Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I Keep Mine Hidden"
It's really serious. The Smiths probably have the messiest catalogue there is. Around two thirds of their songs appear on the four studio albums while the remaining third are scattered across several compilations and rare CD-singles. Warner, unlikeEMI, have never been interested in milking a catalogue (or creating coherent and necessary reissues).

Looking...
Published on 2 Oct 2008 by A. Walker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of the Smiths
The deluxe version is actually better value for money. Its a double album, but not double the price. A must for every smiths fan.
Published on 2 Feb 2009 by P. Mather


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I Keep Mine Hidden", 2 Oct 2008
By 
A. Walker "Andy Walker" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sound of the Smiths: Deluxe Edition [2CD] (Audio CD)
It's really serious. The Smiths probably have the messiest catalogue there is. Around two thirds of their songs appear on the four studio albums while the remaining third are scattered across several compilations and rare CD-singles. Warner, unlikeEMI, have never been interested in milking a catalogue (or creating coherent and necessary reissues).

Looking through the dozen or so titles down your local retailer, the racks are clogged up with no less than four "greatest hits" collections and three rarities sets. These really need to be consigned to the bargain bin so they can be replaced with more streamlined compilations that would supplement the albums with at least some degree of logic: all the non-album songs (with a vocal) would fill a CD. Add to that a second disc of instrumentals, alternative versions, and live b-sides and you have a superlative two-disc set. A CD of BBC sessions is also required.

And so to the Rhino 45-track "The Sound Of The Smiths": judging by the title and cover photo of the group themselves, this was not sanctioned by Morrissey and Marr. The first disc is a chronological run-through their "greatest hits" with a couple of slightly different versions thoughtfully substituted. But the perfectly titled andartworked "Singles" from 1995 was the definitive best-of for all time, comprising every A-side in chronological order.

The second disc presents an alternative view of The Smiths career, digging deeper and throwing up some rarities in the process: the live version of "Handsome Devil" and the Troy Tate produced version of "Pretty Girls Make Graves" appear on CD for the very first time; while "Jeane", "Wonderful Woman" and the live James cover "What's The World?" have at last been compiled. You'll still have to buy the "Panic" CD single if you want to hear the studio version of "The Draize Train". And locate the US CD-single of "Sweet And Tender Hooligan" to find "I Keep Mine Hidden" and "Work Is A Four Letter Word".

The catalogue of what many regard as the greatest musical force since The Beatles remains still ill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST BEST OF REMASTERED, 16 Sep 2011
By 
P. Storey "pstorey" (newcastle upon tyne, tyne and wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sound of the Smiths: Deluxe Edition [2CD] (Audio CD)
fantastic best of remastered incl album tracks and singles and rarities, great value. already have the studio albums and this is a great addition as the tracks are remastered.

not sure whether it is worth buying the new complete set which is all remastered??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this collection!, 28 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: The Sound of the Smiths: Deluxe Edition [2CD] (Audio CD)
I have most of The Smiths albums (sadly most of the older ones on tape, gosh how old am I?) and bought this as it included a remastered live version of Meat is Murder.
The original recording was played on Radio 1 I think and mine was a copy of a copy of a copy so very poor quality. The whole album is worth it for that one track (and the revisiting of my youth) alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what`s not to like?, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound of the Smiths: Deluxe Edition [2CD] (Audio CD)
I own most of the back catalogue on precious original vinyl

This is 45 tracks with most of the best loved tracks and a stack of rare b sides that are hard to find ....for 6 quid!

I cant believe their up their own @rse brigade gurning about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars to all smiths fans, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound of the Smiths: Deluxe Edition [2CD] (Audio CD)
this album features all the smiths greatest hits the second disc features all rare material and what difference does it make is on there the john peel session
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of the Smiths, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just a great collection of Smiths songs, if your like me and liked the Smiths but never got round to buying the albums this is a must, its got all the best tracks on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY NOW, 2 Dec 2011
I recieved this album as a present and am really glad I did!!! Introduced me to the beautiful music of the Smiths with a lot of songs for the money, also including the John Peel sessions for a few songs and live versions (Meat is Murder live is amazing).
After listening to this to death I am planning on buying their other albums now, I am truly a converted Smiths fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant reissue repackage and re-evaluation, 8 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Sound of the Smiths: Deluxe Edition [2CD] (Audio CD)
Buy it for CD2. From the original Hand in Glove live b-side of Handsome Devil to the ropey but loveable James cover-version (previously only available to me on my friend's much-coveted cassette single). Both CD1 and CD2 combine to remind that Morrissey and Marr were never so subversive and beautiful as they were when they were writing and performing together. As an ageing ardent fan who bought the singles as they came out, but who isn't a completist, this compilation has been a joy, pulling together all the famous tracks, but more importantly, the b-sides and oddities so beautifully. CD2 is my most played Smiths 'thing', which means I can finally give the singles a well earned rest. Don't bother with the overpriced deluxe about to be released, go for the underpriced delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars smiths - 2CD set remastered, 22 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound of the Smiths: Deluxe Edition [2CD] (Audio CD)
On of the best Smiths compilations and remastered - better than Jap pressings.

pity no Draize train track or sandie shaw A-side as well.

Dirt cheap considering low-fi mp3 file alternatives.

Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Smiths without the Jagged Edges, 1 Jun 2011
By 
Ida Henman (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound of the Smiths: Deluxe Edition [2CD] (Audio CD)
I previously owned The Best of the Smiths.I found it pretty much impossible to listen to, way too compressed and brittle.I was sceptical about this latest offering.My fears were unfounded,the sound is excellent.Both CDs sound smooth,but with plenty of clarity.The big plus for me is that "How Soon is Now",as well as"This Charming Man",are both the 12" versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab8f7eac)

This product

The Sound of the Smiths: Deluxe Edition [2CD]
The Sound of the Smiths: Deluxe Edition [2CD] by The Smiths (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews