Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
All Dylan fans know the history of The Basement Tapes, for me one of the cornerstones of Dylan's collected works. Why, when they're not even a proper album? Because they show him relaxed and playing some different styles of music with friends, away from the pressures of touring and the recording studio.

This `official' set has many of the best Basement songs,...
Published on 21 Feb 2007 by Geoffrey Millar

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No great improvement in sound quality
Five stars for the music, but if you have the previous remaster from 2000-ish you really don't need this latest one. It's louder, but there's not much increase in depth or detail. It was a lo-fi recording to begin with, don't forget...
Published on 17 Jun 2011 by m'artagnan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb piece of music history, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Basement Tapes (Audio CD)
Buy it if you love Dylan or The Band. Together they made one of the most interesting and listenable albums. A slice of music history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Missing Link, 11 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Basement Tapes (Audio CD)
This is not only the missing link between 'Blonde On Blonde' and 'John Wesley Harding' but shows us Dylan's and The Band's love for and knowledge of Americana and classic American folk music. Seek out Harry Smith's Anthology of American Folk Music and 'Invisible Republic' by Greil Marcus. More importantly, and perhaps less pompously,
'The Basement Tapes' is a superb, raw sounding album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album in a long time, 3 Aug 2011
By 
Mrs. S. A. Snowden (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Basement Tapes (Audio CD)
loved this album - you can hear everyone taking part is having a really good time.
Would recommend it to anyone!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy for 'Goin' to Acapulco'. Enjoy the rest., 7 Mar 2012
By 
A. ADAM - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Basement Tapes (Audio CD)
If I remember rightly this got mixed reviews when it came out in '75. Perhaps the tapes had been around in bootleg form for so long that it failed to surprise. Or maybe, as others have pointed out, it's very far from being complete. I hadn't heard the album for many years and it was nice to get re-acquainted. It's likely to appeal mostly to people like myself who aren't natural Dylan fans. (I have only 3 of his other albums.) The shifting back and forth between The Bob and The Band works for me and prevents monotony setting in. There are throwaway tracks, others with very much a 'demo' feel; but a number of them are real top-class gems. 'Tears of Rage' pips The Band's version; 'Long Distance Operator' is a great slab of psychedelic funk; but it's 'Goin' to Acapulco' that does the business for me. A real 'lump in the throat' job. Worth it just for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Actually not very good, 24 May 2007
By 
XTR (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Basement Tapes (Audio CD)
I love Bob Dylan, and I know it's heresy, but really this is a poor CD set. Put it this way : if I woke up from a coma and had no memory of Bob Dylan, and heard this, I'd think it was a not-very-good set of 60s folk/rock recordings, with just a few decent tracks maybe worth sticking on the iPod.

I would go for it only if you are trying to get everything by Bob Dylan regardless of quality, or you absolutely love 60s folk/rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 55 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Drunken Demos, 17 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Basement Tapes (Audio CD)
This is a "fun" album in a way: Dylan and the boys singing just whatever way the moment takes them, and in a lot of the "songs" they seem to just make the lyrics up as they go along, so in a lot of cases, its pure nonsense. Its a laugh if your drunk, but I'm giving it just 2 stars (and maybe only one) to warn people that if you're expecting from this album a whole lot of little gems of Dylan songwriting, look elsewhere! If it were not for the fact that the people playing here (Dylan and the Band) are legends, I doubt so many people would be bothered about its "historical" worth, and if it were not that Dylan and the Band had just done a highly successful tour just before this record came out, it probably never would have been released (to "cash in") and kept in the basements, or simply distributed (as most of these recording were) to "must collect every demo and bootleg" fans of either artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Basement Tapes, 3 Aug 2009
By 
Hilary Nicholls (Manchester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Basement Tapes (Audio CD)
Totally overrated. So glad I never paid full price. Outtakes which shoudl have been left on the floor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Basement Tapes
The Basement Tapes by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews