Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for travellers
I bought this for one reason. When travelling, I was forever missing shots whilst fumbling to change from the wide angle kit lens to my Sigma telephoto. This lens gives you the complete range of the two so you don't have to miss a shot without the risk of dust getting into the camera body while exposed.

Purists will argue that there are lens aberrations at...
Published on 21 Feb 2011 by P. F. Barrett

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great lense, but too loose
great lense, great photos, but the zoom is a bit too loose, so that if you hold camera in your hand and point downwards it will slide down (ie zooming in). shoudl be stiffer.
Published 7 months ago by Jan Janssen


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

94 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for travellers, 21 Feb 2011
By 
P. F. Barrett "paulbarrett12" (Hexham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS (Accessory)
I bought this for one reason. When travelling, I was forever missing shots whilst fumbling to change from the wide angle kit lens to my Sigma telephoto. This lens gives you the complete range of the two so you don't have to miss a shot without the risk of dust getting into the camera body while exposed.

Purists will argue that there are lens aberrations at the extremes of wide-angle and zoom. This may be true, but for the majority of users this will not be an issue and is more than compensated by the ability to do it all out of one lens. After all if you miss a shot because of changing lenses, lens aberrations are irrelevant. I cannot see any defects in the shots I have taken.

Others have spoken about the lens extending under its own weight, and this is true. However, you quickly learn to carry the camera by the lens or flick the zoom lock switch on /off with your middle / third finger so this really is not an issue.

In addition, the image stabilisation built into the lens can also sharpen images, reducing the need for a tripod - although that's still a necessity for extreme zoom and low light. Finally your camera bag will be a lot lighter, because you can leave the separate wide angle and zoom lenses behind. This lens is now permanently on my camera (Canon EOS) 450D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


163 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good lens...does what it should., 14 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS (Accessory)
I'm only writing this to correct any mis-representation in previous reviews. Some people only write to complain...and aren't using the product correctly. This is a compromise lens, designed to cover a wide and commonly used focal range. As such it can't be optically 'perfect' but for the majority of peoples needs I believe it does the job superbly. I'm more than impressed with its optical performance. What it does provide is convenience and speed, great for taking those opportunist pictures that all too often seem to vanish whilst fiddling to change to other lenses of different focal length. It will be great for traveling and holidays as a 'one only' lens.
The image stabilisation is impressive and also works well with panning. Autofocus is fast although it lacks USM...which would have cost more. The build quality is much better than I expected...it is surprisingly chunky and weighty...and there are no untoward rattles! As stated, the image quality is good.
If I had one criticism it's a general Canon one...they never supply a lens hood for the price (unlike Nikon), and the lens specific hoods are always ridiculously over-priced for bits of plastic. Canon take note!
'Zoom creep' as described by another reviwer isn't really an issue, any more than with any other weighty zoom lens...even of 'L' quality. A zoom lock is built into the lens if required. I must say I haven't had to use it.
I have already had a photograph on local television with this lens within a couple of days of owning it. I think it's great...and no regrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent general-purpose lens, 7 Mar 2010
By 
Hunkie Chunks (Darlington, Durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS (Accessory)
I was looking for a lens that could be left on-camera pretty much full-time; one that covered the full range of focal lengths I felt I needed. The 18~200 EF-S is just such a lens, and given its wide zoom range it still manages to be reasonably 'fast' too. The disappointment of it not being a USM ring motor design faded quickly once I discovered how fast focusing is with this lens. Subjects instantly snap into focus. I haven't had the opportunity to try it with other camera bodies, but I doubt it would be sluggish on any other model.
The image stabilization is very impressive. It's so cool when you press the shutter-release half way and the jittery viewfinder image solidifies, or at least becomes more treacle-like. It won't make your tripod redundant, but it does improve handheld shooting considerably, especially at the 200mm end.
The lens does extend under its own weight, but why would this be a problem to anyone? Adding this lens to your camera does make it a heavy combination, so you'll likely be holding it by the lens as well as the camera anyway.
I haven't held the lens up to the rigeur of scientific scrutiny as far as optical performance goes. That's not really my thing. Life's too short. A very slight barrel distortion in my pics of Torremolinos wouldn't cause me any sleepless nights. I've taken lots of pictures with this lens and I'm more than happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great general purpose lens, 19 Mar 2009
By 
Kham Tran (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS (Accessory)
I recenltly purchased the Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS as a replacment for the EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 kit lens that came with my Canon EOS 450D. The build quality is very good especially compared to kit lens which feels a lot cheaper by comparison. The auto focus speed is reasonable, IS is excellent and the wide focal length zoom range very useful.

I see that a lot of people are compaining about the lens self-extending under its own weight. It personally doesn't bother me too much. Holding the zoom ring in place does the job. Plus the zoom lock is handy when the camera isn't being used.

All in all, a great general purpose lens for the money considering the wide zoom range available and reasonable optical quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great All-Purpose Lens!, 18 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS (Accessory)
I got myself the Canon 18-200mm lens as a replacement for the 18-135mm lens that was part of the EOS 550D kit I bought a few months ago. I wanted to expand the range of the zoom because sometimes I would get a bit frustrated when trying to zoom in on details or far objects and the 135mm just wasn't enough to satisfy my eye.

First impressions: tough built, heavier than the 135mm but somehow feels less bulky, fills the hand (is a wider 72mm).
The first time you try to zoom in you have to remember that it has a lock in place that you need to unlock (lower right side of the lens), which I find great for stopping the lens extending itself when I put it in the bag or take it out of it. That used to happen to me all the time with the 135.
Also for the first few days zooming in and out will require a bit more of a forceful action, until the zoom gets more "used to it" and the movement will get quicker.
The zooming, even then, is always perfectly fluid though.

The images I got so far are of daylight photography, I haven't tested it at night yet.
The results are stunning for a lens with this price tag: crisp images, handles the light perfectly, I have noticed no chromatic aberrations at any focal length or aperture. The bokeh is very pleasant to the eye.
The Image Stabiliser works wonders at the 200mm end of the zoom, taking sharp photos of faraway objects or details of closer ones.
The focusing is fast and not as loud as I expected it to be due to the lack of USM. In fact it is easily drowned by the buzz of the average day out in the city.

So far I am properly impressed by the quality that went into this lens, and since it covers such a great range, it's definitely not coming off my 550D any time soon. You would be forced to search quite a while to find a better lens for the 18-200mm zoom range. I am recommending it without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canon 18-200mm, 16 Nov 2008
This review is from: Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS (Accessory)
Canon have at last created a genuine all purpose lens. The image quality is first rate for a lens with this range but there are some misgivings. The lens does extend and retract under its own weight when pointed up or down though this will not be a problem for me and there is a lens lock to stop this happening in transit. The centre image quality is excellent though needs stopping down a little for edge sharpness. I would heartily recommend this lens as a holiday/ General purpose lens but the cost is rather high and it is definitely no L lens. The IS is superb when the light is not too good and though quite fast the USM would have been a welcome addition. All in all good to very good but not stella.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 18 to 200mm Canon lens, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS (Accessory)
Glad I bought this lens to take on recent holiday - very versatile, it was the only lens I used for everything from landscapes to birds to action photos when dog sledding - not too big to carry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 17 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS (Accessory)
i love this product
looks a little big on my canon 400d but with a battery grip to balance it out it looks better
my photography has got a lot better just because of this lens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far better than I thought it would be !, 18 April 2012
This review is from: Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS (Accessory)
I bought this lens to go with a 7D ... and have been really impressed. It is not quite as well made as some or as solid but where it matters - in image quality, it is superb !

Maybe I have a good one but I have tried it alongside a 15-85 EFS lens and though that is sharper it is not by much. When you consider this is an 18-200 that is pretty good. I have used a Tamron version and this is optically far superior.

I have also compared this lens with my 5D Mk II + 24-105. A brief test showed barely any difference in image quality at "105" ... I was really impressed. I use the 5D for weddings with my wife who is a professional and bought the 7D and this lens for holidays ... but it surpasses my expectations - which is good. I didn't think this lens would compare at all with a 24-105L.

The lens does extend on it's own a bit which is a pain - but not to the amount I thought, having read reviews. If it is at 18mm it stays put - its after that when it zooms out of it's own accord.

Weight wise it is light and size wise it is not much bigger to carry around that my 15-85. Focus is quick but slightly noisier and rougher than ultrasonic motor lenses. I have had no problems with low light focus on a 7D and images are, as I have said, very sharp.

It doesn't come with a lens hood - I just bought a cheap one off ebay for 5 and that seems 80% as good as the Canon offering which is about 35.

I would recommend anyone thinking of this lens to give it a go ... if my example is anything to go by it punches well above it's weight !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canon 18-200mm, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS (Accessory)
I bought one of these in July 2011. It has not been off the camera since, as it is the most useful general purpose lens I have ever had. The optical quality is fine throughout the range (for my purposes) but there is noticeable shading in the corners at the 200mm end, but this can be corrected in Photoshop.

Before buying I read reviews where users were complaining about the "lens creep" - the zoom slipping out when the camera was held vertically. Initially this does not happen, but over time the mechanism loosens up and now it is a bit of a nuisance. You can't swing the camera over your should without the lens extending fully with a worrying "clack", and I have tried to think of some fix to stop this happening to no avail. Carrying the camera in hand, I've developed the trick of keeping one finger on the lens to hold the zoom in. It would be nice if Canon could come up with some sort of retrofit mod to prevent this problem - we've spent enough on the product!

Otherwise though, if the camera is in a case, there's no problem and I can highly recommend this lens. the above problem makes it 4 not 5 stars.

For general trips I carry the camera (Canon 400D), this lens and a Sigma 10-20mm zoom - a lightweight collection that covers just about all scenarios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
410.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews