Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarity and depth
I haven't read all of this book yet, but it certainly has impressed me so far. As a writer Covington has that ability to communicate very well and has a evident passion for his subject. He has an academic disciplined quality to his style which is necessary for a technical subject like this (which is missing from Seip's book), but without drifting off into abstruse...
Published on 7 Mar 2009 by Odysseus

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good place to start
This book will be of help if you are just starting to use a DSLR. It has some great hints a tips for both Canon and Nikon cameras. However if you already know your camera really well and have had some experience taking astrophotographs then I would probably look for another book. It could also do with an update as the section on focusing does not include the latest and...
Published on 6 Sep 2009 by Mr. A. D. Oakley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarity and depth, 7 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't read all of this book yet, but it certainly has impressed me so far. As a writer Covington has that ability to communicate very well and has a evident passion for his subject. He has an academic disciplined quality to his style which is necessary for a technical subject like this (which is missing from Seip's book), but without drifting off into abstruse theoreticals. He keeps things on a down-to-earth simple-to-grasp basis which I find very refreshing given the possibilities for confusion. Diagrams are clear and informative, and cover areas I've never seen in other books - like single page diagrams showing all the camera coupling methods, lens configurations or telescope types. Equations and concepts are backed up by real examples and data. There's plenty of nice astro photos showing the results of all this hard work too.

I bought this on the strength of his original astrophotography book which was geared towards film, with a brief mention of digital imaging at the end of that.

The only regret, mentioned by another review is the lack of colour plates, but this isn't a serious concern for me, so this gets five stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good place to start, 6 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. A. D. Oakley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book will be of help if you are just starting to use a DSLR. It has some great hints a tips for both Canon and Nikon cameras. However if you already know your camera really well and have had some experience taking astrophotographs then I would probably look for another book. It could also do with an update as the section on focusing does not include the latest and best method (Bahtinov mask). Having said that this book is well worth having as part of your astrophotography reference library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for a Novice DSLR owner or new to Astrophotography, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. S. Howley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm new to DSLR Camera's and to Astrophotography and was expecting a book full of useful tips about how to set up my camera how take pictures of objects in the sky. There are some helpful hints and tips but not enough to satisfy this hungry novice. A lot of the book is about technical issues on the camera, lens and how the sensor works and the software available to work on your pictures once taken. I wanted more basic stuff and this book did not satisfy this need. Its more for the experienced camera user and astrophotograher in my opinion. Example from the book about focussing the camera say's its frustrating for those new to the hobby but offers very little help. The book is expensive for what it offers.

So it will now be added to my shelf of books only to come out once I've mastered my camera and to some extent had some experience of taking astro pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book, 21 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's only not 5 stars because it is quite expensive but the author is a true expert in this field and you're sure to learn something useful from reading this fascinating book. JP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading..., 1 Feb 2013
By 
L. F. Dutton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just come back to astronomy after many years and things have certainly moved on. 40 years ago astrophotography was limited to those with access to the big 'scopes and decent developing systems. The digital camera has changed it all.

I am still working my way through this book, but I have tried some of the ideas Covington discusses....and they work.

The book is well written for both beginner and advanced. The explanations are clear and precise and they review different approaches. They also review why some of the cameras have developed their various formats and technologies.

The book is written around the use of a Cannon EOS and the Nikon, but do not let that put you off. For me it is great as I use an older Cannon 400D but the ideas can be applied to any camera.

The software section is also very good. How to handle digital images to get the best out of them, again with clear explanations.

If you are interested in trying astrophotography then buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DSLR Astrophotography, 6 May 2012
This review is from: Digital SLR Astrophotography (Practical Amateur Astronomy) (Kindle Edition)
This is a useful book which covers the main points for the technical aspects of astrophotography. The author assumes you have an equatorial mount, the setting up of which he covers in an earlier book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enlightened, 18 Nov 2010
The best practical DSLR astro imaging book for amateurs on the market and it just brings out that astrophotographer in all of us.
great buy, great book, great tutorials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Great present for those interested in both photography and astrology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Essential guide..., 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly informative and great guide
It takes you from beginner to advanced and advises on accessories
Written in easy to understand language...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Peter (hampshire, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative and a great read. Lots of examples and pictures included and deals with all types of astrophotography from basic to really complicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews