Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dudley down under
It is amazing that this recording has survived at all. Think how many great programs from the same era in the UK were wiped. For it to be released now is an added bonus. This features the Dudley Moore Trio recorded for ABC TV in Australia in 1971. They play a mixture of Jazz standards, Dudleys own compositions and some of Dudleys finest musical comedy routines. The full...
Published on 6 Oct. 2008 by S J Buck

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably not for the serious jazz fan
This is mainly for the Dudley fans who like him messing around. Certainly not the quality I expected for the price tag. So think carefully before you buy.
Published 16 months ago by LC66


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dudley down under, 6 Oct. 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dudley Moore Trio: Jazz in Oz [DVD] (DVD)
It is amazing that this recording has survived at all. Think how many great programs from the same era in the UK were wiped. For it to be released now is an added bonus. This features the Dudley Moore Trio recorded for ABC TV in Australia in 1971. They play a mixture of Jazz standards, Dudleys own compositions and some of Dudleys finest musical comedy routines. The full list is:

La Nuit s'Epanouit
The More I See You
Chimes
Love Song for an Imaginary Musical
The Look of Love
Madrigal
Moon River
The Swan
Bedazzled
Song For Suzy
Die Flabbergast
Yesterdays
Fanfare
Strictly for the Birds
Goodbyee

The DVD runs to 61mins, is in black and white, but for its age, the sound and picture quality are very good. Dudley is in superb comedic form inbetween the numbers and the Trio perform brilliantly throughout. On first viewing my favourite comedy performance is Dudley's performance of Saint-Saen's 'The Swan'. I'd never seen Dudley perform this before. Of the serious (ish) numbers I've always love 'Strictly for the Birds' and Dudley's tribute to Errol Garner on 'Moon River' is a marvellous performance.

There are no extras with the DVD. However a surprise bonus when I received my copy is that there is an audio CD of the musical numbers (without Dudley's comedy inbetween) which runs to 45 mins.

This is a rare treat both from a musical point of view and a comedy point of view, and if you didn't know already, it will make you realise just how hugely talented Dudley Moore was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential addition to any piano jazz collection, 30 Mar. 2011
By 
E. Brightwell (Marlow, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dudley Moore Trio: Jazz in Oz [DVD] (DVD)
With obvious influences from Erroll Garner and Oscar Peterson as well as classical, this is a charming and unique piece of nostalgia. He may not have the improvisational skill of Erroll and Oscar, but his technique is equally as good and he is a born entertainer. It is refreshing to see good old fashioned camera work, rather than having to endure the tedious gimmicks often used today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *****, 10 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dudley Moore Trio: Jazz in Oz [DVD] (DVD)
I was quite made-up when I came across this recording. The package comprises a DVD and a companion CD. It is quite a rarity and I enjoyed the DVD very much. Note: this is in Black-and-White - but in no way should this spoil your enjoyment of the unique talents of Dudley Moore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dudley Moore trio "Jazz in Oz", 7 Oct. 2011
By 
J. E. G. Lee "Johnno" (Leics UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dudley Moore Trio: Jazz in Oz [DVD] (DVD)
I have been a longtime admirer of Dudley Moore and his piano playing and this CD/DVD
set did not let me down.
The set comprises a DVD/CD from a performance given on Australian television .
Despite being over 40 years old the music sounds as fresh to my ears as if Dudley
and trio had just left the recording studio.
Dudley Moore as far as I am concerned did not need to do "comedy", his Jazz piano and
composition was in a special class.
I feel that those buying "Jazz in Oz" will not be disappointed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dudley in Oz, 12 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dudley Moore Trio: Jazz in Oz [DVD] (DVD)
This is a lovely concert. Dudley is in good form as a piano player and is obviously having a great time. Amazing support from the bass and drums, these guys are top notch. Dudley, ever the clown interjects some comic moments but it's the music which is on show and will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Probably not for the serious jazz fan, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dudley Moore Trio: Jazz in Oz [DVD] (DVD)
This is mainly for the Dudley fans who like him messing around. Certainly not the quality I expected for the price tag. So think carefully before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dudley Moore Trio: Jazz in Oz [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent DVD, obvioulsy the quality of the recording is not up to modern standards, but very enjoyable recording of a legendary trio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dudley Moore Trio: Jazz in Oz [DVD]
Dudley Moore Trio: Jazz in Oz [DVD] by Dudley Moore Trio (DVD - 2010)
Used & New from: £37.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews