Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth paying that little bit extra
Six studio album's in the best of stereophonics decade in the sun single disc and deluxe edition may seem premature but theres enough quality spread out with their best moments on disc 1 with tracks like "Have a nice day", "Local Boy in the photograph", "Pick a part thats new" sounding fresh and uplifting as ever which is evenly balanced by the last track "Handbags and...
Published on 5 Dec 2008 by spike

versus
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so sure
I love the band, I love the albums. Not a massive fan of this release. It's got the songs which you will hear on the radio, but to the fans who love the albums as albums, its not a great investment. Starting with the most popular songs and going down pretty much. Not how I would have ordered it, if anything, start with the oldest and then show the audio progression in the...
Published on 10 Nov 2008 by I. Frampton


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth paying that little bit extra, 5 Dec 2008
This review is from: Decade In The Sun (Audio CD)
Six studio album's in the best of stereophonics decade in the sun single disc and deluxe edition may seem premature but theres enough quality spread out with their best moments on disc 1 with tracks like "Have a nice day", "Local Boy in the photograph", "Pick a part thats new" sounding fresh and uplifting as ever which is evenly balanced by the last track "Handbags and Gladrags" a lovely song made even sweeter by Kelly Jones gritty impassioned vocals.

Disc 2 on this deluxe edition of decade in the sun is a much needed added boost to disc one as it contains enough rarities, live tracks and b-sides that makes listening to the box set worth while especially the tom Jones collaberation of "Mama told me not to come",and with Jools holland "im alright (you gotto go there to come back) first time i ever saw your face", and the two tracks from the thousand tree's and from more life in a tramps vest ep's "i stopped to fill my car up carrot cake and wine" and "Bill Davey's Daughter Raymond's shop"

I felt myself that i just had enough education in not perfoming but to go out and pay that little bit extra for this deluxe box set as this has a lot more to it than the single disc best of.

Like Manic Street Preachers before them they don't make bands like these anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Decade of Hits, 17 Nov 2008
By 
Bobsta (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Decade In The Sun (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic double CD set. All the hits and an excellent disc 2 of other songs. And the box set is rather snazzy.

The track listing shown here on Amazon and virtually everywhere else is inaccurate. The first CD of this set has exactly the same listing as the single CD of Decade In The Sun so no one is getting shortchanged. It has 20 tracks kicking off with Dakota and ending with Handbags and Gladrags - exactly the same as the single CD album.

The second disc contains a host of other great tracks.

If you're a Stereophonics and thinking about getting this double CD set, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Many Of Their Songs Do You Know? Now Double It!, 23 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. R. Howe (South Shields, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Decade in the Sun: Best of Stereophonics (Audio CD)
Stereophonics are one of those bands where the listener doesn't quite realize just how many songs they know well enough to actually sing along to. One of those rare bands whose songs are so infectiously catchy that even if you're a non-fan or casual listener you'll still find yourself humming along to a track you previously thought you'd never heard before when you read the title on the tracklisting.

First of all there is a difference between a Greatest Hits and a Best Of album. This was an oversight by the record company, as this album is a Greatest Hits collection. Any long-term Phonics fan will confirm that many of the band's best material were not released as singles and therefore don't make the cut here. However it's an oversight which can be forgotten about quite quickly because the band did indeed choose their singles very wisely, there is not really a bad song on the entire LP and it makes for a 'Greatest Hits' which is steadier than that of rock bands with far more reputation and ego.

Most casual fans would probably say off the top of their head they know 3 or 4 Stereophonics songs, maybe one or two of those well enough to sing along with if they had to. However, when listening to the LP you'll indeed be shocked. Starting with the band's biggest overall hit, summer 2005 anthem "Dakota", the band then leap into 1999's "The Bartender And The Thief" before the amazing "Just Looking". Then we get 2001's misunderstood feelgood hit "Have A Nice Day", which is an incredibly cynical song about American life dressed up in a summer acoustic bounce to fool the listener into thinking it's a happy tune.

"Local Boy In The Photograph" is a long-time classic now and it's immediately followed up by 2003's epic "Maybe Tomorrow" which sees Jones' voice in excellent form. By the time you hit the halfway point on "I Wouldn't Believe Your Radio" you'll have remembered you know about half the album's tracks.

We get two new tracks here, too. The soft but not great "You're My Star" is a worthy effort but not worthy of being on their best of collection for sure, and "My Own Worst Enemy" - a track which will remind you why Stereophonics are suddenly relevant in the rock scene again after disappearing for a few years at the start of the millenium decade. This is indeed one of their finest rock performances to date.

Kelly Jones possesses one of the trademark voices of the rock scene today, his hacksaw tainted vocals sound never-more-impressive than when they're towering over a building guitar riff and in the last five years the band have rediscovered the rock drive which has resulted in some of their best material to date. In the follow-up to this album the band released a new LP, "Keep Calm And Carry On" which saw them create another 5 tracks which could have made this collection.

Stereophonics are perhaps unfairly tagged in the rock industry and not givent the credit they deserve, but in listening to this album one thing remains constant throughout, Stereophonics ultimately have the last laugh. The proof is in the quality of the songs, and any Greatest Hits collection where a casual listener can sing along with half the LP is indeed a great achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so sure, 10 Nov 2008
This review is from: Decade in the Sun: Best of Stereophonics (Audio CD)
I love the band, I love the albums. Not a massive fan of this release. It's got the songs which you will hear on the radio, but to the fans who love the albums as albums, its not a great investment. Starting with the most popular songs and going down pretty much. Not how I would have ordered it, if anything, start with the oldest and then show the audio progression in the sound. The new songs are good, however, as anyone who has the You're My Star single, they will tell you that the b-side is their preferred track! Forever should be on there, and it isn't!

A good christmas present for a casual fan who likes hearing their stuff on the radio, massive fans, make your own playlists!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stereophonics-You're are My Stars, 24 Dec 2008
This review is from: Decade in the Sun: Best of Stereophonics (Audio CD)
What makes a good 'best of' album? A stomping romp through all the bands key songs which highlight their songwriting capability? excellent voices and musical abilities? The ability to take you back to each and every time you first heard their songs? YES.

Thats what I think, and that why I have given this album 5 stars.

The 18 tracks we know & love are on here (including Handbags which is a nice treat) and two new tracks, You're My Star and My Own Worst Enemy. Both great songs, YMS is well written and obviously from the heart about Kelly Jones' daughters, and MOWE is cowritten by Adam Zindani and Kelly Jones and is a rocking track which has become a firm favourite of mine.

I would highley reccommend this album for fans and non-fans who will become fan after listening to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb overview of a much maligned band, 23 Sep 2011
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Decade in the Sun: Best of Stereophonics (Audio CD)
Despite being one of the UK's biggest rock bands over the past 15 years, Stereophonics have never been the darlings of the music press. "Meat and potatoes rock" has been a common complaint to which the band responded in the early noughties with the acerbic Mr. Writer. In recent years, being known as Wayne /Rooney's favourite band has further dampened their critical reputation though maybe it's time to cast aside such prejudices...

Yes it's definitely worth just listening to the music as most of the tracks on A Decade In The Sun are excellent. A non-chronological compilation, the highlights range from the early, crunchy guitars of Local Boy In the Photograph and The Bartender And The Thief to the fuller much-derided sounds of Step On My Old Size Nines and Maybe Tomorrow from LPs three and four. Reacting to this more layered template, the `Phonics returned to the electric guitar and an artier rock direction for their next LP Language, Sex, Violence, Other? This spawned their first number one single Dakota with the other two tracks featured fitting in much better on ADITS than on LSVO which was a bit overbearing in one listen.

So, this is a compilation which definitely benefits from being non-chronological. It also benefits from featuring one of the best singers in rock. Kelly Jones' gravelly voice can transform some of the band's s more mundane material into the worth recording category. Not that there's much mundane on A Decade in the Sun as you would expect for a compilation. ADITS is a superb overview of the first 10 years' recording of one of the best and most unfairly derided indie rock bands of the 90s and noughties. Definitely time to cast those critical prejudices aside...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous for fans and newcomers, 2 Jan 2009
By 
A. Lee (Glasgow, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Decade In The Sun (Audio CD)
This album truly highlights just how many great songs Stereophonics have released over the years. If you are a follower of the band all the fans favourites and big hits are present and are ordered perfectly so that it flows well. And any people wanting to check out Stereophonics shouldn't shy away from the album as it provides two new songs as well as all the classics. I've had this for months now and I'm still listening to it constantly (I have it on as I'm typing this). And for those of you worried that you're being shortchanged, Amazon has listed the tracks wrong, there is 20 tracks on each disk, so nothing missing from the one disc version. Great for the £15 I paid, so at £10 it's a steal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20 track bargain, 1 Jun 2014
By 
Bookie (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Decade in the Sun: Best of Stereophonics (Audio CD)
I'm not a massive fan and I bought this because it's a bargain. A CD with 20 tracks and free auto rip for the mp3 download for £3 is a snip. And to be honest, I'm enjoying it. I thought I only knew a couple of tracks, but I soon realised quite a few are familiar. And it gets better with every play. Some raw vocals and good solid music. It's a great addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection!, 23 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I've been a fan of the Stereophonics for a while, always intending to listen to the band further and buy a few of their studio albums. I finally decided to buy this greatest hits compilation, containing all of their most successful singles from the first ten years. I don't know why I've waited so long really, it's soon become a favourite album.

'Decade in the Sun' had all the songs that I originally wanted, a few more that I already knew but was unaware that they were actually by the Stereophonics, and some new favourites. Highlights include the uplifting 'Dakota', 'Pick a Part That's New', the chilling 'Have a Nice Day', and the best version of 'Handbags and Gladrags' I've heard.

As a greatest hits CD, 'Decade In The Sun' more than merits five stars, perfect for causal fans and long term fans who want to have all the songs in one place. I now intend to buy some of their studio albums.

Great compilation from a great UK rock band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - all the best tracks in one place, 3 Feb 2012
This review is from: Decade in the Sun: Best of Stereophonics (Audio CD)
The Stereophonics are so timeless that a greatest hits album really means exactly that. Not some hits with a few obscure tracks that nobody's heard of or wants. Does exactly what it says on the tin! Every track is a winner and all in one place. Its what greatest hits albums were make for. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Decade in the Sun: Best of Stereophonics
Decade in the Sun: Best of Stereophonics by Stereophonics (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews