Customer Reviews


229 Reviews
5 star:
 (183)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


144 of 148 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cbeebies boxset? Isn't that a pip?!
I can't help feeling a bit ripped off having bought all of the DVDs in this set at more than twice the asking price when they first came out, but if you have a small child and don't already own them, this is a bargain.
If you do have a young relative chances are you already know about In the night garden. Iggle Piggle and his colourful but slightly odd friends appear...
Published on 19 Nov. 2008 by Coey Ohwow

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great but why having 3 minutes of advertisement at the begining ?
For sure my daughter LOVES it.
The serie is very nice.

BUT I cannot skip on MY DVD player the advertising for the other BBC series for kids. That means we have to cope with almost 3 minutes of crappy video clip with noisy music and blinking images EACH TIME we switch on the DVD player.
As well, the chapters cut seems to be put ramdomly in the...
Published on 30 July 2010 by FLB


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

144 of 148 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cbeebies boxset? Isn't that a pip?!, 19 Nov. 2008
This review is from: In the Night Garden: Hello Everybody! Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I can't help feeling a bit ripped off having bought all of the DVDs in this set at more than twice the asking price when they first came out, but if you have a small child and don't already own them, this is a bargain.
If you do have a young relative chances are you already know about In the night garden. Iggle Piggle and his colourful but slightly odd friends appear in a series of twenty minute shows where they have minor adventures that often involve noises, counting , chasing things around and in Maka Paka's case tidying up. It's a brilliant way to teach young children some basic concepts about shapes, numbers etc especially if you buy a few of the books which follow the same storylines. The length of the show is exactly right for a toddler's attention span and they really do adore this show. I can speak on behalf of my own son and at least three other pre-schoolers that I know!
It's hard to explain why exactly this show is so much better than all the other kid rubbish available, but it has something magic about it. It's on CBeebies several times every day for anyone who wants to watch an episode before buying the set, but I doubt anyone would be dissapointed with this as it offers great value for money and contains some of the best episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who's not in bed?, 25 Mar. 2009
By 
M. B. Green "Moo Flew Where?" (North Lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Night Garden: Hello Everybody! Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Just excellent for babies and toddlers alike. 4 DVD set with the nap option, which is just perfect for the wind down, last bottle before bed routine. My little fella loves it and we do too! Can't wave to the Wottingers enough!! Although the Tombliboo music is just a tad reminiscent of Avant Garde, crazy Stockhausen for me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, 30 Aug. 2009
By 
M. Mason "Spikeslave" (Glossop, Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Night Garden: Hello Everybody! Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this box set for my 21 month old daughter as she had seen a few episodes and really enjoyed it. It was great value for money, there are four discs each with five episodes on them, and she loves it (which is more than me and her dad could say but hey its this or fifi!).

So if you want to entertain your kids and torture yourself buy this!

Just a recommendation, try to skip the 'Upsy Daisy Wants To Sing' episode if you want to retain your sanity. Oh god, it's on now, someone please help me, please, please, please ............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 20 Jan. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Night Garden: Hello Everybody! Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
i got this as my 18mnth old developed a liking for upsy daisy sits mesmorised when its on i think we had this box set 2 days before the box was dogeared from so much watching she would watch a disc bring me another shouting uppy dayee at me until i put it on shes loving them me well i have to say its a good chance to do some work if i sat with her watching them over and over again i may go insane but for kids fantatsic mine loves it and if shes happy so am i
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great but why having 3 minutes of advertisement at the begining ?, 30 July 2010
By 
FLB (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Night Garden: Hello Everybody! Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
For sure my daughter LOVES it.
The serie is very nice.

BUT I cannot skip on MY DVD player the advertising for the other BBC series for kids. That means we have to cope with almost 3 minutes of crappy video clip with noisy music and blinking images EACH TIME we switch on the DVD player.
As well, the chapters cut seems to be put ramdomly in the episodes.

Anyway, I would still buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outside the box, 30 Sept. 2009
By 
Taurima (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In the Night Garden: Hello Everybody! Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I've been a carer for a 90 year old with Alzheimers. She's just been found a place in residential care, and when we were packing for her, Hello Everybody! went in with the family photos and her favourite dressing gown. Like many people with dementia, Cassy sometimes gets restless and fractious especially at the end of the day, and just like a toddler needs help winding down for bedtime. Many children's programmes are too exciting or violent (she can't any longer tell that it's 'only kidding'). In the Night Garden never fails to catch her attention, and better still, engages her in a positive way. She waves, she laughs, she sings along. This probably sounds really terrible, to park an old lady in front of a TV programme for babies, but believe me it has been so good for her, and for us, to know that when we're not able to distract her or communicate with her, when we're driven to desperation, she's safe and happy with the Tombliboos. It wouldn't be right for everyone, but we hope that her new friends will like to watch it with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lynchian Existential Horror, 7 Nov. 2012
By 
Nathan Castle (Weymouth, England, Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In the Night Garden: Hello Everybody! Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Each episode begins with the same harrowing sequence - a misshapen humanoid creature (Iggle Piggle) falls asleep in a small unmoored boat which, as he slumbers, drifts out into the black night sea. What follows this opening can then be interpreted (the protagonist obviously having drowned) as being his ongoing experiences in a kind of nightmarish afterlife in which a bloated, tumour-ridden dwarf endlessly pushes a child's tricycle around a forest uttering nothing but his own name, over and over again.

The outskirts of this hellish glade are populated by enormous, leering entities taller than trees. They billow silently with unmoving smiles, their implicit threat reminiscent of Rover from the 1960s series The Prisoner (and presumably employed in a similar role, though Mr Piggle to date has lacked the guile to attempt escape).

Other notable cast members include two large families of tiny dutchmen. Perhaps representative simply of historical Dutch colonialism, they may also be interpreted as (due to the number of children in each) a Catholic community banished to this leafy netherworld as victims of the Dutch Protestant revolt in the late 16th century. Either way their significance in terms of the wider narrative is ambiguous at best.

All of this is narrated in jolly-dentist-experimenting-with-his-own-drugs-before-operating style by the Christopher Walken of childrens television, Derek Jacobi.

In conclusion, each episode confronts the viewer with a succession of terrifying, loosely related vignettes featuring the souls of these insane, gibbering malformities and their repeated failure to find peace or meaning as they shuffle ceaselessly through the surreal overbright woodland of the underworld.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must-buy' for grandparents!, 23 Mar. 2009
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Night Garden: Hello Everybody! Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst the TV is aptly described as 'The Electric Babysitter,' when you're a grandparent, you need all he help you can get. And the grandkids quite literally expect the TV to be on all the time anyway, just as it is in their own home.
Of course, the Cbeebies is an absolutely wonderful channel to have, and 'Balamorey' and 'Big Chef Little Chef' are great at keeping the little blighters quiet; but they only have to hear the first few notes from 'In The Night Garden' and they're transfixed.
So other than Sky+ing loads of the episodes and cutting down the space left to Sky+ your own prog's, this box set is absolutely ideal, and cheaper than buying the DVD's individually, too.
Our grandkids are great, all 7 of them, and they thoroughly enjoy watching Upsey Daisy and her friends.
It made my wife and I laugh when we heard that if the grandkids are being naughty, they are threatened with "being sent down to granddad's to sit and watch his gardening programmes!"
This DVD set is great for when they are good, or as an incentive to be good when they're being a bit of a pain.
But you can't beat getting down on the floor and drawing or playing with their toys with them either, so this set is useful as the cavalry riding in at the end of the day when you're feeling a bit frazzled!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it !!, 23 Feb. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Night Garden: Hello Everybody! Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this because my son used to get upset when in the night garden finished on cbeebies and now when he sees me putting it in the dvd player he gets all excited and crawls towards the tv smiling! He would watch it all day everyday if he could. Very worth the price if your little one likes in the night garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brill!, 4 Oct. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Night Garden: Hello Everybody! Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
i bought 2 sets of these dvds for christmas presents, one for my 1 year old neice and one for my 2 year old, they are really good for the price, i expect they will have alot of amusement out of the set, briliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In the Night Garden: Hello Everybody! Box Set [DVD]
£84.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews