Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lego batman
I wasn't sure what to expect from lego batman as I'm not a fan of the films, but I gave it a try anyway as I previously purchased lego Indiana Jones and loved it. I was pleasently surprised with lego batman. It's fun and for the DS it has good graphics. There are 30 levels to play and you can blay as the hero and save gotham streets or you can play as the villan and make...
Published on 20 Oct 2008 by Hayley Jackson

versus
45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a trip to the Batcave
Lego Batman is a good pick-up for DS owners, thanks to its numerous playable characters, slick-looking graphics and cool LEGO effects. You wander through Gotham City beating up bad guys, and in typical LEGO video game fashion, collecting bricks and building stuff, making it a fun adventure for all ages.

Of course, it wouldn't be a LEGO video game without...
Published on 13 Oct 2008 by Gary Hilton


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a trip to the Batcave, 13 Oct 2008
By 
Gary Hilton "ursinebrute" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Batman: The Videogame (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Lego Batman is a good pick-up for DS owners, thanks to its numerous playable characters, slick-looking graphics and cool LEGO effects. You wander through Gotham City beating up bad guys, and in typical LEGO video game fashion, collecting bricks and building stuff, making it a fun adventure for all ages.

Of course, it wouldn't be a LEGO video game without multiple characters, and LEGO Batman has tons of DC Comics' best. In fact, you can play an alternate version as the villains, giving you the opportunity to be The Joker, Catwoman, Harley Quinn and The Penguin. Like Batman, they have signature abilities that enable them to activate character-specific items, which encourages you to play the game more than once. Vehicles also play a role in LEGO Batman, and fans will enjoy driving the Batmobile and the Batwing.

Since the DS isn't as powerful (obviously!) as the Xbox 360 or PlayStation 3, the game doesn't look as sharp as the console versions, but the developer has done a great job shoehorning a big game onto a handheld. You won't explore the same exact environments, but these pint-size levels have plenty of things to see and do. Just don't expect the same cut scenes. Instead of animated movies, you've got comic book style panels that you advance by tapping the touch screen. They work decently enough, but you may need to examine a slide for several moments to figure out what's going on.

That also holds true with playing the game. Several times I got lost because I didn't know how to advance or the clue didn't make sense. However, I eventually figured it out, and I doubt kids will have a problem with this.

With vehicles, suits and lots of classic characters, LEGO Batman: The Videogame is a fun DS game worth your time. It may not take full advantage of the hardware, but if Nintendo's system is all you own, it's worth a trip to the Batcave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lego batman, 20 Oct 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Batman: The Videogame (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I wasn't sure what to expect from lego batman as I'm not a fan of the films, but I gave it a try anyway as I previously purchased lego Indiana Jones and loved it. I was pleasently surprised with lego batman. It's fun and for the DS it has good graphics. There are 30 levels to play and you can blay as the hero and save gotham streets or you can play as the villan and make mischief along the way.

There are plenty of characters to earn and buy and special powerups can also be unlocked and purchased with your studs. Not only would this provide hours of entertainment (I have found myself addicted to lego batman) but it is a welcome addition to the lego series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps my son quiet!, 21 Mar 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Batman: The Videogame (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I had to help my son, who is 6, with this game for the first few minutes but he quickly got the hang of it. Its very much like the other Lego games, Star Wars and Indiana Jones. You are in a central location, here its the Batcave, and you go through doors to reach other locations and have different games there. I have played for a few minutes since and its great fun, inventive and simple to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game for DS, 7 Feb 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Batman: The Videogame (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I bought my 6 year old son a DS for Christmas and decided to buy him Lego Batman as he particularly enjoyed playing this game on his PS2.

I was a bit worried that the graphics and playability of the game would be poor on the DS as the PS2 version was so good and I was relieved to find that wasn't the case.

Because the game plays differently on the DS my son was able to enjoy playing it all over again and I was very surprised how good the graphics and gameplay were. Indeed I would say that some parts of the gameplay are even more enjoyable than on the PS2 version.

This is a great game for the DS and you will not be disappointed with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superhero fun for all!, 9 May 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Batman: The Videogame (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
My son absolutely loves this game and I have to set time limits so he doesn't play it all the time! He is really into superheroes and loves how interactive the characters and levels are. Would thoroughly recommend this to any child 5+ and it is one of the best games we have purchased for the DS so far. There is some reading required to fully understand the level requirements but any adult on hand can help with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, but maybe spread a bit thin, 22 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Chris Jarvis "holdmykidney" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Batman: The Videogame (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
More brilliant block-smashing action from Travellers' Tales this time with the dark knight.

What works well about this game is that in avoiding a movie tie-in and sticking to the source material they have created varied, colourful, imaginative levels and stories. They've also made an excellent technical job with the 3d graphics on the DS.

With three stories split into 5 chapters each, hero and villain sides of the plot and the elements opened up by character freeplay there is a huge amount of content.

What doesn't work so well is the pairing of Batman and Robin for this game. In spite of additional gadgets the duo's abilities remain fairly static. This means that the majority of the action revolves around: Batman goes somewhere Robin can't, flicks a switch or constructs an object that allows Robin to catch up. Then the same happens with Robin taking the lead. The "Rooftops" level lays very bare how formulaic the level construction truly is.

What also doesn't work is that the game appears to be a victim of inflation. For the amount of studs collected the unlockables in the shop are remarkably expensive. There is a workaround in the hub which allows for large amounts of money to be generated, but this quickly becomes repetitive. In short, for those who like to unlock everything you are going to find yourself replaying levels a great deal.

In addition to this the levels can be quite long (30+ mins) and with no in-game save this can be a tricky pick up and play.

The vehicle levels are also very bad with almost no redeeming features.

All that said, though this is still a great fun game to play and a real treasure trove for Batman fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, fun and unputdownable, 4 Mar 2010
By 
Rosepip (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Batman: The Videogame (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Got this for my six-year-old who hasn't been able to put it down. We haven't had any of the Lego games before and it does assume you know a bit about the format, but we soon worked it out. The game is lots of fun with loads of levels and lost of incentives to play over again and again - you have to uncover hidden objects that unlock new areas or open minigames. Nothing is too challenging so you don't end up leaving the game mid-level because of an impossible jump or a locked door etc. My son has had weeks worth of play out of the game and isn't sick of it yet, so it was well-worth the money. Only downsides are you do seem to spend half your time running around the Batcave picking up studs and you can't save mid-level which is a major pain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 28 Feb 2010
By 
Emma price "inkyskin" (Newport.south Wales.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Batman: The Videogame (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
bought for my 6 year old son,he can't put it down,peace and quiet for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite DS game, 5 July 2009
By 
Lauren Cooper (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Batman: The Videogame (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I'm not a hardcore gamer, I prefer games such as Spyro the Dragon, and Crazy Taxi, and I personally loved this game. With the replayability of having 2 different sides to the game (villain and hero), and a few mini games, you can play this game again and again.

Admittedly this game isn't perfect. Some of the tasks can get a bit repetitive, and it doesn't have the movies as much as the wii version; but it does have comic book esque freeze frames, and a lot of humour, and in addition to this the characters have a strong sense of likeability (yes, even the villains).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lego Batman for the DS Lite, 6 April 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Batman: The Videogame (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
LEGO Batman: The Videogame (Nintendo DS)Chosen for my seven year olds birthday, it was a real hit. Full of all the usual Batman characters. Lots of twists and turns that are more suited to a seven year old than many of the other games you hear of. My two boys really enjoy working together, planning stratagies and so on. When one of them can't complete an activity it's handed over ot the other one to have a go. A real bonder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO Batman: The Videogame (Nintendo DS)
LEGO Batman: The Videogame (Nintendo DS) by Warner Bros. Interactive (Nintendo DS)
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews