Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


204 of 208 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tea for Two
Bought to replace previous Russell Hobbs "holiday" travel kettle (accidentally left behind on holiday last year),which had served us for years and years without any problems at all. Lightweight, compact but sturdy, efficient, and holds enough water to make two decent mugs of tea/coffee. We always take our own mugs as unless you like "continental" sized coffees the cups...
Published on 16 Sept. 2009 by S. Miller

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stopped working after a couple of weeks use
I liked the convenient size and fast boil of this kettle but it only lasted one holiday of a week or so before failing. Now the light comes on but it doesn't boil the water. Really disappointed with the quality of this product. Maybe I was unlucky.
Published on 28 Jan. 2013 by dconneely


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

204 of 208 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tea for Two, 16 Sept. 2009
By 
S. Miller (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14178 Travel Kettle with Boil Dry Protection (Kitchen & Home)
Bought to replace previous Russell Hobbs "holiday" travel kettle (accidentally left behind on holiday last year),which had served us for years and years without any problems at all. Lightweight, compact but sturdy, efficient, and holds enough water to make two decent mugs of tea/coffee. We always take our own mugs as unless you like "continental" sized coffees the cups are too small - but are very useful nevertheless to deposit used teabags in. Or even as a sugar bowl if required. Spoon somewhat small but better than nothing! Boiling time perfectly acceptable, auto switch-off at boiling point so no worries about safety. Takes up very little room in suitcase, too. An excellent product at an excellent price - and if this kettle lasts even only half as long as our first one did (same make/similar model) we will be very well pleased. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel kettle, 29 Jan. 2009
By 
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14178 Travel Kettle with Boil Dry Protection (Kitchen & Home)
This kettle is compact and packs easily. It is really useful when travelling in Europe, where facilities to make a hot drink in your hotel room are generally nonexistant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


146 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Kettle, 7 Feb. 2009
By 
Pam Taylor-floyd "Pam" (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14178 Travel Kettle with Boil Dry Protection (Kitchen & Home)
An excellent purchase. I bought it for my Mum who has arthritis and could not lift a large kettle easily. It boils rapidly and holds just the right amount for her teapot. It is light to use and fill.
The only downside is the attached cord. You have to take the whole thing to the tap, so there is a risk of wetting the plug by accident, but so far so good. It has not happened yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel Kettle Russell Hobbs 14178, 28 Jun. 2009
By 
H. Willcocks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14178 Travel Kettle with Boil Dry Protection (Kitchen & Home)
This travel kettle is just the right size for those long-for cups of tea on Holiday in foriegn parts. The mugs are a decent size and you get 2 spoons as well. It boils quickly and has a limescale filter. Very good product, wouldn't go away without it.Russell Hobbs 14178 Travel Kettle with Boil Dry Protection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 11 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14178 Travel Kettle with Boil Dry Protection (Kitchen & Home)
I brought this item as I have got arthritis in my hands. The kettle is easy to lift and I can get 2 good cups of tea or coffee from it. The only downfall is that you have to take the lead with you when filling . The cups that come with the kettle are a good size. The spoons are far too small. But if you are buying it to use at home you can use your own cups and spoons.
I am very happy with the product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, 15 May 2009
By 
Carolyn Mason (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14178 Travel Kettle with Boil Dry Protection (Kitchen & Home)
The Russell Hobbs 14178 Travel Kettle was ideal for our needs. It boiled quickly and the two cups supplied held more than enough water for a good sized cup of tea/coffee. Another advantage the cups did not get too hot to hold even with boiling water. I would certainly recommend the purchase of this kettle for anyone travelling abroad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stopped working after a couple of weeks use, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14178 Travel Kettle with Boil Dry Protection (Kitchen & Home)
I liked the convenient size and fast boil of this kettle but it only lasted one holiday of a week or so before failing. Now the light comes on but it doesn't boil the water. Really disappointed with the quality of this product. Maybe I was unlucky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel Kettle, 5 Feb. 2009
By 
Pete (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14178 Travel Kettle with Boil Dry Protection (Kitchen & Home)
This is a great little kettle to take abroad. Lightweight,compact but big enough for 2 good size cups of tea/coffee. Cups provided are small but I take my own instead. It's not flashy but hey, it's only for boiling water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very hot!, 23 Dec. 2008
By 
Skypilot "Skypilot" (Sedbergh, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14178 Travel Kettle with Boil Dry Protection (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this to use in the caravan rather than as a traditional travel kettle to pack in a suitcase. In the caravan it's just brilliant for the job and boils enough water for the two of us to have a cuppa or fill a flask to take out for the day! Doesn't take too long to boil either - unlike some of the smaller kettles. The higher wattage does mean that you run the risk of blowing a supply fuse on sites where the main electricity supply is only 6 Amps or below - so in those circumstances remember to do an 'Op Minimise' before you switch it on.

Having an auto-switch and boil-dry protection the kettle is great if you happen to take too long in the shower! Not sure what the point of the plastic cups is but I'm sure they didn't add much to the price and someone might have a use for them!

Many other 'travel' kettles are really only big enough to boil water for one cup at a time - a couple would need to boil water twice. However, this kettle is actually slightly too big to be popping into a suitcase for a fortnight in Spain - but then who really needs a cuppa over there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad luck or lousy product?, 31 May 2011
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14178 Travel Kettle with Boil Dry Protection (Kitchen & Home)
Judging by the other excellent writeups for this product we are very much in the minority, but we have had 2 - the first lasted a month, the second 5 months. The same symptoms each time, the light comes on but it refuses to boil. Neither has had rough treatment, my wife keeps the kettle on a bedside table and uses it once a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews