Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Business
On seeing this film i was expecting another Lock stock.... knock off but how wrong i was.Sure there are planty of Brit gangster cliche's like flashy suits,big guns and plenty of swearing but that aside this tale of cockney wide boys "livin' it large" in picturesque and sunny climates is pretty good.
Danny Dyer plays the lead character with enough boyish...
Published on 21 Jan. 2006 by J. D. Naylor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars better than expected
The Business is one of those capers where a couple of the characters are middling-to-awful and the rest are just plain awful. Into the former category come only two players, really: Frankie, played by Danny Dyer, and Charlie, played by Tamer Hassan. The tone is quite tongue-in-cheek, set up by a voice-over by Frankie. I can never follow these kind of dramas properly so it...
Published 12 months ago by schumann_bg


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool guy, 8 Feb. 2008
By 
R. Ellerby (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Danny Dyer at his best, what more could you want than to see more of him.
Brilliant soundtrack too, all the best eighties hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lord Of the Blings, 27 Mar. 2006
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Excellent movie,great characters.A great follow on from the football factory boys.Fantastic soundtrack and retro fashion sergio tacchini and all.Sun,sex and violence what more could you want in a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't do it., 20 July 2007
By 
Jacob Sam-La Rose "Jsamlarose" (London, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Terrible, terrible film. Weak plot, weak dialogue, and although I have nothing against any of the actors in it, I'd wager that this wasn't the best performance for any of them. I think it's a flawed, confused offering, and definitely one of the worst British gangster flicks I've seen so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DYER'S BEST WORK TO DATE, 21 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Set in the 80's, Frankie (Dyer) has to get out of Peckham fast. He wan't to 'be somebody'. He delivers a package to Charlie (Hassan) who owns a club on the Costa Del Sol. He get's hooked on the lifestyle & the sniff. A must see film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Business [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!, 5 Jan. 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I really wanted to see this over the summer at the cinema but didn't manage to get to see it.
The missus wanted to see some other thing. Dagnammit.
So when I was flying over to the states a couple of months ago I managed to watch it on the flight.
AWESOME!!!
The best film I've seen in a long long time. Blows Lock Stock, Snatch and Layer Cake out the water in my opinion.
I'm pre-ordering this DVD right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov. 2014
By 
Mrs. C. E. Hart "Christine" (Notts.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Going out of business - The business folds, 12 Jan. 2007
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
For a while, I wondered whether this was the worst film that my girlfriend had ever bought me.

She soon confirmed that it was.

Eventually though, we were so fascinated by how bad it was that we actually watched it all. A bit like watching a car crash in slow motion.

We even watched some of the extras - we could not believe that there were some scenes so bad that they did not even make the main film. And the documentary on making The Business was clearly shot using people who had never in fact worked on the film - their enthusiasm was clearly for some other project. Perhaps the white stuff they used on set was kosher.

At least the documentary, interviewing Nick Love, explained why the story was so shallow and the script was apparently written by an eight year old with Tourettes. As a previous reviewer observed: swearing is not a script, it's a night down the pub. And not a very good pub. A really rather tedious Wetherspoons in fact. With damp carpets, unattractive girls and a broken fruit machine.

Don't waste your money on this film. I'll give it to you for free. In fact, I'll pay for you to take it away.

And my girlfriend agrees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Business [Blu-ray]
The Business [Blu-ray] by Nick Love (Blu-ray - 2008)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews