Customer Reviews
10


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal and emotional
You can tell these songs are personal to Midge by the way they have not been done with huge over production. He has kept them simple and by doing so has made one of his most emotional records. Nevermore is the standout for me, the only dissapointment is that 'little girl in bloom' is not included, a Thin Lizzy track he sometime performs live. It took a couple of...
Published on 8 Oct 2008 by Mr. Mark Hughes

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Those school Girl days.............................
This isn't very good covers album, unsuitable songs and pointless!!! Lulu's To Sir With Love, Carpenters Goodbye to Love, Small Faces My Minds Eye all classic songs that Midge loves! But he turns them into non discript bland A.O.R What was he thinking of? Lady Stardust??? Why oh Why??
Published on 9 Aug 2010 by Alan D. Evans


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal and emotional, 8 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. Mark Hughes (Walsall England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
You can tell these songs are personal to Midge by the way they have not been done with huge over production. He has kept them simple and by doing so has made one of his most emotional records. Nevermore is the standout for me, the only dissapointment is that 'little girl in bloom' is not included, a Thin Lizzy track he sometime performs live. It took a couple of listens before it grabbed me but now I have to say that ten is an excellent album. Emotional and sometimes raw. Well done Midge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Look for the gems, 9 Jan 2009
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
Anyone who is interested in hearing the songs that influenced Midge will like this. Listen to the lyrics....there are some good and very poignant songs there.

My favourites are Midge's covers of 'Day After Day', 'Let the Heartaches Begin' and 'Man of the World' and of course the absolutely amazing 'Nevermore'...the Midge treatment is fantastic! Freddie would love it! Its worth getting the album for that alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Those school Girl days............................., 9 Aug 2010
By 
Alan D. Evans "Big Al" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
This isn't very good covers album, unsuitable songs and pointless!!! Lulu's To Sir With Love, Carpenters Goodbye to Love, Small Faces My Minds Eye all classic songs that Midge loves! But he turns them into non discript bland A.O.R What was he thinking of? Lady Stardust??? Why oh Why??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not classic Midge, 8 Oct 2008
By 
J. Nicholls "jeznich" (northants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
An album of gentle interpretations of songs that mean a lot to Midge, and after eight years wait for a new studio album there was a lot of expectation.

Sadly a couple of the songs are poor, most disappointing are his versions of Goodbye to Love and Alfie.

Others are a pleasant listening experience but not classics.

Highlights for me are Man of the World, Day after Day, Song for While I'm Away and Nevermore - all classic Midge.

This album needed some more upbeat moments to give it a much needed injection of energy and vigour to make it better than average. Sadly average is what it is overall, inspite of a few gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop listening to this, 14 Feb 2009
By 
Peter Bowes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
A very personal album, some of my favourite songs too! Next door will be getting sick of this through the wall!!! Or maybe not - they haven't complained either. And Midge's vice is brilliant as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really not worth the wait, 21 Oct 2008
By 
Jl Adcock "John Adcock" (Ashtead UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
Midge Ure has been working on his covers album for over 20 years, and frankly the result isn't worth it. From the dubious selection of tracks to the home alone feel of the production, 10 rarely rises above mediocre - the notable exception being "Nevermore" where Ure brings some depth to his singing. Sadly, some of the tracks here have just been overworked by Midge in his solo accoustic tours - where the material sounds much, much better. Here's hoping for better things next time. For a better example of doing cover versions, the new Glen Campbell album is worthy of greater attentions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It means nothing to me..., 2 Oct 2008
By 
M. A. Brown (Blackpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
Yikes. 26 years ago Midge Ure scored his first solo hit with a fine reworking of The Walker Brothers `No Regrets'. All moody electronica fired through with a wailing electric guitar it was a fine start to what has been a hesitant, but always interesting solo career.

Anyone who's watched Midge live over the past few years (and this reviewer has - many times) will know that he's made much of the fact that No Regrets was intended to be the first cut from a covers album that he always wanted to do, but never quite got round to completing. Well now he has, and after 26 years the question is: was the wait worth it? The answer is a resounding and depressing no. God, no.

This is an album that sounds like Ure has been locked in solitary confinement for a year with a small casio keyboard and an acoustic guitar. Instrumentally every song is reduced to vague noodlings, and the vocals are astonishingly insipid for someone of Midge's range. This was the voice the roared Vienna, that crooned the beautiful Breathe and that rocked through Dancing With Tears in My Eyes. Yet every song here sounds like he's recorded it after waking up at 3am, bleary eyed and in need of a glass of water.

So what about the selected cuts? Well, it's difficult to be critical when the songs are picked for reasons as personal as these, but it's precisely the fact that they mean so much to him that makes the album so depressing - nothing is raised to a level above elevator music; background noise.

There's the opening track, Alfie, which would never have been a hit if Cilla had done it like this, and there's the Carpenters' Goodbye to Love, which manages to make the original sound like Van Halen in comparison. Then there's a truly bizarre reworking of To Sir with Love, which, given the fact that it's now being sung by a man gives Lulu's song a hitherto unrealised homo-erotic edge. Like all the rest, it's just bland and noodlesome.

There are better tracks. Peter Green's Man of the World, Queen's Nevermore and Thin Lizzy's Song for While I'm Away are all improvements, each of them registering as something more than the weightless, amorphous mass that is the rest of the album. But not much more. On any of his other albums not a single track here would have made the cut.

Now that it's finally out of his system one would hope that Midge can get back to doing something of the quality of his last two studio albums, Move Me and Breathe - both of them amongst the best he's made. Any more like this, though, and he'll be needing to reform Ultravox just to pay the bills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i loved it, 29 Mar 2014
By 
paula beckett (sutton surrey untied kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
I this for my hubby it was a CD he could not get. It plays okay and it is what they said it was. I heave no trouble with the seller or service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

10
10 by Midge Ure (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews