the DVD set a few months ago and I am thoroughly enjoying the series. It's a wonderful treat!
11 comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2008
This six DVD box set of Follyfoot, contains all thirty nine complete episodes of this award winning family drama - available for the very first time. From Dora's (Gillian Blake) first arrival at Follyfoot Farm - a home of rest for sick, unwanted and mistreated horses through to the final episode, you can follow the stories of Dora, Steve (Steve Hodson), Ron (Christian Rodska), Slugger (Arthur English) and the Colonel (Desmond Llewelyn). Follyfoot was based on the novel Cobbler's Dream by Monica Dickens - great granddaughter of Charles Dickens, and the drama revolves around the rescue of the horses, interwoven with the developing relationships between the main characters. I guarantee this "must see" series will keep you totally captivated. Filmed entirely on location in the stunning Yorkshire Dales, with acting and story lines of the highest possible standard, the continuity and attention to detail is so evident throughout every episode, and that is why Follyfoot has achieved highly acclaimed cult status. I guarantee you will watch this timeless classic over and over again, and will leave you wanting more - what a treat you have in store - enjoy!
55 comments|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2010
if you remember this from the 70s just buy it its a fantastic trip back to those 70s school hols. for the price its a great bargain.you even get that brillent song on every episode,ho ho the lightening tree never to late to watch this dvd,,,,,, sorry i think you know what i mean. steve graham
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2009
Follyfoot - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD]
i saw this dvd in the shops and it brought back lots and lots of great memories. went back the next day and they were completly sold out. i then saw it on amazon i just had to have it. it came today and it's not been turned of at all. if you remember the 70's then this should be in your dvd colection and like me theme tune rearly brings it all back.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you think Follyfoot is a twee, girlie tv show about horses, you'd be wrong. It doesn't flinch in its depiction of the maltreatment of horses, and a few scenes are uncomfortable viewing for a sensitive type like myself, but Follyfoot has a clear message about the way society treats its horses and doesn't shy from it. Monica Dickens was ostracised by the horsey community for exposing their callous underside and the attitude that horses are commodities rather than living creatures. The 'will they/won't they/probably not' romance between Steve and Dora is a nod to the teenage audience which doesn't detract from the strong storylines. Follyfoot Farm is home to the unwanted, human and equine alike. It's about hope, compassion, standing up for the vulnerable and for your own beliefs, and Dora herself represents the good in human nature, she's kindness, love and optimism personified and even when I find myself disagreeing with her she still commands total empathy. Follyfoot has happy endings, but never twee ones. The happiness is often laced with subtle bittersweet undertones, and the hard reality of life is never lost. The series attracted some of British film's top drawer talent, such as David Hemmings and Stephen Frears, and every episode is taut and compelling viewing. The casting is perfect, with all the characters complimenting each other perfectly. It draws you into its world and holds you there, as only truly special television can.

As for the nostalgia value, if you lived during the 70's you'll need armbands to prevent yourself from wallowing too much. If, like me, you grew up in the 70s and also in the rural outskirts of Leeds, where this is filmed, then you may as well just surrender to it at episode one because you'll be a lost cause.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
I confess I didn't like Dora. Too much crying and too many emotional scenes in a drama about horses. Gillian Blake was brilliant at her performance it is a shame she did not continue her career in other dramas as she is very talented however I did not like her character. Anyway enough of that, the series Follyfoot is about a young girl who goes to stay at a farm which is a rest home for horses. So if you are mad about horses then this is for you. Made by Yorkshire Television over 40 years ago(time just gone by) it had a high level of good quality actors who guest starred in this series. Even today's young people might enjoy this series if they accept there is no CGI or any special affects. Highly recommended to all ages.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2012
When I ordered these DVDs, to be honest, I was expecting to be disappointed with them. I thought the story lines and acting would look really poor after all these years. I was 12 years of age when Follyfoot was originally screened and ofcourse TV dramas have moved on since then. However, I was amazed at how engaging each episode was. I still can't understand why they didn't make more or make it into the film that was considered at the time. Though some of the episodes can be unsetting, (portraying the ill-treatment of horses and some having to be destroyed) generally, it has a calming effect. In the story lines, the characters each have their own problems yet Follyfoot Farm, a rescue centre for old and unwanted horses, ponies and donkeys becomes place of refuge for the characters as well.. Follyfoot can be like a refuge for the viewer too - a little escapism from the troubles of the world. Dora, a young girl played by Gillian Blake is the main character who joins her uncle at the farm whilst her affluent, stuffy, unloving parents work abroad for a year. The series begins by her searching for a purpose in life and a place to belong. I think in the end, she finds what she is looking for...... Thank you Yorkshire Television.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
I would thoroughly recommend this collection to anyone who remembers this little piece of TV history from the early 70s. As a testosterone-governed teenage boy I was insanely in love with Gillian Blake and the idyllic ambience of Follyfoot Farm and its rural setting. I even got myself a job on a riding stables in the country in an effort to emulate this wonderful series. Unfortunately there was no Dora. This Follyfoot Collection is all a trifle dated from today's perspective but is a wonderfully retro piece of nostalgia that had me falling in love all over again. Good stuff!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
The acting is wooden, the clothes definitely dated! Horse and bike riding without helmets, however, it's a wonderful opportunity to relive childhood memories. I am loving every single minute, so pleased I was able to see them again after all these years. 😃🐴
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse