Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Shield is a Winner!
Pure entertainment presented in the format closest to the original film release. Historical piece, not only because of the period, but because it was indeed the first Technicolor and Cinemascope release for Universal Pictures. This is a must have Blu-ray for serious collectors around the world. Thank you for not region locking it. It plays "Universally" (No pun intended)
Published on 14 Sep 2010 by Humbi

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Black Cheese of Falworth
It doesn't take much knowledge of film history to suss out exactly what type of film we're presented with here.

Since it was produced in the U.S. in the mid-50's, we're safe in assuming that it's not all that creditable as a source of historical edification. Also, from seeing Tony Curtis' name slotted in the lead, we can expect that it wasn't entirely an...
Published on 16 Jan 2010 by Thomas Kane


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Shield is a Winner!, 14 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pure entertainment presented in the format closest to the original film release. Historical piece, not only because of the period, but because it was indeed the first Technicolor and Cinemascope release for Universal Pictures. This is a must have Blu-ray for serious collectors around the world. Thank you for not region locking it. It plays "Universally" (No pun intended)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FALWORTH REVISITED, 1 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Last saw this movie some 50 years ago ! I spoke to Tony Curtis at the Metropole B'ham ( autograph signing ) and he confirmed that in the movie he never said " Yonder lies de Castle of my Faddah ! " as the critics claimed. The Black Shield of Falworth remains exactly as I remembered - wonderful technicolour rendered excellently in blu ray ( sound mono though ) with a very young Tony and a wonderful baddie performance from our own Peter Cushing as a Muslim Prince seeking to usurp the British Monarchy.
Great Movie - but sadly almost everyone in it is long since dead ( including David Farrar , Torin Thatcher and of course the very beautiful Janet Leigh who had only just married Tony at that time )!
Thanks again Blu Ray - great movie - great action - aaaah .....all those yesterdays!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A TRIP DOWN MEMORY LANE, 5 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Shield Of Falworth [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
I saw the BLACK SHIELD OF FALWORTH at the cinema as a child in 1954. For me it was a trip down memory lane. It was a film of its time, although people queued in 1954 to see it. Athough today it may look dated and the late Tony Curtis had a 50`s hair style, which was known as the Tony Curtis Haircut,very popular with young men at that time and it was merrie England on the Universal backlot it is still worth a look to any movie buff. I have just watched it on my 42inch tv and found the quality of the dvd acceptable. It is also worth watching to see the villain played by David Farrah a english actor who's talents were wasted by Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yondah lies the castle of my faddah!, 17 Nov 2009
By 
Gary Vidmar (Colorado Springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Here's Universal Studios first CinemaScope picture, but more importantly, the first anamorphic scope picture in Technicolor (all of the 20th Century Fox premiere releases were in Color by DeLuxe). This EUREKA high-definition transfer is first-rate, and a benchmark for continuing Blu-ray masters of classic films.
Curtis and Leigh were hot mid-century contract players for Universal at the time this matinee swashbuckler was released, and that low-budget studio's set pieces are quite evident throughout this production. Universal didn't jump on the CinemaScope stereophonic bandwagon either. Still, it's a quaint costume potboiler with loads of 1950's nostalgia working for it. Wouldn't it be great to see Blu-Ray transfers of other great early scope adventures like KING OF THE KHYBER RIFLES, THE EGYPTIAN, SEVEN CITIES OF GOLD, MOONFLEET etc. etc. etc. etc....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merrie England, 19th century medievalism, 2 Aug 2010
By 
Neil James Houlton (Bournemouth, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Black Shield Of Falworth [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
This is a first class film, true it hangs on the coat-tails of Prince Valiant, but that does not distract from it's worth. This is the medieval England of William Morris and the Pre-Raphaelites, the England of dappled sunlight through greenwoods, whitewashed cottages and many turreted castles. Tony Curtis and Janet Leigh are full of youth and vigor defending the crown and justice and the American dream (pardon). The film moves at a good pace and the action sequences are exciting and well staged by James Havens. Of course its not everyones cup of tea, no swearing, no sex and no gore but it is a classic of the swashbuckler genre and should be viewed as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Black Shield of Falworth, 16 Oct 2009
By 
J. Hayes "widescreen fan" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very pleasant surprise indeed to find this film getting the High Definition treatment. The Black Shield of Falworth has been long sought after by collectors and yet has never been given a decent release in any format - until now. Eureka have excelled themselves with this beautiful transfer on Blu-ray. Colour, sound and picture are all excellent and, most importantly, the film is in its correct CinemaScope aspect ratio at long last. The case even features the original Reynold Brown poster art. An absolute bargain at the price and an essential purchase for any fan of the Golden Age of Widescreen - the 1950s. Keep it up, Eureka!

John Hayes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Black Cheese of Falworth, 16 Jan 2010
By 
Thomas Kane (Chicago, Illinois) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Black Shield Of Falworth [DVD] [1954] (DVD)
It doesn't take much knowledge of film history to suss out exactly what type of film we're presented with here.

Since it was produced in the U.S. in the mid-50's, we're safe in assuming that it's not all that creditable as a source of historical edification. Also, from seeing Tony Curtis' name slotted in the lead, we can expect that it wasn't entirely an a-list vehicle, (despite the fact that this film served as the first outing in the use of Cinemascope). And, since the movie was directed by a man more famed amongst professionals as a cameraman than he is recognizable to the layman as a director, we can deduce this is a movie prettier to look at than it is to enjoy as a narrative.

But really, those are all of the cons, and on the happier side of criticism there are a few merits to tag onto it as well.

In the instances where scenes are played for cheek rather than tat earnest, there are a few good laughs to be found, (and almost all have to do with the Leigh character). Additionally, the film is quite beautifully lit, and the color work is particularly smart for its period, (although you can tell Mate isn't quite that comfortable in arranging his compositions for this new ratio). And lastly, while it's a minor point that probably wouldn't be considered a plus by all, I take some pleasure in noting that the chain-mail blouse Leigh sports in one scene must have been very cold indeed, as it comes to two sharp points in a way that's bound to claim the attentions of most, (if not all) heterosexual men. For America in the 1950's, this had to be scandalous, (although you'll hear no complaints from me) and I wouldn't be surprised to learn that it sparked some consternation back in the day.

All told, if you're a fan of this period of films, and looking for an unassuming G-rated diversion, that's exactly what you'll find. If you're looking for something that approximates the virtues of the Michael Curtiz/Errol Flynn "Adventures of Robin Hood", you'll be disappointed.

As a note to those who pay special mind to picture quality, I have the standard def DVD edition, and have to say that while this comes from Eureka, it doesn't seem to equal the quality of the Masters of Cinema DVD's in terms of sharpness of transfer, (the resolution seems rather soft). So if you have access to a blu-ray player, I'm sure it's worth the added investment of one pound to go for that edition instead--especially as neither edition offers special features of any kind.

Before closing, though, I would like to add that, in honor of director Rudolph Mate, anyone interested in the history and craft of cinema should look up his credits as cinematographer at imdb; they run from Dreyer's "The Passion of Joan of Arc", (as well as "Michael" and "Vampyr") to Orson Welles' "Lady from Shanghai". Between those, there are outings with Hitchcock, ("Foreign Correspondent") Lubitsch, ("To Be or Not to Be") and others, (including "Pride of the Yankees").

Comparing Mate's work, even in "Falworth", against Guy Ritchie's recent "Sherlock Holmes" flic, (which I've seen recently at the theatre, and confess to having enjoyed somewhat) it's disheartening to see what's been lost in sacrificing artful lighting for the sake of digital imagery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the wow factor, 6 Nov 2009
By 
D. Lloyd "luvmovie" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie was made in 1954, YES 1954, IT IS AN ABSOLUTE MARVEL THAT THIS FILM HAS LASTED IN SUCH A PIN SHARP CONDITION, I LOVED IT TOOK ME BACK TO THE GOOD DAY WHEN ALL THE FAMILY COULD GO TOGETHER, A CAST OF THOUSANDS, A CAST OF GREAT STARS,FANTASTIC COLOUR, PLEASE PLEASE MAKE SURE U GET A COPY,I HAVE WATCHED IT FOUR TIMES ALREADY ,Im told it was the first CINEMASCOPE movie, but u may say otherwise, well if u miss this release your collection will be missing a land mark, sit back and enjoy..(I MIGHT MAKE IT FIVE)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CINEMASCOPE 2.35.1, 29 Sep 2009
By 
Paul Scott (CENTRAL COAST,, N.S.W. Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great print for The Black Shield of Falworth.
It looks like its a brand new HI-DEF master from Universal,being there first Cinemascope film.
Very fine grain structure
GREAT FILM FROM THE 50's.
Beautiful Colour full 2.35.1 Ratio.
Very Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but goody, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased this for my grandson who is into all things knights. He is only 5 so a U certificate was essential. Its pure cheese but has matured well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Black Shield Of Falworth [DVD] [1954]
The Black Shield Of Falworth [DVD] [1954] by Rudolph Maté (DVD - 2008)
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews