Customer Reviews


234 Reviews
5 star:
 (157)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


504 of 523 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thinner Feeling, Longer Lasting, 2 New Buttons, Built-in Speaker
I reviewed the 1st generation iPod touch back in December 2007. The iPod touch has certainly come a long way since then. The iPod touch runs the same operating system as the iPhone, which is now up to version 2.1. iPhone OS 2.1 runs very smoothly, with fast installation of apps, minimal input lag, faster automatic backups in iTunes, and excellent stability...
Published on 18 Sep 2008 by Alan

versus
60 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NICE BUT TAKE CARE OF IT!!
Son got one just after Christmas. He bought case and screen protector to protect his investment. Very nice product which he spent many hours playing games, music etc etc.

After just over a month it started switching off anytime you touched a button - including volume. Took it back to Argos who duly sent it away. Two weeks later, it came back un-repaired...
Published on 25 Feb 2009 by Neil J


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

504 of 523 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thinner Feeling, Longer Lasting, 2 New Buttons, Built-in Speaker, 18 Sep 2008
By 
Alan (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Apple iPod Touch 8GB 2nd Generation (Electronics)
I reviewed the 1st generation iPod touch back in December 2007. The iPod touch has certainly come a long way since then. The iPod touch runs the same operating system as the iPhone, which is now up to version 2.1. iPhone OS 2.1 runs very smoothly, with fast installation of apps, minimal input lag, faster automatic backups in iTunes, and excellent stability.

With the 2nd generation iPod touch hardware, it is clear that Apple DO listen to their customers. Make no mistake, the 1st generation hardware was and still is excellent. But no product is perfect, and there's always room for improvement. So how is the 2nd generation iPod touch hardware different from the 1st generation? How is it better?

Thickness was never a problem with the 1st generation iPod touch. After all, how much thinner than 8mm do you need a pocket computer to be? Well, despite Steve Jobs saying "it's even thinner", the 2nd generation iPod touch is actually thicker. Yes, thicker. It's 8.5mm thick in the centre. However, it feels thinner in your hand because of the contoured design, borrowed from the iPhone 3G. Apple's big thing in 2008 is eliminating the sides of products, and replacing them with swooping curves that taper to a soft point. For the iPod touch this is a good thing, because it feels less hard and angular in your hand, making it far more comfortable to hold.

The Battery Life of the 1st generation iPod touch was already good at 24 hours for Audio, and 7 hours for Video. The 2nd generation iPod touch dramatically improves on Audio, now at 36 hours, but mysteriously drops 1 hour for Video, down to 6 hours.

The biggest problem for me, with the 1st generation iPod touch, was the lack of physical buttons. How many Consumer Electronics products can you think of that only have 2 buttons? It's a miracle the 1st generation iPod touch did what it did (e.g. Mail, Internet, YouTube, Maps) with just 2 buttons! However, changing the volume of your Music was unnecessarily awkward. First you'd have to tap the Home button to wake the iPod touch from sleep, then you'd have to double-tap it again to bring up the iPod Controls, then you'd have to slide your finger across the screen to operate the virtual volume slider. Fortunately, Apple have overcome their fear of buttons and actually added a physical rocker-switch to the side of the iPod touch. Press one end to increase the volume instantly, and press the other end to decrease it. Genius :-)

Let's be clear, the 2nd generation iPod touch still comes with Apple's normal, no-frills iPod Earphones. However, it will also work with Apple's brand new 19.00 Earphones with Remote and Mic. These are brilliant and actually an improvement over what's shipped with the iPhone 3G. There's a tiny white "block" on the cord of the Earphones that contains 3 buttons and 1 microphone. Squeeze the centre button and you can pause your Music. Squeeze it again and you can continue playing your Music. Double-squeeze it and you can skip forward to the Next track. Triple-squeeze it and you can skip back to the Previous track. The hidden microphone may not seem particuarly interesting at present. But it's worth noting, with this piece of hardware, the iPod touch is all-set to become a VOIP Wi-Fi Phone. All it needs is a Skype app on the App Store! While you wait for the official one, try Fring instead, which is free.

Finally, anyone that's used an iPhone will appreciate how useful it is having a built-in speaker. It's fun for playing video games, it's sociable for watching videos with friends, and it's essential for apps such as the French Talking Phrasebook. Well, the 2nd generation iPod touch now has a built-in speaker. The catch is, the speaker isn't as good as the one in the iPhone 3G. It's completely internal, with no visible hole or port, so the quality of the sound is weaker and tinnier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


272 of 285 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An OBJECTIVE plus (+) and minus (-) review. Please read this if you're making up your mind., 5 Jan 2009
This review is from: Apple iPod Touch 8GB 2nd Generation (Electronics)
This is an impartial review based on my experience of the iPod Touch 2nd Generation, and other Personal Media Players.

Strengths:

+ WiFi and Safari Browser. Superb mobile browsing experience. For example, you can stream BBC iPlayer to the Touch perfectly. A real joy.

+ Youtube widget for playback of youtube videos.

+ Integrated Nike + Support, so that you can use the device as a training tool for exercise.

+ App Store. You can download from thousands of Apps on iTunes, including games, and stream internet radio, for instance.

+ Superb capacitive glass touch screen. Older touch screens use `resistive' technology. These work on a different principle, and are less responsive. (The Archos 5 uses a resistive screen. The Cowon S9, however, uses a capacitive one like the iPod Touch).

+ Incredible User Interface. Beautifully conceived and implemented. Music and Videos are organised with an astonishing attention to the user's goals, and you regularly feel that Apple designers have read your mind when you go about tasks.

Here's an example: you wish to download a podcast. You go to an internet address in Safari. Safari automatically grabs the address, boots you into iTunes (on the device itself), and takes you to the podcast listing within the iTunes store. Two more clicks and you're downloading your content. That's the way things should be done.

+ Advantages over the previous generation include a dedicated volume rocker, slightly more curvaceous design, slightly improved battery life, integrated Nike + support and mini speaker.

Weaknesses:

- Very, very average sound quality. Now it is a mystery to me why so many users and reviewers overlook this issue. Having owned the Touch, I have come to the conclusion that it is stylish Swiss Army Knife whose MAIN BLADE is blunt.

It is true that many people will have no issue with the sound quality probably because their only reference point to the world of personal media players is the iPod brand. This is useful ignorance, because I would challenge anyone not to be thoroughly crestfallen with the sound of this device compared to something as cheap yet beautiful sounding as the Sansa Clip.

- Video playback. If you are happy to be locked into the iTunes universe, then you will love this device. You will endlessly pay for movies and will enjoy them on this device. If like me, however, you like to play your own physical DVDs in DivX format,in addition to a range of movie files in various formats and codecs, then the Touch is simply not your friend. It only supports a few video codecs, which means as a device for video playback, it is somewhat paralysed.

- Terrible battery life. Three hours of mixed use, and the Touch is wheezing for a recharge. It's great being a Jack of all trades, but Jack gets tired rather too quickly sometimes!

- Being `locked in' to iTunes. There are some Apple hating brand lunatics who simply disparage anything Apple for the sake of it. For me, I feel that iTunes is an excellent software (especially on a Mac) but it is also limiting. With iTunes organising my device, I can't just drag and drop files onto the Touch, and this is a bit of a pain. But you may feel different, so this one is up in the air...

Conclusion and buying advice:

Having owned it, the Touch is either superb or mediocre depending on whether you wish to buy it as 1) your mini WiFi web browser with an App Store, or as 2) your multimedia player.

1) As a mini browser, it is excellent. Browse the web, download podcasts, stream iPlayer, etc. (But remember, when you're not near a WiFi signal, none of these capabilities count for anything).

2) But as a genuine media playback device, it just does not cut the mustard. Think of it as a second rank device in a field of stellar performers. The sound quality for music playback is just average, and in some cases, embarrassing when listened to devices made by Cowon, Sansa, iRiver and Sony. And its Video playback is equally crippled by its lack of codec support.

So what is the bottom line?

Well, I owned this device but decided to sell it when I bought a 20 Sansa Clip and stopped listening to music on it because the sound quality was so much superior on the Sansa. This is not hyperbole, and I do not hate Apple. In fact, I love Apple, so do take this as objective advice.

I simply realised that my priority was sound and video quality, and that I would get all of the extra features of the Touch most important to me (namely WiFi and a stunning User Interface) when I buy a Macbook in the future.

I have since purchased a Cowon O2, which is a stellar sounding device (admittedly without the Touch's `extra' features) but in a league of its own in terms of sound quality for music playback, and movie playback. (It supports a cornucopia of music and video files and in this regard is a much more accomplished device).

So then, what are you after?

A mini WiFi enabled device with music/video as an extra? Well then buy the Touch! Go for it. You'll love it and enjoy its brilliance.

But if the answer is an audiophile experience of sound and video, do not buy this device. Start investigating a Cowon O2 or S9, or an iRiver Spinn.

Hope this helps.

- Written by a non-partisan audiophile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


144 of 154 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shop around..., 20 Oct 2008
By 
tallpete33 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Apple iPod Touch 8GB 2nd Generation (Electronics)
Fabulous bit of kit, so cool and useable you'll be kicking yourself for not buying one a long time ago. Music, dozens of downloadable apps (some free, some to buy), games and wi-fi make this a must have for the home and the train. It is definitely worth investing in better headphones - have you noticed how they always have Bose cans with the demo models in Apple stores?

Be careful when purchasing as some retailers are still selling the first generation version at full price, as experienced by several customers. However, Apple must take some of the blame for not making the later versions very different to the untrained eye.

For the record, the main differences between the newer an older version are:

Longer battery life
External speaker
External volume buttons (these visually distinguish it from the 1G model)
Slightly slimmer
Updated software

Anyway, the earlier (1G) version is being heavily discounted by some sellers. Now costing not that much more than the tiny (non-touch) screened 4G Nano, it is an absolute steal but you may have to hunt one down....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NICE BUT TAKE CARE OF IT!!, 25 Feb 2009
This review is from: Apple iPod Touch 8GB 2nd Generation (Electronics)
Son got one just after Christmas. He bought case and screen protector to protect his investment. Very nice product which he spent many hours playing games, music etc etc.

After just over a month it started switching off anytime you touched a button - including volume. Took it back to Argos who duly sent it away. Two weeks later, it came back un-repaired because the liquid indicator (inside the headphone socket) was pink and Apple will not touch it - 'xcuse the pun - if the indicator is pink.

So assuming that the "very accurate indicator" (as Apple describe it) is what they say (!!), the only possibility is that some dampness occurred when it was heavy rain one day and it was in his Sprayway jacket pocket. If this is it, then I would suggest that the product is not fit for purpose. I am not aware that Apple state you can only use in dry weather, not in a bathroom, not during the months of December to March (August to June if you live in Scotland like me).

This product is really good and a joy to use, but if it needs kept in a hermetically sealed environment, then it's not really much use for the very market it sells to.

So buy it but take very good care of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LISTEN to it before you buy !!!, 14 Sep 2009
This review is from: Apple iPod Touch 8GB 2nd Generation (Electronics)
I purchased one of these for our daughter & as we have various other ipods thought it was a good choice. Initially the excellent touch screen & operating system blew us away but then I plugged some decent phones into it. Oh deary me !! the sound is at best mediocre & absolutely rubbish at worst ; even the budget ipod shuffle sounds much much better. Many people seem to be undyingly loyal to the Apple brand & are getting carried away with the technology, but come on Apple this simply is not good enough ~ why compromise the sound to pay for the screen ? It could have been so good, lets just hope the next gen sounds better.

PS. If you're unsure about the sound issue take some good headphones into the Apple shop & compare it to any standard ipod; if you can live with the sound quality it's an ultimate gadget for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Quality Piece of Technology, 2 Mar 2009
By 
N. Slatford "Azriel6290" (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apple iPod Touch 8GB 2nd Generation (Electronics)
Having recently switched over from PCs to Macs, I found Macs to be a much better all round computer, I had never really given Apple as a brand much thought, but the iMac proved to me that they were a decent company with the ability to produce decent computers. I soon after purchased an iPod Nano, I continued to be impressed by the Apple brand.

So I then, quite recently, made the decision to invest in a 2G 8Gb iPod Touch. Both of my parents have one and after spending a few hours on my mum's iPod I was hooked. The things this thing can do makes this an extremely useful piece of kit.

The Touch comes (as all previous iPods do) neatly packaged in a hard plastic container, within you will find the iPod (obviously), headphones, USB cable, cleaning cloth and quick start guide. Setting up is a breeze, just plug the iPod in and it will auto detect iTunes. Once booted, iTunes will sync it and allow you to register, this is quick and painless, taking mere minutes. Once you are synced, you may be asked to download and install updates, no problems here. Once you are finished setting up, you can begin transferring your music, videos and photos across. This is easy, just drag and drop and is quick with minimal hassle.

The OS of the iPod is intuitive and easy to use, there aren't menus buried within menus to navigate, and the touch screen controls are ever so responsive, even I found typing easy and my fingers aren't very nimble. Everything is laid out nicely, and their little things such as clever little visual effects and general aesthetics add to the fun. You can access the App store from the main menu, and browse through loads of apps, music, videos etc. Downloading them is easy, some are free, others cost to download, but this is usually a very small amount and your enjoyment won't be impaired if you don't pay for the apps.

The device supports Javascript, has a built in web browser that is a pleasure to use, e-mail client that can be synched with any e-mail address you may have, YouTube support, games, apps, music, videos etc. The touch screen controls are complemented with an accelerometer (much like the six axis controller for the Ps3) which makes gaming especially fun. The iPod itself is of a pleasant design, though it can be easy to drop so some form of silicone cover is advised to provide grip, this also protects the iPod from sweaty hands and general dirt and grime. Battery life is decent, if you are playing music expect it to last a while, videos, apps, games and internet naturally drain the power quicker, but even so, you should get at least 5-6 hours out of it. Charging is a simple matter of plugging it into your computer, or any other compatible charging dock.

While it doesn't support Flash, this isn't a huge issue, as it more then makes up for it in other areas. I would highly recommend the Touch to anybody considering purchasing one - it is more then just an MP3 player, it is a full on media player and PDA all rolled into one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My First bite of the Apple and I'm touched by its Quality, 18 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iPod Touch 8GB 2nd Generation (Electronics)
I have always been a Sony media player person and for a while I have been tempted to try an iPod. I kept checking out the iTouch and when I did go for this it was of course the 2nd Generation.

I have to say I am very impressed with its build quality and its features. There are also a surprising amount of free Apps you can download from iTunes direct to the iTouch and I have quite a few. I did buy a slim leather case to help protect it and its a shame it does not come with one but all the same it is such an amazing device.

Easy to configure to a Wi-Fi network to browse the web. I'm still finding out things it can do each week and would have to say its the best thing on the market if you want a music/video/internet device then this is it as you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have PDA/MP3 player!, 17 Oct 2008
By 
Roy Riley (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iPod Touch 8GB 2nd Generation (Electronics)
Bought the new ipod touch (8GB) and am delighted with it. Fantastic features and very intuitive touch screen. Would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.
There are a host of useful software applications available from itunes (many of them are free!!) together with many accessories from Apple and independent suppliers.
The back of the ipod touch has a very attractive chrome finish but it is easily scratched so you would be advised to purchase a leather case to protect it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Value!, 9 Jan 2009
This review is from: Apple iPod Touch 8GB 2nd Generation (Electronics)
I ordered my iPod Touch on Wednesday evening at aroun 6pm. Amazon, being as outstanding as they are, had it at my door 9.30am the next morning. I was, and still am, playing with it and all its apps and functions. I have been playing many free apps and had a lot of fun. I haven't even really heard much music coming out of it, but what I have heard the speakers are excellent, and with the headphones even better!

I strongly suggest you purchase this as you will gain hours of fun from it! But i advise you to purchase a cheap silicone case for it, as the back gets fingerprints everywhere! No need to buy a screen cover, because the screen cloth that it comes with is excellent!

Hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars News Flash: Apples Solves World Boredom?, 2 May 2009
By 
S. Butcher (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iPod Touch 8GB 2nd Generation (Electronics)
100 reviews, mostly positive, but hey, here's another!

However, unlike a lot of the other reviews, I'll start with the negatives to this device, so you're not completely sold on the positives.

- Battery life. This is quite a major flaw, so much so that it's been said that in the iPod Touch 3G version of the future, the battery is to be upgraded as a top priority. If you *try* use it regularly over a one-day period, switching between different apps, the full battery will last around 3 hours absolute max. Which is poor, and hope it's at least tripled in the next version.

- Method of charge. You can only charge it through your computer via USB, unless you purchase a USB plug that you slot into your electrical mains (like a phone charger), which costs around 8. This means you can't charge it overnight unless you leave your computer on. That being said, it only takes a few hours to fully charge, which makes up for this downside.

- WiFi Requirement. Although having free on-the-go Internet is fantastic, a lot of the apps (besides a lot of arcade games and organizer tools) require an Internet connection, which is a problem since WiFi spots aren't always accessible. When you have WiFi available, you have the greatest hand-held device on earth. When you don't, you better have a ton of offline games installed to amuse you! Tip: McDonalds usually has WiFi. There's some knowledge for you fast-food lovers!

- iTunes. The most unbelievably annoying software I've ever used and the only Apple computer software I've used. This is just from my experience, perhaps others have found iTunes to be simple and usable, but I haven't. It's incredibly slow and stutters (and I have 3.25GB maxed out memory). I can't upload any music or video without iTunes wanting to "re-sync" (or plain language - delete) all my apps, which happened once. When I ask it to upload music or video, it insists on syncing my apps too, so I decided to, to see if it was deceiving me. It erased half of my apps, which I had to re-download from the App Store, and it did this before uploading my music. I stopped the process when I became too paranoid, and rightfully slow. iTunes = horrible software, and I was using it correctly (un-ticking the "sync apps" button and executing, just wouldn't work).

Now for the long over-due positive points to this amazing device.

- Boredom is Impossible. When you have the Internet available, this is the only thing that will truly satisfy you on every possible level (with the exception of the iPhone =P). All-access Internet browsing, common web-based applications including Facebook, YouTube, MySpace, eBay, Paypal, Skype and Wikipedia, e-mail, instant messenger, music, video, photos, radio, television (including BBC iPlayer), tons of online and offline games, GPS maps (including Google Earth) and so much more. You don't have to find these things on the Internet, they come as typical applications you download from the AppStore. It is, quite simply, a hand-held computer. No other way of saying it.

- Practicality. The first thing you will notice, above everything else, is the beauty of the graphics of the menu screen and the usability of the touch-screen. A lot of people are skeptical over touch-screen devices, saying they're unreliable and sensitive. The iTouch is so easy to navigate with it's unreal. You can't accidentally do something or open something by pressing the screen too much, it's just right. You can browse the menu screen by a flick of a nail and you don't need to leave a massive finger smudge on the screen to open an app. Everything is right.

- Organiser. This isn't just a funky device to entertain a two-year-old, this is also a very serious PDA. You can typically store your friends' contact details, e-mail, weather, calendar, notes, calculator etc. If you're a business fellow, this beats any bog-standard PDA you'll find for 20.

- Look & Feel. It fits right in your palm, doesn't feel uncomfortable to hold (especially if you buy a rubber case to protect it for 3), it fits in your pocket and won't feel bulky. Don't worry about getting fingerprints and screeches on the screen, they're hardly noticeable. Graphically, you can't get any better than the iTouch. The menu is gorgeous, every single app has been designed to be completely usable with easy-function menu screens and buttons and still keep it looking sharp. It's truly stunning.

- Internet Browsing - Couldn't be easier. You'd think that squeezing a massive website onto such a small screen would be impractical and irritating, right? No and no. Typical websites are conveniently squeezed into the screen space and still look magnificent. You can zoom in and out with ease by 'pinching' the screen in and out. And the best part is, a lot of high-end websites including Google, various Web Messenger's, YouTube, Facebook and AutoTrader have their own iPhone/iTouch versions of the website, to be more compact and suitable for the screen size.

No, it's not just an MP3 player. No, it's not just a web browser. And no, it's not just a miniature games console. It's a combination of all three and so much more. If you have 150 to spend, on anything, you'd be a fool not to invest in one of these.

Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apple iPod Touch 8GB 2nd Generation
Used & New from: 29.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews