Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glittering, Glamourous, Great. A Gem
I've been searching for this type of music for years but it's practically impossible to define and, therefore, get hold of. As well as being simple jazz, the style is so many other things all at once: relaxed, bluesy, moody, sultry, sophisticated, elegant, emotionally charged and so very grown up, both retro and cutting-edge supercool at the exact same time...
Published on 8 Jan 2012 by Hunter Sza

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
A BIT DISAPPOINTED IN THIS CD
Published 2 months ago by SAM


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glittering, Glamourous, Great. A Gem, 8 Jan 2012
This review is from: Simply Late Night Jazz (Audio CD)
I've been searching for this type of music for years but it's practically impossible to define and, therefore, get hold of. As well as being simple jazz, the style is so many other things all at once: relaxed, bluesy, moody, sultry, sophisticated, elegant, emotionally charged and so very grown up, both retro and cutting-edge supercool at the exact same time.

It's the kind of music that you would expect to hear in any number of classic black-and-white movies from the 1920s/30s/40s. You know how it goes: the main character is drowning his sorrows at three o'clock in the morning in the lounge-style bar of some hotel when a gorgeous 'dame' walks in, dressed to kill, and says, 'You got a light?'. Flirty, even dangerous dialogue charges between them and THIS music is playing in the background the whole time. Every time I play the sax CD in particular, I half expect a gruff voice to appear from nowhere that says ''She was the kinda broad that every man dreams about. Only one problem: she was Johnny's girl (pronounced 'jan-eez goyl', if you please!) and even lookin' at her in the wrong way could get you a bullet in your head''.

I'm sure you get the idea. There are four CDs in total, each one specializing in a different theme: sax, singing, muted trumpet and piano. All of them are easy, smooth, mellow. The only CD to have voices of any kind is the singing one; the other three are all instrumental. And, all in, there's something like a blissful four hours of music, each CD being around an hour or so. I'm no expert, but the quality seems perfect to me; I haven't heard even a single hiss. (Update: Okay, I have heard the slightest hiss on ONE of the tracks.)

Everybody who hears even a snippet of this music says, 'Oh, that's really nice, I like that.' I can imagine the sound complimenting perfectly the smaller, wind-down hours of a wedding or a party. The tracks on the trumpet CD in particular are absolutely perfect for slow dancing to, blissfully shuffling around the dance floor as if you have somehow been transported back in time to the glitz and glamour of a romantic movie from the '40s or '50s. Any of the CDs would be equally perfect as background dinner music, especially if the dinner is romantic in any way. Even if you're just working late or chilling out when you're on your lonesome, it's a delight. And if you can't sleep 'cause you got troubles on your mind, this music was MADE to soothe you.

Any negatives? Well, for me, the weakest CD is by far and away the singing one: some of the voices just get on my nerves. But there are still some gems on it. And on the instrumental CDs, one or two of the tracks are just a little bit too up tempo, so they don't quite fit and you might want to edit them out on your computer. Overwhelmingly, though, the music is very well chosen and flows from one track to the next without breaking the mood that it sets. Perhaps that's the best description: mood music.

If you are a romantic person in any way, I'd bet that you'd love this collection and that you'd get a lot of 'mileage' out of it, so to speak. And play it at any kind of public function where the drinks and the conversation flow in equal measure and it will make the evening one to remember: classy, sophisticated, elegant, warmly ambient and yet, strangely, as cool as ice at the exact same time. It is exactly what you need to create an enchanting, magical atmosphere inside a marquee, for example. As I'm sure you've guessed, as far as I'm concerned, it's a real find. For a fiver, it's amazing. Put it on, but DON'T listen to it! Just let it weave its magic in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Track Listings It's You Or No One, 8 Sep 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simply Late Night Jazz (Audio CD)
Hunter Sza has written a good review but there is no track listing so I thought this whilst not a review would be useful.
Album Tracks

Disc 1.
1. I Don't Stand A Ghost Of A Chance - Young, Lester
2. Everything Happens To Me - Pepper, Art
3. Don't Worry 'Bout Me - Getz, Stan
4. BJ - Coltrane, John
5. One For My Baby (And One More For The Road) - Newman, David 'Fathead' (1)
6. How Deep Is The Ocean - Parker, Charlie
7. Body And Soul - Cohn, Al & Zoot Sims
8. Summer Knows - Woods, Phil
9. Take Five - Brecon Brothers
10. Willow Weep For Me - Adderley, Cannonball
11. Daydream - Person, Houston
12. Moon Mist - Ford, Ricky
13. Angel Eyes - Stitt, Sonny
14. Morning Glory - Moody, James

Disc 2.
1. In Summer - Hendricks, Jon
2. I'm Glad There Is You - Mccrae, Carmen
3. Sophisticated Lady - Torme, Mel
4. My Funny Valentine - King, Morgana
5. Someone To Watch Over Me - Scott, Jimmy (2)
6. Don't Know Why - Eden, Joanna
7. Detour Ahead - Williams, Joe
8. Look Of Love - Saskia
9. Time On My Hands - Murphy, Mark
10. Born To Be Blue - Bailey, Mildred
11. This Is Always - Coleman, Earl & Charlie Parker
12. Teach Me Tonight - Callaway, Ann Hampton
13. I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart - Hartman, Johnny
14. Man I Love - Welsman, Carol
15. Have You Ever Met Miss Jones - Ingham, Chris
16. Easy Living - McCall, Mary Ann
17. Making Love - Smit, Georgie
18. You Call It Madness (But I Call It Love) - Eckstine, Billy

Disc 3.
1. Milestones - Davis, Miles
2. Blue Is Green - Roney, Wallace
3. They Can't Take That Away From Me - Gillespie, Dizzy
4. It Might As Well Be Spring - Shaw, Woody
5. In A Meditating Mood - Gryce, Gigi
6. What A Wonderful World - EJQ
7. PS I Love You - Morgan, Lee
8. Alter Ego - Byrd, Donald
9. Nostalgia - Navarro, Fats
10. Bronwyn - Gunn, Russell
11. Prelude To A Kiss - Wilder, Joe
12. Easy Dreaming - EJQ
13. You Better Go Now - Red Rodney

Disc 4.
1. Second Time Around - Garland, Red
2. One Side Of You - Elias, Eliane
3. Blue Monk - Jones, Hank
4. It's You Or No One - Hawes, Hampton
5. Poinciana - O'Farill, Arturo
6. Nature Boy - Rosnes, Renee
7. Feel Like Making Love - James, Bob (1)
8. One's Own Room - Miller, Mulgrew
9. Procession - Barron, Kenny
10. As Long As There's Music - Walton, Cedar
11. Love Is Here To Stay - McPartland, Marian
12. How About You - Smith, Paul (1)
13. Sorry Wrong Rhumba - Shearing, George
14. All The Things You Are - Garner, Erroll
15. Please Send Me Somebody To Love - Grant, Darrell
16. Where's This One From? - Puzzle Itsa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The other half of a great collection...., 12 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. J. H. Wheeler "Easy Street" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Late Night Jazz (Audio CD)
Of course, I meant to advise you to get the Simply Dinner Jazz collection as well, because these two make up the best value I've seen and used lately. This collection also includes an album of vocals in the right format, too, that is Disc two. The rest is great listening---planning a seduction? This music could be a key ingredient...buy it before it's too late!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smooth Jazz CDs, 18 May 2009
By 
Ms. Anna Dobrolioubova "Anna D" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simply Late Night Jazz (Audio CD)
4 CDs that give you a very laid back jazz music. The first one is Sax, Moonlight Serenade (a mixture with songs, reminding you of black&white movies), Trumpet and a Piano. Good for a late night background music. Very relaxing, you can either work, read or eat to it or may be have a snooze..:) Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My biggest problem is staying awake, 9 July 2013
By 
Colin Edwards (Margate UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Late Night Jazz (Audio CD)
That's not an insult. It is a compliment!
Smooth and relaxing themes and arrangements for mellow moods. Even if you thought you didn't like jazz.
Amazingly I had none in my collection then we went to a new restaurant with music like this in the background. Once upon a time, if you asked, places like this would show you the CD. This time they just pointed at a device [ipod maybe?]
So, I took a chance after browsing the amazon site.
Maybe true aficionados will think of this as bubblegum jazz.
To me it is just sweet, sweet music at a bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Late Night Jazz Collection, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Late Night Jazz (Audio CD)
Very good collection arranged in instrument style and not a jumble. Ideal, just for you, or as different music to play as you entertain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Late Night Jazz (Audio CD)
I just love these CD's, Iv'e loaded them on to my itunes library and just let them play and play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice jazzy music, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Late Night Jazz (Audio CD)
very relaxing background music
good for at a dinner party or for a relaxing evening
maybe a bit too "soft" for some but i like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, easy listening, 26 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. M. Mazourov "Maz1975" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Late Night Jazz (Audio CD)
Pretty much what it says on the tin. I like the variety of music offered and the quality of musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Late Night Jazz CD, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Late Night Jazz (Audio CD)
Lovely music which is great for relaxation...I love to listen this type of music when I'm reading or doing needlework...it's great background music...thanks for a smooth transaction and fast delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simply Late Night Jazz
Simply Late Night Jazz by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews