Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Archos 320gb
This is a superb all in one device, its storage capabilities are huuuuuge, I have ALL my music on this, All my photos, and am currently uploading full length dvds to it, I believe it should hold a vast amount of these also, probably my whole collection, or enough to last a long time. The internet is ok, no keyboard as its obviously portable so is touch screen. Its not...
Published on 19 July 2009 by Simone

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow transfer speeds
The transfer speed to this device is very slow at 6MB/s. An older Archos 605 transfers at 20MB/s connected to the same PC. Archos tech support have been their usual helpful selves, promising fixes and not delivering. It's ridiculous selling products that have such capacious disks and not ensuring that they can be filled at max USB2 speeds.
Published on 29 April 2009 by DrTeeth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow transfer speeds, 29 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archos 7 320GB Internet Media Tablet WiFi 7",High Resolution Touch Screen 800x480 pixels,convenient leg stand. (Electronics)
The transfer speed to this device is very slow at 6MB/s. An older Archos 605 transfers at 20MB/s connected to the same PC. Archos tech support have been their usual helpful selves, promising fixes and not delivering. It's ridiculous selling products that have such capacious disks and not ensuring that they can be filled at max USB2 speeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The DeLorean of the MP3 Players, 7 Aug 2009
By 
I. MCMANUS "Sheriff Lobo" (Algeria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Archos 7 320GB Internet Media Tablet WiFi 7",High Resolution Touch Screen 800x480 pixels,convenient leg stand. (Electronics)
My views are more or less the same as the others. What softened the blow for me was Dixons in LHR duty free are bundled it with the DVR dock and plastic case for free, which makes me wonder if they're clearing stock for a new version to hit the shelves. Has crashed only a couple of times, but holding the on/off button for 10 seconds resets it which is quite convenient.
Although it does the job for me of holding music, photos and movies, vast improvements are really necessary.
The worst is the slow transfer rate, I've spend hours transferring photos & music and still haven't finished. The finish of the surface looks great, but gets filthy with fingerprints easily, just like the old DeLorean. The DVR station should have bee designed better, once conneted the Archos leans to one side.
My advice: wait for the next version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good machine, though mis sold as 'internet' media, 20 Feb 2009
By 
K. J. Walker "Kiernan Walker" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Archos 7 320GB Internet Media Tablet WiFi 7",High Resolution Touch Screen 800x480 pixels,convenient leg stand. (Electronics)
Whilst this, as most Archos machines are, is flashy, and a great little music and video player, when I purchased it it was marketed as being able to take a usb mobile broadband stick through its mini dock. Immediately I got that piece of kit home, it failed to work. It referred to the broadband stick as a usb mass storage device and refused to install. After updating the firmware, the option of using a usb broadband stick disappeared.
After a e-mail to what is chortlingly called 'customer services', I received a one line reply that this feature is not supported on that device. Further communication seems an exercise in futility.
So, there we have it, misrepresentation and a product not fit for its boasted internet purpose. I would send it back but it does play video exceedingly well so grudgingly, I am keeping it. I know for next time, though, to wait until it is quite clear what lies are being told before I part with what is a substantial slab of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but not great, 4 May 2009
By 
J. Gallant (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Archos 7 320GB Internet Media Tablet WiFi 7",High Resolution Touch Screen 800x480 pixels,convenient leg stand. (Electronics)
The Archos 7 320GB is an ok device.

It has a sharp screen, and offers alot of features, but Archos are screwing people with this. For anyone that has never bought a media player before though, this will 'wow' you and you will swear by it because you don't know any different.

There is no TV out on the device. I had to buy a docking station for 60 pounds to pump the picutre into my TV. I also had to pay out so I could watch anything that was not an avi or wav file. Read up about add ons before you buy.

Like I said, it's a great little device, but Archos need to look out for their customers a little more. For the price of the device, I'd want everything included. I'd also want a basic TV out on the device.

I have sold mine on already, and am looking to get a previous generation with TV out on the device as with the earlier Archos'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Archos 320gb, 19 July 2009
This review is from: Archos 7 320GB Internet Media Tablet WiFi 7",High Resolution Touch Screen 800x480 pixels,convenient leg stand. (Electronics)
This is a superb all in one device, its storage capabilities are huuuuuge, I have ALL my music on this, All my photos, and am currently uploading full length dvds to it, I believe it should hold a vast amount of these also, probably my whole collection, or enough to last a long time. The internet is ok, no keyboard as its obviously portable so is touch screen. Its not terribly fast internet in comparison to laptops, but is adequate enough for short term surfing on the go. Overall 8/10 only due to the slow internet and the easily scratched casing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Archos 7 320gb, 29 Jan 2010
This review is from: Archos 7 320GB Internet Media Tablet WiFi 7",High Resolution Touch Screen 800x480 pixels,convenient leg stand. (Electronics)
I had been considering the idea of buying this for about a year but was put off by all the bad reviews. My fiance bought it for me for x-mas and I have waited for a month before posting my review.

I love it! I haven't had any problems. The transfer speed is quick, I use windows media player to synchronise and dont have any problems. Have used about a 100gb of storage for music, films and tv episodes, and transfers take minutes and not hours as some people state. yes you have to spend more on the plug ins which is a bit of a con, but its not the end of the world.

The build quality is good, i haven't had any software issues. It is easy to navigate and file management on the the archos is simple. It has crashed on me a couple of times when multi tab internet browsing.

My experience has ben completley positive with this archos and I havent experienced any of the negatives mentioned in the bad reviews. I just wish I hadn't been put off and had gotten it sooner!

I Hope this is helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic parental control & dire customer support - Update below, 22 Aug 2009
By 
D. Walker (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Archos 7 320GB Internet Media Tablet WiFi 7",High Resolution Touch Screen 800x480 pixels,convenient leg stand. (Electronics)
From a technical point of view, I have absolutely no issues with the Archos 7. Its easy to use, great picture quality, good sound. I'd happily give the Archos 5 stars. The problem is I'm also a parent and the parental control is a joke, especially in relation to the Media Club. For videos, Media Club is a euphemism for aged movies and porn and the parental control password protection does not prevent access to the latter. Requests to Archos customer service as to how it can be blocked result in the robotic message "This is not possible"(!) Certainly some of the images you get in the adult section are no worse than you'll see on the top shelf in Smiths (although others are worse) but I personally don't want my kids to access them in my own home using a few clicks. If this could be an issue for you, check out the Media Club website before you buy.

Update - Media Club has now closed. Customer Service is apparently still dire!

But I can recommend the Archos for viewing the digital copies now being bundled with some dvds/blu-rays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for frequent travellers and movie buffs, 29 Oct 2009
By 
Clement Jeyaraj "Cjey" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Archos 7 320GB Internet Media Tablet WiFi 7",High Resolution Touch Screen 800x480 pixels,convenient leg stand. (Electronics)
A good improvement over Gen 5 series with an improved interface. Great as a video player and with 320GB, its a monster. However, there are better options for music and browsing is mediocre at best. I use it with a Senn PXC300 and it makes long journeys bearable. Only worth looking at if you do 6+ hour journeys frequently and bored of the inflight entertainment. Go for the 5 if you don't. Its sharper, portable and better value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Archos products and service just dont deliver, 29 April 2009
This review is from: Archos 7 320GB Internet Media Tablet WiFi 7",High Resolution Touch Screen 800x480 pixels,convenient leg stand. (Electronics)
Web/TV Product code does not work so unable to download, complained to Archos and told-have to pay again. "Once code is used cannot replace it, and as it didn't work-tough!" Spent over three months trying without success to get the DVR Station to work. Unable to record from TV, although the system goes through the motions when you try to open the recorded file to view, you receive an error message stating "damaged and incomplete file". Had daily contact with technical support but still no joy. When playing a video via the internet sometimes you get a blank space with a Flash 9 jpg. The Archos 7/Opera is supposed to support Flash 9-but it doesn't work on many Flash 9 websites so beware.

My advice to any would be purchaser is don't buy an Archos unless you

a) Want a heart attack from the frustration or b) Like throwing over 300 down the drain. Archos products are certainly not worth the money. An expensive piece of junk.

I am really disappointed that I had to award it even one star. It really gets no stars from me. A lovely looking piece of equipment that certainly just doesn't deliver. DO NOT BUY.

Will NEVER buy another Archos product AGAIN-they are rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works for what I want it for., 22 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archos 7 320GB Internet Media Tablet WiFi 7",High Resolution Touch Screen 800x480 pixels,convenient leg stand. (Electronics)
I bought this Archos because I wanted a huge storage mp3 player plus the bonus of a 7" screen to make viewing the occasional video more tolerable than on a mobile phone or the 5" Archos. After a bit of playing around with it I think I've finally got the hang of it. So, if you're sitting comfortably, I'll begin...

Music: Transferring big mp3 folders over to the Archos was very simple as I just used copy & paste once plugged into the PC. The transfer rate is more than fast enough for me. The music player is very easy to use too, remembering where you last left playing, easy folder recognition and having a good forward and rewind facility. Battery life on music playback is fantastic too!

Video: I've had a few problems here. It seems to be hit & miss as to what will play when I converted TS files to AVI files. However, using the same free video converter program it seems to play converted youtube videos every time. Video quality hasn't been great, but that could be because of the converter program I'm using? Remember it plays 720p, not full 1080p HD video. Looks like I might have to play around with other converters to see what results I get if I want more videos to watch. Jury's out on this one then and you'll be a video file geek by the time you've finished playing around I suppose, or you'll just pull all your hair out and give up!

Photos: I was a able to choose a photo from my own collection to use as the home screen no problem at all. Very easy to transfer photos over from your PC and if you wanted to use this as a digital photo frame then you can't go far wrong, especially as you can still have your music playing in the background whilst you view photos...Nice!(in a Jazz kinda way).

Internet: I connected up to my home wireless network no problem at all, although the range isn't as good as on my laptop meaning connection at the top of the house is very patchy. The OS is Opera and I'm still having little joy with BBC iPlayer and Youtube, but there may be a work round I've yet to discover (certainly latest firmware update isn't doing it). Basically it's flash issues that you'll best going to the Archos Forums for discussions on rather than me prattling on any further here. Remember too that you can't tether this to your phone and use 3G like you can on the Archos 5. So basic internet use around the house or a wifi hotspot is probably the best you can hope for.

Games: I've found a site where most of their flash games work ok, and transferring them over is simple enough. They don't all work though, so hit & miss there too.

TV & add ons: I haven't bought any add ons so can't comment on them or the TV capability. I don't really have need for any of the add ons, although if I found the TV Snap On going cheap 2nd hand (this is no longer available to buy) I'd buy it to see if I can really make this Archos into a portable freeview TV.

To sum up - If you want slick, fast internet browsing, loads of widgets and high quality video playback then you'll need to be looking at those new fancy tablets I expect. If, like me, it's mainly about the music and you want an old skool huge storage decent mp3 player (albeit not portable enough to put in your pocket) then you can't go wrong with this. No 16GB shiny tablet thingy will ever do it for me I'm afraid. 4 stars from me then because it does just what I want perfectly, but it's very niche nowadays I expect and will probably disappoint many in other areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews